Springfield, IL 
Douglas Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 250ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee... what a photo opp of the capital of il

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Quality Recreational Course

1    8/23/2015   9/29/2015
Review By: Jiggy202
Played: 28  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
-The standout here is the ELEVATION changes. Absolutely awesome use of the rolling hills here!!
-The course does not interfere with other park users in this busy city park
-Course map right by hole #1
-Varying teepad sizes. Some very short ones on the shorter holes and all of them are a little too narrow.
-Could not find any of the markers for the advanced tees
-Tee signs are no longer readable on any hole
Other Thoughts:
Hole #1 starts you off with an awesome view of the capitol building and sets the tone for the rest of the round. While this course is not overly difficult or lengthy it was just pure DG enjoyment. This is a classic casual DG course. You won't see big tourneys at this course, but that's not what this place is about. Sure the course theme is repetitive up and down the hills but they keep it interesting with different shot lines, tree obstacles, and decent pin placements. I really think this course has the perfect amount of challenge for a casual city course. If you want a more challenging course Lincoln Park has you covered. Really great DGC options in Springfield. I would play Douglas Park again if I was in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best beginners course ever

5+    7/5/2015   9/5/2015
Review By: pianocomposer
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 18.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Most beginner courses are terrible. In many ways, this course is better than Lincoln North because it takes more variety and talent to play it. Trees, elevation, blind shots, and yet is nice and short. A good player can shoot 45 but is never boring. And wind can really make it tough.
Cons: I have no issues with this course. Watch out for park users.
Other Thoughts: Best short course I have ever played.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice course.

5+    11/26/2011   12/5/2011
Review By: fulker
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Alt. pin locations for tourney play adds a challenge to the course for Rec. players.
- Course plays back and fourth across a valley on holes 11 to 17 which seems to make the course. I would have to say the signature hole is Hole 1 with the first throw heading at the capitol building in the distance.
Cons: - Acorns in the fall. Watch your step they will meet you at the ground.
- Leave the tie dye at home in the fall the leaf monsters will get it. Spotters are helpful during the fall on 50% of the holes since they are covered with leaves.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course for amateurs

2-4    8/19/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: uigrad
Played: 33  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 25.8 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: In spite of some of the negative reviews, I love this course. I don't have great distance, but the majority of us don't. For a casual player like myself, this course is excellent.

The main theme of this course is up or down hills, with tall trees as obstacles in strategic places. I don't claim that there is a lot of variety, because this theme is repeated over and over, but for players that like hills and trees, this repetition is a good thing. This is my favorite thing about the course.

The first hole is very scenic, as you are driving towards a horizon that frames the capital building. You won't see anything like this for the rest of the course, but most of the holes are still quite scenic, due to the high vantage points, and lack of thick woods.

The course is very relaxing for casual play. The tees are comfortable (concrete), there is considerable shade the whole way. There is only woods for one hole (#2), so you won't need to worry about poison ivy or thorns. The hills are not terribly steep, so it is easy terrain to walk through.

The course is well maintained. I didn't see any damaged baskets or tees, and it is always mowed well. There is plenty of parking, and there's a map when you first enter.

Lastly, I think the course is designed very well for casual play. It is laid out nicely, without a lot of walking between holes, but yet spread out enough that you don't have to worry about hitting golfers on other holes.

There aren't any ridiculous hard obstacles or 600 ft holes, but there are still a lot more challenges than you may expect for a casual city course. In my opinion, the balance is about perfect.

The fairways are far enough away from houses, swingsets, and walking paths that you won't need to worry about hitting kids or other park-goers. I have seen people walking dogs, but they have never been in the way.
Cons: The biggest con to this is that it is a bit lacking for higher level players. 8 of the 18 holes are under 250 feet, and the longer tees are either non-existent or hard to find. Even if you play the harder tees (if you can find them), the longest for any hole is 406!

I wish I could say that there are no navigation problems, but the direction to walk for the next tee is printed back at the sign for the last one. The course flows pretty well, so you can guess the correct direction to walk nearly every time. I don't think this is much of a problem, though. I've found my way through pretty easily without help.

According to a Springfield local that I spoke with, this park is a well-known spot for illegal activity, especially after dark. I didn't see anything of concern when I was there, but I've only been during broad daylight.
Other Thoughts: This will never be the home of a huge tournament, but for casual play, it is one of the best courses in central Illinois.

Springfield is very fortunate to have 3 full-length courses, so they can easily have one that caters to amateur players. I think this course does that very nicely.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    8/7/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: kylesplash
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice course with hills and trees. Most holes are under 300FT, makes for a nice relaxing experience.
Cons: The tee's didnt indicate which direction the hole is. You had to look at the map, and it indicated north.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Noob Review

1    6/28/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: Redleg
Played: 46  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice location, lots of hills, challenging with all the hills and valleys for a new player. All the Tees and Pins where pretty easy to find. Several you could not see from the tee but tee placement was pretty logical
Cons: Park needs a good cleaning. lots of trash on the course I didn't bring a big enough bag to carry off all I found! Mostly alcohol containers. Couple of the tees need some maintenance. Looks like the have begun but have not finished.
Other Thoughts: It is a great course going to have to play again just to get my score down since I junked up my first visit with my score.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little park course

1    2/26/2011   3/10/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a grassy park that's mostly filled with nice mature trees. A small amount of underbrush comes into play on a couple early holes, otherwise there's no real rough. Most holes have some kind of elevation change, which definitely adds variety and fun to the course. There are some fun downhill ace runs, some tougher uphill shots, and some shots from one hillside to another where a short shot leaves you with a tricky uphill approach.

Though the course is pretty short overall, there's enough variety in hole shapes and elevation changes that it doesn't get too repetitive. For many players, most holes are putter or mid shots, but you'll need to shape lots of different lines through the trees to get your birdies. The short set of tees have decent concrete pads, and basic signs. There are long tees that add some challenge and length to the course. The tee signs show distance and layout for both tees, and for both pin positions on the holes that have alternates.
Cons: The long tees looked like they would change up the course and add quite a bit of difficulty, unfortunately they're hard to find since they're only marked with a board flush with the ground. They're also natural, so many of the ones I saw were rutted out and not very level. The alternate pins also added some nice variety, but it would be nice to have a way of noting which pin positions were in use, there were a few holes where it wasn't obvious where to throw without knowing where the pin was.

There are a few spots that are odd in terms of navigation, nothing major but you might have to wander a bit between some holes. The course is very short, so despite some fun holes and good variety of shot shapes, it's just not all that challenging for better players. There are a few places where roads and parking lots come into play for potential safety issues.
Other Thoughts: This course isn't going to challenge more experienced players, it's short and doesn't offer much punishment for errant shots. Newer players will have a lot of fun here, it's got reasonable lengths for shorter throwers, and enough trees to keep it interesting without being so dense that it's frustrating. I had a good time playing here, and would recommend a stop here especially if you combine it with the 36 holes at nearby Lincoln Park.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/5/2010   7/9/2010
Review By: Stoney311
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice, short beginner friendly course in a decent part of town. Uses elevation changes and large trees nicely on every hole. Concrete tee pads, water fountains, restrooms, and practice baskets(2) onsite. Very easy to follow the flow of course, even if you've never played it before. Lots of Ace run holes, especially #4.
Cons: - If you are a more advanced player, pro tees are natural and not marked, If you see a blue railroad tie behind concrete tee this is normally the pro tee.

-sometimes some shady characters hang out by pavillion on sw corner of park starting around hole #13. I actually had 1 person actually pick my disc up after a drive.

-ocassionally the park is very busy and around hole one i have actually had to skip because people had volleyball net stretched across fairway and or were playing football in fairway.
Other Thoughts: This is the course I play the most since i am just starting out. I would recommend for any beginner to intermediate player. If you are more concerned about being challenged should check out Lincoln Park. But if you are just wanting a fun day of DG then this is a NICE option.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course from the blue tees

2-4    6/8/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: green_hornet915
Played: 100  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/11/2010
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Course had a great view of the capital on hole one was a great photo opp. The course is laid out well and has a good variety of shots we played from the blue tees WHEN WE COULD FIND THEM. the park is very well kept and a 2.5 miles of walking good time!!
Cons: It plays very short from the red concrete pads for a more challenging game find the blue pads. The only thing I can say is the blue tee boxes were hard to find on some holes. mabey the park could weed eat around the blue pads to make it easyer to find these placements.
Other Thoughts: I was out at this course again in the fall the park was inindated with leaves the park needed to have some maitainance done. at some places the leaves were 4 foot deep in the ditches not very disc golf friendly at all.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Little Course

2-4    5/25/2010   5/27/2010
Review By: cooktastic
Played: 67  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a fun little course. It is short...but the shots are all interesting. There is a surprising amount of elevation changes for this part of central Illinois. The view of the Capital Building from hole 1's tee is pretty cool (a very nice signature hole). Some very friendly and helpful disc golfers the first time I played who went out of their way to make sure we knew where we were going on all holes...speaks volumes for the disc golf community in Springfield. Very nice mature trees throughout. Love the risk/reward secondary route (very narrow walking path instead of the layup shot to the opening in the woods down to the pin) on hole 2.
Cons: It is a pretty short course...not too many times to let your drives rip. The park can have some sketchy people in it from time to time. The back nine is a little repetitive as other reviewers have stated.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. It is one of my favorite shorter courses to play. Plenty of variety and a great compliment to Springfield's other two courses.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.