Springfield, IL 
Douglas Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 318ft.   3 / 392ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Noob Review

1    6/28/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: Redleg
Played: 40  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice location, lots of hills, challenging with all the hills and valleys for a new player. All the Tees and Pins where pretty easy to find. Several you could not see from the tee but tee placement was pretty logical
Cons: Park needs a good cleaning. lots of trash on the course I didn't bring a big enough bag to carry off all I found! Mostly alcohol containers. Couple of the tees need some maintenance. Looks like the have begun but have not finished.
Other Thoughts: It is a great course going to have to play again just to get my score down since I junked up my first visit with my score.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!!!

1    3/6/2010   3/6/2010
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 116  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/18/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I'll go chronological order, I guess. :)
-As soon as I got there, I ran into a group of kids who were promoting the "Springfield Disc Golf Club" and were handing out business cards with the url and all the information about the club. He said that he was handing out minis, but they ran out. How awesome is that?!?
-The first shot is beautiful, you're basically throwing it at the capital building. I was in complete awe when I was standing on the tee. Very, very cool.
-Great risk/reward on some of these shots. #2 comes to mind specifically.
-HUUGE elevation changes. Although it gets kind of repetitive, it was a blast playing here. Probably the biggest hills I've ever played.
-Definitely some sweeeet ace runs! I hit metal on hole #8!
-Nice big map at the beginning of the course and nice little tee maps as well.
Cons: -The ground around the baskets were muddy and some of the tees were very short. The last few holes were kind of boring because it just a throw across a gap, so it's a constant "down up" kind of thing.
Other Thoughts: Did I mention how sweet the first shot was? I did, but I should mention it again, very, very cool!
Also, the people at this park were all very, very friendly. Everyone said hi or waved which was really cool. I had an absolute blast playing here. Thanks, Springfield!

www.discgolfclub.org

As an aside, while you're here, definitely check out Abraham Lincoln's tomb! It's very close!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hilly Tight Course

1    8/5/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: atomictoyguy
Played: 30  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I really liked this course for its variety of shots, and excellent flow. I found getting from pin to next tee to be for the most part quick which was nice to keep the rhythm of play up. They made great use of terrain and elevation.
Cons: The course is very tight, holes seem to layer upon each other in several areas. Meaning that the fairways overlap. So if the course is busy you might find your self waiting for players on other holes to clear out of your way.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch & Putt...

5+    9/29/2007   10/11/2007
Review By: tomschillin
Played: 146  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 19.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/16/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's fun because it's quick and easy...only need a mid-range and putter...it plays up and down and around several little hilltops...first hole has a beautiful backdrop of the capital building...decent tee pads and baskets...lots of ace runs...my favorite holes were in the middle, #6 i think is a beautiful hilltop to hilltop shot that's not too terribly tough, and there's another couple of holes just like this that traverse hilltop to hilltop...the layout of this course is pretty cool, there's not a whole lot of space, but they managed to squeeze 18 holes in here and a practice basket without crossing fairways, or really any safety hazards...
Cons: Pro-tees need to be marked better...course isn't in a "bad" part of town but the park does have it's share of vagabonds (just wanted to use the word) and some homosexual activity...there's a concrete pavillion that has some walls that kind of enclose the space, so "Activities" go on in there that aren't noticed by passers-by, it's kind of a creepy little pavilion...it's by the 16 or 17 tee pad if i remember correctly...it's not an unsafe feeling, but you definitely notice it...
Other Thoughts: Current configuration I can play 18 holes in about 40 minutes...if I knew where the pro tees were it would be more challenging and take longer...park also has a amphitheatre and nice playground for the kids...

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.