Springfield, IL 
Douglas Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 235ft.   3 / 301ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
What An Excellent Course For This Old Rec Player!

1    6/16/2016   6/16/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 944  Reviewed: 894  Exp: 38.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Douglas Park has just about perfect terrain for a disc golf course. The park is green, wonderfully hilly with lots of mature trees to throw at and around. There is a nice course map sign at the beginning. The tee signs are the old style fiberglass ones. These are all faded. They only have a hole number on them. The concrete tee pads vary in size depending on the hole's distance. I thought were more than adequate. The baskets are older DGA models. Most of them have some kind of number on top. Lots of benches to relaxe on.
The course is instinctive to navigate. One drawback is it's lack of length. This alone classifies it as a recreational course. Better players won't find much challenge here.
The course uses the elevation to the fullest. There's only maybe 3-4 holes which are flat. The rest play up, down or over the valley that runs through the park. The over the valley shots are great enjoyment but might be a tad overdone with five "over the valley" holes in a row starting at # 13.
But even with some repetitiveness, all these downhill, through the tree shots are mega-fun, in my opinion.
My signature/favorite hole goes to # 2, 4, 6, 7, 8, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 and 17. And 18 was a fun throw, too.
Cons: Recreational length and difficulty.
Very little risk/reward on this course.
Could use some trash cans, although I saw next to no trash.
The five holes that cross the valley, although immensely fun, did start to grow monotonous.
Other Thoughts: I'd love to take this park and course home with me. It fits my game, age and recreational level to the max. Nice and shady for those warm summer days but plenty of hills to trek up and down. Rating this course is difficult for me. If it just up to me, I'd give it a 5 but in comparison with other courses, I'm reluctantly giving it a 3.5. Kind of pains me to have to rate it this lower. It's one of my top 10 courses I've played. So very much reminds me of Riverside Park DGC in St. Cloud, Minnesota. Riverside offers more challenge than Douglas but I'm about 7-8 years older now.

In summation, play it, you'll probably love it!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Douglas Park

2-4    3/19/2016   3/19/2016
Review By: derek1018
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great elevation and all the uphill/downhill walking is easy
Fun course design
Easy course to play, many opportunities to ace
Benches located throughout the course
Concrete tee pads
Cons: Advanced tees are either gone or very difficult to find
Signage is nonexistent to show where baskets are located
Trash all over the course
Inconsistent tee pad sizes
Other Thoughts: This is a beginner course but its fun to play. Challenges on every basket are the trees and the fun uphill/downhill shots. I appreciate the benches all over but there needs to be trash cans located throughout the course because its littered with trash. Lines on signage are nonexistent and need to be redone along with adding cement tee pads for advanced tees.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and good exercise

1    3/8/2016   3/9/2016
Review By: Sanctified777
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very hilly but manageable to walk. This is a great short or beginner course.
Cons: Some small tee boxes, and the tee signs dont have hole details.
Other Thoughts: I like this course. It was great with a beginner and loved the trees and hills.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Quality Recreational Course

1    8/23/2015   9/29/2015
Review By: Jiggy202
Played: 54  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-The standout here is the ELEVATION changes. Absolutely awesome use of the rolling hills here!!
-The course does not interfere with other park users in this busy city park
-Course map right by hole #1
Cons:
-Varying teepad sizes. Some very short ones on the shorter holes and all of them are a little too narrow.
-Could not find any of the markers for the advanced tees
-Tee signs are no longer readable on any hole
Other Thoughts:
Hole #1 starts you off with an awesome view of the capitol building and sets the tone for the rest of the round. While this course is not overly difficult or lengthy it was just pure DG enjoyment. This is a classic casual DG course. You won't see big tourneys at this course, but that's not what this place is about. Sure the course theme is repetitive up and down the hills but they keep it interesting with different shot lines, tree obstacles, and decent pin placements. I really think this course has the perfect amount of challenge for a casual city course. If you want a more challenging course Lincoln Park has you covered. Really great DGC options in Springfield. I would play Douglas Park again if I was in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Best beginners course ever

5+    7/5/2015   9/5/2015
Review By: pianocomposer
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Most beginner courses are terrible. In many ways, this course is better than Lincoln North because it takes more variety and talent to play it. Trees, elevation, blind shots, and yet is nice and short. A good player can shoot 45 but is never boring. And wind can really make it tough.
Cons: I have no issues with this course. Watch out for park users.
Other Thoughts: Best short course I have ever played.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice course.

5+    11/26/2011   12/5/2011
Review By: fulker
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Alt. pin locations for tourney play adds a challenge to the course for Rec. players.
- Course plays back and fourth across a valley on holes 11 to 17 which seems to make the course. I would have to say the signature hole is Hole 1 with the first throw heading at the capitol building in the distance.
Cons: - Acorns in the fall. Watch your step they will meet you at the ground.
- Leave the tie dye at home in the fall the leaf monsters will get it. Spotters are helpful during the fall on 50% of the holes since they are covered with leaves.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course for amateurs

2-4    8/19/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: uigrad
Played: 33  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 26.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: In spite of some of the negative reviews, I love this course. I don't have great distance, but the majority of us don't. For a casual player like myself, this course is excellent.

The main theme of this course is up or down hills, with tall trees as obstacles in strategic places. I don't claim that there is a lot of variety, because this theme is repeated over and over, but for players that like hills and trees, this repetition is a good thing. This is my favorite thing about the course.

The first hole is very scenic, as you are driving towards a horizon that frames the capital building. You won't see anything like this for the rest of the course, but most of the holes are still quite scenic, due to the high vantage points, and lack of thick woods.

The course is very relaxing for casual play. The tees are comfortable (concrete), there is considerable shade the whole way. There is only woods for one hole (#2), so you won't need to worry about poison ivy or thorns. The hills are not terribly steep, so it is easy terrain to walk through.

The course is well maintained. I didn't see any damaged baskets or tees, and it is always mowed well. There is plenty of parking, and there's a map when you first enter.

Lastly, I think the course is designed very well for casual play. It is laid out nicely, without a lot of walking between holes, but yet spread out enough that you don't have to worry about hitting golfers on other holes.

There aren't any ridiculous hard obstacles or 600 ft holes, but there are still a lot more challenges than you may expect for a casual city course. In my opinion, the balance is about perfect.

The fairways are far enough away from houses, swingsets, and walking paths that you won't need to worry about hitting kids or other park-goers. I have seen people walking dogs, but they have never been in the way.
Cons: The biggest con to this is that it is a bit lacking for higher level players. 8 of the 18 holes are under 250 feet, and the longer tees are either non-existent or hard to find. Even if you play the harder tees (if you can find them), the longest for any hole is 406!

I wish I could say that there are no navigation problems, but the direction to walk for the next tee is printed back at the sign for the last one. The course flows pretty well, so you can guess the correct direction to walk nearly every time. I don't think this is much of a problem, though. I've found my way through pretty easily without help.

According to a Springfield local that I spoke with, this park is a well-known spot for illegal activity, especially after dark. I didn't see anything of concern when I was there, but I've only been during broad daylight.
Other Thoughts: This will never be the home of a huge tournament, but for casual play, it is one of the best courses in central Illinois.

Springfield is very fortunate to have 3 full-length courses, so they can easily have one that caters to amateur players. I think this course does that very nicely.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Douglas

1    8/7/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: kylesplash
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice course with hills and trees. Most holes are under 300FT, makes for a nice relaxing experience.
Cons: The tee's didnt indicate which direction the hole is. You had to look at the map, and it indicated north.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Noob Review

1    6/28/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: Redleg
Played: 51  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice location, lots of hills, challenging with all the hills and valleys for a new player. All the Tees and Pins where pretty easy to find. Several you could not see from the tee but tee placement was pretty logical
Cons: Park needs a good cleaning. lots of trash on the course I didn't bring a big enough bag to carry off all I found! Mostly alcohol containers. Couple of the tees need some maintenance. Looks like the have begun but have not finished.
Other Thoughts: It is a great course going to have to play again just to get my score down since I junked up my first visit with my score.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little park course

1    2/26/2011   3/10/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a grassy park that's mostly filled with nice mature trees. A small amount of underbrush comes into play on a couple early holes, otherwise there's no real rough. Most holes have some kind of elevation change, which definitely adds variety and fun to the course. There are some fun downhill ace runs, some tougher uphill shots, and some shots from one hillside to another where a short shot leaves you with a tricky uphill approach.

Though the course is pretty short overall, there's enough variety in hole shapes and elevation changes that it doesn't get too repetitive. For many players, most holes are putter or mid shots, but you'll need to shape lots of different lines through the trees to get your birdies. The short set of tees have decent concrete pads, and basic signs. There are long tees that add some challenge and length to the course. The tee signs show distance and layout for both tees, and for both pin positions on the holes that have alternates.
Cons: The long tees looked like they would change up the course and add quite a bit of difficulty, unfortunately they're hard to find since they're only marked with a board flush with the ground. They're also natural, so many of the ones I saw were rutted out and not very level. The alternate pins also added some nice variety, but it would be nice to have a way of noting which pin positions were in use, there were a few holes where it wasn't obvious where to throw without knowing where the pin was.

There are a few spots that are odd in terms of navigation, nothing major but you might have to wander a bit between some holes. The course is very short, so despite some fun holes and good variety of shot shapes, it's just not all that challenging for better players. There are a few places where roads and parking lots come into play for potential safety issues.
Other Thoughts: This course isn't going to challenge more experienced players, it's short and doesn't offer much punishment for errant shots. Newer players will have a lot of fun here, it's got reasonable lengths for shorter throwers, and enough trees to keep it interesting without being so dense that it's frustrating. I had a good time playing here, and would recommend a stop here especially if you combine it with the 36 holes at nearby Lincoln Park.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.