Penn Valley, CA 
Hanging Oaks Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #2
3 / 159ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Very enjoyable experience

1    4/13/2014   4/14/2014
Review By: Fntsygamr
Played: 27  Reviewed: 23
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Variety of shots required
2. Multiple pin locations
3. Other golfers on the course were helpful
4. Tee pads were in great condition
5. Signage was excellent!
6. Layout was challenging, but not difficult
Cons: Since the course has some signature holes, I would like to see the placement of the pins on those holes in those locations. The island hole was not in place and the "volcano" hole was not either.
Too many pin placements on some of the holes. I can see having 3-4, but some have up to 7.
Most of the holes were a little too short. The technicality of the shots made the shortness of the holes not that much of a challenge.
Other Thoughts: I would come and play this course again. I would tandem this course with either Auburn or Condon Park for a nice weekend of disc play. I would consider this the 3rd best course in the area. Condon being #1 and Auburn being #2 (or vice/versa). This is a must play if you are in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    1/12/2014   1/12/2014
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety, variety, variety! This course has every type of shot off the tee. During my round I was throwing RHBH, RHFH, Thumber, several rollers all off the tee as well as plenty of other utility approach shots when I did get into trouble.

On top of shot type variety there was also plenty of variety in distances required off the tee. With 5-6 (or even 7!) pin placements per hole, its easy to see why this would be the case.

Finally, the park has plenty of natural beauty along with good tee pads and signage throughout.
Cons: First off, lets play it straight Penn Valley…that 'volcano' is nothing to brag about. Its just a plain ol' dirt mound. No biggie though, still a fun hole. The only other 'con' that I have is that there aren't really any true par 4 holes to speak of. Sure there are a few holes that might average more than 3 strokes even for a pro field, but this would be due to significant errors and OB versus a hole design that requires a full drive and approach to achieve a birdie three.
Other Thoughts: If you are on the fence about whether to play Condon or here - HERE!!! This course is everything that Condon is trying to be, less crowded, better cared for. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

My Favorite

5+    3/23/2013   3/25/2013
Review By: Sam U
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Superb tee signs with washer system
Multiple pin locations on each hole
Elevation changes
Nice tee pads
Great baskets
No pedestrian traffic
Not crowded
Technically challenging
Pleanty of benches and trash cans
Course sits on a beautiful park
Couse flows nicely
Cons: 18th tee pad needs to be replaced
No practice basket near hole 1
Hole 2 has some "unfair" pin locations

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Times

1    3/10/2013   3/11/2013
Review By: ecv_onion
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 22.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played Hanging Oaks for the first time today, after playing at Condon park. The tee signs are amazingly detailed, and have the easy to follow washer on each pole. A very well kept park. Asked a local where to find the first tee when we got there and not only did he tell us where to go, but also gave us a map to follow. Although it wasn't needed, because the layout made sense and there were signs if it was even close to being confusing.
Cons: No pro shop. Seemed a little short. Most of the holes didn't need a driver, and if you're good with a fairway driver, birdies should be fairly easy. Signs to get to the park would be good, according to the gps we had arrived while still on hwy 20 at the back side of the park.
Other Thoughts: If only other parks would use the lettered washer technique that this park, and Shady Oaks, use, it would make it easier for first time course players. All together I will be making it back here soon, and making a day of hitting a couple of the others in the vicinity.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The Oaks Might Get You!

1    8/16/2012   9/1/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hanging Oaks is played almost entirely under a canopy of grabby oak trees. While providing much needed shade on those hot Cali days, they also are the signature feature on this course oftentimes forcing you to shape your shot or throw a low tunnel approach. The courses features excellent, descriptive teesigns complete with pictures of the holes as well as the ever helpful washer just below the sign with the A-B-C-D and sometimes E and F basket positions. I found this to be immensely helpful with navigation and shot selection. The course has Mach 3 baskets and nice concrete pads. There were benches and garbage cans throughout the park area.
I found the course to be challenging but fair. Many baskets were set in the longs and I didn't feel overwhelmed and I'm a old man and can barely get it out to 300'.
Although high and dry, the moat hole looked like it would be a blast to play when filled w/water.

And to repectfully disagree with my esteemed previous reviewer, "Speedly". # 18 was in the long position when I played it. To me, it looked impossible so having the box, I tried some ridiculous shot I pulled out of my ass and ending up bogeying the hole. My two local partners simply threw low tunnel drives and both finished with easy pars. My point is, that hole, especially in the long, looks daunting, but is very parable.
Cons: I can't think of any major cons. There were other groups on the course this day but I didn't feel endangered or crowded. The course area seems disc golf exclusive.
Even in the "longs" I didn't feel totally overwhelmed.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed my experience here at the Oaks. Combined with Condon and Auburn Regional made for a great day day of experiencing new courses in the area. It'd be great to live down here and be able to golf the year around in pleasant weather.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hard != Challenging

1    8/16/2012   8/17/2012
Review By: Speedly
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Good maps on each tee, showing which direction the following tee is.
- Pin placement markers present on each hole.
- Moat and volcano are kinda cool.
- Mix of long and short holes.
- Need a bunch of shots to get through here effectively.
- Relatively close to Condon Park and Auburn Regional Park, makes for a good series of parks to hit in one day.
Cons: - Difficulty is at a ridiculous level.
- Trees are pretty grabby. Bring a baseball.
- Pin placement markers not always accurate.
- Tee 1 is basically nowhere near the parking area.
- Very, very dusty during the summer.
Other Thoughts: I think this course was designed with the idea that hard and challenging are the same thing. People like challenging, but the level of difficulty here is ridiculous. DeLaveaga is not even at this level. There are a number of holes that have so many trees, that there isn't a viable route up to the hole.

A glaring example of this was on hole #18, where the hole runs down across a ravine and back up the hill, with trees' canopies prohibiting making a shot higher than 8' or so. This creates a situation, when the pin is on its longest settings back up the hill, where the only way to make a shot up to the pin is to use the Force and push it back upwards.

I felt that the number of pin settings on some holes was a bit excessive. Moreover, I think that some of the pin settings were not well thought out (relating somewhat back to the last paragraph), resulting in poor design. Quantity must not be held over quality, and I think one can look to Condon Park for proof of this.

I felt that the volcano and the moat were gimmicky.

A fair number of the pin position markers were not correct.

But enough of the things I didn't like. Let's end out with what was good!

Despite my complaints above, some of the holes (mostly the ones with fewer pin positions) were very well designed and required you to think outside of the box to get close. I threw some shots that I'd never attempted before with certain discs here, and learned quite a bit.

There are very nice gazebos and benches to go under and get out of the sun.

The signage is very detailed and did aid in finding pins, even on the ones where the marker was wrong.

The course was not crowded in the slightest - in fact, I don't think I saw another soul actually playing on the course as we went around. As a result, we were able to finish our round pretty quickly.

While the water hazards were not filled for our visits, they were not deep, which probably results in easier retrieval if you do have the unfortunate circumstance of landing in one.

Things that I did not penalize the course for in my rating:

- Heat and dustiness. Surely the course installers cannot be expected to control the geography and weather.

- Inaccuracy of pin placements. There was no way to determine whether it was the course staff that mismarked pins, or the patrons that may have messed with it. With no concrete evidence of either, points cannot fairly be assessed.

Overall: playing here was okay, and was good for a new experience - but I likely wouldn't take the trip from Sacramento to return.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    6/29/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: mattjlegg
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
Pros: great layout.
good course map on each hole
most multiple hole options i've seen.
great park, nice trees.
not to many people.
Cons: a bit of the same drive on a lot of holes, straight. which i didnt mind, it let me work on throwing hard but straight aka it was forgiving.
Other Thoughts: bring a hat and or sunscreen.
plenty of water.
played 36-40 holes in about 2 hours on a friday around 1pm-3pm.

  2 things Water and Trees

1    4/17/2011   4/18/2011
Review By: Hangtownchucka
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Terrain is not super rugged and very easy to traverse, pretty hard to lose discs. Setup for each hole is excellent, signs and hole placement are a part of every tee-pad. Many long drives with a few fun water hazards that are not very deep.
Cons: Some Holes are very close together, actually saw someone catch a disc to the face while they were on the tee-pad. A lot of the course has water on it so the ground does get saturated after rain.
Other Thoughts: All in all it's not my favorite course but because of the challenge that it can be it would be a course for any golfer to hone their skills when dealing with throwing through a forrest

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 AWESOME

1    10/10/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: wildrivers
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is a sign at each tee. There are cement tees. Excellent intermediate course. This course is more user friendly then Condon by far. There are less tight oak areas and closer baskets.
Cons: Could use a few more signs to next tees as you play along.
Other Thoughts: heads up watch out for the other players as the tee's are often in the same throwing area as the next guy. If you do start on hole 17 clear down by the baseball field, the tee1 start is just behind tee 18 to the west. It is easy enough to follow the given directions on this site and find tee 1. Thanks to the locals for the great sign work for the visitors, and keeping the place clean.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Penntucky

5+    8/2/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: GVDiscr
Played: 79  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All Mach 3 Baskets
Nice tee signs
2 Practice baskets (1 by Hole 1, 1 by Hole 17)
Great mixture of long and short pin placements
Awesome multiple signature holes
(Hole 6 Volcano/Hole 3 Moat/Hole 9 Ponds/Hole 11 Crescent Moon Ridge with Pond in front)
Beautiful park setting with all the amenities (even a dog park and nice creek to swim in)
Bridgeport (Yuba River) is only 15min away
Fun to play during all seasons!
Cons: Couple Tees could use widening and or lengthening
(Hole 4 Length & Widened & Hole 16 Widened)
Beginners may have trouble
Other Thoughts: This course is full of oaks and can be very technical on the long setup, however it can also be very forgiving on the shorter setup.
It's a great course to learn different shots on (i.e. forehands/backhands/rollers
Will definitely tame Pro players
Most locals start on Hole 17 by the first parking lot on the left when you pull into the park

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.