Walker, WV 
The Mountwood Monster Share
Uploaded By: joshdank9 Hole #6 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 245ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Red Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Super fun and WV rugged

2-4    3/20/2013   5/20/2013
Review By: Austinwv
Played: 37  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery in a mature forest tucked in a great park with awesome mountain biking to boot. I had heard different things about the Monster depending on when someone had played it (old 9 vs. new 18) and wasn't sure what to expect. There was a good mix of wooded vs open bomber shots, and a strong use of terrain in this very hilly park. I played both rounds from the blue tees and found them plenty challenging. There was a creek in play for several holes and I also enjoyed the strong change of elevation and terrain stlyle throughout. There were red and blue tees for a good range of play for mixed skill groups. Needless to say I was pleasantly surprised and enjoyed a tremendous round of mountaineer-style dg each time I visited.
Cons: I enjoy rugged disc golf and don't tend to take much off the ratings for a lack of concrete tees or professional grade signage. The gravel tees were relatively flat and an effort was made to guide the first timer from one hole to the next. Both of these things could be improved but neither took much away from my overall experience. There were some very steep access points to some of the blue tees and they could probably use some volunteer hours to build some steps and continue to develop some better trails etc. Maybe they could get some boyscouts to do their eagle scout project by helping out.
Other Thoughts: Overall I found the Mountwood Monster to be a very fun course. I'd come back and play as often as I get the opportunity unfortunately I don't find myself going past Parkersburg that often. I highly recommend folks to check this place out as they won't be disappointed if they like a strenuous walk to earn some super fun throws as a reward. If I still lived in Athens I'd probably choose to come here more often than I used to make the commute to Forked Run, a course I also enjoy but find it has fewer thrilling holes than this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasantly Surprised

1    8/11/2012   8/15/2012
Review By: knettles
Played: 72  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Creative and challenging layout utilizing the many trees, steep terrain, and creek that runs through many of the holes.
-Good variety of distance.
-While teepads are gravel, they're long enough and level (for the most part).
-Two teepads and three pin positions per hole.
Cons: -Gravel teepads (still better than short cement pads in my opinion).
Other Thoughts: As of writing this, the course is a full 18 hole with gravel teepads and limited signs. Supposedly, they'll be getting better signage soon. I'm not sure about cement teepads, but that didn't actually bother me any.

This was a really fun, rather challenging wooded course. It was moderately-heavily wooded, however most of the difficulty came from the out of bounds. Almost every hole had the creek running through/alongside or a road next to it. Play smart, and you should be able to avoid it for the most part.

So, take a trip to Parkersburg when you can, and definitely play if in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Holy Cow! Play This Course!!

2-4    5/23/2012   5/23/2012
Review By: Airubus
Played: 35  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First of all, the PDGA directory only lists this as having 9 holes. FALSE! there are 18 beautifully designed holes here! Long and short tees separate the men from the boys, (or the girls from the women) The terrain is the star of the course. if you love technical courses, meet your new favorite course. Not one hole has a terrible rough (except maybe 17 just for long grass) Playing this course regularly will steady your hand for punishing putts, as most of the baskets are on severe slopes. Walking this course is a great workout. Hole 6 is an ace-run downhill, and is very memorable. GREAT DESIGN!! even errant shots dont punish the player as bad as other courses. very tight, but gives you a few holes to really air one out...
Cons: I can see a safety problem. many holes border each other. Navigation can be difficult without a map. Arrows on the baskets pointing to the next tee would be a nice addition. Sometimes the blue tees are fun to find. Some of the terrain is so rough, you may find yourself losing your balance just walking from the basket to the next tee. more signage would be great....but you'll hardly complain once you catch on to where the next tee is.
Other Thoughts: One of my top 5 courses of all time. right up there with the Whippin' Post and Woodshed...also west virginia courses...and im a pennsylvania boy. PUT THIS ONYOUR LIST. and club members, PLEASE UPDATE YOUR PDGA LISTING. it still shows that there are only 9 holes! fix it!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 NOW, U can call this the Mountwood MONSTER

1    1/1/2012   1/1/2012
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1205  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 26.7 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There's no comparison between the old layout and this current layout. As this layout is much more deverse with the baskets being placed at stratigically locations (from what I remember how the old layout was).

There's 2 teeing areas (RED, BLUE painted tree trunks)

Hanging basket, hanging from downed tree over hanging of the creek, (this basket didn't have a well like any of the other baskets that we're through out this course, but it didn't seem to mattewr as it catches the disc perfectly well (for me at least)) near hole # 2 and # 7, didn't know which hole it belonged to but played it on both holes (just because)

Bulletin board at # 2 tee and on the wall of what appeared to be an old rest room.

Cons: ONLY 9 HOLES.... I realize funds are to come by these days, but if the State of West Virginia only knew that if they would put in another 9 HOLES at this park, you would find much much more players playing this course as they have plenty of room and the room they have is ideal for DISC GOLF.

dirt tees, I realize the terrain and funds will make it tough to get cement tees at this DGC, but it's also another reason why I'm not rating this DGC any higher.

some baskets hard to locate as DGA Basket blend in with nature and with tee sign not telling the player which basket position the course is in today made it tough to navigate on a few holes. (Solution.... paint part of the basket a vibrant color??, personally I'd rather play DGA basket than to any other basket, but since I didn't know which position the baskets we're in today, it was hard locating basket positions on a few holes)

Parking across the park road adjacent to the dog park (not a long walk, but ....)

Other Thoughts: Did I mention that this DGC only had 9 holes?? Needs 99 more, I'm serious. This park has ample room for a really good Disc Golf Course, but only has 9 holes.

Small cave near hole # 5 fairway

about 12 miles to the east of I-77 (parkersburg area)

if you pass the horse trails and Oak Ridge youth camp ? you went to far. Back down the park road and find the dog park parking lot and the DGC begins across the park road.

I like this layout, I just wish they're we're more holes at this park

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Flow

2-4    6/2/2011   6/6/2011
Review By: Brian_Jesus_freak
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well maintained course, fun hills, and varying styles of holes.

The course is free of all trash and is easy to find the next pin.

The course travels a round trip from parking lot to other side of the parking lot, going up and back down a semi-steep hill.

The baskets are located in just about any clarity of shot from deeply wooded to clear holes that are uphill or downhill.
Cons: The main problem I have with the course is the ground itself. The ground between holes 1-3 are always moist, you might wanna bring shoes you don't mind getting dirty. Also you want to bring shoes with good traction, mostly because of the path downhill between holes 5 and 6.
Other Thoughts: Although I am a beginner, and my word may not carry much weight, this course is spectacularly fun and individual. It only takes around 45 min. to play the course, then you can cut across Rt. 31 and cross the Ohio River and play Big Buckeye-Red Course for an even longer course. Definitely worth a day-trip.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  A Newer Course

5+    12/31/2010   1/24/2011
Review By: rferrell
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Hole 1 tee Box is at the parking lot and Hole 9 basket is on the other side of the parking lot so you start and end at your vehicle.
The course is family friendly as theres a picnic area and a play area with restrooms (not open in the winter) beside the parking lot.
Its located in a county park so theres alot of activities besides disc golf avaliable.
The course is a shorter course with 9 baskets with two tee areas for each. Plans to have three pin placements are still being disscused, as of now 1-24-2011 there is one pin placement. The tee boxes are crushed limestone (except hole 1 , blue,which is grass) and has good footing.
Holes 2,3,4,5,6 and 7 are in the wooded area and 1,8 and 9 are more in the open,close to the parking lot(8 is still in alot of trees but its in the public area).
Holes 3 and 4 play up hill while hole 6 is a steep downhill shot all in a very pretty woods.
In warmer months theres a snackbar located at the lake for food and drinks.
Cons: Mountwood is somewhere around 12-13 miles outside of Parkersburg on Rt 50.
The course can get alittle muddy in times of wet weather and the rest room is closed during the winter months.
You will want to take water with you as the hills are steep and you will get thirsty
Other Thoughts: The new course is many times better than the old course, which is no longer there. It would make a nice day of playing by playing Mountwood and then jumping on I77 and play Big Buckyee in Marietta or drive to Reedsville and play Forked Run(which is a 24 hole course and takes 2-3 hours to play).

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.