Anderson, SC 
Trails DGC Share
Uploaded By: BennettUA Hole #5 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 256ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Approach



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Underrated and understated

1    9/27/2013   9/27/2013
Review By: filobedo
Played: 171  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the best parts of life is when you find a gem like this. I was on the way to Central to play a tournament at Grand Central Station and had always wanted to stop at this course but it never worked out. I stayed in Greenville and got up there a day early and decided to take the 50 mile roundtrip adventure to Anderson because I wanted to play a course I had never seen and never really heard much about it. It was definitely worth the trip! This course reminds me of another of my favorites, Leonard Park in Mt Kisco, NY which is one of the first courses ever and a design by Ed Headrick. The holes are short but fair and very wooded with some elevation. It was also pretty easy to get around with a couple of transitions that could be confusing if you are not patient. Many 2's are out there but some 4's also if you hit trees and get bad kicks. Great course to throw midranges (Rocs, Meteors, Comets). Descriptions are for RHBH and my favorite holes were,
1 - Straight but accuracy is a must for a 220' - 240' slight downhill shot
3 - Slight downhill semi hyzer 240'
7 - Great hole - 250' uphill and around trees but if you throw it straight you have a great chance at 2
11 - Great short, straight and slight downhill 180'
14 - With more clearing could be signature hole. Probably the most difficult teeshot on the course due to elevation and stream on right. 300' maybe
15 - Signature hole - Great straight shot over stream which is probably 180' off tee and trees around, basket is probably 220' - 240'. One of the best holes I have played
18 - Great finishing hole with a short 180' anhyzer uphill shot
Cons: Some holes could be even better if the teepads were moved back or an alternate tee was added.

You must throw across a walking path on #10 which is a blind shot and dangerous if you do not have a spotter. I would move the tee up to the right but this could still cause problems with walkers. Also the transition from 10 - 11 could be marked better.
Other Thoughts: I was surprised to see 3 practice baskets because I am not aware of an Anderson DG Club but if this course was maintained a little more it would make it even better. Some areas needed some trimming but most courses do as well. I saw some mob golf groups with what looked like groups of 6 and 8 high school kids, frat rats, etc. but they were all very nice just having a good time. This would be a great spot for an annual sanctioned tournament due to numerous restaurants, hotels and the proximity to I-85.
Note: park in the B parking lot and was across from practice basket 3 by hole 16 and up trail to get to hole 1 or walk up to sign across from practice basket 1 to get to hole 1.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/8/2013   8/8/2013
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 27  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The good notes on this course is that it's short - can be played quickly, there's not much under-brush to lose discs in and it's well marked. And it's reasonably fun to play. Some of the holes were open, but most were WAY to tight.
Cons: Okay, I appreciat tight wooded courses as much as anyone, but this was a bit ridiculous. If you can't see a fairway - muchless the basket - on a 250' hole, that's not a good thing. And maybe it's just me, but having to shape every shot to anhyzer out, hyzer back then find a way through a mad tangle of trees ain't all that much fun, not when it's every hole.
Other Thoughts: If they'd take 1-2 trees out each hole, I think it would be a great litle course. As it is, it ain't all that 'beginner friendly'. My son - 13 - has a decent short game and can pick his way through most courses wouldn't care if he never came back, totally didn't enjoy it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Mini golf for discs

1    2/6/2013   2/7/2013
Review By: durango
Played: 60  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 26.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great smaller tight course to practice up shots.
-very family friendly
-Great beginner course
Cons: -if you want to stretch your big arm this is not a course for you
-dag-um sticker bushes
-no tee signs and "next tee" is not always marked
-several holes have the potential to become quite soggy
Other Thoughts: This is a great beginner course! "A mini golf for discs" The course is mostly tight holes with a lot of elevation change. even though the course is not too long it still caries your interest throughout the whole course. There are ace opportunities on most holes however you can easily get a 4 with a couple bad bounces. It is well diversified with left, right and straight holes. There is little undergrowth but what is there tends to be barbed so you my pay for a bad shot with a drop or two of blood. The course is located in a large park and kept quite clean, there are two holes where you may have to wait for a runner/walker to pass before throwing. Be sure to take a picture of the course map in the beginning with your cell phone as the course is not marked well, no tee signs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Trails DGC

1    8/5/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Anderson Sports Complex boasts a beautiful eighteen hole course. "Trails", as it's aptly named, plays among the thick wooded areas of the park. Shorter technical holes dominate the layout with a break or two peeking out into some longer open areas. Overall the course rings up at only 4400' with just two holes over 300' with one of them just reaching the 400' mark. Moderate elevation changes mix in a few up and down shots and keep the holes fresh. Opportunities to get in a creek pose as a risk a time or two as well. A good mix of left and right shots added to the variety and helps complete this well rounded wooded course.

Dependable Innova Discatchers are sure to be appreciated as they are easy to spot in the wooded areas. They are all in great condition too. Concrete tee pads also compliment the course. A well designed layout that is fairly easy to follow is quite noticeable as you follow the trails throughout the course. You'll find well marked paths complete with bridges as needed and they were a welcomed touch. Ample parking near the course complete with a practice basket near the lot was a nice perk too.

This is a great course for a quick round. Plentiful birdie and ace opportunities make it a very fun course. I can imagine this course giving a wide variety of scores based on the trees. Low scores would be easily had on a good day but those trees could be punishing on the days when you're having a hard time finding your lines. There are lots of holes that you'll want to throw multiple drives on just for fun.

This is a great course if you are looking for a quick round. Most folks could run through in an hour or less. As a side bonus, the woods provide plenty of shade during those hot summer months.
Cons: The course could be disappointing and even frustrating for those that are not fans of heavily wooded courses. Likewise, those who like to air it out with longer holes won't find a lot to get excited about either. While there is a decent amount of variety considering the solid woods, it's just a steady diet of short tightly wooded holes. A few times the course can put a bigger premium on luck than skill.
Other Thoughts: Although this is a relatively short course, it's so fun it shouldn't be a factor for most folks. If you are a wooded course fan you should really like this one. Being that I love wooded courses I immediately fell in love. I'd play this course all the time if I lived in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A tough one, but very nice.

5+    7/7/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: Devon S
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a full 18 hole course that is very nicely done. It's in the woods, you'll see some people walking on the walking trail, but it's very rare. But you will feel as if you're just playing at a disc golf course and not a park with some baskets there. This course is a challenge and will make you a better disc golfer. Plenty of birdie opportunities, but you will work for some Pars. A variety of shots are needed to play this course. It has helped my forehand a lot. Good elevation on some holes. Big concrete Tee boxes are nice. Much bigger than the ones at Timmon's Park in Greenville, SC. The average game will take you around an hour, but it's hilly and you will get a good work out walking this course.

There was a doubles tournament on Sunday July 1st, that people are trying to make a monthly thing, and I expected maybe 20 people to show. But, the number was very close to 50 people. It was a well done tournament, and I'm looking forward to more.

David Barfield did a great job designing this course and I can't wait to see what else he has in store for Anderson, SC as far as Disc Golf goes.
Cons: It is TIGHT TIGHT TIGHTLY wooded. Hole 4 doesn't even have a clear fairway, it's just trees. Some holes would have a good clear path to take if it weren't for one tree or so in the middle that you'll constantly hit. The woods grows up pretty harshly in the summer so losing a disc is a big possibility out there, it's much better in the fall. The poison ivy is pretty bad too, if you wear shorts you're probably going to get it. Not very beginner friendly.

I'd like more holes like 9, because the holes are mostly under 300'. Hole 10 if you throw to the right, you're on a soccer field, and sometimes games are going on and you run the risk of throwing in the middle of a soccer game. Baskets can be hard to see, and there are no signs on the Tee boxes due to the course having to be redesigned because hole 3 was on private property. Hole 3 was the coolest hole, in my opinion, at the park, and it's a shame they had to change it.

The course can be confusing, people go from hole 9 to 15 on accident a good bit, maybe they'll get tee box signs soon.
Other Thoughts: This place is better than Darwin Wright, and it's great this course came to be because driving to Easley or Greenville just to play a good 18 hole course was annoying.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Happy Trails

2-4    6/27/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 234  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 11.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Trails DGC is a quick and quirky rides up and down wooded slopes with short holes allowing many birdie opportunities if you can make some tight turns and negotiate the gaps in between the numerous trees. The pace of play is quick and the accuracy is key. All holes had concrete tees, and I think signs may be in the works, as posts marked each one. The Discatcher baskets are often hidden from view off the tee pad, but they are all there and catching well. The longest and most open holes on the course are 9 and 10, playing next to an asphalt walking trail. Aside from that, it is consistently heavily wooded and elevation changes are prevalent on many holes as well. The fairways are well mixed in right and left turns and the greens reachable with good throws. Well shaded and very nice in late summer afternoon.
Cons: The short overall length of the course may be a con to some players, but I was able to enjoy it. The course is compact and sometimes baskets or tees are near to one another. The layout was weird in a couple of spots. No benches were available on the course, and trash cans were also rare. Mountain bikers rode through more than once during our first round. Pedestrians may also be present.
Other Thoughts: I found the Trails DGC to be fun, even if the trees were nearly impossible to avoid. I wish I would have putted better, but I felt happy after two quick rounds, with scores of 57 and 54. Definitely could have shot under par on a good day. Reminds me of Timmons Park, with more trees.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/4/2012   2/21/2012
Review By: tiger5
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Update:
There has been some work done to the course as far as walking paths from hole to hole. The last time I played this course was in the fall before all the greenery came back. The first couple holes are almost impossible to find a good line. If I hadn't played the course before I would have had to walk 1/2 way down to see the basket, which I had to do a number of times. In the fall this was a great course because you had to hit tight lines and navigate around trees. But now that the leaves have grown back you can tell the holes they cleared out and the ones where they just put in baskets. The back 9 wasn't as bad, but those are the holes where trees have been cleared out. It's looks as though they're in the process of doing some work around the first 3 holes as far as lining walk ways. Several of the tee signs are missing, hopefully they are remaking them. I still enjoyed the course just looks like it need a little maintenance after all the rain the upstate's been getting. There are several places you could lose a disc now.

I would call this a hidden gem. First because it's pretty much hidden and second because it's a really good course. Lots of elevation changes and great use of landscape. You have to work for birdies and what little water there is can come into play on a number of holes. Pretty good signage throughout the course, no real benches but nice bridges. I live about 15 min away and love this course. There's a practice basket near the tennis courts and the entire course is fairly well maintained.
Cons: I think they could have made this course or at least several holes a little longer, there is a good mix of long and short holes but there's more potential on several holes that's for sure. They could put two more bridges on the back 9, hole 11 to 12 is just logs pretty much and a little sketch for some people.
Other Thoughts: This is a very good wooded course and one that does require some skill to score well. Can't really think of a boring hole on this course, possible birdies throughout and these trees can either be your best friend or unforgiving.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Tight but Sneaky Good

2-4    5/30/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: JBryant
Played: 54  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent tee pads. Baskets are nice discatchers.
Lots of different shots required here because you still have to navigate tight wooded lines, right-to-left shots, left-to-right shots, etc...

This course really stresses taking your time and analyzing shot selection.
Cons: -Brush is thick in spots and briars are a killer.
-A few hole more luck than actual disc golfing.
-Not close to me otherwise I'd play it more often!
Other Thoughts: Dwight Park doesn't hold a candle to this course.

If you are in the upstate this course is a must-play.

Doesn't get the love and rating it deserves.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good cool course!

1    5/6/2011   5/6/2011
Review By: ChaseReamer
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Cool temperatrue, through woods course (great during the summer)
-Great concrete tee pads
-Nice Woods course with a few open field throws.
Cons: -Somewhat confusing course.
-Signs are placed awkwardly
-A lot of short holes
Other Thoughts: The course overall in my short disc golf career is my favorite. Its cool during the summer and its like a nature hike as well. Its challenging and it's possible to lose a disc over a ridge or on a bad through in a small creek bed. Overall a good solid place to play but not to hone your skills but rather more of a place to practice them!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorite short courses anywhere

2-4    4/7/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/5/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Trails DGC is a perfect model of what any short course should look like. Course offers lots of fun, plenty of birdie chances, potential ace runs (especially 11 & 15), and has a great risk/reward factor. There are still a few kinks to work out, but I have no doubt they'll be taken care of.
- I absolutely loved this course. It's a great wooded course. If we had a rating specifically for fun factor, this would be a 5.
- Great use of the terrain. A couple holes have good elevation (both down up & downhill shots), other holes have great strategically place baskets (near drop-offs, behind trees, next to thick brush).
- Plenty of fun holes that offer chances to be aggressive and/or creative with your shots. Great risk/reward factor on most holes.A good throw can produce an easy birdie, but if you just miss your line, you're going to hit a tree, or land in some thick rough. The only holes I consider not realistically birdie-able for the average player (300 foot driver), is #9 & 14. #9 due to its length, #14 due to the tight hole layout - straight for first half, slight uphill, dogleg left to basket protected by trees.
- Great course for all skill levels from first timers to advanced players. Average hole length is under 250 feet, meaning you don't need a big arm. Only 1 long hole - #9 at 400 ft, which is also the only open hole. Accuracy is more important that distance here.
- The first six holes (#1-2 & 4-8) is a great strettch of enjoyable holes. They're all in the same ballpark in terms of distance (208 - 264 ft), all offer birdie chances, plus have a degree of difficulty.
- Course has good amenities. Nice tee pads, great tee signs on front 9; back 9 should be in soon. The entire park has great facilities, and there are plenty of restaurant/gas stations just up the road.
Cons: As mentioned above, there are still a few issues to be addressed. When that's done, this list will be very shot, and also outdated.
- This is just a temporary issue, but missing a hole is a problem. #3 was pulled recently, so the course is currently only 17 holes. I only found out about this after walking through the front 9, then finding 2 locals. The good news is that I updated the course info page. 2 days later Roadtrip played, and, as his review states, was able to avoid the same problem I had. Just another great service thanks to this site.
- No tee signs (yet) on the back nine. Looks like they'll be in soon, which will make this point void.
- There were several confusing transitions between holes. After finishing #2, and then by passing the defunct #3, you have to walk past #5 to get to #4. On the back nine, after playing #13, you cross the #12 tee to get to #14. When tee signs are put in, that should (hopefully) eliminate this problem. If not, a simple solution would be to put the hole number on the "next T' signs.
- On several holes, there's no middle ground between fairway and rough. On #2, the basket is 10 - 15 from some thick, overgrown rough. I had a harder time climbing through the thorns to get to my disc than I did making the birdie putt. Also, there are piles of branches, logs, etc. on some holes. Again, give it time and this will be gone.
- Some holes play extremely close to each other, meaning you'll need to keep an eye out for discs and other DGers. These are the ones I noticed most are: fairways for #12 & 14 are right next to each other, (heading the same direction), only separated by a creek. Tee shots that don't curve right on #18 are going to land near tee for #1. Stray shots from #13 might land in #12 fairway.
- Apparently, the idea of "if you build it, they will come" at this course applies to walkers. I saw more people using the course (fairways and paths) as a walking trail than DGers playing the course. Granted it was a Thursday afternoon, so the DGers were at work. But, I had two separate occasions where I was about to throw, only to have a walker come around the corner, and walk right past the basket down the fairway towards me. Maybe the "beware of flying objects" signs need to be bigger and at the random entrances to the course people have made.
Other Thoughts: I love when course designers know what they want out of a course, and execute it perfectly. This course isn't meant to be the most challenging, or the longest. Trails is confident enough in itself, knowing it's all about the motion of the ocean.
- This is my CYA disclaimer, in case things change down the road. Any hole numbers listed are current of when I played and reviewed. If the new hole (old #3) is added somewhere other than between #2 - 4, the hole numbers might change.
- Trails, along with Timmons, are my 2 favorite short courses. By short I mean averaging under 250 ft a hole, 4500 total. Being from Charlotte, there are several short courses here (Elon short and Bailey), but I give the edge to both Trails and Timmons.
- My favorite hole was #6. It's 260 ft, slight dogleg left tee shot to an elevated basket area. As an example of its risk/reward factor, the first time I played the hole, I parked my tee shot within 10 feet of the basket. Second time, my shot was barely off line, hit a tree, then had my second shot roll downhill after landing next to the basket.
- Being objective, I'm only giving this course a 2.5. That's mainly due to missing a hole, and other maintenance problems that I'm sure will be taken care of within several months. Once that's done, I'll bump that score up. Avoid City Beach (Anderson's other course) and play Trails multiple times.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.