Sarasota, FL
North Water Tower Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #4 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 246ft.   3 / 246ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Quintessential Florida Course

1    3/3/2014   3/3/2014
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 72  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This is your quintessential Florida course. Plenty of palm trees, Spanish moss, and very flat.
-Course is easy to locate.
-Hole 1 is easy to find. Right by the parking lot.
-Park benches, picnic tables, and trash cans are all over the place.
-The course is moderately wooded and uses the woods very well. Most holes require skill rather than luck.
-The creek that comes into play on several holes provides an added challenge.
-Great mix of long and short holes!
-Each hole has several pin placements and tee pads.
-NWTP plays well for both the experienced and inexperienced player.
-This course was established in the early 90s and was one of the first in the SW Florida area.
-The elevated basket was a nice touch!
Cons: -Despite there being an abundance of trash cans, there was still trash in several spots on the course.
-The transition from hole 12 to hole 13 is pretty difficult.
-The course was fairly busy. We were there on a weekday morning and there were several other groups. Course traffic picked up as we played.
-Older baskets, some rusted
-No elevation to speak of.
-Walkers delayed us on many holes.
Other Thoughts: For being one of the oldest courses in the area, this is still a great course! It was well worth the visit. The neighborhood surrounding the park may have been rougher in the past, but seems to be cleaning up. If you are south of the Tampa area definitely make a trip down here and partner this course with Payne Park.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 water tower

1    9/27/2011   1/8/2012
Review By: tedy4444
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: very fun course for any player. easy to get from hole to hole. good variety of tight, open, long and short holes. nice facilities.
Cons: this course is made for righty backhanders or lefty flickers. if you are a lefty backhander or a righty flicker you better have some experience. i brought a lefty backhander with me and he strugled a lot as he is fairly new to the sport.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sarasota Gem

1    5/10/2011   5/19/2011
Review By: RussMB
Played: 102  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 9.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Water Tower Park is located in a beautiful park in Sarasota. The ambience from the Spanish moss hanging from the Live Oaks will make this experience memorable.

-Multiple concrete tees, signs (w/map, lines, and distance). As well as Alternate pin locations.

-This course is one of the early courses in Florida; there is a nostalgic feeling about playing there.

-DG Billboard with map of the course

-Beginner friendly, fun for all skill levels.

-Plays in and around the wooded area of the park.

-Good fun factor, well designed, and they maximized the use of this park.

-Lines vary from hole to hole. You'll be required to work your line around trees that are scattered throughout the fairway. You will also need to be mindful of the low ceiling formed by the canopy of trees.

-Good Distances for a wooded course. Range from 250 to 325 avg. There are a couple of holes that are 400+

-The trees are spacious enough, and the brush isn't thick. The risk of losing your disc here is low.

-Each fairway comes with its own challenge.

-The park was very clean, and well taken care of.

-Restrooms are available, as well as picnic tables, shelters and garbage cans. Also benches are available in case you need a break.

-Fairly easy to navigate, but a map will help you on a few of the holes. We did have to look around a couple of times, but it wasn't too bad.

-This course is a popular course, so finding someone to hook up with shouldn't be a problem.
Cons: -The main one would be all of the walking paths that meander throughout the course. The park goers, for the most part, seem to be fairly aware of Disc Golf.

- (This is an "is what it is" factor, not held against it) The terrain was fairly flat. Then again, this is coastal region so that's the way it is.

-The course isn't in the worst neighborhood, but I was told that it's not the best neighborhood either. However, I was also told that nothing major has ever happened here, and there aren't many issues with the park. There are, however, a number of disc golfers out there. So if you feel leery, you'll be in good company. It wouldn't stop me from playing here.
Other Thoughts:
I really had a good time here. The fun factor was terrific, and the park itself is very enjoyable to walk through. As has been said before, this is a must play course. There is a nice stretch of Disc Golf courses to be played in this area, this isn't one to miss. No special footwear is needed; my Nike's did just fine. I played in May, so I can't really say how the bug situation is. If you come from 75, you'll pass plenty of places to grab a bite before/after you play here. Nothing in the immediate vicinity of Water Tower Park though.
If memory serves correctly, it appeared to be fairly balanced between right/left-handed shots. It's tight, but not to frustrating. Some of my frustration came from a low branch that I wasn't paying attention to, or playing too close to the edge. But it wasn't enough to take away from the fun I was having. Even if you get deflected, you can still salvage your shot with a good approach shot. Go, and have fun here. You'll be glad you did.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The Original SW Florida Course

5+    1/8/2011   1/9/2011
Review By: thrembo
Played: 79  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 38.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first and finest course between the Sarasota and the Ft. Myers area. The course is well designed and has a good flow to it. Concrete t-pads, several with multiple tees and pin placement. More than enough benches, tables, garbage cans and a nice pavillion. A well established league who host great tournaments! The course was very clean and well maintained. Modern restrooms very close to the course.
Cons: The course is not in the best of nieghborhoods, but it has been seemingly improving over the years. Yesterday morning two punks rode their dirt bikes onto the course, but were quickly chased off by some agressive disc golfers! The course is in a city park and there is a sidewalk that winds through it, but its not that big of a deal.
Other Thoughts: The course is heavily played and as a result of this it has greatly improved the park and the area around it. If passing through and can only play one course in Sarasota, play this one!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Don't skip this one!

2-4    12/31/2009   1/4/2010
Review By: jrawk
Played: 79  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Easy parking. Pleasant atmosphere. Clean and well groomed park. Park benches a plenty.

-Practice basket next to 10's tee, with a very long park bench for socializing.

-Excellent tee signs and to-next-tee arrows. Did not have any trouble locating baskets/tees.

-Great hole variation: A fair mix of open holes, wooded holes, long holes, Dog legs and every combination.

-Many drives start in open fairways that dive into wooded area, favoring precision instead of distance.

-Many holes have alternate tee pads, but are either natural or make use of the walking paths.

-Many holes have alternate Pin locations. But locals told me they rarely change. Also, for reasons i do not remember, hole 8 is now permanently in the long pin location.

-Hole 9 is the longest (510 ft) and plays past the water tower, which has barbed fencing surrounding it. But unless you have a completely errant throw, nobody should be landing a disc inside the fence.

-My favorite hole # 4 plays off tee through tight fairway diving into woods with narrow fairways to both basket locations, but abruptly ending by some tree obstacles that requires a skillful approach or precise putt.

-The two water hazards on 6 and 7 are completely recoverable and make them unique to the rest of the course.
Cons:
-It's a tight course, where many fairways share the same rough zones. Play was interrupted a handful of times by someone throwing back to their intended fairway.

-Walking paths are used as both fairways and tee pads on some holes. While most people in the park are golfers, there are allot of locals walking babies in strollers. This is the biggest factor preventing me from rating this course higher.

-Dirty restrooms. Not that big of a deal. But don't bring a change of clothes and expect to use the restrooms as a changing booth.

-Players camping on hole 10, practicing drives I guess. Not that big deal, again, just a nuisance.
Other Thoughts:
-This is one of the all around funnest courses I've played at due to its mix of hole styles. The course design flaws are preventing me from rating it higher than a 3.5, however I'd give this course a 5.0 for fun-factor.

-Local club is very active. My first time playing this course was overwhelmed by the local club members for their Sunday events. I would have participated if not for being with my girlfriends family.

-Guy selling discs sits on a lawn chair between 9 and 10 with his dogs (very well trained). Looked to have a box of Innova labeled by name. Didn't check prices.

-Sketchy location although nothing that should stop anybody from playing this course. I did however have an interesting run in. While on hole 8, i see a white, beat-up, Cadillac driving through the park on the foot paths, the front bumper hanging off the thing. The man and woman playing behind me called 911. We continued playing and when i got to hole 13, the people in the car we sitting on a park bench by 14's tee (clearly intoxicated) and had parked their car in 15's fairway, right next to the basket. They shortly got up and left, driving the rest of the footpath out. The police showed up 15 minutes later. Of course, this was the day i failed to bring my camera.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice technical course

2-4    5/24/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: Kurt Hodges
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Water really never comes into play, so you needn't bring any floating discs. While there are OB ditches, the water usually isn't that deep, so you can get your disc back and take the stroke. The tee pads and baskets also are in pretty good shape, and there is plenty of shade and the parking and bathrooms are nice. The park staff and/or locals have done a great job keeping the understory open. So, if you are off line, you can find your disc easily; you just might not have a shot. Also, the local disc golf community is highly organized, friendly and has a good time together.
Cons: Very-to overly tight fairways on some holes. There are about 4 holes where you have to just sort of "poke and hope" (i.e., throw down the pipe and hope for the best). The section of town (by the airport) isn't necessarily the safest, and I was advised not to play by myself, as drugs and prostitution are common.
Other Thoughts: North Water Tower Park is a nice mid-ranged technical course. NWTP will really test your abilities and force you to shape your shot and throw straight. I would like to see a few cabbage palms and small trees taken out here and there to give a little more options, but overall it is hard, but pretty fair (i.e., a 960-990 ranked player will shoot par or slightly under). Overall I am glad I played it and would recommend giving it a try if you are in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Simple but fun

1    5/13/2009   5/13/2009
Review By: JimW
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a somewhat technical course overall but not too difficult. If you're shooting for birdie it might be tricky at times but going for par is pretty easy. The tee signs are excellent, having distances for all pads and placements and helpful pictures showing the fairway and best route to take and some of them even have photos. It's usually easy to find the next tee and there's a map for the front nine at hole 1. It's very easy to only play 9 holes if you want since the front and back nines start and end right by the parking lot. Chances of losing a disc are minimal, unless you throw it into a palm tree you should be able to locate even errant throws with ease.
Cons: Some of the holes are blind shots, you can get a good idea of where the basket is from the tee sign but you can't actually see it from anywhere around the pad. The hybrid nature of the course (short but not too technical) may leave skilled players wishing for a little more challenge. The pedestrian/bike path will cause some waits at busier times.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course to play and makes for a great day of golf when combined with Lakeview Park. It won't wow you but you won't be disappointed either.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sarasota's Traditional Course

5+    4/21/2009   5/7/2009
Review By: Roller Coasters
Played: 39  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 9.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a traditional course in a great park. The front 9 wraps around the outside of the park and the back 9 meanders through the middle, heavily wooded part. Both the 9th and 18th hole end at the parking lot. There are nice concrete tees throughout the park. The front nine has single tees, except for hole 9 and almost all of the back nine have multiple tees. All of the holes have multiple pin positions and all of the tees and positions are marked on the tee signs that are found at each tee. There is a practice basket right near the parking lot. There are always people at the park and I have been invited to play with someone every time I have been there.
Cons: The park is in a questionable part of town, but I have never had a problem and have never felt uncomfortable in the park.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the first courses that I played when I started playing back in 2004. I really liked the front nine, but the back nine was brutal. There was typical palmettos and heavy scrub. I also came face to face with a black widow spider while searching for an errant throw. I let the black widow have the disc and backed away very slowly. After a long hiatus from the sport, I returned to this course this spring and was elated to find it in amazing shape. The back nine has been cleared of the underbrush and scrub and the course is now a joy to play. Even more recently the local club has done even more work on the course. The wooded holes are still a challenge, but there is now no risk of spending a half an hour searching through painful underbrush looking for a disc. I love the variety of open and wooded holes and the difference in feel between the front and back nine. For you big bombers, you will love hole 9 at over 500 feet. I personally dislike it, but I will conquer it one day.

I highly recommend this course to anyone and, paired with Lakeview Park is a great day trip disc golf destination.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 B+ for Bery Bery Nice Tradiitonal Course

5+    4/7/2004   4/18/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 363  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 19.9 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- B+
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/20/2006   1/9/2009
Review By: Mando
Played: 92  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/12/2009
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice mix of tight wooded holes and open holes. Interesting layout with a distinct tropical flavor. Great vibe with friendly and helpful locals (like HazMat).
Since it was few years ago, I can't recount the specifics other than how much fun we had playing this course.
Cons: The hospital heli-pad can be a distraction.
Other Thoughts: This was the first disc golf course our family played and it was the perfect course to start on. Everyone had a blast.Sarasota in the winter is hard to beat. Don't miss the drums on the beach.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.