Preston , CT 
Strawberry Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #1 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Strawberry Fields for 20 Minutes

2-4    3/22/2014   3/24/2014
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 106  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you are looking to combine a round of disc golf with a trip to one of the largest casinos in the world, this just might be the course for you. Foxwoods and Mohegan Sun are 10-15 minutes away.

It is a very beginner friendly course, and navigation is easy. Nearly every hole is under 240 feet. I got to play the exciting "Buzzz vs Mako vs Wizard" game (the Wizard won). You wouldn't need anything more than those to play.
Cons: The first six holes are as boring as they come, just straight, open shots. The 7th and 9th holes do require a bit of shot shaping, perhaps giving newbies a taste of what disc golf has to offer.

The tee pads are narrow, natural tee pads. They were muddy, so I skipped them.
The course is pretty flat. It's too bad. Route 165 cuts through some mouth-watering terrain in Rhode Island and Connecticut with woods, elevation, and lakes. But the only course nearby is wide open.
Other Thoughts: The sign said the course is reserved for campers, but it doesn't look like that would really be enforced. You're not passing through any gates or anything to enter the area.

Don't go out of your way unless you need a place to pad your ace totals, or if your day at the poker tables ended early.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

putter and i

5+    2/15/2012   2/15/2012
Review By: JAKE master
Played: 31  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/27/2012
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: great for newbies or new discs you want to check the flight on because the wide open fairways. you can play the whole course with a putter and still drop 12 strokes on par. best course if your short on time. you can squeeze in 18 in about 20 min if you want.
Cons: if you drive more than 20min to get there you prob wasted your time unless you plan on playing 4 rounds. t boxes stay muddy most of the year it seems and are dug out so the x step can be a danger. i see most people throw from behind the box.
Other Thoughts: it is posted the course is only for campers. i live 5 min from this course and play it often. i have not been kicked out, except the first time when i brought my dog. highlights are hole 7 with an uphill turnover shot, and 9 with a uphill gap you have to hit half way down the fairway.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 I Couldn"t Find The Strawberries!

1    8/6/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Strawberry Park is across the street from some private campground. There is a sign that says the park and parking lot are only for the use of those persons using the campgrounds. While I was in the midst of my quick 20 minute round, two employee (???) guys got in a little golf cart and started it up. I thought for sure they were coming to kick me off but they just drove off towards another part of the park. The disc golf part is a flat, well maintained area with some scattered trees. There are natural teepads with signs showing the distance and par. The pars listed are for elementary kids......like a 281' par 5. This is basically a pitch and putt. # 2 is about 280' with the basket sitting under some trees so it's kind of a legitimate hole. Most of the others are pretty short and straight forwarded. A round should take no longer than 20 minutes.
Cons: If you're allowed to play here, I don't see any major disadvantages. It's what it is. It's a short, fun little pitch and putt. Perfect for bringing that newbie or racking up some eagles. I missed a easily makeable 25' putt on # 5 on what would have been my first career double eagle. ACE runs abound here. Enjoy it, look for the positives.
Other Thoughts: These types of courses have a place in our sport. There was a British family of five playing for the first time, one of the boys had one of those whiz rings, anyway I think that's what they're called. I wish I had had some old junk disc with me to give him. I love seeing folks like them out playing disc golf and this is the perfect course for them to break in on.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Strawberry park had an apple tree

1    10/12/2010   10/21/2010
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 437  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice boxed tees
- Signage
- baskets in good shape
- well groomed
- nice hand stacked stone wall
- fairly easy to navigate
- beginner course
- Hard to loose a disc
Cons: - Course is suppose to be for campers only
- only one set of tees
- most holes are wide open, not really difficult
- couple next tees are close to baskets
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice little park with a hand stacked stone wall border and a nice apple tree in the center. This course is suited for kids and beginners as it's mostly wide open with well kept grass and minimal chance of loosing a disc.The course says it's for campers use and I imagine they would charge a fee for day use. The course was easy to find and there is a good amount of parking available. First tee is easy to find and navigation is easy as well as most next tees are pretty close to the basket. Tee signs have all the info needed and the tees are a decent size for the player level. No benches, trash cans or bath rooms that I remember.Nothing overly exciting here, break out the putter and mids and go to town.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Backyard Disc Golf

1    9/29/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: KazamaSmokers
Played: 24  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well kept. Good, rudimentary signage. Quiet, scenic grounds. Close parking. Good tee boxes.
Cons: Real basic. Every hole but one is line-of-sight. No real elevation changes. Par is a stoke too high for almost every hole. No woods.
Other Thoughts: Nice place for a quick 9 holes. A sign in the parking lot leads me to believe that this course may be restricted to campground guests, but no one bothered me while I was there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.