Nowthen, MN 
Twin Lakes Park Share
Uploaded By: Craig639 Hole #4 (Taken 8/2010)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee: Basket is tucked in woods



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
well...

1    11/27/2013   11/27/2013
Review By: elmexdela
Played: 73  Reviewed: 24
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ace runs galore. innova baskets. not crowded. grass was maintained.
Cons: saw every domestic beer brand possible with all the empty bottles laying around the course. broken glass. dirt pads. thorns. no signs for guides. baskets cemented into old rubber vehicle wheels..?
Other Thoughts: was this course made on a old dirtbike track?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    9/8/2013   9/14/2013
Review By: darcym
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: An easy game but layout makes you think a little. No major hazards, which as a rookie I appreciate because I can experiment without worrying about losing discs.
Cons: Yup, the rough is thorny. No sign of the maps mentioned in other reviews but layout is pretty intuitive. Took a wrong turn coming off the basket of 6 but found the tee at 7 quickly enough. Tees are dirt patches.
Other Thoughts: We played Oak Grove, Twin Lakes and Elk River on this day. This was the second course and our favorite of the threee.

Fun course with potential

5+    6/17/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: Mblack4
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6
Pros: - Nice wooded area with good diversity between holes
- Requires decent accuracy
- Free to play
- Close to Lions Park in Elk River and fun to play both for an 18 hole experience
Cons: - No tee pads
- New players may get lost as there is no direction to the next hole (although it is pretty simple)
- Only 9 holes
- Cheap baskets
Other Thoughts: I've played this course a handful of times and it's pretty fun, there are holes that require to you curve left, right, and go straight. It's a nice 9 holer to warm up different shots with, and then you can go to Elk River to warm up your distance.

It is pretty much all level shots, no uphill or downhill, although it makes up for it with the diversity required in each shot.

 Seriously Squatchy

5+    3/22/2012   3/22/2012
Review By: Woodbooger
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: lots of trees and shrubs provide for some pretty dirty bird watching, good mix of easy and hard throws, some pretty clutch course maps provided, very quality berry picking along the trip. good bitty watching at the nearby beach.
Cons: thorny as all get out, trash can by the little rest area smells god awful. wood steaks as tee boxes? lets get real. also someone stole the baskets last year so we couldnt play it for like 2 months. that person can go to hell
Other Thoughts: dont swim in the lake unless you want a urniary tract infection, possibls stds and i have also seen a pack of wild dogs on the course

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Take the good, take the bad

1    9/29/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: djschnabel
Played: 157  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 17.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like that there is a new course nearby that isn't overrun with amateur players. The holes are fun to play, and pretty much every hole is ace-able, albeit difficult to obtain gimme birdies on a few holes. There was morning dew everywhere today, but on holes 3-5 the grass was cut very short, making my shoes wearable, and not completely soaked like some other courses have made them. Holes 1,2, 6-9 are in an open area, with a lot of prairie grass. They remind me of the Clearwater/Pleasant Lake course, but much shorter. Holes 3-5 make a triangle approaching cty 65, with a great use of the pine tree on hole three.
There is a lot of room out here, plenty of room to expand!!!
Cons: I don't like the baskets. They say Innova Disccatcher, they may be the sport edition (much cheaper, and thinner metal). The course is in its infancy. Wayward shots are punished more than they should be. Thorns galore. There seem to be running/hiking trails throughout the course, which could pose an issue. Some holes double back across others, such as 4/5, and basket 8 is in hole 1's fairway (almost). It would be great to alter the hole locations to prevent any issues/injuries.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course, I wish to play it more in the future. It is out of the way, but there is supposed to be a 9-hole course built at the Oak Grove Preserve (corner of 22 and 7) which is only a couple of miles away. Once they finish the OG Preserve course, I will play this more, and with the Lions Park Course in ER, it makes a pretty good loop.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Narrow Course

1    9/11/2010   9/12/2010
Review By: jonas
Played: 37  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not a lot of people you won't be bothered
Holes vary in length
Narrow course so you have to think about your shots
The course has a map
Once you get going the course has a very nice flow.
Cons: Hard to find the first tee. It is just a stake in the ground
Not a lot of room for error, very narrow.
Spend a lot of time looking for discs.
The rough is VERY nasty and thick.
Other Thoughts: Not a lot of people so you can play a few rounds in a short amount of time.
Wear pants when you play. The rough can be kind of a mess.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A little too fresh

1    8/19/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: Craig639
Played: 219  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Not crowded
- Shelter Area
- Maps available
- Decent basket position (strategically placed with the available trees)
- Maintained park (fairways are mowed)
- Punishing rough (since holes are short)
Cons: - Not very challenging except for novice players (holes are all reachable off the drive, all holes under 300 feet)
- Hard to navigate (even with the course map)
- Natural tee box marked only with a metal post (this course is very new, signage may come)
- DISCatcher "Sport" baskets should not be on any course (they should be in a back yard or garage)
Other Thoughts: - This course is still in its infancy. There is some wiggle room to extend holes, add tee boxes, signage, etc.
- This course will be great for the local players due to the lack of other nearby courses. Locals will have the course to themselves
- There is a not-too-busy beach within walking distance.Great for grilling out, hanging at the beach, and throwing a round in between on a nice day.
- Not worth going way out of your way to play when the Twin Cities and St. Cloud area have so much more to offer.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A hidden gem

1    8/21/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: Alleandro23
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is desolate and no one knows about it yet. We were able to do whatever we wanted on any hole. It's very challenging with very tight fairways and LOTS of overgrowth if you stray. Rewards the accurate DG player. AND there are some raspberries off hole 2 if you shank your drive way of to the right...
Cons: ...Well, the raspberries are not fun to pick a disc out of as they are full of thorns, but it's the most delicious journey you'll have finding a disc. Sometimes the overgrowth gets a bit ridiculous. The holes are relatively short and the tee boxes are only marked by a stake, no real tee boxes to speak of. Nets are a little crooked/not level on some holes.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great little place to throw some disc. I definitely recommend checking it out. If you can get around the fact that finding the next tee is a little obscure and that it's a little tough to fish your disc out of the brush when you inevitably shank it, it's a great course!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.