Shorewood, IL 
Shorewood Park Share
Uploaded By: jbrock Hole #16 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 155ft.   3 / 175ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Very Technical Course

5+    6/24/2010   6/24/2010
Review By: ArcheType
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 4.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very technical course. It has many holes that require many different shots. Hole number one is a longer sloping right curve, great for RHFH. There are several holes that are virtual straight shots through trees, but elevation changes make them all feel very unique. It's a very good course for beginners to hone their skills. The mandos serve to make the course more technical. None of them are excessively far from the natural lines in the course, really they seem to deter from people taking lucky throws through lots of trees and throwing an open line.
Cons: The course is pretty short. The longest hole being right around 340 ft. This can leave it dissatisfing for many strong armed players. It can also get pretty muddy during rainy times.
Other Thoughts: This was the course I learned to play on first, and its great just for that. The shorter, technical shots are perfect for teaching control with mids and putters.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 fun for me

5+    6/8/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: ratoon
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: well the pros to this course for me, seeing that i am a side arm thrower,is there is a lot of pin placements set off to the right or strait.
-concrete tee pads
-ok baskets
-nice park
-good use of space
-garbage cans and port o john always a plus
-easy to navigate
Cons: the mandos on 2 5 and 8 although they make it more fun they are pain in butt.
-wish the course was longer
-if u go over the basket on 10 or to the right of the basket on 11 u go into a smelly ditch of i dont know what.so stay away from there.
-the drive way in is narrow and drives through southside of park. holes 2 3 4 7 all have the street in play.
Other Thoughts: this course to me was enjoyable to play while living in the area. its also right on the way to channahan and 2 awsome joliet courses. THE HIGHLANDS AND WEST PARK A MUST TO PLAYif in the area.So make a day out of it, map it out and get ready for a joliet roller coaster.Shorewood however will only prob be with us for so long the city has plans for the area and the course may be altered or whiped out completly so get all ur rounds in that u can

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good course

5+    4/6/2010   4/17/2010
Review By: dwebb
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course has a nice layout with a good variety of holes. Everything is pretty open and easy to follow with some more challenging acable holes as well as some long hyzer shots. There is a lack of flatness on most of the holes, which is a good change of pace from most of the other courses around.

The course is well maintained and has great tee boxes. Additionally the course hasn't ever been busy when I have been here.

This course is great for any skill level and is easy to follow around, there really isn't a need for markings as the course flow is laid out quite well.
Cons: Although it is a nice course, it really isn't overly impressive. Holes are laid out in a casual fashion and don't offer much of a challenge for more skilled players. Aftrer a while straight shots through the woods are all the same.

A couple of times I have come here and it has been really muddy, but as with any course, just watch conditions before heading out.
Other Thoughts: Good beginner course with variety, fun tee shots and up and downs. If you're in the area its worth the stop, you wouldn't want to pass it up. But if you're looking for a challenging course, this just isn't it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short & Tricky

1    6/17/2007   1/17/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a small park where the course plays into some nice wooded areas and utilizes the open space. See the link below for hole by hole photos.

This is a very short course with some variety. The mandos are interesting and there are quite a few. You need some trick shots and forehand to score well on this course. A forehand cut roller can pick up a few birdies.

There are Sort/Long tees. Not all have Longs. Concrete for 1 set.

Pretty easy to navigate.

It's minutes off I55.
Cons: Very short and lacks challenge for more skilled players.

If you go during prime hours it can get congested with baskets being close to tees.

Course can be muddy after rain.
Other Thoughts: Link to more pictures.
http://discontinuum.org/index...itemId=245499

This course is located right off I55 and will not take long to play. I'd consider playing Channahon instead of this course if you have the time.

Check out my Illinois Top 10.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Shorewood DGC

1    12/21/2009   12/21/2009
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 114  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Because I only had about 40 minutes to play this course for the first time today, I had to jog through it pretty quickly. That being said, I found it very easy to navigate even though I was in a hurry. This course beautifully utilizes trees and the creek for many of the holes. There were some very tight shots and some very open shots and just a huge variety of shots. This course also uses mandos very nicely and they fit in very well and add to the challenge of the park. Some of the holes are very, very short and offer a good ace run (I had a bounce out my first time playing). Very fun!!!
Cons: It's very short...the longest of the holes was about 350 ft. but since it fully utilized the park, this isn't a huge complaint. There was snow on the ground when I played today and there were still several other people playing. I can imagine that there could be quite a few people here when the weather is nicer.
Other Thoughts: I choose this course because it was so close to the highway on my way home from Chicago and I was definitely not let down. This course is very technical in a few spots and accuracy is a must! As said before, it's definitely an ace run course and is perfect for beginners. The mandos are a lot of fun and I think people of all skill levels can appreciate this park. :)

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 MIdrange Madness

5+    12/17/2009   12/19/2009
Review By: whitechocolate
Played: 389  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Cement Teepads
-Well signed
-Pavilion/Picnic Tables
-Port-a-Potty (in season)
-Garbage Can
-Mostly secluded park (other things however rarely used)
-Practice basket
-Offers something for all player types

Although this is definitely not a challenging championship type course, it is still a course I like to frequent when I am this direction. There are bunch of holes under 200, and maybe three that are over 300...barely. With that being said, there is a great opportunity to use you bag/discs to learn how to shape your shots. There are anhyzers, hyzers, doglegs, and mandos to challenge and give you an opportunity to practice form and quality of shots. Alot of the shorters holes are heavily wooded. The "longer" holes are more open. It's a great putter/midrange/fairway driver course to practice on. Plus it is easy enough to bring newer players where they will not get as frustrated, but still show them what disc golf is about and has to offer. It's what I considered a fun course, not than a challenging course. I still enjoy going there whether it's with a group to enjoy a casual round or alone to work with my midranges and putters. There is enough trees and tight lines to make it enough of a challenge, but very duece friendly. Plus it has that old school nostalgia feel that you do not get from newer courses.
Cons: -short course
-road comes into to play too much
-some baskets are too close to each other
-lack of overall challenges

Although enjoyable, the course is still very short. There is next to no room to expand. They used the park to it's full potential. The problem is it's a small park. It also went in way before the disc technology got to where it is today. Any high rated player would not find this park a challenge at all. Any casual player would love this place. Shooting even would not be consider rare by any stretch of the imagination. They road could come into play on many holes when throwing. There are some good hyzer routes over the car path which could lead to someone's disc getting ran over. I always drive extra slow to the parking lot when going through there when I see people playing just incase. I don't want to play a round thinking about how I just crushed someone's 10x Roc.

Other Thoughts: With there being better courses in the area, this course still getts plenty of play. The layout could be slightly confusing at first play, but it is relatively easy to follow. I can see throwing at a couple of the wrong baskets the first time through. Signs are at each teepad, so recommend looking at them closely. There are a few long tees, if you can find them. If you are looking for a fun course, it's here. Also if you're hitting the Joliet area for a couple courses during the day this is a great first round warm up course. Definitely not the hardest course in the area, but worth a stop.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 It is what it is, and it's good at it

5+    9/14/2009   10/2/2009
Review By: WindyCityROCer
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course routing, no 2 holes play anywhere near the same....
Beginner friendly!
Requires a VARIETY of shots, lots of mandos (5?)
Beautiful park, DG is the main activity....
Probably THE BEST COURSE IN JOLIET AREA TO WORK ON YOUR ACCURACY!
EXCELLENT concrete tees! (well, for shorts)
ALL baskets in great shape!
2/3 of holes are VERY defined by trees/canopies... an excellent technical course approachable by all skill levels.
Creek in play on 6 holes... but not a lost disc scenario.... just a stroke for water....
Cons: TRAFFIC... unless you can get there early, it's a mess....
Length, for any regular tournament player (ie... 850+?) this course will be extremely short... take a mid, putter, and water bottle...
The playground on 15/16 can come into play if non dg people are there....
There are back tees (natural) on SOME holes, and they are hard to find (try to find a JADGC (Joliet club) member to find them all)
I did mention traffic?
LOTS of mandos.... a few I agree with (the schule protecting the OBVIOUS line has been beat down) a few are just frustrating.

I should also mention POLICE....I have seen undercovers, and MORONS toting coolers getting tickets for alcohol.... it's a 45 min round... just wait to do your business..
Other Thoughts: For my skill level (glorified rec) this course is a gem, a few holes to air it out with a driver, and the rest is the tech shots with mids that I need to perfect. As frustrating as the mando's can be, they add to the course, really, well accept for #5, maybe. Course Plays through an old growth park, lots of trees to smack a shot down, but NOT a lot of schule to lose a disc.

Noteworthy holes....
1. L>R shot, RHFH preffered cause of that darn diagonal tree that smacks down a RHBH
3. AWESOME tunnel shot, you'll get tree-nied into the creek more than you want to admit...
5.Mando, L>R... very easy to screw it up, basket is 50' to the R of mando tree
7.very short, L>R basket right by the entrance road, ob beyond, seems simple, until you go over/ob
9. ace run across the creek.... fun hole
10.ace run, with one thin guardian tree, over and right is a usually wet putt from the creek bed
11.slightly L>R, a rather long hole for the course, with a permanent limb on the ground (@25' from basket) to spoil your skip ace
18. A VERY TOUGH L>R hole, as it requires a tight L>R curve @40' off tee (with canopy) then you go for the basket.... I can't tell you how many times I have seen this hole destroy an otherwise good round...

I listed this under cons, but I'm trying not to hold it against the course itself, the traffic is HORRIBLE.... Lots of 1-2 disc rec players, that tend to play in LARGE groups (think 8+) with little to no courtesy... they even endanger eachother when they throw.... also, I believe/HOPE it's these people who are littering everywhere...

There's a really good Thai restaurant off 59 and Jefferson, and it's <10min from Channahon...

I'm giving this course a 4 because what it does, it does GOOD.... and it's SO CLOSE to other great courses

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Too short, but decent

1    8/29/2009   8/29/2009
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The strongest aspect of the course is the variety of shots it requires. A great place for new players to practice various technical shots without major consequences or much of a risk of losing discs.

While there is a little park once you get out of the woods around holes 11-12, there was nobody there, so it's pretty much a disc golf only area from what I could tell.

Baskets and concrete tees were all in very good shape.

The course was pretty clean thanks to garbage cans on most tees,
Cons: Very short. About half of the holes were around 200 feet or less. Will probably not offer much of a challenge to experience players as almost all holes can be birdied pretty easily.

Very muddy. Holes 3-11 play through woods where there is almost no grass at all, so be prepared to get muddy.

A stream runs through the woods and at a couple crossings only some old wooden planks exist to cross on so there's definite wipe out potential for kids or people who don't have their balance right.

Most of the signs were really old and vandalized, making some of the pars and distances unreadable... definitely in need of some new ones.
Other Thoughts: Overall it's not too bad of a course. Right off 55 so it's pretty accessible, and one of several good courses in the area, so there's potential for it to be part of a multi-course day for somebody who's trying to hit some or all of the area courses in a single day.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short but fun

1    8/23/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 752  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a wooded park with dense trees and a small creek. There are some small elevation changes, and they are used very well to add interest and some difficulty. The creek comes into play on several holes, and adds a little bit of a risk/reward decision on those holes without being large enough to keep you from retrieving your disc.

There is a great mix of straight, right, and left turning holes. The course didn't ever feel repetitive, and it was nice to have to use a variety of different shots. There was also a good mix of tight holes through dense trees, and more open holes with some scattered mature trees. Many of the holes have various different lines you can take that offer different looks at the basket with different levels of risk/reward.

There are short and long tees on many holes, which adds a nice level of extra challenge and some different looks from the longs. The short tees are all nice concrete pads with good tee signs. The course is easy to navigate for the most part, with only two spots that are at all confusing.
Cons: The biggest con is the lack of real distance anywhere on this course. Most players won't need more than a midrange on any hole, and most are reachable with putters. There were just a few too many ace runs here, though at least the trees make you work for it.

The long tees were just mud spots with some small concrete markers. They didn't provide very good surfaces to tee from, and were often a little difficult to find at first. There were a couple spots on the course that were a little difficult to navigate the first time through, an easy problem to solve with a couple next tee markers.

The course was pretty crowded with groups of inexperienced players. Many seemed a little ignorant of good course etiquette, which meant that large groups were backing up a bunch of smaller groups behind them, and there were some single players throwing on people as they tried to play through.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great beginner course, with pretty easy navigation and not too much length. There isn't much brush in the woods, so errant shots are pretty easy to find, and the difficulty is good without being discouraging. More experienced players will find some fun challenges here, especially to their short game, but won't find too much real difficulty to keep them coming back.

This is definitely a course worth playing if you're in the area, especially with some other fun courses around. Make a stop here, especially if you're looking for a quick, fun round on a pretty course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 SHOREWOOD PARK

5+    7/26/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: TSchneidz2
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great beginner course and I personally love this course to begin using new discs as there are a few open holes to really see how the disc will fly. There quite a few short holes where you are almost upset you didnt get the ace. I also like that holes 3 thru 10 are tucked in a wooded area with a small creek while 11 thru 18 are pretty open. Nice variety on a small tucked away course.
Cons: I've now played here maybe 9 or 10 times and every time the course has been pretty crowded with some very large groups.
Other Thoughts: Again...this is a great course for the beginner and a great course for a more advanced player to work on their mid-range game. Nice variety on a nice course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.