Springfield, IL
Douglas Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 406ft.   3 / 406ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Douglas

5+    10/3/2009   1/16/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 312  Reviewed: 166  Exp: 12.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Douglas Park has some nice sized rolling hills with large trees scattered thoughout. There are only 2 holes lined wih rough. The rest of the course is nicely mowed grass. This is a fun little course to play and is a good beginner course. This is a nice walk in the park.

There are 2 practice baskes located near the tee to #1.

Hole #1 has a sweet view of the capital building in the background.

Nice variety with 2 sets of tees. Concrete Short Tees.

The design is solid. You have to hit lines to navigate past the large trees to pick up birdies.

Almost every hole has some type of elevation change. Holes play up, down, across, and on the sides of hills.

Pretty easy to navigate with adequate tee signs.
Cons: Natural Long Tees.

Very short. There are only 4 holes over 300ft from the cement tees. The long tees add length and difficulty but this is still under par 54 golf.

SSA for the longs was 47 -7. This was the Pro/Adv pool. The Int/Rec/Novice Pool had an SSA for 50 -4 from the short tees.
Other Thoughts: Lincoln Park in Springfield is an excellent course! Make sure you stop for the day to play disc golf in Springfield. These are some nice courses to play.

Check out my Illinois Top 10.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 the hills of douglas

2-4    10/3/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 335  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2009
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -course is located in a small, hilly park that uses the elevation changes to the fullest extent, lots of downhill shots, a few uphill shots, lots of over the ravine type shots, and many blind pin placements.
-facilities include pavillions, water, bathrooms, practice basket
-two sets of tees, 1 concrete (shorts), 1 natural (longs)
-2 pin placements per hole
Cons: -course is way too short: there is only 1 hole that a person who can throw 325' can't reach
-some of the teepads (like hole 4) are tiny (like 2' long) not that you need a run up for the hole, but it would still be nice to have a full run up possiblity
-A lot of the holes (esp. the ones that cross ravines are repetitive.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a fun course to play as a warmup for the 2 Lincoln courses, play from the blues to make it more of a challenge. Post up on the club forum www.discgolfclub.org to have a local meet you out there. There is only 1 entrance to the park and it's on a one way. From 55 take hwy 97/29 west to a right on Walnut and an almost immediate left into the park.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lotsa Fun

1    8/11/2006   8/11/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 114  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 18.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lovely park---well-groomed, grassy rolling hills, mature hardwoods.

There's a lot of elevation change for a compact course, and most holes use it well. No underbrush to lose discs, but the trees provide plenty of obstacles to shape shots around.

Suitable for beginners, but players of all abilities can enjoy a round here.

View from one tee of the State Capitol in the distance is cool.
Cons: No great holes or WOW-factor, just fun.

I played on a weekday and had it to myself, but imagine that in busier times you'd have to stay on the lookout for wayward discs from other fairways. It's pretty cozy.
Other Thoughts: For firsttimers, the entrance is on or near a 1-way street (I forget) which, if you overshoot the park, requires quite a drive to get back around to.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short but Challenging

1    8/8/2009   8/8/2009
Review By: Dwiggy444
Played: 54  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Beautiful terrain: a hilly park with very large trees. Hole #1 shoots downhill and overlooks the state capital building for a great photo opp.
- Most holes are short (200-300 ft) but all are challenging, with multiple lines to the basket.
- Multiple pin positions and grass "Pro" tees offer lots of variety.
Cons: - Multiple tee pads and pin positions combined with hilly terrain make hole distances very difficult to determine at times.
- Some pins were located within 25 feet of each other (#6 and #12, for example), so it is completely possible to aim for the wrong basket off the tee on a few occassions.
- Several holes played hilltop to hilltop, which can make a short 18 hole round very tiring (especially on a hot summer day).
- The park was easy to locate, but the park entrance is on a one way street so it might be hard for out-of-towners to find.
Other Thoughts: This would be a great course to learn the game - scenic and challenging and a great workout too. But don't think this is just a "beginner course" - there's lot of challenging lines and variety. When you play this course for the first time, I recommend that you find a local to show you around the park so that you'll have an easier time navigating - there are definitely some tricky pin locations.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hilly Tight Course

1    8/5/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: atomictoyguy
Played: 30  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 18.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I really liked this course for its variety of shots, and excellent flow. I found getting from pin to next tee to be for the most part quick which was nice to keep the rhythm of play up. They made great use of terrain and elevation.
Cons: The course is very tight, holes seem to layer upon each other in several areas. Meaning that the fairways overlap. So if the course is busy you might find your self waiting for players on other holes to clear out of your way.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A fun hilly course!

1    7/31/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: fifteen
Played: 41  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a great course in a public park with plenty of elevation changes. Most of the holes are indeed short but there are plenty of obstacles forcing you to go around. There are some doglegs forcing you to do some technical shots. There are concrete teepads and nice signage.

There are two practice baskets by the first tee and parking lot, which is a really nice thing. Two different tees (AM/PRO), while AM tees were easier identified, PRO tees were not. It is a very hilly course, which requires a lot of walking.
Cons: It might get a little confusing at first but really easy to catch on. The PRO tees were not easily identified which was frustrating because it would have really helped the course. Some of the tees were short which really forced some short run-ups. There are some questionable characters roaming the park so it's better to play during the day and with friends.
Other Thoughts: Almost got my first ACE here on hole 13, it literally flew just inches away from the chains. Some holes do offer ACE chances as well. Bring water because the back 9 can be a burner since there isn't much shade in that area.

Worth the trip if you're driving on the 55, it was very easy to find. If I had time, I would have hit up Lincoln Park too.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little guy

1    6/26/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: davidwebb
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of short holes here, but most provide some obstacle that you must avoid or overcome. Only a few are just plain straight shots and they are all over 250ft. While that does not provide a challenge for most avid disc golfers it's still not a garunteed birdie. It's pretty hard to lose a disc past the first 3 holes, after that you are basically shooting over a valley or on top of some hills. I am from the North West suburbs of Chicago so the elevation here was challenging for me. There is a drinking fountain between holes 15 and 16 which was greatly appreciated on the 98 degree day that I shot this course. The pro tees are sort of difficult to find but I wasn't really looking that hard as I was playing with a first timer.
Cons: On hot days the back 9 take a toll on you as they are in a valley for the most part so you get almost no breeze, but there is a drinking fountain as I had said to refill water bottles (the water is pretty cold out of it). There are no holes over 400ft (unless you are playing the pro tees) so I was only really able to let a drive rip on the 2 or 3 that were over 325. When the first reviewer said there is homosexual activity I thought that he was a biggot or a prude, but there is literally a gay community that meets at this park on a daily basis, which isn't bad, its just good to have a warning before you get there. We were asked for change by a homeless man that was wandering the course, but we didn't have our wallets with us (left them in the car as always), but he was nice and gave us some info on the course and watched us play a couple holes without making us feel uncomfortable (so I guess there is that).
Other Thoughts: Bring water because there is a lot of walking up and down hills. The course is only a mile(ish) long but most of it is up or down hills, so be prepared for a small workout if it is a hot day. Other than that its a fun little course that can be rewarding and can help you sharpen your short-driving skills. AND I found a disc near hole 3 (sweet!).

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/20/2008   9/22/2008
Review By: DiscinFrog
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: easy course, for easy play.. True champion Par 2 course..

putting is key to mastering this course..

an avid discgolfer playing alone, could finsh this course in 30 mins...
Cons: musical bands on weds night..

very popular course, lots of groups like to play, sometimes hard to get a quick round in..
Other Thoughts: very fun course to play, lots of elevation, one disc is pretty much all you need to complete this course..

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Douglas Debate

5+    8/1/2008   8/20/2008
Review By: Ziggy
Played: 242  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course is well marked and easy to follow through. Quite a breeze for first timers to discover the hole after the next. Slight elevation comes into play on every hole. There have been A and B pins for a couple years now. Good beginner course and easy to dial it in when become acquainted.
Cons: Pro tees are still lumber sticks.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch & Putt...

5+    9/29/2007   10/11/2007
Review By: tomschillin
Played: 137  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 18.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/16/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's fun because it's quick and easy...only need a mid-range and putter...it plays up and down and around several little hilltops...first hole has a beautiful backdrop of the capital building...decent tee pads and baskets...lots of ace runs...my favorite holes were in the middle, #6 i think is a beautiful hilltop to hilltop shot that's not too terribly tough, and there's another couple of holes just like this that traverse hilltop to hilltop...the layout of this course is pretty cool, there's not a whole lot of space, but they managed to squeeze 18 holes in here and a practice basket without crossing fairways, or really any safety hazards...
Cons: Pro-tees need to be marked better...course isn't in a "bad" part of town but the park does have it's share of vagabonds (just wanted to use the word) and some homosexual activity...there's a concrete pavillion that has some walls that kind of enclose the space, so "Activities" go on in there that aren't noticed by passers-by, it's kind of a creepy little pavilion...it's by the 16 or 17 tee pad if i remember correctly...it's not an unsafe feeling, but you definitely notice it...
Other Thoughts: Current configuration I can play 18 holes in about 40 minutes...if I knew where the pro tees were it would be more challenging and take longer...park also has a amphitheatre and nice playground for the kids...

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.