Clemson, SC 
Mountain View Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 185ft.   3 / 185ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Decent, fast-paced nine-holer

1    5/18/2014   5/23/2014
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good flow to the course. When you pull in the parking lot, the only hole you see is #1. From there, there are trails leading from one hole to the next, making for a quick play.
- While the course doesn't offer any length - longest hole is 248; average length is just under 182 - it does offer some decent variety. There are a couple holes with some elevation (#2 & 8 are both solid); doglegs (#9); split fairways (#8) and holes that play really close to the water (#2, 6 &7), especially if you're not careful and/or throw a bad shot. All of this gives you a taste of good disc golf round.
- The key here is accuracy. If you can throw a controlled mid-range shot, you'll see plenty of birdie chances. If you can't be prepared for difficult second shots, bad bounces off of trees and/or possibly having to retrieve discs out of the water. This is good course to practice your mid-range and short game.
- This is a good course for casual-level players. Even the holes where water comes into play, if you play smart/careful, the water mostly shouldn't be an issue. That said, you're probably just as likely to get a bad bounce off a tree and end up in the water, especially on #7, as you are to misthrow directly into the drink.
- Good course to carry only one or two discs, or if you're looking to play a quick round. As long as you have a disc you can putt with and one you can turn over either direction, leave the rest of the bag in the car.
- Good course for a quick round. I played with a buddy, and we knocked out 9 in about 30 minutes. Figure less time if you're solo, or play through twice in 60 - 75 minutes if you're with others.
- Very nice views of Lake Hartwell throughout a good portion of the course. There's also a boat ramp at this park. Other than that, there aren't any amenities, but you're 3 minutes from gas stations and restaurants, so plan ahead.
Cons: Course is somewhat cramped into a tiny portion of the park. Unless the park has a master plan for expansion - playground, trails, shelters, etc. - there's a lot of unused land here. It's probably enough for a short 18, or a longer, more challenging 9-hole layout.
- Even though I said this course should be good for beginners and casual players, there is a higher than normal 'bad luck' factor here concerning the water holes. On #2 &6, you could potentially see a disc role downhill into the water. Water is only directly in play on #7, where the right side of the split fairway goes right up to, or slightly over, the edge of the water. A bad bounce off a tree could have your disc sail 30 feet out. Like I said, it's not likely, but it is a higher risk than your typical neighborhood, short 9-hole course.
- When I played in May '14, there was a pair of dirt hills on hole 5, on both sides of the service road that the hole crosses. I enjoyed the added challenge and having to putt from on top of one of the dirt hills; whereas, others may not like it. The bigger issue is that it makes the navigation from #5 basket to #6 tee slightly more difficult.
- Not a lot of challenge, especially for more advanced players. Every hole is a birdie chance for more advanced players, or at least 9-straight ho-hum pars. My only bogey was due to shot kicking 50 feet right after barely missing my line and kissing the side of a tree.
Other Thoughts: Mountain View is a relatively enjoyable 9-holer course. There's a certain feel to this type of course - the aimed at beginners, not overly challenging, neighbor-esque quality - that seems to be the standard for nine hole courses.
- Is the name of the park misleading? I didn't see a mountain. There are other parts of town that provide better scenic views of the southern Blue Ridge Mountains in the distance.
- I also wonder how the residents of this nicer, more upscale neighborhood appreciate having disc golfers and boaters driving here and increasing the traffic on and otherwise quiet road. I can just picture awkward encounters between a professor and a student on his way to the course.
- Overall, for being such a short course, I enjoyed it. There was enough variety and fun layouts to make this fast-played round enjoyable. Don't expect greatness; but, you could do worse.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great for Beginners

1    7/6/2013   7/12/2013
Review By: CMHoney
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.1 Years
Pros: Great, short course for beginners.
There are 2 or 3 Ace possibilities.
Beautiful scenery, right on lake.
Great putting practice.
Great tees to be natural.
Cons: A little confusion on where next tee box is located.
To many trees on a few holes.

Other Thoughts: Played here for my 4th time playing. (4 over)
I took my 8 y/o son for his first time playing. It was alittle tight for him though.Needs a little TLC but overall I like it.

 It was close by....

1    7/22/2012   7/25/2012
Review By: RockstarJ
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.1 Years
Pros: Don't need many discs....I finished this one with 2 I think
Short quick course
Good for learning lines
Cons: Not very well maintained.
Can be confusing getting to next tee
Extremely wooded without much variety
Other Thoughts: This course is right near where I go to church so it is a fun little course for a after church quick round. It isn't all bad...just needs some TLC

 

2-4    12/22/2010   2/23/2012
Review By: tiger5
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.2 Years
Pros: It's a 9 hole course that's got tight woods, one or two pretty open holes and some water in play. It's not a bad course, but compared to the other ones in the area just not as much to offer. Tee boxes are natural, and you do have to be able to throw a variety of shots so the course isn't a waste by any means. And I've seen several guys underestimate the water and lose a disc. If you can putt you can make birdies and if you've got an arm hole 9/18 is the only one where you'll really be able to let it rip. Good test for your mid-range and putting skills. There are picnic tables, lake and a park for the kids.
Cons: Haven't been there in awhile so not sure if any changes have been made. There wasn't much seating if any that I remember other than over by the park. Need to watch out for parked cars on two of the holes but other than that not a lot of complaints. Difficulty is probably the desiding factor, other courses in the area just have more land to work with, but overall its a good course for beginners because it will teach you control.
Other Thoughts: Decent course to play if you don't have a lot of time or during the summer when it's hot because most of the course is in the shade.

 Tight Wooded Course

2-4    7/9/2011   8/19/2011
Review By: Clempson13
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is really close to campus with a lot of parking right next to Tee 1 and Basket 18, and the course is located on the shores of Lake Hartwell. The ruggedness of the course is a perfect blend of wooded and navigational. Tee shots are definitely important to playing each hole as the fairways are really narrow for the most part except for a few holes. Elevation changes on the course are nice as well with nice floating downhill throws and uphill shots requiring good placement.
Cons: Only having 9 holes is a big downfall for this course. The amount of land used could easily have a few more incorporated. Tightness of some of the fairways might discourage a few players as well.
Other Thoughts: While the course was heavily wooded for the most part there was very little underbrush to lose a disc in. Obviously some work was put in to creating it and I think, if it is up-kept, in the future it could mature into a really nice technical course to play at.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fairways? We don't need no...

1    7/3/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great place to learn how to shape lines.
Defined tee areas and decent signs.
A pretty good variety of shots for a 9 holer.
Starts gentle and then the whip and handcuffs come out.
Good warm up for several courses that are nearby.
Cons: Several poke and pray holes.
Generally good navigation but a next tee sign or two would help first timers.
Other Thoughts: This course plays on the side of a large hill in a park that appears to be more of a boat ramp than anything else. It starts you off with an easy 172' straight shot with the woods on one side and the road on the other. As Admiral Akbar would say..."It's a trap!!" as this will be your last easy bird. Hole 2 has a weird archeology looking site and even featured a spine, though it was really clean so it was probably plastic. I didn't have my DG forensics kit...sorry.

A solid workday with a chainsaw could easily bump this puppy to 2.5 discs, a solid weekend of work could put it in the 3 disc range, it is a cool course but there is just too much luck involved.

I did enjoy it and it was only 1.5mi from where we were staying so that was part of it, I wouldn't drive across town for it but if I ever find myself passing through Clemson again I am there!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Good short game course

5+    3/2/2011   3/2/2011
Review By: joshtheninja
Played: 43  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good practice for your short game and tight lines. You can play the entire course with a putter and not have to worry about bringing a bag.
-Several great ace opportunities. Hole 1 is short and open, and I've aced 3, missed 5 by inches, and hit the chains on 7.
-Can be played very quickly (my record is 12 minutes), so students at nearby Clemson University can play a round in between classes.
Cons: -Very overcrowded with trees.
-Some of the holes could be moved around a little to add some length to the course.
Other Thoughts: Not worth a drive to play, but if you're in the area and want to play a quick round or two, its a fun little course.

Could benefit a lot from the removal of one small tree right in front of the tee on 4 and a couple to widen the fairway on 6.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent 9-Hole Course

2-4    10/18/2010   10/18/2010
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 84  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Variety of shots
-Great use of space
-Interesting obelisk on hole 2 that gives the course a little bit of character
-Ace runs on holes 1 & 5
-Challenges your approach game and forces you to hit tight lines with your midrange.
-Pretty easy to navigate
Cons: -Lack of concrete tees
- I'm not a big fan of the DGA catchers...
-The course borders the lake, however, it does not come into play.
Other Thoughts: Short, technical course mostly in the woods.

This course is in a great neighborhood right near Clemson University. It's a fun course and worth playing if you're in the area, but I wouldn't make special trip for it.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mountain View Park

1    9/25/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brand new course on a peninsula on Lake Hartwell just minutes from the Clemson campus. Great potential once the course gets more play and the fairways get defined. Despite its newness, the shule is not too thick and you can see where the crew is working on pathways from one hole to the next. Plenty of elevation and the abundance of trees leads to tight fairways that require precise throws. Nice views of the lake as you play through the woods.
Cons: This course is still very raw. It has the feel of some tee pads and baskets placed in the middle of the woods. While most holes are playable through the trees, a couple of the fairways are nothing more than a three foot wide winding path. There was a lot of broken glass that needs to be cleaned up, and the "campsite" or whatever it was on Hole #2 had us wondering if we had stumbled onto a scene from the Blair Witch Project.
Other Thoughts: This is a brand new course it shows. With Clemson University so close, I imagine there are a lot of disc golf players in this area. Looking forward to seeing how things evolve here over time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.