Astoria, OR 
Lower Columbia DGC Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #3 (Taken 1/2014)
3 / 273ft.   3 / 141ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 White Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Lower Columbia DGC - Where the Goonies Play!

2-4    4/7/2014   8/8/2014
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 192  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Lower Columbia DGC is a fun nine hole course located in the beautiful city of Astoria, OR. Although designed more for the recreational/intermediate player, this course incorporates enough elevation and creativity to make it fun for all! The terrain is a mix of open grass fields and tighter wooded areas, adding enough variety to keep it interesting throughout the round. Par for the course is 27, with holes ranging 180-311 ft from the red tees and 141-255 ft from the whites. The course does not have a lot of distance but at least the designers tried to give more than one look per hole. The flow of the course seemed to move well and the navigation made easy due to the informative tee signs and Chainstar baskets.

Favorite Hole(s): Hole #5 - Start from an open field teeing off into the woods. One of the few holes on the course that demands both accuracy and placement in order to birdie the protected pin. Also, Hole #6 - Fun downhill ACE shot in the woods that desires an accurate landing.
Cons:
Lower Columbia DGC was designed on a beautiful piece of property attatched to the Clatsop County Fairgrounds. Because of this, it is closed to disc golfer when there is an event. Although this only happens a few times a year, it could be quite inconvenient for those whom are traveling from out of town.

The degree of difficulty for the adv/open level player may leave much to be desired. There are a few holes that are challenging but there are also a few that are wide open (#1, 4, 8) on this course leaving little to no challenge. However, the designers did a terrific job using the land they had and have done a great job maintaining the land as well.

Least Favorite Hole(s): Hole # 4 and Hole #8 - both somewhat boring downhill shots with not much risk.
Other Thoughts:
I was pleased to have had the opportunity to play this course as I was headed on my way from Seattle to Cannon Beach for a long weekend. I was able to walk around with my family in a safe area and play a very fun round of disc golf. Astoria is such a wonderful city and I always enjoy my time here when I am visiting or just passing through. I do hope that disc golf continues to pick up in this area and that someday they will be the second city on the Oregon coast to have an 18 hole course next to Wilder in Newport.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    6/29/2014   6/29/2014
Review By: MCW5379
Played: 49  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 3.6 Years
Pros: Surprised at how much elevation this course has. You'd think beach = flat, but almost ever hole had 25+' of elevation change. Uphill, downhill, across hill shots.
Cons: For the first timer a couple baskets are hidden & takes a second to find them. Trail on 6 needs cleaned up. Basket area on 9 is seriously overgrown, it needs a haircut.
Other Thoughts: But pleasantly surprised with the cool little 9 hole course that Astoria has to offer!

Great place

1    5/26/2013   5/29/2013
Review By: mpeters
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Easy to find
Clearly marked
Great tee signs
love the two tees (wife really liked shorter tee)
Mix of terrain and elevation
Cons: Short holes
Hidden water danger (nearly lost a couple disc)
Other Thoughts: Really fun little course that uses the little bit of land they have to their advantage. Lots of up and downs on this course. Although the holes may be short the wind plays a big factor in creating a challenging environment to throw. may not be the best park for an expert, but if you are on vacation near this course you would be a fool not to stop and play a few rounds.

Gotta Love The Downhill Throws Here!

1    3/8/2013   3/9/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tucked away in Astoria, OR, Lower Colombia DGC is a pleasant little 9 hole course. I'd call it a solid recreational level course. Advanced to pro players wouldn't find enough challenge here. The course sits on the grounds of the Clatsop County Fairgrounds and unfortunately is closed during major fairground events. The terrain is partially open fields, partly through the wooded area, and with all of it playing up and down hillsides. I enjoyed having five (1, 4, 6, 7, & 8 ) of the nine holes throwing downhill.

The baskets were new and caught well. Teepads were made of building blocks and could have been a little longer. The signs were great, colored, with distances for both the Reds and shorter White tees. Each of these tee posts had two hooks to keep your bags off the wet Astoria ground and a cup/can holder. Now you don't have to set your beer on the ground and worry about it spilling. There were also a few newly cut wooden benches. Navigation is easy and natural and makes a loop back to the start.

My favorite hole was # 6. It's 195' and the steepest downhill on the course. Not quite a straight shot but you have to put it between a tree and some bushes with some touch and just a little hyser.
Cons: # 1 and # 4, although downhill, are both shooting to baskets sitting out in wide open fields.
I would like to see the pads be a little longer. An old man like me needs a longer run-up.
#8 field, especially will be pretty wet and marshy most of the year. Plan on getting your feet wet.
Check the fairs schedule for times when the course will be shut down.
Other Thoughts: I was pleasantly surprised with this course. The enjoyment factor was there for me. Having all the downhill shots is always fun and there are plenty of ACE opportunities. I believe much of the course has been cleared and opened up since the previous reviewers wrote their reviews.
My compliments to the designers! I'm impressed with what you've created here and the improvements you're continuing to make.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Late Fall Fun

2-4    11/24/2012   11/25/2012
Review By: klassikstile
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The varied terrain kept us guessing on our first round. The ups and downs make it interesting and fun as well.
Good signs helped us navigate the course with ease.

Cons: This place can get SOGGY! Watch out for the stream behind the first hole, saw a guy fall in trying to get his disc! He was fine, just wet, and did get his disc back.

Too short. Nothing you could really unleash on.
Other Thoughts: Decent little course with some varied terrain and technical holes.
Very easy to play negative at this course
Can get a round in quickly

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a look

2-4    2/20/2011   2/21/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/27/2011
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lower Columbia DGC is located on the outskirts of the town Astoria on the Oregon coast and the course is played on, and around the Clatsop County Fairgrounds. The designers of this course did an excellent job of designing a course that is well suited for all types of players. There are alternate pin locations and also a set of long and short tee pads. New players will have fun playing the short tee pads and open holes but also will still find challenge with the more wooded holes and elevation changes but up and down hill holes while more advanced players will be challenged by the wooded holes and the long tee pads. The tee signs are all new and undamaged and each tee pad has a bucket hanging from it for trash disposal. The course is very easy to follow as the basket to the next tee pad(s) aren't too far away. The brick tee pads were just fine.
Cons: Not a whole lot of cons other than a few field holes were filled with water when we went. The open field holes are open so not much challenge to be had and they are short as well but the local area players who are just getting into the game will enjoy this. It was a bit muddy and there are some spots where you could lose some plastic.
Other Thoughts: The designers did just about the best they could with this piece of property and I think the local players have a good little course with some fun throws on it. I found myself several times (on both tee pads) throwing multiple discs because the shots were just so fun. I played with Cefire and he got an ace on the downhill long tee pad, hole six!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Short but solid

2-4    2/20/2011   2/21/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located more than a bit off the beaten trail in Astoria, Columbia Park makes good use of limited space and the few interesting terrain features available. One of the best aspects of this course are several holes with multiple lines (2,5,6,7,9). Those with game are going to find most holes too fundamental but trying out an unothadox line or two will probably be enough to keep things interesting. Columbia also has plenty of variety With several holes playing up, down, and across the hills, low ceiling, high ceiling, and a tight hooks.

Hole Profile:
While hole 7 is probably the most unique shot out here, I'd have to say hole 5 is the most interesting and possibly most challenging of the bunch. Hole 5 plays along a side hill moving down/right and is lined with thorns on the right and several large guard trees which provide nice protection for the pin. From both tees, there are at least three viable lines off the teepad all of which have little bonuses and challenges. From the short tee, I felt like a short flexing sidearm would have given me birdies most consistently although the hyzer was probably the easiest way to get to 30' or so. From the long tee, my selection was nearly entirely different and the big, bombing turnover well left of the defined fairway seemed like the best option because of the much higher ceiling. As I learned on one of my practice shots, missing the window on the right side can also get you into big trouble and painful thorns. In addition to the big turnover, a tight hyzer and a really powerful sky hyzer offer a safer way to attack the hole.
Cons: The biggest con of this course are the number of holes that play across open fields. However, the location pretty much dictates that more than a few holes would have relatively few obstacles. The course designers have done a nice job adding a little challenge to these with elevation and side hills. That said, advanced and pro players are only going to find a few holes out here very challenging. (ex. 3,5)
Other Thoughts: Again, this was a solid little 9'er and well suited to the beginner/casual player. The short tees are easily short enough for even the newest of players and would make a great place to learn about throwing with elevation and wind!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed Bag

1    9/25/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: Leroy
Played: 134  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course climbs up a hill and then back down for lots of elevation changes. A few of the holes are wide open and a few use old forest and parts of what look like an orchard for variety. The maps were easy to read. The brick tee boxes were of an average size.
Cons: Hole 8 crosses over a swampy area that was a couple inches deep. Hole 9 literally goes through a thorn patch. When I got there I saw a group completely skip hole 9 and I wondered why, then I found out.
Other Thoughts: This is a good basic course, but several patches of thorns off hole 1 and completly all over hole 9 make this a bit more of an adventure than I'm used to.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 DELETED REVIEW

1    9/18/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: felixpdx
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 11/21/2013
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: DELETED REVIEWDELETED REVIEWDELETED REVIEWDELETED REVIEWDELETED REVIEWDELETED REVIEWDELETED REVIEWDELETED REVIEWDELETED REVIEWDELETED REVIEW
Cons: DELETED REVIEWDELETED REVIEWDELETED REVIEWDELETED REVIEWDELETED REVIEWDELETED REVIEWDELETED REVIEWDELETED REVIEWDELETED REVIEWDELETED REVIEW
Other Thoughts: DELETED REVIEWDELETED REVIEWDELETED REVIEWDELETED REVIEWDELETED REVIEWDELETED REVIEWDELETED REVIEWDELETED REVIEWDELETED REVIEWDELETED REVIEWDELETED REVIEW

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course

1    8/26/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: senatorjoe
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Finally a course on the coast!

Each hole is fun and a little different from the others.
Great use of the space and elevation.
Tee and pin position labelling is the best I've ever seen. A map of the course on every tee sign makes it easy to see where you've been and where you're going.
Multiple tees and pin positions offer a variety of designs to choose from.
Ace runs on every hole, depending on pin position.
Cons: Short and fairly open. Wind and elevation provide the main obstacles on the course. Even at the longer tee/pin positions, I never threatened to score a bogey.
Couldn't find the alternate tee for #9. Of course, it's not open for another two months, so they've got a little time.


Other Thoughts: Community seems invested in this course-- when I was out there a crew from the jail was doing maintenance and the sherrif's deputy even threw a few discs with me. Clatsop county and the designers deserve a lot of credit for getting this in.

The course gets 3 chains, not because it's difficult, but because each hole is fun to play and the design and execution of the course are amazing given the area they had to work with.

I think #7 should be nicknamed "Plinko."

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.