Bartlett, IL
Sunrise Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 230ft.   3 / --   3 / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Bartlett

5+    10/20/2013   10/28/2013
Review By: Bombsaway21
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good course for beginners with 2-3 water holes.
-This course has some pretty far holes but not many objects in the way.
-Easy to find and navigate.
Cons: -Walking path runs through the course and during the track season Bartlett high runs cross country at this course.
-If you play here during the fall months, be prepared to have goose poo all over your shoes.
-Most of the holes are wide open straight shots.
-Starting tees are really bad.
Other Thoughts: Great course for night frolfing if you have glow sticks.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Needs Tee Pads

5+    5/1/2012   6/7/2012
Review By: PeekrMan
Played: 28  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Length. If this course were shorter, it would be way too easy. Until those skinny little seedling trees get bigger, it's mostly wide open. Maybe a few of them can get shortened then.
Basket condition - they're all in good shape.
Cons: The lack of tee pads. As this course ages, some of the tees are developing deep ruts. Unfortunately, the disc golf community in the area poo-poos this course, so there's not enough interest to either get concrete tees funded or lobby the Bartlett Park District to upgrade. I mentioned to a prominent member of the Streamwood club that I sometimes play Sunrise and he asked my why I would play there instead of Streamwood. What a snob.
Vandalism - i.e. people writing on the tee signs about their aces. People, stop that. You got an ace. Hooray. Write it on your disc or your forehead or somewhere other than park district property.
Other Thoughts: That pond is really only in play on #9. On #7, you would have to be confused and shooting in the wrong direction or shank it so bad left that you're better off without that disc. On #8, the first.. what... 90 feet maybe are over the water and after that it's dry.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beginners Sunrise

5+    9/9/2011   9/10/2011
Review By: Whicho
Played: 68  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 4/2/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wide open...allows for getting used to new discs.
Good Mix of uphill down hill and dog legs for beginners.

Very little water for newer players trying to get a feel for the game.

Park is well maintained.

Risk of losing a disc is minimal except around the pond.
Cons: No tee boxes.

Signs could be more descriptive as to basket placement.

More experienced players will find this course boring with very little variety.
Other Thoughts: This happens to be my home course as I live a couple blocks away so I'm probably a little biased.


1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wide Open & Boring

2-4    8/7/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 105  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 7.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Sunrise park in Bartlett is a typical Chicago area park course. It is mostly open with nicely mowed grass and very little elevation change. One thing this course has that most of the local courses don't is length (3 holes over 450', 5 holes 350-450'). There are also two fun shots over a pond. Neither is particularly long or difficult, but the water can get in your head a bit. There are three holes that bring a wooded area into play, with one being a tunnel shot. This is a nice break from the rest of this course. There are two holes with slightly downhill tee shots. The baskets are discatchers in decent shape.
Cons: The tees here are terrible. They are just a muddy rut, worn out of the grass. I often teed of next to the tee rut. There are no decisions to make on 75% of the holes. One or two small trees are usually the only obstacles. Just grip and rip, it is so wide open any line can work. The signs are very basic, just hole #, distance and an arrow pointing in the general direction of the basket. They have been so over tightened that they have folded into their posts, making them very difficult to read. There are a few places to get turned around at, but with how wide open it is you will be able to figure it out.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to practice driving or to learn rollers. There are plenty of holes to open up on, and for the most part there is almost no rough to lose a disc in. Both times that I have been out here there was a strong wind blowing, adding much needed difficulty.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Boring Bartlett

5+    4/3/2009   1/12/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 312  Reviewed: 166  Exp: 12.9 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The park is a very long flat with very few trees. It has a small pond on the north side of it. There is no parking lot so you have to park on the street.

It is long and plays over 6000 feet. You get an opportunity to rip some drives. There are 11 holes over 300 feet with 9 of them being 340 feet or longer.

Baskets are newer Innova Discatchers.

The course is entirely mowed so looking for discs is not a problem. The only place to lose a disc is in the pond.

Navigation is fairly easy.

Several holes play near the water add challenge.

Cons: Tee pads are natural grass/dirt/mud.

There are very few onbstacles that add challenge on this course.

It's just repetitive shot after shot.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking to go for a long walk and throw some discs this might be course for you.It's great for bringing a dog out to disc with you. I found it to be very boring though.

Check out my Illinois Top 10
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Mix of decent and boring

5+    9/5/2009   9/22/2009
Review By: chiefcastor
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 3/1/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A few interesting holes over and around water. Hole 8 plays across water with willy trees waiting on the other side to smack your disc to the ground.

There are a few holes that make decent use spare trees avaiable. Hole 3 shoots out of a small gap in the trees with the basket located a good ways to the left.

The course has some decent elevation change for the area. Nothing drastic, but some holes slope up or downhill.

The good signage makes it easy to navigate.
Cons: A few of the grass/dirt tees are very rutted and almost unusable. The grass is clearly thinning where people have used the area next to them to tee.

Two of the baskets that were in the trees (hole 15 and 16) appeared to have been stolen last time I was there which is very sad as they were some of the better holes.

The back 9 tends to be very boring as quite a few holes just goes back and forth across the open park with only saplings as obstacles.
Other Thoughts: Not worth going out of your way to play, but if you are in the area it is decent.

There are a lot of geese and their droppings around the pond area. Bring a towel.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Ok Track

2-4    8/10/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: Watch Your Hyzer
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Very easy to navigate.
Won't lose very many discs on this course.
Not crowded when I played.

Cons: Crappy grass tees.
Some signs are damaged.
Too open.
Other Thoughts: This course has some potential. It is definitely lacking some challenge on the back side. If tees were added, I would give it a 3.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Becomes Tedious Quickly

5+    6/6/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: Snewt0913
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A pretty large area. Minus the 3 water holes, it's pretty hard to lose a disc.
Cons: Poor course design. Some trees need about 20 more years before they become obstacles.
Other Thoughts: After playing the course 10+ times, I'm now to the point where I pick and choose which holes I want to play. The course just seems too open. Some holes are challenging, but not in a way that makes it exciting to play. However, the holes that I do play are fun enough to keep me coming back to at least play a collective 9 holes.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Needs some work

2-4    11/29/2008   11/29/2008
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 135  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 19.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2011
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The holes have some distance. Not huge distance, just good old fashioned long par 3 distance that makes most of us pull a driver out of the bag. Given all the pitch and putt courses in the area, someplace where you can open up and throw a driver is a welcome change.
Cons: From the tee for # 1 you can see three baskets and it's not abundantly clear which one you should throw at. From the tee for # 2 you can see two baskets pretty close together. On hole # 7 you can see two baskets on either side of a pond, both about 500 ft away with no help on the tee sign to tell you which one you are shooting at. You just have to guess (I guessed wrong!) A lot of the tees are too close to a nearby basket for safety, and there is plenty of room to avoid these conflicts.

On a number of holes you have to backtrack back toward the last tee to get to the next tee. This can cause backups when the group behind you waits for you to get out of the way, and safety concerns when they don't.

There are a number of young trees planted on the course. In 20 years they may add some challenge if they survive. Right now the course is wide open. There is some slight elevation that the course uses, but some of the holes are flat as a pancake. Flat and wide open does not make for great golf.

The tees are dirt and a rutted out. The tee signs are vandalized and hard to read. Even if they were not vandalized, they just list the hole, par and distance...no picture to help you figure out which of the two or three baskets you are looking at you should throw to.
Other Thoughts: There is no parking lot for this park. I don't consider this a con, but it should be mentioned in the course directions. I wasted a lot of time driving around looking for a parking lot.

Between the geese and the neighborhood dogs, I have never before experienced so much fecal material in one place before. Nobody can really do anything about that, so I can't call it a con. That doesn't keep it from being gross. You should bring an extra towel.

One day when the trees mature, this might be a pretty good course. However, mature trees won't fix the bad signage, bad tees, and poor flow of this course. For it to be anything more than an OK course, this course will need a redesign to eliminate the switchbacks and put some space between the tees and the baskets.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.