Disc Golf Store
Windham, ME 
Rocky Mountain @ Seacoast Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #5 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Skip this course.

1    6/16/2013   6/27/2013
Review By: Salad Fingers
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cost of play. Good workout.
Cons: Courses aren't maintained very well and because of this it is easy to loose discs. It should be mentioned that due to the poor condition of the course that there are safe concerns such as: 3 to 4 food drops between drainage boulders covered by thick raspberry bushes and heavy cover on the 17 and 18th holes. Many tees are hard to find and have no signage - on several of the holes we had trouble finding the correct hole.
Don't plan on renting any discs for two reasons: the price is 5 dollars, which is returned to you IF you don't loose the disc. Since the course is bad you very well could loose the disc. Also the discs are in very poor condition and they have bad selection.
The staff also has no system in place for record keeping of lost discs.
Lastly - I had three ticks on me, and the person I played with had several. If the course were maintained and they cut the waist high grass present on several holes I'm sure the tick problem wouldn't be so bad.
Other Thoughts: If you live in the Windham/Standish area just skip this place - there are nice courses within 30 to 40 minutes away. I love Woodland Valley, it is worth the drive.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bad maintenance

1    8/4/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: ProjectKyle
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 8/24/2012
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Baskets are in grate condition! Best I have ever seen at a DG course.
Cons: The course maintenance was terrible! There was a lot of underbrush off...And even on the fairways. Also the grass looked as if it had never seen a mower in its life. Because of this I spent more time looking fore my discs then actually playing. There were also a few hazards that made the course vary unsafe! Mostly on the finale 2 holes. The course was also not mapped out well. And I got lost on more then one occasion. If I hadn't talked to one of the employees that worked on the obstacle course. I would have never found hole 17
Other Thoughts: All though I was miserable playing rocky mountin disc golf. I do have a high opinion of the rest of Secoast. I also think a little attention on course maintenance would go a long way. As the course did have a few challenging holes that made it interesting. But until that happens I don't see myself returning again.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Late season condition

1    9/10/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: seano2222
Played: 58  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Interesting hill-side design. Hole 17 provides a unique opportunity to throw a 350 ft in the air on a steep downhill to the basket, for those of us who can't normally put that much distance on a drive. Being on a hill, the course is not prone to standing water or mud. Baskets still in very good condition. The other fun park amusements offer something for the whole family.
Cons: Played late season (September 2011) and it seemed that little course maintenance was being performed. Most obviously, fairway stumps that remain from the original clearing all had large bushels of root-sprouts coming out of them. These had not been clipped in months or perhaps since last year. Out of the fairways, underbrush is allowed to grow freely and is a considerable nuisance - Being hillside, there is easy opportunity for a disc to low speed fade off the fairway for a good distance into obscurity.
Other Thoughts: It will be interesting to see if there is any intent to maintain the grounds on the course. We were there on a sunny Sunday afternoon and had the course to ourselves. Strikes me that the conditions will inhibit repeat customers, ourselves included. In fairness, second time around there would be more familiarity with the layout and we would have spent less time looking for discs with better placed shots.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Very generous pars

1    3/30/2011   4/4/2011
Review By: dsm767
Played: 16  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First time I played this course, and I absolutely love what they have done so far with this course since opening last year. The courses front nine starts off with a par 3 then goes to a par 5 before it transitions into a string of 5 par 4's. As far as any of these holes are concerned the par is very generous, but let me be clear, a skilled player will have no problem coming out of this course way below par; the unseasoned player should have no problems correcting mistakes for par on any hole, at least on the front nine. The first hole is easily a put in two given a good first shot anywhere near the hole since it's a short par 3 right in front of you and slightly to the left. The next hole a par 5 and should be an easy par if not a birdie for most players, I suggest shooting for the fairway about 100ft ahead of you just where your eyes can no longer see over the hill and land near center for a perfect RHBH layup shot to the basket for a eagle, don't over think it. Then you get into a string of par 4's and, should you be able to control your shots enough to get close enough to the rock formation next to the basket on hole 3, which is just a few hundred feet from the tee you should have no problem sinking an eagle or birdie. The rest of the par 4's finish up the same way, make good on your first shot and you'll defiantly get under par, and even if you miss a shot the course is very forgiving in both the tree areas and the outskirts of the fairways, so don't fret and reevaluate your next shot when you get to your disc; you should have no problem settling up for a par in any case.

This course does indeed do a lot with what it has, you figure, its at seacoast and they already have a lot of things going on such as snow tubing, mini golf etc. Where are they going to fit in this course? The answer is they use a lot of the outside areas of the park and transition well into the tree areas of the park using a series of switchbacks on the back 9 so you work your way slowly to the top sections of the snow tubing areas and finally finish up on a long 420' downhill shot on the final hole a par 5. I had an amazing shot here with a lot of power to about 30 feet from the hole and tapped the basket for an almost Alcatraz ( 3 under on a hole ), a hard shot but I would say use your straightest disc and grip it and rip it for maximum yield here.

Overall a lot of the holes on the back nine, since they use switch backs, would seem about the same shot but they do a good job with the incorporation of the elevation here and change shots with different obstacles to shoot around, however, like I stated about the front nine a skilled player should be able to lay up shots for well below par on a good deal of these holes.

Cons: I have to state again that the par is fairly generous at times and this is somewhat of a con for an experienced player, however players of all expertise can enjoy this course and experienced players can always go for the pro par.

I have heard from a few friends that this place can get a bit loud in the summer time since this course is located at seacoast fun park and there are a lot of other activities to do here including mini golf and bungee jumping, and their music is very loud through out the park; I came here in March 2011 and the tubing park that they have in the winter was shut down and the rest of the park had not opened for the season so it was pretty silent. So this would be a great time of the season to experience the park without these distractions. However, on the other hand there were two holes where maintenance men had been working and left their trucks in the middle of the fairways on the front nine, kinda hard to play around but we got through it fine, just something to keep in mind.
Other Thoughts: Pretty close to a lot of the other course in Southern Maine, about 30- 40 min from the Portland area where you can play Pleasant Hill in Scarborough for more open holes and on the way to Seacoast from Portland you can stop at Westerly Winds which is right on the way on the road you take in and this course is also brand new as of last year, 2010; so you can make a day of it and hit up two brand new courses in Maine.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Addition to the Lakes Region

1    8/5/2010   8/18/2010
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/26/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rocky Mountain Disc Golf at Seacoast Fun Park is conveniently located and clearly visible from Route 302. The course is new for 2010 and, for the most part, is off on the right foot. The course has a decent layout. There is a solid variety to the holes at this course. While there are more mostly straight fairways than anything else, there are still numerous left and right fairways where elevation comes into play on almost every hole. Additionally, there is decent variation in hole length, from 210-506'. The course design does a decent job of incorporating the wooded areas of the park. Most wooded fairways are wide enough to forgive drives and approaches that might be a little off the mark, while open fairways are much wider and more forgiving still.

Due to the wooded and hilly nature of the course, Rocky Mountain Disc golf can be challenging for all levels of players and provides a great workout.

The "new" concrete tees appear to be repurposed sidewalks or parking lots. I have to give a big thumbs up for this as it is a great way to pull an eco-friendly aspect into disc golf.

The Kingpin baskets were brand new and in fantastic shape.

The course featured new and fairly detailed tee signs that showed distance, par and obstacles (mostly trees).
Cons: SAFTEY! I don't think enough thought was given to player and pedestrian safety when the course was designed. The 18th hole poses the biggest potential danger to bystanders. The fairway is similar to many ski hill courses and drives down a long, expansive hill to a wide-open basket. The problem is that there is a tubing ride and walkway that is adjacent to the left side of the fairway. The combination of most players throwing RHBH and the downhill drive creates a very real potential for countless numbers of discs to bombard (and seriously injure) unsuspecting patrons. The mind-blowing part of this equation is that there is a section of netting that extends several hundred feet along the right side of the fairway (the side that borders woods). Instead of protecting the people using the tubing ride, the netting saves the thrower from having to hike into the trees to retrieve an errant drive. Further, the proximity of baskets to tees is of concern. Specifically, hole 1 and hole 5 both drive toward the same location, with hole 5 being a downhill drive that, if it gets away from the thrower, poses a serious risk for anyone on the fairway for hole 1. Not as extreme, but still of concern is the proximity of the tee for hole 5 to the basket of hole 4.

Second to safety was the ridiculous volume of underbrush on nearly every hole. It's difficult to enjoy the solid course layout if you have to waste time looking for drives that were placed solidly on the fairway but were hidden by excessive shule. Hole 5 was an example of what appeared to be a wide-open fairway, but in reality, most of the left side of the course was covered with knee-high brush. The design of hole 16 was fantastic, but the volume of bushes and other wild growth completely ruins the appeal of the layout.

Following closely behind dense brush was the distracting music. If you want a quiet, peaceful round surrounded by the sounds of the woods, you won't find it here. Seacoast Fun Park has many other activities on site and they blast the radio all over the park. The sound system (playing a pop hits commercial radio station while I was there) is so loud that it bleeds onto the disc golf course and is very clearly audible at every tee, fairway, and basket.

As much as I love the reuse of the concrete tees, the pads are a bit small. The tees would be too small for most players that use a standard X-step or have an elongated run-up. Several of the tee areas are situated such that it would be difficult/dangerous to do a run up onto the tee.

There were a few instances where navigation was an issue. Going from the basket on hole 1 to the tee on hole 2 confused me and the three groups that were behind me. A few of the wooded holes required a bit of back and forth until the next tee was located. A "Next Tee" sign would go a long way to alleviate these issues.
Other Thoughts: Despite pointing out the cons, Rocky Mountain Disc Golf is still pretty solid and challenging course and seasoned players will enjoy it (especially if the dense brush is cut back). That being said, due to the volume of wooded holes, the excessive brush, and the elevation changes, I don't think that this course is the best entry point for families and new players into the sport of disc golf. If the safety issues could be addressed, tees lengthened, and if the extensive wild growth and underbrush could be significantly cut back, Rocky Mountain Disc Golf could start to look like a contender in the pantheon of Maine disc golf courses.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.