Sarasota, FL 
North Water Tower Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #18 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 297ft.   3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee Sign



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 Nice technical course

2-4    5/24/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: Kurt Hodges
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Water really never comes into play, so you needn't bring any floating discs. While there are OB ditches, the water usually isn't that deep, so you can get your disc back and take the stroke. The tee pads and baskets also are in pretty good shape, and there is plenty of shade and the parking and bathrooms are nice. The park staff and/or locals have done a great job keeping the understory open. So, if you are off line, you can find your disc easily; you just might not have a shot. Also, the local disc golf community is highly organized, friendly and has a good time together.
Cons: Very-to overly tight fairways on some holes. There are about 4 holes where you have to just sort of "poke and hope" (i.e., throw down the pipe and hope for the best). The section of town (by the airport) isn't necessarily the safest, and I was advised not to play by myself, as drugs and prostitution are common.
Other Thoughts: North Water Tower Park is a nice mid-ranged technical course. NWTP will really test your abilities and force you to shape your shot and throw straight. I would like to see a few cabbage palms and small trees taken out here and there to give a little more options, but overall it is hard, but pretty fair (i.e., a 960-990 ranked player will shoot par or slightly under). Overall I am glad I played it and would recommend giving it a try if you are in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Simple but fun

1    5/13/2009   5/13/2009
Review By: JimW
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a somewhat technical course overall but not too difficult. If you're shooting for birdie it might be tricky at times but going for par is pretty easy. The tee signs are excellent, having distances for all pads and placements and helpful pictures showing the fairway and best route to take and some of them even have photos. It's usually easy to find the next tee and there's a map for the front nine at hole 1. It's very easy to only play 9 holes if you want since the front and back nines start and end right by the parking lot. Chances of losing a disc are minimal, unless you throw it into a palm tree you should be able to locate even errant throws with ease.
Cons: Some of the holes are blind shots, you can get a good idea of where the basket is from the tee sign but you can't actually see it from anywhere around the pad. The hybrid nature of the course (short but not too technical) may leave skilled players wishing for a little more challenge. The pedestrian/bike path will cause some waits at busier times.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course to play and makes for a great day of golf when combined with Lakeview Park. It won't wow you but you won't be disappointed either.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sarasota's Traditional Course

5+    4/21/2009   5/7/2009
Review By: Roller Coasters
Played: 39  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a traditional course in a great park. The front 9 wraps around the outside of the park and the back 9 meanders through the middle, heavily wooded part. Both the 9th and 18th hole end at the parking lot. There are nice concrete tees throughout the park. The front nine has single tees, except for hole 9 and almost all of the back nine have multiple tees. All of the holes have multiple pin positions and all of the tees and positions are marked on the tee signs that are found at each tee. There is a practice basket right near the parking lot. There are always people at the park and I have been invited to play with someone every time I have been there.
Cons: The park is in a questionable part of town, but I have never had a problem and have never felt uncomfortable in the park.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the first courses that I played when I started playing back in 2004. I really liked the front nine, but the back nine was brutal. There was typical palmettos and heavy scrub. I also came face to face with a black widow spider while searching for an errant throw. I let the black widow have the disc and backed away very slowly. After a long hiatus from the sport, I returned to this course this spring and was elated to find it in amazing shape. The back nine has been cleared of the underbrush and scrub and the course is now a joy to play. Even more recently the local club has done even more work on the course. The wooded holes are still a challenge, but there is now no risk of spending a half an hour searching through painful underbrush looking for a disc. I love the variety of open and wooded holes and the difference in feel between the front and back nine. For you big bombers, you will love hole 9 at over 500 feet. I personally dislike it, but I will conquer it one day.

I highly recommend this course to anyone and, paired with Lakeview Park is a great day trip disc golf destination.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 B+ for Bery Bery Nice Tradiitonal Course

5+    4/7/2004   4/18/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 374  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 21.2 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- B+
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor...more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A recommended stop on your Florida Tour

5+    2/22/2009   3/22/2009
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 17.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park has an attractive, native-Florida feel. Most of the course is covered by a nice canopy which provides good shade.

The course puts a premium on accuracy and provides some opportunities to create escape saves for par from the rough.

There are many friendly locals, so it's usually possible to hook up with a game at the park.

The Sky Pilots are one of the biggest and coolest clubs anywhere.
Cons: The park can be a bit sketchy at times. It can be borderline family-friendly with illicit activity.

There's a bit of a chance of losing plastic in the palms.

Some may wish there were more opportunities to throw long shots.

A couple of the holes are too pinbally/random with trees and luck becoming more important than skill.

The bike path winds through the course and there are a couple places where a disc could surprise a biker coming around a corner.
Other Thoughts: Might not be the best course ever, but I'd definitely recommend taking a stop to take in a fun/relaxing round on a course that showcases the work of some of the original Florida disc golf innovators.

Remember: Don't be a dirty disc golfer. If you pack it in, pack it out!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Good local course

5+    1/10/2009   1/16/2009
Review By: cocopop
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.8 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course offers many challenges for the average player. There are a couple longer holes the longest topping out at over 600 ft. Not many opportunities for lost discs so don't worry about lost plastic. There is a nicely secluded practice basket where most of the locals congregate and everyone is very friendly and helpful. Course begins and ends at the parking lot and the course is easy to navigate and well plotted. The front 9 circles around the the outter edges of the woods and the back 9 takes you into the thick of it all. Water and ficilities are right next to hole #1.
Cons: There aren't enough "Technical" shots on the course. The ones that are "Technical" are just thickly wooded prayers. The course needs more maintenance than it gets at times. I would love to see the outter edges of the park get a nice grooming.
Other Thoughts: All in all, it is a nice everyday course with friendly locals. The Sarasota Sky Pilots is the courses club and if you want an entertaining round seek out Jim Widick. He's the founder of the club and helped to design the course.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/20/2006   1/9/2009
Review By: Mando
Played: 105  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/12/2009
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice mix of tight wooded holes and open holes. Interesting layout with a distinct tropical flavor. Great vibe with friendly and helpful locals (like HazMat).
Since it was few years ago, I can't recount the specifics other than how much fun we had playing this course.
Cons: The hospital heli-pad can be a distraction.
Other Thoughts: This was the first disc golf course our family played and it was the perfect course to start on. Everyone had a blast.Sarasota in the winter is hard to beat. Don't miss the drums on the beach.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice in town park

2-4    10/13/2008   10/13/2008
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 106  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/1/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice litle park. Each tee box has a sign telling you distance and placement for both basket placements. Some hole have multiple tee boxes. If you like woods and tight fairways you will love this course.
Cons: Being a city park there is a walking/bikeing path that is well used and will require you keeping and eye out for people. This course was so wooded I had a very difficult time finding baskets from the tee even with the great signs. The first time playing many time my first shot just went to the hole in the woods.
Other Thoughts: Even though the tee signs showed multiple baskets none were out when I played. All were the "standard" placement. The locals here were all very friendly. Judgeing by the reaction of some there have been some people hit by discs.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.