Shorewood, IL 
Shorewood Park Share
Uploaded By: jbrock Hole #14 (Taken 6/2010)
4 / 342ft.   3 / 255ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Beginner/Intermediate

1    7/3/2010   7/3/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 419  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Good mix of holes inside the forest, and holes in the open. The holes in the forest have lots of smaller trees dotting the fairways, there are lines to the basket but they are very tight in some places. Good amount of mature trees in the open holes too.
- Some elevation changes, especially through the forest. A lot of holes are over a small valley that has a small creek. So, a good shot is more or less on flat ground, while a bad shot could leave you with an uphill approach.
- There are a couple holes that demand a certain shot, but usually it is just a matter of getting it there without hitting branches. Throwing it straight will cover most of the holes, but there were a few turns here and there.
- Good tees, signage, and baskets. Some alternate tees, though they weren't marked on the signs. Some were obvious, some not so much. Lots of bridges and wood walkways help to avoid some muddy areas.
Cons: - This course suffers in terms of length. Many holes under 200', and overall it felt very short. Not a lot of space to work with, a lot of holes are crammed into small areas. Stray discs can easily find other holes.
- Some of the holes play right next to the entrance road, both human and vehicle traffic to worry about. One of the alternate tees has you going across the pavement.
Other Thoughts: - A beginner technical course. Too many holes are way too short, and there aren't many holes that stand out. Becomes a chore to avoid a lot of small trees that don't really encourage a certain line, just random luck at times.
- For an experienced player, it is putter practice. Leave the distance drivers in the car.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 MIdrange Madness

5+    12/17/2009   12/19/2009
Review By: whitechocolate
Played: 397  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Cement Teepads
-Well signed
-Pavilion/Picnic Tables
-Port-a-Potty (in season)
-Garbage Can
-Mostly secluded park (other things however rarely used)
-Practice basket
-Offers something for all player types

Although this is definitely not a challenging championship type course, it is still a course I like to frequent when I am this direction. There are bunch of holes under 200, and maybe three that are over 300...barely. With that being said, there is a great opportunity to use you bag/discs to learn how to shape your shots. There are anhyzers, hyzers, doglegs, and mandos to challenge and give you an opportunity to practice form and quality of shots. Alot of the shorters holes are heavily wooded. The "longer" holes are more open. It's a great putter/midrange/fairway driver course to practice on. Plus it is easy enough to bring newer players where they will not get as frustrated, but still show them what disc golf is about and has to offer. It's what I considered a fun course, not than a challenging course. I still enjoy going there whether it's with a group to enjoy a casual round or alone to work with my midranges and putters. There is enough trees and tight lines to make it enough of a challenge, but very duece friendly. Plus it has that old school nostalgia feel that you do not get from newer courses.
Cons: -short course
-road comes into to play too much
-some baskets are too close to each other
-lack of overall challenges

Although enjoyable, the course is still very short. There is next to no room to expand. They used the park to it's full potential. The problem is it's a small park. It also went in way before the disc technology got to where it is today. Any high rated player would not find this park a challenge at all. Any casual player would love this place. Shooting even would not be consider rare by any stretch of the imagination. They road could come into play on many holes when throwing. There are some good hyzer routes over the car path which could lead to someone's disc getting ran over. I always drive extra slow to the parking lot when going through there when I see people playing just incase. I don't want to play a round thinking about how I just crushed someone's 10x Roc.

Other Thoughts: With there being better courses in the area, this course still getts plenty of play. The layout could be slightly confusing at first play, but it is relatively easy to follow. I can see throwing at a couple of the wrong baskets the first time through. Signs are at each teepad, so recommend looking at them closely. There are a few long tees, if you can find them. If you are looking for a fun course, it's here. Also if you're hitting the Joliet area for a couple courses during the day this is a great first round warm up course. Definitely not the hardest course in the area, but worth a stop.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Too short, but decent

1    8/29/2009   8/29/2009
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The strongest aspect of the course is the variety of shots it requires. A great place for new players to practice various technical shots without major consequences or much of a risk of losing discs.

While there is a little park once you get out of the woods around holes 11-12, there was nobody there, so it's pretty much a disc golf only area from what I could tell.

Baskets and concrete tees were all in very good shape.

The course was pretty clean thanks to garbage cans on most tees,
Cons: Very short. About half of the holes were around 200 feet or less. Will probably not offer much of a challenge to experience players as almost all holes can be birdied pretty easily.

Very muddy. Holes 3-11 play through woods where there is almost no grass at all, so be prepared to get muddy.

A stream runs through the woods and at a couple crossings only some old wooden planks exist to cross on so there's definite wipe out potential for kids or people who don't have their balance right.

Most of the signs were really old and vandalized, making some of the pars and distances unreadable... definitely in need of some new ones.
Other Thoughts: Overall it's not too bad of a course. Right off 55 so it's pretty accessible, and one of several good courses in the area, so there's potential for it to be part of a multi-course day for somebody who's trying to hit some or all of the area courses in a single day.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short but fun

1    8/23/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a wooded park with dense trees and a small creek. There are some small elevation changes, and they are used very well to add interest and some difficulty. The creek comes into play on several holes, and adds a little bit of a risk/reward decision on those holes without being large enough to keep you from retrieving your disc.

There is a great mix of straight, right, and left turning holes. The course didn't ever feel repetitive, and it was nice to have to use a variety of different shots. There was also a good mix of tight holes through dense trees, and more open holes with some scattered mature trees. Many of the holes have various different lines you can take that offer different looks at the basket with different levels of risk/reward.

There are short and long tees on many holes, which adds a nice level of extra challenge and some different looks from the longs. The short tees are all nice concrete pads with good tee signs. The course is easy to navigate for the most part, with only two spots that are at all confusing.
Cons: The biggest con is the lack of real distance anywhere on this course. Most players won't need more than a midrange on any hole, and most are reachable with putters. There were just a few too many ace runs here, though at least the trees make you work for it.

The long tees were just mud spots with some small concrete markers. They didn't provide very good surfaces to tee from, and were often a little difficult to find at first. There were a couple spots on the course that were a little difficult to navigate the first time through, an easy problem to solve with a couple next tee markers.

The course was pretty crowded with groups of inexperienced players. Many seemed a little ignorant of good course etiquette, which meant that large groups were backing up a bunch of smaller groups behind them, and there were some single players throwing on people as they tried to play through.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great beginner course, with pretty easy navigation and not too much length. There isn't much brush in the woods, so errant shots are pretty easy to find, and the difficulty is good without being discouraging. More experienced players will find some fun challenges here, especially to their short game, but won't find too much real difficulty to keep them coming back.

This is definitely a course worth playing if you're in the area, especially with some other fun courses around. Make a stop here, especially if you're looking for a quick, fun round on a pretty course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 B- = Be too short to Be fun

1    7/7/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a superb beginners' course as is showcases what disc golf is all about and makes birdies conceivable for even first time players.

But, I review courses based on my tastes, so here is what I personally like and how this course stacks up:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B- (Pretty good use of trees to create relatively narrow fairways on half the holes. Problem is that the holes are too short for bad throws to be unrecoverable.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == C- (Only hole #2 is not easily parkable. No thrill in parking any of the others.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == A- (Great layout and great variety)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B (Other than hole 7 where you are by an industrial area, this course feels quite secluded from civilization and the park is relatively pretty. The holes are not secluded from each other at all.)

5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.