Springfield, IL 
Douglas Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 318ft.   3 / 392ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

5+    7/5/2010   7/9/2010
Review By: Stoney311
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice, short beginner friendly course in a decent part of town. Uses elevation changes and large trees nicely on every hole. Concrete tee pads, water fountains, restrooms, and practice baskets(2) onsite. Very easy to follow the flow of course, even if you've never played it before. Lots of Ace run holes, especially #4.
Cons: - If you are a more advanced player, pro tees are natural and not marked, If you see a blue railroad tie behind concrete tee this is normally the pro tee.

-sometimes some shady characters hang out by pavillion on sw corner of park starting around hole #13. I actually had 1 person actually pick my disc up after a drive.

-ocassionally the park is very busy and around hole one i have actually had to skip because people had volleyball net stretched across fairway and or were playing football in fairway.
Other Thoughts: This is the course I play the most since i am just starting out. I would recommend for any beginner to intermediate player. If you are more concerned about being challenged should check out Lincoln Park. But if you are just wanting a fun day of DG then this is a NICE option.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course from the blue tees

2-4    6/8/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: green_hornet915
Played: 102  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/11/2010
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Course had a great view of the capital on hole one was a great photo opp. The course is laid out well and has a good variety of shots we played from the blue tees WHEN WE COULD FIND THEM. the park is very well kept and a 2.5 miles of walking good time!!
Cons: It plays very short from the red concrete pads for a more challenging game find the blue pads. The only thing I can say is the blue tee boxes were hard to find on some holes. mabey the park could weed eat around the blue pads to make it easyer to find these placements.
Other Thoughts: I was out at this course again in the fall the park was inindated with leaves the park needed to have some maitainance done. at some places the leaves were 4 foot deep in the ditches not very disc golf friendly at all.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Little Course

2-4    5/25/2010   5/27/2010
Review By: cooktastic
Played: 67  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a fun little course. It is short...but the shots are all interesting. There is a surprising amount of elevation changes for this part of central Illinois. The view of the Capital Building from hole 1's tee is pretty cool (a very nice signature hole). Some very friendly and helpful disc golfers the first time I played who went out of their way to make sure we knew where we were going on all holes...speaks volumes for the disc golf community in Springfield. Very nice mature trees throughout. Love the risk/reward secondary route (very narrow walking path instead of the layup shot to the opening in the woods down to the pin) on hole 2.
Cons: It is a pretty short course...not too many times to let your drives rip. The park can have some sketchy people in it from time to time. The back nine is a little repetitive as other reviewers have stated.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. It is one of my favorite shorter courses to play. Plenty of variety and a great compliment to Springfield's other two courses.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Hilly

1    5/25/2010   5/27/2010
Review By: odysseus81
Played: 87  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 19.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great little course...I had a ton of fun out here. The 18 holes doesn't feel cramped at all. The land is very hilly with nice mature trees throughout. Kinda reminds me of a junior version of Water Works in some ways. Lots of unique tee shots and plenty of birdie/ace runs because most of the distances are under 300 ft. Great for all skill levels which is nice if you are playing with beginners. Course is very well maintained with tee signs and concrete tees. Beautiful view off the first tee...
Great location in town...especially in relation to the other courses. Course flow is wonderful. I had no trouble navigating and it was my first time there.
Cons: If you are looking for mega challenge, you won't find it here. Some of the tee pads are pretty short. The pavilion at the back of the park had some pretty sketchy people hanging out up there...which I am told is a very common occurrence (not a huge deal).
Other Thoughts: This is more of a casual players course but there is enough fun to keep it interesting for better players. They did as well as they could with the land available. It is a no-brainer to play if you are in the area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!!!

1    3/6/2010   3/6/2010
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 133  Reviewed: 125  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/18/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I'll go chronological order, I guess. :)
-As soon as I got there, I ran into a group of kids who were promoting the "Springfield Disc Golf Club" and were handing out business cards with the url and all the information about the club. He said that he was handing out minis, but they ran out. How awesome is that?!?
-The first shot is beautiful, you're basically throwing it at the capital building. I was in complete awe when I was standing on the tee. Very, very cool.
-Great risk/reward on some of these shots. #2 comes to mind specifically.
-HUUGE elevation changes. Although it gets kind of repetitive, it was a blast playing here. Probably the biggest hills I've ever played.
-Definitely some sweeeet ace runs! I hit metal on hole #8!
-Nice big map at the beginning of the course and nice little tee maps as well.
Cons: -The ground around the baskets were muddy and some of the tees were very short. The last few holes were kind of boring because it just a throw across a gap, so it's a constant "down up" kind of thing.
Other Thoughts: Did I mention how sweet the first shot was? I did, but I should mention it again, very, very cool!
Also, the people at this park were all very, very friendly. Everyone said hi or waved which was really cool. I had an absolute blast playing here. Thanks, Springfield!

www.discgolfclub.org

As an aside, while you're here, definitely check out Abraham Lincoln's tomb! It's very close!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Douglas

5+    10/3/2009   1/16/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 343  Reviewed: 177  Exp: 15.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Douglas Park has some nice sized rolling hills with large trees scattered thoughout. There are only 2 holes lined wih rough. The rest of the course is nicely mowed grass. This is a fun little course to play and is a good beginner course. This is a nice walk in the park.

There are 2 practice baskes located near the tee to #1.

Hole #1 has a sweet view of the capital building in the background.

Nice variety with 2 sets of tees. Concrete Short Tees.

The design is solid. You have to hit lines to navigate past the large trees to pick up birdies.

Almost every hole has some type of elevation change. Holes play up, down, across, and on the sides of hills.

Pretty easy to navigate with adequate tee signs.
Cons: Natural Long Tees.

Very short. There are only 4 holes over 300ft from the cement tees. The long tees add length and difficulty but this is still under par 54 golf.

SSA for the longs was 47 -7. This was the Pro/Adv pool. The Int/Rec/Novice Pool had an SSA for 50 -4 from the short tees.
Other Thoughts: Lincoln Park in Springfield is an excellent course! Make sure you stop for the day to play disc golf in Springfield. These are some nice courses to play.

Check out my Illinois Top 10.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 the hills of douglas

2-4    10/3/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 419  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 17.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2009
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -course is located in a small, hilly park that uses the elevation changes to the fullest extent, lots of downhill shots, a few uphill shots, lots of over the ravine type shots, and many blind pin placements.
-facilities include pavillions, water, bathrooms, practice basket
-two sets of tees, 1 concrete (shorts), 1 natural (longs)
-2 pin placements per hole
Cons: -course is way too short: there is only 1 hole that a person who can throw 325' can't reach
-some of the teepads (like hole 4) are tiny (like 2' long) not that you need a run up for the hole, but it would still be nice to have a full run up possiblity
-A lot of the holes (esp. the ones that cross ravines are repetitive.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a fun course to play as a warmup for the 2 Lincoln courses, play from the blues to make it more of a challenge. Post up on the club forum www.discgolfclub.org to have a local meet you out there. There is only 1 entrance to the park and it's on a one way. From 55 take hwy 97/29 west to a right on Walnut and an almost immediate left into the park.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lotsa Fun

1    8/11/2006   8/11/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 124  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 21.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lovely park---well-groomed, grassy rolling hills, mature hardwoods.

There's a lot of elevation change for a compact course, and most holes use it well. No underbrush to lose discs, but the trees provide plenty of obstacles to shape shots around.

Suitable for beginners, but players of all abilities can enjoy a round here.

View from one tee of the State Capitol in the distance is cool.
Cons: No great holes or WOW-factor, just fun.

I played on a weekday and had it to myself, but imagine that in busier times you'd have to stay on the lookout for wayward discs from other fairways. It's pretty cozy.
Other Thoughts: For firsttimers, the entrance is on or near a 1-way street (I forget) which, if you overshoot the park, requires quite a drive to get back around to.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short but Challenging

1    8/8/2009   8/8/2009
Review By: Dwiggy444
Played: 70  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 9.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Beautiful terrain: a hilly park with very large trees. Hole #1 shoots downhill and overlooks the state capital building for a great photo opp.
- Most holes are short (200-300 ft) but all are challenging, with multiple lines to the basket.
- Multiple pin positions and grass "Pro" tees offer lots of variety.
Cons: - Multiple tee pads and pin positions combined with hilly terrain make hole distances very difficult to determine at times.
- Some pins were located within 25 feet of each other (#6 and #12, for example), so it is completely possible to aim for the wrong basket off the tee on a few occassions.
- Several holes played hilltop to hilltop, which can make a short 18 hole round very tiring (especially on a hot summer day).
- The park was easy to locate, but the park entrance is on a one way street so it might be hard for out-of-towners to find.
Other Thoughts: This would be a great course to learn the game - scenic and challenging and a great workout too. But don't think this is just a "beginner course" - there's lot of challenging lines and variety. When you play this course for the first time, I recommend that you find a local to show you around the park so that you'll have an easier time navigating - there are definitely some tricky pin locations.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hilly Tight Course

1    8/5/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: atomictoyguy
Played: 30  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 21.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I really liked this course for its variety of shots, and excellent flow. I found getting from pin to next tee to be for the most part quick which was nice to keep the rhythm of play up. They made great use of terrain and elevation.
Cons: The course is very tight, holes seem to layer upon each other in several areas. Meaning that the fairways overlap. So if the course is busy you might find your self waiting for players on other holes to clear out of your way.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.