Bartlett, IL 
Sunrise Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Booooring

1    5/30/2010   6/1/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.8 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through a very large open park, with one small hill, and a small pond. One hole throws off the top of the small hill, for a little bit of a downhill shot. A few holes bring the pond into play, including two with some water carry for some fun risk on the course. Most of the course is open with nice grass and some small trees, and a few holes play through one large stand of trees with some thick brush off the fairways. There is a good mix of aceable holes and some that have room to open up and throw some drives.

The baskets are relatively new discatchers that are in fine shape and catch well. There are basic tee signs with hole distance. Most of the tees are level, and at least have decent spots somewhere around the tee sign to throw from.
Cons: The course is extremely boring. The majority of the course is wide open long flat holes, with a couple tiny trees as the only obstacles. This makes pretty much every hole feel the same, and not very much fun. The course doesn't force you to throw different shots because of the lack of obstacles.

The signs don't do a good job of telling you where to throw, so there are often multiple baskets that could be the right one, and it's a little bit of a guessing game. Some of the holes don't flow well, so there is some backtracking to navigate the course, and some spots where it's not immediately obvious where to go next. Many of the tees are rutted out and can be really muddy, I ended up throwing from grassy spots next to most of the tees.
Other Thoughts: This course has lots of room to throw some drives, so if you want to work on your distance in an open field type setting, this is a perfect place to do it. Otherwise, it's just a boring course with not a lot going for it. Beginners will find it too long, and more experienced players will find it too open, so it doesn't really cater to any skill level of golfer. Unless you want to check this one off your list, I wouldn't bother.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Somewhat boring, but still good

5+    1/19/2010   1/30/2010
Review By: nbiebel
Played: 48  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There's a good variety of distances for the holes, ranging from 210 to about 450 if I remember correctly. Park is fairly open and well-maintained; some nice scenery in the summer. Water does present a challenge on a few holes. On hole #9, the disc will most likely stay over water the whole time until landing on the shore (hopefully!) next to the basket, as there is water all to the right. Also a good course for winter disc, due to its relatively easy to navigate terrain.
Cons: The course is somewhat plain, and gets tiring after several times. I find myself using the same driver for many of the holes. There are only a couple holes through some woods--otherwise, all open field shots. Holes 10-13 are all almost the same thing, and that same area has a tendency to flood quite a bit when it rains. There are also HUGE flocks of geese walking around from time to time--if you're worried about hitting geese and whatnot. Also, the tee-pads are just kind of dirt/mud skids in the ground/grass. I have to avoid a few of them for fear of twisting my ankle!
Other Thoughts: The course is relatively accessible, and has become a "boring but beautiful" standard for me. Still, I sometimes find myself trying to avoid this course due to its relatively uninteresting nature.

And the wind can wreak havoc on your drives.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Boring Bartlett

5+    4/3/2009   1/12/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 343  Reviewed: 177  Exp: 15.5 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The park is a very long flat with very few trees. It has a small pond on the north side of it. There is no parking lot so you have to park on the street.

It is long and plays over 6000 feet. You get an opportunity to rip some drives. There are 11 holes over 300 feet with 9 of them being 340 feet or longer.

Baskets are newer Innova Discatchers.

The course is entirely mowed so looking for discs is not a problem. The only place to lose a disc is in the pond.

Navigation is fairly easy.

Several holes play near the water add challenge.

Cons: Tee pads are natural grass/dirt/mud.

There are very few onbstacles that add challenge on this course.

It's just repetitive shot after shot.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking to go for a long walk and throw some discs this might be course for you.It's great for bringing a dog out to disc with you. I found it to be very boring though.

Check out my Illinois Top 10
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Into the Great Wide Open

5+    9/25/2009   9/26/2009
Review By: Blonde Thunder
Played: 65  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/22/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great place to practice distance driving because there are a bunch of long wide-open holes.
About 5-6 unique holes with a couple tee shots that shoot way down or uphill.
A couple tees over water, but pretty safe.
A couple shots through or into the woods (holes 15-16). Those baskets had been missing but new baskets have been installed as of 10/12/09.
A nice park with some areas of mature trees.
Hole #5 is fun! You tee off on top of a large (for the area) hill and you are shooting into a wooded alcove. If you park one on this hole you will be very satisfied.
Cons: Tee pads are natural and some are rutted.
A little over half the course has very small trees as only obstacles (great in 15 yrs!).
Other Thoughts: Great for working on distance.
Bad course for working on accuracy.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Mix of decent and boring

5+    9/5/2009   9/22/2009
Review By: chiefcastor
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/1/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A few interesting holes over and around water. Hole 8 plays across water with willy trees waiting on the other side to smack your disc to the ground.

There are a few holes that make decent use spare trees avaiable. Hole 3 shoots out of a small gap in the trees with the basket located a good ways to the left.

The course has some decent elevation change for the area. Nothing drastic, but some holes slope up or downhill.

The good signage makes it easy to navigate.
Cons: A few of the grass/dirt tees are very rutted and almost unusable. The grass is clearly thinning where people have used the area next to them to tee.

Two of the baskets that were in the trees (hole 15 and 16) appeared to have been stolen last time I was there which is very sad as they were some of the better holes.

The back 9 tends to be very boring as quite a few holes just goes back and forth across the open park with only saplings as obstacles.
Other Thoughts: Not worth going out of your way to play, but if you are in the area it is decent.

There are a lot of geese and their droppings around the pond area. Bring a towel.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Ok Track

2-4    8/10/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: Watch Your Hyzer
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Very easy to navigate.
Won't lose very many discs on this course.
Not crowded when I played.

Cons: Crappy grass tees.
Some signs are damaged.
Too open.
Other Thoughts: This course has some potential. It is definitely lacking some challenge on the back side. If tees were added, I would give it a 3.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Becomes Tedious Quickly

5+    6/6/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: Snewt0913
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A pretty large area. Minus the 3 water holes, it's pretty hard to lose a disc.
Cons: Poor course design. Some trees need about 20 more years before they become obstacles.
Other Thoughts: After playing the course 10+ times, I'm now to the point where I pick and choose which holes I want to play. The course just seems too open. Some holes are challenging, but not in a way that makes it exciting to play. However, the holes that I do play are fun enough to keep me coming back to at least play a collective 9 holes.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed Bag

5+    4/25/2009   4/30/2009
Review By: Nosh
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tees are marked with direction and distance. A fair variety of shots, distance and challenge. Large park with plenty of opportunity to rip out some long shots.
Cons: Tee boxes are rutted and get muddy after rain. A few holes get pretty soggy with fair amount of rain. Can sometimes get crowded with park goers. Local high schools uses the park for cross country meets. First half of the back nine are too bland until the trees planted there mature.
Other Thoughts: All around this course give you a little taste of everything (this is subjective). Pond in play on three holes can easily take your disc. The course map/score card pdf in the files section has hole #16 marked incorrectly (aerial map is correct). Favorite holes are #3, #9 and #16. I'm more than happy this park is so close to where I live.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Will get better over time

5+    4/24/2009   4/29/2009
Review By: lko102
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good mix of long holes and short. Maintenance is excellent, almost always mowed up and nice. Signs marking tee and footage for each hole. A few elevation changes add some interest to an otherwise flat back 9.
Cons: Back half of the course is flat and open. Several holes are back and forth play with no challenge or obstacle other than distance. If it rains, several of the holes can become wet to the point of unplayable.
Other Thoughts: This course is already a good course that will only become better as the numerous trees that have been planted start to grow and mature. Well worth the trip to play.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 C = As average as the come

1    3/26/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 381  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 22.5 Years
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- C-
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- C
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- C+
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- C-
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor...more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.