Anderson, SC 
Trails DGC Share
Uploaded By: chainhunter Hole #3 (Taken 12/2013)
3 / 221ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 

1    4/10/2011   4/10/2011
Review By: roadtrip
Played: 196  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 19.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very friendly locals. The players and the folks just out at the park. Nice use of available space. Great vibe - you can often see other people but you still get privacy when you want it. Good mix of lines. Very close to the highway. A great 60 minute walk if you've been driving I-85.

And, thumbs up to this website, I was just passing through and I got to educate all the locals on Hole 3 (had just read it on here).
Cons: Too short. I love all the ace runs, and I'm glad they fit 18 in such a small area, but I wasn't done after my 18. Discs can hide in the underbrush (seems like it has to grow thicker as spring moves along).
Other Thoughts: The course plays like a more open Davidson College (NC). Similar chill crowd, same perceived isolation, seems like you could ace just about any one of them.

I've only played this course once. I think it's important to note that in a review. I really like that Davidson, NC course but I've played it a million times. First time out - it sucked. This course, I really liked it but it was a perfect day all the way around. Seems like the courses you've only played once - mood can take over your opinion a little bit.

Variety (shots) - 3.5/5 - The distance affects the variety. It's different bending a disc around trees from 300 ft than it is from 150. These are all 150s. Besides that - pretty nice variety. They play like a bunch of trick-shot ace runs. Fun.

Distance (length) - 2/5 - So many are under 200 ft. I like that 1-2x per course tops. Again though - glad they fit 18 in this small space. That bumps it from 1.5 to 2

Beauty - 3/5 - It's nothing spectacular but I did break out my camera for Hole 8. I like the trees and bridges and you're neither crowded nor isolated.

Trackability - 4/5 - Close to the highway, Easy to find, Easy to track all of the holes (even without a map, even with Hole 3 removed).

Lost Disc Hazard - 2/5 - The underbrush is deceptive. Keep your eye on the disc even after it lands.

Vibe - 4/5 - Maybe 4 other groups on a beautiful Saturday. Everyone was friendly and helpful.

Safety 4/5 - Big open parking lot, can always see a few other fairways.

22.5/35 = 3.21 = 3

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

1    11/7/2010   11/7/2010
Review By: theprocon
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: New development has led way to what could be a neat woods course.
Cons: Newly cut course has many roots and stumps to trip over. Not much in the way of logic. I will rate this one again after a few years of wear and tear.
Other Thoughts: Could be a great course with some work. Work on the fairways(or add some) and chop some more woods down. Almost there.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/13/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 86  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/7/2010
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -It's located within city limits, yet is still secluded located in a wooded area inside a city park.
-Forces you to hit the right gaps and challenges you with a variety of shots.
-Great use of space. The course is well designed and has a good flow once you've played through a couple of times.
-Absolute perfect mix of elevation, distance, and technical holes. This course could not have been better laid out.
-"Next tee" signs have recently been added to help the flow.
Cons: -Is difficult to navigate due to the lack of a course map and signs for holes, but that should be completed if signs are placed in the appropriate places.
-Not forgiving
-Briars cover most holes, many surround baskets.
-There are a few areas where you could could lose a disc and have extreme difficulty finding it. Normally, losing a disc would not be a big issue, but these areas are much worse and much more prevalent than other courses.
Other Thoughts: During the Fall, cross country teams run races on Saturday mornings through the course. This makes it almost impossible to play which is unfortunate as many people only have time on Saturdays.

Better than Dwight Park by far! This course will be amazing when everything is completed.

If you are in the upstate this course is a must-play.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/11/2010   9/12/2010
Review By: BennettUA
Played: 98  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 10.7 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent tee pads, newly poured concrete, and plenty large.
Baskets are brand new and are set up very well.
Lots of different shots required here. Course is mostly flat, but you still have to negotiate tight wooded lines, right-to-left shots, left-to-right shots, and tomahawks. This course forces you to slow down, pick a line to thread, and hit it. In other words, Trails makes you play golf, and I like that.
There are really only two open holes, and both have pin placements in/ near the woods.
Course layout takes great advantage of the woods, and is relatively clear of debri.
The flow of the course is good, not great. Some transitions aren't perfect.
A good beginner's length. Not very long, but nothing that's ridiculously short. Aces are available, but you will have to hit a great line.
Cons: The transitions aren't perfect. Some are hardly visible from the last pin, and others cross over each other.
There is a cross country track through here, and you can see lots of spray painted arrows on trees. DON'T assume they are directing you to the next tee!
Lots of areas where brush/ thorns/ ivy needs to be cleared, especially when they nearly surround a basket. Easy fix, and it's a green course, so this will hopefully change as it gets broken in.
If you didn't know the course was there, you wouldn't. A practice basket near the tennis courts is the only indication, but from the parking lot, you won't see a tee or basket other than this practice one, and it's not very close to the first tee, which is tucked away in the woods. As we left, we were asked by a car leaving, "there's a disc golf course here?!"
No tee markers, yet. There do appear to be posts at the tees for them, but nothing there yet, so you will have to guess your distance, and whether you're going the right way.
Other Thoughts: Pick your line, hit it, and you will be pleased. You WILL hit trees, and end up with some good and some bad lies. You will be forced to play golf, slow down and pick your shots.
I hope to update this rating as the course progresses, but it was a fun morning of shot selection!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Trials DGC

1    8/31/2010   9/1/2010
Review By: Master_Locke
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Brand new course, and that is very obvious in playing.
-Course is well designed in the space.
-As of 08/31, all holes have baskets, tee boxes, poles for signs, and under construction fairways.
-Currently some holes are hard to tell where the basket/fairway is, but when construction is done, it is evident the course will be very nice.
-A nice mixture of elevation and distances
-Several water hazards after some rainy days.
-Kudos to the designer and whoever is working on this course...I am very excited to see/play again when it is finished.
Cons: -Most cons I'd mention will be fixed when the course is finished. (i.e. - signs, trails, fairways, signs from parking lot to start, pars, distances, etc...)
Other Thoughts: I took pictures of the first 9 holes and will upload those. Again, in mid stages of construction, so in most pictures you will find it difficult to see the baskets from the tee.

I'm rating it a 3.0 only cause I expect my rating to go up post completion.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.