Milford, OH 
Karl Von Coldewey DGC Share
Uploaded By: jammydee Hole #4 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 195ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Good for a quick round

5+    4/7/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: pmorgan1214
Played: 26  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There is not many pros to this course. It is a very small course with not a lot of distance. Most holes here are about 200 feet long. Th last hole is the hardest at 375 feet down the hill and then back up. a lot of trees block the path that the disc needs to fly. I also absolutley love hole 5 which is about 330 feet narrow and has a low ceiling. It goes over a creek and even if you throw a anhizor shot you are still in trouble with it ripping into the ground and going in the creek.
Cons: Their is a lot of cons. The pads are ground and when wet get very muddy. hard to play this course when it is muddy. The baskets are very basic 18 chain and do not hold very well to discs. aces are difficult due to the chains. must hit pole to ace a hole.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is very boring. I come here to just try to ace holes. I dont care about playing it since it is very basic and very muddy when wet. my best is 5 down on the 9 holes. iv only fully played it 5 times.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Karl. Just....Karl

1    2/23/2013   3/5/2013
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Karl Von Coldewey DGC is located in a small, well-groomed park. A small stream bisects the course, coming into play on a few holes. A patch of woods across the stream helps keep discers honest.
-For whatever reason(s), I have the most difficult time remembering "von Coldewey." So from here on out, we're on a first name only sorta basis.
- Karl provides a decent challenge for a park-style 9-er. Nothing to make an advanced player break a sweat, but this is definitely on the tougher end of things for beginners, and could certainly cause some problems for intermediate players. A good variety of shots are required, and the somewhat narrow fairways through the woods make sure that accuracy is tested.
-Elevation is well-implemented. #2's blind downhill shot (with the stream behind) is a fun little dink and dunk. #9 finishes with a longer downhill, over the stream, and slightly back uphill sort of shot that would be a quality hole just about anywhere.
- Several fairways (#4, #9) play along or over the stream. Baskets are placed near the stream on other holes (#2) for maximum OB potential.
Cons: - The tees are the major drawback to this otherwise very good 9-hole course. Rutted earthen tees with a wooden plank at the front on which to stub your toe. Very muddy when wet.
- I'm not entirely sure, but I'm fairly certain I saw enough poison ivy on this course (during winter months, no less) to kill an ox. The vines looked slightly different from the strains we get around here (Northwest IN), so I'm not 100% I made a correct ID. IF (big if) they were poison ivy vines, this is by far the worst course I've ever seen in that regards. Do not stray off the fairways if you are allergic. The area around #4's basket was particularly bad.
- Other than the two 300+ shots, almost every hole is around the 200' mark. It's not really noticeable on the first time through because of the elevation and water, but it'd get repetitive pretty quickly.
Other Thoughts: -Karl's cool by me. I wish more nine-hole layouts incorporated some decent elevation, water, and woods like Karl does. I had to lower Karl's rating a bit due to the brutal tees and (potentially) life-threatening poison ivy clusters.
[Note from Juke:Please, if I am misidentifying some other plant, someone PM me the details. Thanks. ]

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Karl Von

1    11/11/2012   11/12/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 65  Reviewed: 43
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nicely designed 9 hole, sits in the middle of a park. Easy to navigate, water hazards, woods, and open.
Cons: Park is populated with kids that interfere with the course. Not too much of a problem though, most people get out of the way.
Other Thoughts: Decent 9 hole layout, with tricky and easy shots.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Work on your short game

1    9/1/2012   9/1/2012
Review By: renoob
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short layout is great for beginners, kids, my wife, etc.

Also a great place to work on your short game if you have more experience.

Easy to navigate, for the most part. I did shoot for the 9th basket off the 4th tee at first, but no big deal.

Nice, pleasant atmosphere, and a nice mix of elevation, tight and open fairways, and different lines.
Cons: The tees are bad. They're uneven dirt ruts with a lot of exposed roots. It was dry today, but I'm sure it's a nightmare when it rains.

There are a few opportunities for errant shots to get well onto another fairway, which is dangerous.

Thorns in the rough are no fun.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time and so did my beginner wife. I think people get hung up on the course length instead of looking at it for what it is. I think it's a great place to work on line shaping with putters and mids.

My wife had a lot of fun- she's usually frustrated that holes are so long because she maxes out at about 100 ft, so this was great for her. Fantastic place to introduce someone to disc golf because you get an idea of the challenge without being overwhelmed.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Beginner Course

5+    7/16/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: MoeDiscGolf06
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Short holes, so beginners can do well here
-All kinds of throws and angles needed for various holes
-Easy to find the next tee
-Easy to retrieve a disc from the creek (less than a foot deep, 6 or 7 feet at the widest)
-Course is well maintained
Cons: -Short holes can make the course boring for advanced players or after going there numerous times
-Most of the bushes lining the fairways have thorns in them
-Dirt tees can become unplayable when it rains
-Baskets on a few of the holes are tilted at an angle, sometimes making it hard to keep the disc in the basket, even in the center
-A few of the fairways cross over areas where people like to hang out
Other Thoughts: Really good course for the lack of area they had to use.
Almost completely empty in the afternoons on weekdays, but pretty busy in the evenings.
Make sure to walk forward of the tee for Hole 2 so that you know where the basket is before you drive.
Two pavilions to take breaks in before/after rounds.
Great course for beginners to intermediate and casual players.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of fun - very short and quick

2-4    7/19/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: crandellfamily
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Remarkably fun, short nine hole layout. Pin placement has been well thought-out. Fairway grass is in excellent condition. As much variety as any course this short could hope to offer. Steep dropoff for the very short blind teeshot on #2. Big right-hand hyzer required to get close on #3. #4 calls for an anhyzer to avoid the creek on the left and fade around the trees that protect the basket.

There are two longer holes - by far the best on the course. Challenging and scenic enough for any layout.

#5 is straight and tight with thick brush on the right. You have to throw across the creek, immediately in front of the tee. The water hazard continues to frame the entire left side of the fairway.

#9 is downhill across the creek, and then doglegs left back uphill.

For such a short course, there's almost no concern for throwing into another group. Only on 4 and 5 - they share the creek as a fairway divider.
Cons: Extremely short. 5 and 9 are the only holes that exceed 215 ft. This is a course to practice your midrange shots and putts. There's no space for multiple tee or basket options.

Natural dirt tees. It had rained hard for two days before I played. The tee areas were unusable. Then again, most players won't need a runup, and can tee off from the nearby grass. Some of the walks get very muddy, but the fairways drain well. Only a few soggy spots.

Lots of post-rain bugs as we started our mid-summer early evening round. As of the 2nd hole I didn't really notice them.
Other Thoughts: Signs are OK. They don't need to be much - every basket but the 9th is either visible from the tee or quickly identified with a short walk up the fairway. And there's only one significant walk, from #6 to #7. It's easy to find, up the wide dirt/mud path.

I played 4 rounds in a day. My son and I took 25 minutes for nine holes.

The creek is up to 10 feet wide, and was running more than a foot deep in some areas. Probably as deep as it ever gets. You can always fish your disc out - I have some experience with that. The hazard and the thick brush make it less than ideal for beginners. But it's so short and quick, and relatively uncrowded, that first-timers can get a good sense of what the sport has to offer.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Stoll

1    7/3/2012   7/4/2012
Review By: robertpaulschehr
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a lovely stroll, everything was marked nicely so you could figure out where to go, the park is nicely kept
Cons: Very short course, not easy to follow without map or a guide
Other Thoughts: I really just enjoyed playing the course a few times just to stroll

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Take the family, if it’s been dry

5+    7/18/2014   5/28/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 160  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This beautiful little family park just outside the beltway east of Milford, Ohio has a decent nine hole course for Novice to Rec players to get in a quick practice round on their short game. The flow is very good, with safe throwing lanes for the most part, and the course lines beside, then weaves twice across a pretty little creek, with a well-built pedestrian bridge situated well below the line of the 9th fairway (25 feet below the flight path). The course uses the hills, terrain, foliage, and limited space very well, keeping mostly away from the shelter and playground areas of the park.
Higher level players will likely avoid this easy course, but might be pleasantly surprised by the tight lines needed on the 325' #5 and the signature hole, the 375' valley-spanning #9 (if only they would put in concrete tees…)
The signage is quality, and you can tell someone is lovingly taking care of this place.
Cons: Dirt teepads boxed with landscape timbers are a little inconsistent, with roots starting to show through, so you worry about your step up. There are no benches or trash bins, yet the park is kept clean.
There is little distance variation, as 7 of the holes are between 185 and 215 feet.
The biggest drawback to this course right now it that the hill top holes (7 & 8) stay muddy for days and days after the most recent rain. If it's been really rainy, they are almost unplayable. The first time I went up there in February, I almost lost a shoe in the muck. So I only go here if it's been dry for most of a week.
Other Thoughts: Initially gave this a 2 and not 1.5 because it's beautiful and well-maintained. Clearly a fun little family park.But just raised it another half point in 2014: Other than the rooty tees, the course looks awesome. They've cleared some of the thick stuff on the right of the tight hole 5, and put in a fantastic set of steps (see new pic) and mulched path up on top, going to hole 7, so the old mud problem is gone.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun 9 holes

2-4    5/19/2011   5/19/2011
Review By: clyderandall
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is a great new course to this area. It's layout is great for the small area they had to use. The course features wooded areas, hills, and a small water hazard.
Great for new players or just a change in pace than other courses.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/14/2010   3/14/2011
Review By: DrewMillerRH
Played: 85  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beginner course, great to introduce new players to or if you want to work on getting better with your putter
Cons: Short, very short, short enough to play with a frisbee, good use of what little land was available
Other Thoughts: I've played much worse, but this course is for the locals in that area, not worth a stop on a road trip

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.