Seward, AK 
Seward Middle School DGC Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #3
3 / 200ft.   3 / 165ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Tiny town, tiny course

1    6/6/2016   6/7/2016
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 85  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 13.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:

- nice tee signs
- clean environment
- bright, well cared for baskets
- close to the docks and restaurant/bars
- multiple concrete tees
- free
Cons:

- on a walking trail
- in a rainy town
- overall, just poor layout
- limited access during school hours
Other Thoughts:

I like my fellow reviewer's course descriptions, but could not disagree more about the ratings that this course is receiving. Basically it's another one of these gym class type setups that is on a local walking trail that Alaskan middle schools are so found of. This one is a putter course on a tight path with blind spots. I'm not really sure what is accomplished by making courses like this. Only skilled players would be good enough to do well on it, but it's too short and technical for them to even enjoy. Poor players are without a doubt going to spend most of their time either searching in the thick (probably wet) brush if they decide to air anything out , or just commit a series of layups until they reach the baskets. No room for error...or much fun. Be careful to stay out of the devil's club, cow parsnip, and rose hip bushes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Tight, technical course with short holes

1    6/4/2015   1/27/2016
Review By: DiscFlicker77
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Small enough to get in a quick game. We only had about 45 minutes to play and get back to the local grocery store to catch our shuttle.
The views are awesome.
You might see some moose.
Cons: The rough will punish you. I jumped in to grab my disc on the 8th hole and got stuck by some kind of sticker bush. I had the thorns in my fingers for weeks after the trip.
Other Thoughts: I only packed a few discs for the trip because they easily fit into our luggage. If you are going to Alaska, bring your discs. Its better to have them and not use them than to not have them and have time to play.
This course is not far from the port in Seward where the cruise ships dock. I didn't take a cruise ship there but I walked to the course from the main street near the docks.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Cruising from DGC to DGC in AK

1    6/29/2014   10/11/2014
Review By: sideshow44
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Secluded, off-the-beaten path course. Gorgeous mountain views. Luckily the distances aren't too long because the fairways are quite narrow and the weeds are Alaska-sized, obviously.
Cons: It was a little hard to find; it is closer to the High School than the Middle School. Take Hwy 9 out of town. Turn left on Bear, right on Swetmann Ave. This will empty into a parking lot by the High School. There is a sign board there with the course map. Take a photo of the map for future reference; it will hard to find some of the next holes.
Other Thoughts: We cruised to Alaska and back, brought our discs, and disc golfed through Alaska. Cheap entertainment and a great way to really get a feel for the different locales.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Your in Alaska, give it a shot!

1    7/28/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: KAK3990
Played: 54  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Short, technical course located on the grounds of a local middle school.
-Very narrow landing areas where touch is needed over sheer power
-Wide variety of shots called for
-As far as I can tell only local course in the area
-Awesome views of the surrounding mountains
Cons: -Punishing and thick rough (I played in July at the height of the growing season)
-Somewhat hard to navigate, I did not find hole #3 until later in my round
Other Thoughts: If you are in Alaska and you brought your discs you should definitely check this course out. You need to throw many different lines to navigate this course and the views are awesome. The course is short but you can rarely see the basket from the teepad. Each of the holes are sponsored by a local business or disc golf enthusiast, so kudos for getting a course installed in an area that otherwise would not have one. It was a fun play overall, but nothing particularly special. That being said I would play it again and enjoy myself for a second time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

1    8/23/2010   9/9/2010
Review By: Disc90046
Played: 82  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is extremely technical. Almost every hole has a narrow (15-30 foot) fairway, lined by very dense trees and vegetation. Fortunately, the fairways were diligently maintained. Moreover, all of the holes were of a manageable distance, which was particularly important because the course is too tight to throw full out. Realistically speaking, experienced players could play with a few mid-range discs that they can turn each way, and putter.

The unbelievable vistas of the surrounding snow capped mountains are what set this course apart from similarly designed and well maintained courses.

If traveling to Alaska, it is worth packing 4-5 discs, and it is worth playing this course.
Cons: If you don't like tight, technical courses that punish errant shots, this course isn't for you - though the incredible mountain views might still make it worth it.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.