Disc Golf Store
Alexandria, MN 
Combine Hills Share
Uploaded By: joe po Hole #3 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 240ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Antique Farm Equipment + Hanging Basket on #3



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Bring your brightest discs

1    6/13/2014   6/14/2014
Review By: TEDIUM
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 1.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice large course
All signs intact and clearly legible
Baskets are marked with hole numbers
Easy to follow trails
Lots of elevation change (for MN)
Very scenic and peaceful location
Cons: Very narrow fairways, easy to lose discs
Most holes you can't see the pin from tee
A couple tees are by someone's house
Other Thoughts: Overall, a fun course, just expect to spend a lot of time searching the grass for your disc unless you are very accurate. When I went, the mosquitoes were pretty thick. Also, it's a little hard to find as there is no signage on the road, just drive past the YMCA and take the first dirt road on the left.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Vast Improvements

5+    8/21/2013   8/21/2013
Review By: Cahager12
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has seen many improvements in the last few years. For being a course of less than 5 years this has developed into a mature course. Trees are growing, fairways are being cleared, and the rough keeps becoming more dense(punishing poor shots). There have been new long tee pads added to a few holes with rumor of more coming soon. The new pads are carpet, but offer a new challenge to already fun holes.
Cons: Still can use a little brush trimming here and there. Often there are young hooligans who disrespect the course, but there are many locals who take pride in offering their personal time to this course in making it the best in the area.
Other Thoughts: Great course with a fun random doubles league! Every time I am in the area I make it a point to stop and see the locals!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Advanced Course

5+    7/31/2013   8/2/2013
Review By: MIATCH11
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3
Pros: Nice mixture in course layout. Awesome Tee pads, pushes your abilities and Mach 3 baskets.

This is a great course to develop your game. If you don't want to look for your disc, don't mess up. There are many courses that are frequently mowed, but most are in a park and require you to throw 280 ft. around an oak tree.

The atmosphere is nice. It is close to town, but there are enough trees and animals to be a breath of fresh air to a townie.
Cons: Lots of blind shots. All are cool holes, but unless your super consistent with your lines, you may spend time looking for discs.

No holes that require a strategic lay-up. All holes give possibilities for a birdie, or even a well-deserved ace. This also however makes things interesting as you can pay the price for missing your shot on several holes.
Other Thoughts: It is great to notice a slight improvement in the course every time I play. The mowing, trimming, and mulching is making Combine a nice course. Keep in mind, the course has only been around for a couple of years.

 A nice Challenge

1    7/28/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: coldmatter
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely laid out course.
Fairways where mowed.
Unique holes. (3, 5, 8,18 come to mind)
Challenging but not too difficult.
Not crowded.
Cons: Lot of the course is blind holes. So it was difficult to know where to throw. Most of the signs gave a good indication as to where the basket was, some where off a little.
Other Thoughts: IMO not really a beginners course. This course offers some good challenges for players that can control their discs. New players will find themselves in the rough and in the woods a lot. Roughs can be around knee high in some places. Fairways where nice and wide. Good amount of obstacles to give the holes some difficulty (Will only get better when some trees grow in size.)

With that being said, I played this course with a friend that does not disc much (3rd time) and some others. We did spend some time looking for discs but nothing over 5-6 mins We met up with a local by the name of Bob that asked if he could play along with us. We found out he helps with the upkeep on the course and improvements. He was super friendly and helped point out the baskets and some shot recommendations. You can tell they are really improving this course and I cant wait to get back and see what becomes of it as they do!

I would recommend this course to players that think Riverside and Cavalry are too easy. I would say its a little bit tougher then Millstream.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Worst Round Ever Played

1    7/12/2013   7/13/2013
Review By: hthomp14
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Some difficult, but fun shots come into play. Many signature holes.
Cons: The thorns on this course make it pretty much unplayable. Your arms and legs will be cut up horribly by the end of the round. It became so unenjoyable for me and my friend; that we had to stop early because it stunk so much. This course is the easiest course I have ever played to lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: Hated the course.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/25/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: Schvanz42
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 21.1 Years
Pros: Challenging course with a good variety of shots required. The course mixes play between a few woods holes and many prarie holes with plenty of obstacles that force you to think about your shots off the tee. Poor tee shots resulting in bad lies can be easily made up for and won't necessarily ruin your round. This course will be a challenge to advanced players but open enough for newbies to enjoy.
Cons: Prarie grass, prarie grass and prarie grass. There seem to be long stretches of time when the grass isn't mowed. This means that even a great shot landing on the fairway can be tough to find. Buckthorn is another big problem here and on several holes, most notably 8,9 and 12 will really punish errant drives. There have been noticeable efforts lately to clean it up, however much more work is needed. Tight fairways also lead to disappointing stoppage of play to find discs in waist high grass and thistle. Word to the wise - even on the hottest day, wear pants and don't even think about wearing sandals.
Other Thoughts: This course is pretty young and will continue to suffer from some growing pains. It is one of the funnest courses I have played and sometimes the most frustrating as well. There are quite a few notable holes with many blind shots from the tee that will challenge even the most seasoned players shot shaping ability. The holes that stand out the most are 3, 5, 9, 13, and 18. Hole 3 is a short dowhill to uphill shot through a tight wooded window with a narrow fairway through the trees. You would be wise to throw a straight shot to the uphill and skip the disc up close to the hanging basket. Hole 5 plays over a thick sumac valley with highground and fairway to the right and while the pin is straight ahead, there is no way to get there without a left to right shot landing on the fairway, or risk the wrath of the sumac. Hole 9 is downhill, tightly wooded hole that will require well placed anhyzer shot to follow the treeline straight off the tee or a precise hyzer to folloe the treeline to the right to the blind pin. Hole 13 starts uphill, levels out, then plays slightly downhill to the pin. Directly ahead of the tee box stands a clump of trees just high enough to ruin a laser-like drive, however a shot placed up and over these trees reveals an open fairway with an easy follow-up to the pin for the courses best attempt at an eagle (yes its a par 5 and shouldn't be, but we'll get to that later). Hole 18, well that hole is the devil. No advice here, just throw and hope for the best. On another note, the pars here are very forgiving, almost to a fault. This does however appeal to newer players whose bad shots don't necessarily result in double bogeys (good confidence booster). As I have said there are attempts being made to widen fairways by mowing which has definitely improved playablity. Overall this course is just fun to play and offers enough of a challenge to keep you coming back.

 Hard to find

2-4    6/15/2012   6/15/2012
Review By: Guurn
Played: 81  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 28.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice course on a great property consisting of rolling prairie bordered by forest and sumac. The layout seems designed for the Advanced and Advanced Master player. Holes are in the 160' to 420' range with good use of obstacles and mowed paths to the baskets.

It starts fairly simply with a few short midrange type shots that had me wondering if this was all it was going to offer. After hole 4, which is a fun little uphill through dense vegetation, things get a bit longer. After it opens up, so will your bag. Even though there aren't a ton of holes that require a driver, you do get to bust it out and let loose a few times.

This is an underused course judging from the lack of wear the times I have been there and I have never seen more than 3 groups here at once. Hopefully it will attract more people and help to grow this sport in this area.

The course features excellent teepeds, good signage, DGA baskets, garbage cans, brooms and a port-a-potty in the entry.
Cons: As mentioned in other reviews, discs can be hard to find. This starts being very evident on hole 5. A RHBH anny shot up and over sumac to a blind basket. This is a hard shot as it is, but the heavy sumac and grass make even a good shot a tough find. This recurs throughout the course. In fact this is the courses biggest drawback. Blind shots to baskets located in areas that even good shots can result in a tough disc to find.

I found myself walking the fairway most of the way to the basket on many holes and then looking back to see what the line was. Not a good place for a solo round.
Other Thoughts: Now that I am done ragging on the only big drawback this course has, it is a good course in an area that needs good courses like this. I found it easy to find and a nice surprise after hitting a few other courses in the area and expecting disappointment. I went back and forth a few times on 3.0 vs 3.5 but went higher because it is a very good course, well maintained, and in an area that desperately needs more of this type of course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/11/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: Schanen11
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some unique shots (#18 comes to mind), definitely challenging.
Signage indicating hole layout is well done.
Some technical holes that really challenge one's shot-shaping ability.
Cons: The idea of a prairie course only works if the prairie is maintained so that you don't have to sift through knee/waist-high grass to find your disc.
Although this course is great for the avid disc golfers in the area, it does little to promote the sport locally as it is too long, too technical, and has too many punishing shots (deep woods, long grass, etc.) for the casual disc golfer. I think Fillmore Park brought out more of the casual crowd and lots of first-timers which is good for the sport.
Other Thoughts: I visited this course the day prior to its grand opening last year, and the course designer said he was sick of all the "pitch & putt" courses in the area. This course is anything but on most of the holes. Like most others have told me, this course has a lot of potential but as for now, I would suggest leaving this one for the more experienced crowd. I would give this one a 4.0 for the experienced crowd and a 2.0 for the casual crowd, hence the 3.0 overall.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 For the love of discin'....MOW!

1    6/3/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: TimmayLee
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great tee pads, challenging layout, technical play, and yeah, the hanging basket was awesome! This course provided ample opportunities to test ones skills. Cleverly designed using many facets of the land to improve the difficulty of the course. This includes some nice up, and downhill shots, as well as a couple holes where you can really goose the throttle and let it rip.
Cons: It looks like this course has never been mowed! As of today, when you get on the back 9, it's knee high grass. Keep an eye on your discs because if you don't, you'll be looking for a while.
Other Thoughts: They Really need to mow...

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Greatest Course on the Prairie

1    5/7/2011   5/9/2011
Review By: joe po
Played: 70  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great Amenities - nice concrete pads with mulch border to soften the trip of those whoe fall off the pad. Decent signage; the typical white, green, and red signs with metal posts. Bag hooks, does anybody use these? Benches and garbage cans at each tee pad.

Great use of land - first four holes have some elevation and require anhyzer and hyzer type shots. #3 and #4 are tight wooded shots, plus #3 has a sweet hanging basket. #5 features sumac traps that dot a small valley. The next few holes are fairly open with but have blind shots to the basket. I believe #11 was the neat downhill anhyzer through a tight alley of woods. Most of the back nine is wide open, but does bring some elevation into play.

9 hole option - the course is setup so that you can play the first 7 and then skip to 17 to play a quick nine if need be. They have the shortcut posted on a sign at 7 basket.

Traffic - I was shocked to be out on a beautiful Saturday afternoon and only see about 9 other people playing. In the Twin Cities you'd have been waiting on every hole for two other groups to tee off.

Management without having to pay to play! - the YMCA donated land to two local disc golfers from the community who laid out the course. Volunteers were brought in to carve out the tracks. The YMCA manages the course, i.e. garbage removal and mowing, but does not charge a fee to play. WELL DONE!
Cons: Debateable Pars - the designers have been quite generous with the par ratings. I would say that the whole course is par 3 with the exception of 14, 15, and 18 which would be marked as 4 in my book. Its fun to go out there are tear it up on their ratings, but I hope the local players and beginers aren't developing delusions of grandure.
Other Thoughts: What I like about this course is that it uses alot of elements from some of my other favorite courses. I'd be in different segments of the course and thinking to myself, "This reminds alot of....."

Tight challenging holes - Kaposia
Bombers with blind baskets - Lakewood Hills
Incorporating the History - North Hibbing
Wide open holes with wind - Lions Park in Shakopee.
The overall manicured nature - Bryant Lake

If you've played these courses and enjoy them, you'll find alot to like about Combine Hills. I definitely recommend making the trip to Alexandria for this course alone. I haven't played the others around the area, but they seem to offer a good round (Fair Lake in Sauk Centre with the basket in the Lake!) Go paly it!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.