Penn Valley, CA 
Hanging Oaks Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #7
3 / 226ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Penntucky

5+    8/2/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: GVDiscr
Played: 82  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All Mach 3 Baskets
Nice tee signs
2 Practice baskets (1 by Hole 1, 1 by Hole 17)
Great mixture of long and short pin placements
Awesome multiple signature holes
(Hole 6 Volcano/Hole 3 Moat/Hole 9 Ponds/Hole 11 Crescent Moon Ridge with Pond in front)
Beautiful park setting with all the amenities (even a dog park and nice creek to swim in)
Bridgeport (Yuba River) is only 15min away
Fun to play during all seasons!
Cons: Couple Tees could use widening and or lengthening
(Hole 4 Length & Widened & Hole 16 Widened)
Beginners may have trouble
Other Thoughts: This course is full of oaks and can be very technical on the long setup, however it can also be very forgiving on the shorter setup.
It's a great course to learn different shots on (i.e. forehands/backhands/rollers
Will definitely tame Pro players
Most locals start on Hole 17 by the first parking lot on the left when you pull into the park

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/7/2009   5/7/2010
Review By: trevorchreid
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice hole design. Good placement of your drives is key on this coarse.
-Lots of trees for obstacles
-technical, narrow fairways
-Couple of the holes have nice elevation change
-Well maintained
-Nice baskets, tee pads, and signs
-Fairly easy to navigate
-pretty setting
Cons: -Some of the holes became a little monotonous. Over abundance of long, flat, straight, narrow holes.
-Very easy crack a disc with so many trees
-Found myself wanting a little more elevation change given that it's in the foothills
-Couple of wide open holes would be sweet
Other Thoughts: Overall great coarse. Of the two however, Grass Valley takes the cake. Grass Valley is the destination coarse and this is the coarse you play because your already in the area.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Hanging Oaks

5+    4/17/2010   4/29/2010
Review By: Sluse
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very well designed, and maintained, with some tricky basket locations, some real tricky water hazards, as well as some very long holes.
Cons: A lot of trees, and some interesting water hazards, but other than that, very nice course.
Other Thoughts: The park itself is beautiful this time of year.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Have a good straight driver?

2-4    4/23/2010   4/24/2010
Review By: jimbosprint
Played: 68  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 13.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A really nice course in a nice park. Seems to favor right handed players, which is a pro for me. It definitely tests your ability to throw down long narrow fairways. Baskets, cement tees, benches, trash cans - all good features of any course.
Cons: This popular course gets busy and can involve a lot of waiting. The long narrow fairways can lead to a very frustrating high score involving hitting a lot of trees.
Other Thoughts: Make it a day-of-disc (45 holes!) by playing this course (Penn Valley), Browns Valley, and Grass Valley. Don't forget to bring lunch and plenty of water.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/14/2009   12/15/2009
Review By: renotahoedg
Played: 41  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete Pads
Multiple (and I mean a lot) of Basket Placements per hole
Signage is good. Bolt-in-the-hole system to tell you where the basket is.
Some really amazing use of topography, including several holes where water comes into play (I just uploaded a pic of the signature island basket placement - take a look)
Mix of short technical and long open holes
Benches on each hole
Practice baskets
Cons: A few of the holes are very close together and presents the opportunity for injury from stray discs.
Some of the long placements are very long (for me anyway) and are a bit tight considering the distance.
Other Thoughts: I love comming down from Reno/Tahoe during the winter, getting some warmth, seeing some green, and playing three courses in a day. Either Auburn, Grass Valley, Penn Valley, or GV, PV, and Browns Valley. Each course is unique and makes a fun outing.

The locals start at hole 17 and have placed a practice basket near the gazebo there. Perhaps it is time to renumber the holes?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hanging Oaks Penn Valley

5+    10/15/2009   10/23/2009
Review By: Shaggles
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course to throw long drives on,it has a lot of open tees. Good for distance driving. At the same time some of the holes onthe first nine are moderatly wooded and good for technical shots. I like this course because its layout is well designed, so props to the designers of this course for that!!! All the tees are well marked and te basket locations on the signs are accurate. It is a great course because it has multiple pin locations on all 18 holes and the pins are moved often(about every twoweeks or so) The people there are nice and will let you play through if you are a small/ single person group. Also if you lose a disc and other people find it they return it to you, great player ettiquete! Has everything from tight gaps to multiple water traps to a volcano on hole 6. All in all it is a fun course to play (thoguh I must mention I have only played three courses thus far)
Cons: Can be a little crowded on weekend afternoons but other than that I can`t think of any
Other Thoughts: This is the first DGC (disc golf course) that I have ever played on, I must say it is a good course to learn on because it has so much variety!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 hanging oaks

1    1/7/2009   1/7/2009
Review By: Myers
Played: 94  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a great variety of long and technical shots. Some great holes and some picturesque greens. There are some water hazards that if played o.b. add great challenge to the round.(was dry when I played). I thought this course played very well. This course rewards control and can definitely punish errant shots. Even putts can be challenging with small island greens or hazards close to the pin.
Cons: There are a lot of pin locations. I was fortunate to be playing with some locals who were a big help with pin locations. Some of the tee pads felt a little small. There was one hole that I felt was a bit poke and hope.
Other Thoughts: I think that this is a great alternative to Condon. They play differently but I definitely liked both courses. This course is a little more open without the manzanita but still has some tight fairways that require accuracy.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Is the Moat still there?

1    6/1/2005   1/2/2009
Review By: ddevine
Played: 126  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 35.5 Years
Pros: Requires smart play and well placed shots. Punishes poor choices and requires imagination at times. The layout is fairly balanced, with some unique holes (water was in play on several holes, not sure if it is still there).
Cons: I felt like I had the brakes on for much of the round. Although several holes were technical, they were not particularly attractive.
Other Thoughts: We went swimming in a river not far from the course after the round and that cold water felt great in the middle of summer.

 Nice complement to Condon

1    7/14/2008   12/9/2008
Review By: humchris85
Played: 114  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Some elevation change.
-Some left and right handed turns.
-Island pin looks cool, but not in use while I was there.
-Concrete teepads.
-Water on a few holes.
-Multiple pin placements for lots of variety.
-Swimin' hole on site.
Cons: -Feels repetitive after a while.
-Lots of holes too straight for my taste.
-Man made obsticles do feel kinda lame.
Other Thoughts: This course is a nice course to have close to Condon Park in Grass Valley you can play both in a day with ease, but if I had to chose one I would go to Condon. This is a great course for beginers to help them learn the game. The multiple pin placements are probably fun for people who live there and play the course alot to keep it interesting, but for visiters that have never played the course before can have a hard time finding which pin to head for.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 one of the best

1    10/26/2008   10/29/2008
Review By: J.Koeberlein
Played: 22  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice course layout, excellent challenges but not too hard. Many multiple pin locations. New players can have fun and not be overwhelmed.
Cons: Perhaps too many pin locations.
Other Thoughts: This course is my new favorite next to Shady Oaks, Auburn, and Rocklin courses.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.