Bartlett, IL 
Sunrise Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
3 / 245ft.   3 / --   3 / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
bland bomb-land

1    9/13/2014   9/13/2014
Review By: dskr
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Rip drives max D
Nice clean park
Drys-out fast after rain
Good practice course
Easy to play
Cons: Holes get boring
Most shots r wide-open
Very litl challenge except WIND
Other Thoughts: Home course
Make yr own holes
Peaceful

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bartlett

5+    10/20/2013   10/28/2013
Review By: Bombsaway21
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good course for beginners with 2-3 water holes.
-This course has some pretty far holes but not many objects in the way.
-Easy to find and navigate.
Cons: -Walking path runs through the course and during the track season Bartlett high runs cross country at this course.
-If you play here during the fall months, be prepared to have goose poo all over your shoes.
-Most of the holes are wide open straight shots.
-Starting tees are really bad.
Other Thoughts: Great course for night frolfing if you have glow sticks.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

could be better

1    11/26/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: booradly
Played: 76  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - nice park
- hole 1 makes for a good warm up hole being a short open field shot
-holes 2,3 make decent use of some light woods
-holes 5,6 are solid holes 5 throwing down a small hill with the pin a good distance located in some trees and 6 a hook shot around the same patch of trees
-8/9 the pond comes into play (it kinda does on 7 but not really)
8 you throw over the pond but the only way that it would be very hard is if you can only throw 50 feet 9 makes much better use of the pond throwing across it but the pin is next to the water making it more of a challenge.
-holes 15,16 make better use of the same woods that 2 and 3 used 5 throwing form the field into the woods and 6 a short little tunnel shot into the woods
Cons: -the hardest part of this course is the distance but all of the distance is open field shots( could be a good place to test a new driver)
holes 4,10,11,12,13,14,17,18 are all open field shots that are all about the same
- i could be this course sucking hard if there was wind
-the tea pads really need some work they are gravel but are in poor shape
Other Thoughts: this course has potential if they plant more trees
and if they plant trees and some years go by so they start to get bigger then this course would be a lot of fun but it would take some work and a lot of time
also if they moved some pins to make it a little harder like on holes 2,3 to make better use of the woods and on hole 8 to make better use of the pond

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sunrise Sunset Sunrise Sunset

1    8/11/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice kiosk at the first tee for announcements and league info and such.
2) Tee signs say Hole # Par and Distance.
3) Nice use of the pond for 3 holes. It is in play on every shot and in different ways. One hole it runs along the fairway, one hole you have to simply throw over it about 100', and then 3rd hole you need a decent carry and could actually throw 200' over the water and let it cut back to the basket if you have the guts. It was a little too windy for me to try that shot.
4) Nice use of distance variation as part of the design. There is a huge variety between the shortest and the longest hole with a nice mix of distances in between.
5) There is a really good amount of variety on this course. Some rolling hills, some tight woods, some open holes, some water in play, some minor to moderate elevation changes.
6) Discatchers are highly visible and in decent shape.
Cons: 1) This course lacks in obstacles unfortunately because it would be a great course if there were simply more trees planted.
2) There might be a couple spots where danger is a factor. #8 tee is right where a long drive or short second shot on #7 might tail off to. #6 is a hard 90 degree dogleg that if the shot isn't executed well could end up near #5 basket. #2 throws right into the opening in the woods where people exit from #16 basket.
3) The walkpath comes into play on a few shots also, so non-disc golfers will interact with the disc golfers which can always lead to issues, especially since most non-disc golfers do not understand what it is we are doing.
4) Gravel tees are in rough shape in many spots. They are rutted out and uneven. Put concrete on this course and it would be a huge step up since it is also a longer course.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is an average course with the potential to be great with some added trees and obstacles. There are enough fun holes here to keep this course on the average side of things, but the addition of more trees forcing more line shaping will elevate this course to above average since it already has the length, some moderately tight woods, elevation, water, etc. It has ever piece of a great course it just lacks the obstacles to throw around.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Needs Tee Pads

5+    5/1/2012   6/7/2012
Review By: PeekrMan
Played: 28  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Length. If this course were shorter, it would be way too easy. Until those skinny little seedling trees get bigger, it's mostly wide open. Maybe a few of them can get shortened then.
Basket condition - they're all in good shape.
Cons: The lack of tee pads. As this course ages, some of the tees are developing deep ruts. Unfortunately, the disc golf community in the area poo-poos this course, so there's not enough interest to either get concrete tees funded or lobby the Bartlett Park District to upgrade. I mentioned to a prominent member of the Streamwood club that I sometimes play Sunrise and he asked my why I would play there instead of Streamwood. What a snob.
Vandalism - i.e. people writing on the tee signs about their aces. People, stop that. You got an ace. Hooray. Write it on your disc or your forehead or somewhere other than park district property.
Other Thoughts: That pond is really only in play on #9. On #7, you would have to be confused and shooting in the wrong direction or shank it so bad left that you're better off without that disc. On #8, the first.. what... 90 feet maybe are over the water and after that it's dry.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Designed for He-Man

1    10/22/2011   10/22/2011
Review By: geognerd
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is well-groomed. Few opportunities to lose discs, except around the lake. The shots over water give the course something unique. I was nervous, but was able to carry the water. The holes with mature trees require shot-making skill and provide some much-needed scenery.
Cons: The course is way too long. It seems like the only way to make par is if you can drive 250ft+. Not all of us can chuck it that far. Par is set too low. It is demoralizing to have bogey after bogey. Disc golf should be about more than how far you can throw. Chucking the disc as hard as you can straight ahead is boring. The tees are just a dirt gash in the ground now. Had to use the grass next to the tee area. A lot of goose droppings on the course. The way from #16 to #17 wasn't clear and I had to consult a printout of the course map. Were it not for a "fore" call, I would have been hit by an errant tee shot from #1 as I was walking in the area of #18's basket.
Other Thoughts: Once the trees become mature along those open field holes, this course will be more scenic and worth coming back to. #3, #5, #8, #15, and #16 are the most interesting holes. The trees offer a challenge and you don't need to throw crazy distances to do well on those holes. If you can only drive 175ft like me, this course will prove frustrating.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beginners Sunrise

5+    9/9/2011   9/10/2011
Review By: Whicho
Played: 70  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/2/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wide open...allows for getting used to new discs.
Good Mix of uphill down hill and dog legs for beginners.

Very little water for newer players trying to get a feel for the game.

Park is well maintained.

Risk of losing a disc is minimal except around the pond.
Cons: No tee boxes.

Signs could be more descriptive as to basket placement.

More experienced players will find this course boring with very little variety.
Other Thoughts: This happens to be my home course as I live a couple blocks away so I'm probably a little biased.


1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wide Open & Boring

2-4    8/7/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 123  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 8.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Sunrise park in Bartlett is a typical Chicago area park course. It is mostly open with nicely mowed grass and very little elevation change. One thing this course has that most of the local courses don't is length (3 holes over 450', 5 holes 350-450'). There are also two fun shots over a pond. Neither is particularly long or difficult, but the water can get in your head a bit. There are three holes that bring a wooded area into play, with one being a tunnel shot. This is a nice break from the rest of this course. There are two holes with slightly downhill tee shots. The baskets are discatchers in decent shape.
Cons: The tees here are terrible. They are just a muddy rut, worn out of the grass. I often teed of next to the tee rut. There are no decisions to make on 75% of the holes. One or two small trees are usually the only obstacles. Just grip and rip, it is so wide open any line can work. The signs are very basic, just hole #, distance and an arrow pointing in the general direction of the basket. They have been so over tightened that they have folded into their posts, making them very difficult to read. There are a few places to get turned around at, but with how wide open it is you will be able to figure it out.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to practice driving or to learn rollers. There are plenty of holes to open up on, and for the most part there is almost no rough to lose a disc in. Both times that I have been out here there was a strong wind blowing, adding much needed difficulty.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

5+    5/8/2010   6/4/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 417  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is located in a nice park that is mostly clear of people, even for its large size.
- A small pond/lake is in play on a couple holes, which is good to see in this area. While these holes are shorter, you are still driving over the pond off the tee. One hole has the basket pretty close to the water, which is a nice touch.
- A couple of holes make good use of what little elevation there is. There is one big hill that gives you a mild upshot on one hole, and a pretty significant downshot on the next. Also another elevated tee on a later hole.
- The course flows nicely; it starts off with shorter holes, which get longer and longer, and then ends up short again. Kind of like a warm-up and cool-down to begin and end the round.
- The longer holes are long enough to really let it fly, or at least test accuracy on some long shots. I won't be setting any distance records, so this is a good course to see how my D is coming along.
- A little use of the forest, but pretty minimal. Mostly just shooting at the basket in the woods from the open, or shooting around the forest to get to the basket.
- I don't think I have ever seen anyone else on this course, ever. Always a good thing.
Cons: - Flat, long holes do tend to get a little repetitive. I am always trying to get more distance, so I like this aspect, but only to a point.
- Tees are in so-so condition. Better off just teeing off next to the dirt, which is only going to make it worse.
- Large geese infestation at all times, thanks to the water.
- They rearranged the holes on the back end a bit; I still get a little turned around each time I go. Not too badly, though.
- Short holes are very short and very open. No challenge on these.
- I don't think you ever need a disc to turn right on this course. Ever.
Other Thoughts: - This course is almost like a practice course. There are the short, open holes that you can practice using your mid or putter on. There are the longer holes to practice your distance drivers on. I like coming here as a check to see if I have improved lately, in terms of accuracy and distance off the tee.
- The holes near the pond are nice to see in the area. #9 is great, with the pond encompassing the entire right side of the hole. Risk/reward is great for one hole, at least.
- This course doesn't try to be fancy, it just wants you to be accurate, and at times long. Maybe not super exciting, but a solid 18 holer.
- Wind always seems to be a huge factor, every time. I like this, personally, as it really makes you throw quality shots. I would count this as a pro, but it can be ridiculous at times.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Booooring

1    5/30/2010   6/1/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through a very large open park, with one small hill, and a small pond. One hole throws off the top of the small hill, for a little bit of a downhill shot. A few holes bring the pond into play, including two with some water carry for some fun risk on the course. Most of the course is open with nice grass and some small trees, and a few holes play through one large stand of trees with some thick brush off the fairways. There is a good mix of aceable holes and some that have room to open up and throw some drives.

The baskets are relatively new discatchers that are in fine shape and catch well. There are basic tee signs with hole distance. Most of the tees are level, and at least have decent spots somewhere around the tee sign to throw from.
Cons: The course is extremely boring. The majority of the course is wide open long flat holes, with a couple tiny trees as the only obstacles. This makes pretty much every hole feel the same, and not very much fun. The course doesn't force you to throw different shots because of the lack of obstacles.

The signs don't do a good job of telling you where to throw, so there are often multiple baskets that could be the right one, and it's a little bit of a guessing game. Some of the holes don't flow well, so there is some backtracking to navigate the course, and some spots where it's not immediately obvious where to go next. Many of the tees are rutted out and can be really muddy, I ended up throwing from grassy spots next to most of the tees.
Other Thoughts: This course has lots of room to throw some drives, so if you want to work on your distance in an open field type setting, this is a perfect place to do it. Otherwise, it's just a boring course with not a lot going for it. Beginners will find it too long, and more experienced players will find it too open, so it doesn't really cater to any skill level of golfer. Unless you want to check this one off your list, I wouldn't bother.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center