Alexandria, MN 
Combine Hills Share
Uploaded By: joe po Hole #3 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Antique Farm Equipment + Hanging Basket on #3



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Bring your brightest discs

1    6/13/2014   6/14/2014
Review By: TEDIUM
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice large course
All signs intact and clearly legible
Baskets are marked with hole numbers
Easy to follow trails
Lots of elevation change (for MN)
Very scenic and peaceful location
Cons: Very narrow fairways, easy to lose discs
Most holes you can't see the pin from tee
A couple tees are by someone's house
Other Thoughts: Overall, a fun course, just expect to spend a lot of time searching the grass for your disc unless you are very accurate. When I went, the mosquitoes were pretty thick. Also, it's a little hard to find as there is no signage on the road, just drive past the YMCA and take the first dirt road on the left.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A nice Challenge

1    7/28/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: coldmatter
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely laid out course.
Fairways where mowed.
Unique holes. (3, 5, 8,18 come to mind)
Challenging but not too difficult.
Not crowded.
Cons: Lot of the course is blind holes. So it was difficult to know where to throw. Most of the signs gave a good indication as to where the basket was, some where off a little.
Other Thoughts: IMO not really a beginners course. This course offers some good challenges for players that can control their discs. New players will find themselves in the rough and in the woods a lot. Roughs can be around knee high in some places. Fairways where nice and wide. Good amount of obstacles to give the holes some difficulty (Will only get better when some trees grow in size.)

With that being said, I played this course with a friend that does not disc much (3rd time) and some others. We did spend some time looking for discs but nothing over 5-6 mins We met up with a local by the name of Bob that asked if he could play along with us. We found out he helps with the upkeep on the course and improvements. He was super friendly and helped point out the baskets and some shot recommendations. You can tell they are really improving this course and I cant wait to get back and see what becomes of it as they do!

I would recommend this course to players that think Riverside and Cavalry are too easy. I would say its a little bit tougher then Millstream.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/25/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: Schvanz42
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 21.2 Years
Pros: Challenging course with a good variety of shots required. The course mixes play between a few woods holes and many prarie holes with plenty of obstacles that force you to think about your shots off the tee. Poor tee shots resulting in bad lies can be easily made up for and won't necessarily ruin your round. This course will be a challenge to advanced players but open enough for newbies to enjoy.
Cons: Prarie grass, prarie grass and prarie grass. There seem to be long stretches of time when the grass isn't mowed. This means that even a great shot landing on the fairway can be tough to find. Buckthorn is another big problem here and on several holes, most notably 8,9 and 12 will really punish errant drives. There have been noticeable efforts lately to clean it up, however much more work is needed. Tight fairways also lead to disappointing stoppage of play to find discs in waist high grass and thistle. Word to the wise - even on the hottest day, wear pants and don't even think about wearing sandals.
Other Thoughts: This course is pretty young and will continue to suffer from some growing pains. It is one of the funnest courses I have played and sometimes the most frustrating as well. There are quite a few notable holes with many blind shots from the tee that will challenge even the most seasoned players shot shaping ability. The holes that stand out the most are 3, 5, 9, 13, and 18. Hole 3 is a short dowhill to uphill shot through a tight wooded window with a narrow fairway through the trees. You would be wise to throw a straight shot to the uphill and skip the disc up close to the hanging basket. Hole 5 plays over a thick sumac valley with highground and fairway to the right and while the pin is straight ahead, there is no way to get there without a left to right shot landing on the fairway, or risk the wrath of the sumac. Hole 9 is downhill, tightly wooded hole that will require well placed anhyzer shot to follow the treeline straight off the tee or a precise hyzer to folloe the treeline to the right to the blind pin. Hole 13 starts uphill, levels out, then plays slightly downhill to the pin. Directly ahead of the tee box stands a clump of trees just high enough to ruin a laser-like drive, however a shot placed up and over these trees reveals an open fairway with an easy follow-up to the pin for the courses best attempt at an eagle (yes its a par 5 and shouldn't be, but we'll get to that later). Hole 18, well that hole is the devil. No advice here, just throw and hope for the best. On another note, the pars here are very forgiving, almost to a fault. This does however appeal to newer players whose bad shots don't necessarily result in double bogeys (good confidence booster). As I have said there are attempts being made to widen fairways by mowing which has definitely improved playablity. Overall this course is just fun to play and offers enough of a challenge to keep you coming back.

 Hard to find

2-4    6/15/2012   6/15/2012
Review By: Guurn
Played: 82  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 28.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice course on a great property consisting of rolling prairie bordered by forest and sumac. The layout seems designed for the Advanced and Advanced Master player. Holes are in the 160' to 420' range with good use of obstacles and mowed paths to the baskets.

It starts fairly simply with a few short midrange type shots that had me wondering if this was all it was going to offer. After hole 4, which is a fun little uphill through dense vegetation, things get a bit longer. After it opens up, so will your bag. Even though there aren't a ton of holes that require a driver, you do get to bust it out and let loose a few times.

This is an underused course judging from the lack of wear the times I have been there and I have never seen more than 3 groups here at once. Hopefully it will attract more people and help to grow this sport in this area.

The course features excellent teepeds, good signage, DGA baskets, garbage cans, brooms and a port-a-potty in the entry.
Cons: As mentioned in other reviews, discs can be hard to find. This starts being very evident on hole 5. A RHBH anny shot up and over sumac to a blind basket. This is a hard shot as it is, but the heavy sumac and grass make even a good shot a tough find. This recurs throughout the course. In fact this is the courses biggest drawback. Blind shots to baskets located in areas that even good shots can result in a tough disc to find.

I found myself walking the fairway most of the way to the basket on many holes and then looking back to see what the line was. Not a good place for a solo round.
Other Thoughts: Now that I am done ragging on the only big drawback this course has, it is a good course in an area that needs good courses like this. I found it easy to find and a nice surprise after hitting a few other courses in the area and expecting disappointment. I went back and forth a few times on 3.0 vs 3.5 but went higher because it is a very good course, well maintained, and in an area that desperately needs more of this type of course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Potential

1    8/17/2010   8/20/2010
Review By: Kesty
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of open and wooded shots with lots of elevation change. Had brooms for sweeping the tees at most holes and trash cans were plentiful.
Cons: The grass had not been recently mowed and the ruff areas were really ruff and thick. If you got in the ruff at all you can be searching for a while to recover your disks. Not all of the Tee Markers correctly showed the flight path required, or the general layout of the holes. Several times we had to walk the hole before playing just to figure out where the basket was.
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot of potential. It will only get better with age as some of the smaller trees grow over time. Would also sugest that hole #18 tee marker be changed to show a Mando down the tree lined alley, because it would be easy to throw out of the alley then all the way to the basket for an easy eagle.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.