Suffield, OH 
The Hangar Share
Uploaded By: Mike C Hole #18 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 260ft.   3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Blimpie's Best

2-4    5/24/2014   5/25/2014
Review By: Derek B
Played: 98  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 12.3 Years
Pros: 1) Concrete pads
2) 2 sets of tees
3) Scenic views
4) Well manicured
5) Elevation changes
6) Highlight holes: 6, 7, 8, 14, 16, 18
Cons: 1) Some holes too close to each other
2) Crowded with park users
3) Course navigation issues
4) Lack of tee signs on longs
5) 4 holes closed for entire summer on weekends
Other Thoughts: The course is somewhat of a figure 8. Holes 9 and 18 lead you back to the parking lot. The course has many rolling hills and is mostly open, but with enough with mature trees around to make it interesting.

On the front 9, holes 6 and 7 have water in play and there are beautiful views of the Goodyear blimp hangar from these holes. Hole 8 is a super cool hole from the longs as you shoot from high up on a hill and have to shoot under some branches and between some trees to get to a huge football field type field down below. The basket sits on the edge of a culvert that was OB in the tourney I played there.

On the back 9, you start off with a very tightly wooded fairway on 10, which is both odd and cool considering this feature goes against the openness of the course. ( BTW, Holes 1 and 10 share the same tee.) By the time you get to hole 14, you are rewarded with a gorgeous top of the world shot from the short tee. IMO, they should get rid of the long tee on 14 as it's not nearly as cool. Hole 16 is a cool thread the needle type shot where you have to get by a half dozen tree guards or so to get to a raised clearing where the basket awaits. Hole 18 is awesome from the longs as it is well guarded, but a well placed shot will leave you with a birdie op.

My biggest two complaints are the closeness of some of the holes and navigation. Re: closeness: for example, a few holes have the next tee right next to the former hole's basket and some fairways seem to be so close that they are shared by two holes. Navigation can be a bit tricky if you don't have a map so make sure you get one before playing it the first time.

One last thing....and this is why I didn't give the course higher than a 3...4 holes are closed every weekend for the entire summer. I'm assuming this is because of the heavy use of the park by non disc golfers. So basically, at the time of the week and the time of the year which is prime time for disc golf, this is a 14 hole course. Maybe they could fix this problem by adding 4 holes in an area that wouldn't be affected by park goers?

All in all, this course is a fun intermediate level course. With all of the other quality courses in the Akron/Canton area, I don't know that I'll be back anytime soon, but I would recommend that you try it at least once to get it under your belt.

 Interesting mix

1    3/5/2011   3/7/2011
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.2 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wingfoot is a nice 18 hole course located in a State Park with good facilities available. There is ample parking, bathrooms, and playgrounds located very close to the course. The park and the course are very well kept and free of debris.

The course designer did alot with the land available. There is a nice variety of holes, right turning, left turning, tunnel shots, wide open bombers, up hill, down hill and over water.

Most of the holes are in the 250' to 310' range but there are a few that play around 375 that give you a chance to air it out a little. Also there are a few shorter downhill ace runs.

The course has very nice new chainstar baskets and tee signs (see cons) on every hole.

There were a couple of nice/tough pin positions on the edge of slopes (1, 11, 12), close to water (5 and 7) and creatively guarded by trees (10, 15 and 18).

Navigation is pretty easy with all of the next tee arrows under the basket.

For me there were a couple of holes that stood out from the rest. The first was #6 which is 300 feet straight out with the lake on the right and thick woods on the left. The fairway is about 35' wide the whole way and you are generally throwing into a headwind. #15 is a very open drive up hill to a pin that is guarded by trees and is a slight gulley. Easy to get a 2 or 4 on. #16 and 18 are both slightly up hill and moderately wooded. There are multiple lines available on each hole but you need to hit your gaps.
Cons: The course just is not that hard. Other than the two water holes I would say this would be a good course for Novice through Advanced.

The tee signs, while helpful are placed at the front of the tee and are a real danger to smack you hand off of. They could easily be moved a couple of feet away and out of danger.

The tees themselves are natural and in most cases this translates into mud if it has been raining recently. They were mostly level though so on dry days they should not post much of a problem.

Hole #6 although a cool hole requires you to backtrack the length of the fairway to get to 7's tee.

Other Thoughts: Wingfoot is a fun course but certainly not one to travel out of your way for. It has some interesting holes and some decent pin positions.

The course itself feels like maybe construction/design might have been rushed and not a whole lot of thought put towards future development. There is not alot of options for putting in a second set of tees and on a few holes even a second pin position would be difficult due to proximity of the other holes.

I appreciate the work that went into this course and I am always happy to have another 18 hole course within two hours of where I live.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Blimpin' aint Easy

1    10/22/2010   10/25/2010
Review By: kinger
Played: 36  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 4.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~Well maintained course
~Good signage, easy to navigate
~New baskets with arrows directing you to the next tee
~Beginner friendly, yet still maintains a good technical aspect
~Nice mix of holes from wooded, to water, to wide open
~State Park offers plenty of activities for a full day of enjoyment
Cons:
~Course may be too easy for more experienced players
~Natural tees, although the footing was good
~All holes seemed to be straight shots, would like to see some dog legs mixed in
Other Thoughts: Placed in a newly opened state park, the course is in great shape and is marked with plenty of information, maps and scorecards to allow the 1st time visitor to play through easily. Great setting in a well maintained park situated by a lake and blimp hanger. The front 9 play through a fairly tight wooded course that is short and technical. The back 9 opens up considerably more with longer holes that are mixed with wide open spaces and lightly wooded areas. It makes good use of the land and flows nicely. Not too challenging, but ideal for the casual visitor.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Recreational Fun

5+    10/8/2010   10/8/2010
Review By: cwpete
Played: 27  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 11/21/2011
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Relaxing change of pace from the accuracy required at Massillon and Portage Lakes.
Tees are not concrete (yet?), allowing for potential to change placement in the future.
Fifteen minutes from Kent State.
Grass is mowed so there is little rough outside of the woods and pine trees.

Cons: Hard to see the location of a few baskets (#1, #18) the first time through. Better signs would have helped. Love the water on #6 and #7, but the flow is awkward. I don't have a better idea on how to improve the flow without a floating bridge or removing one of the holes. As long as it isn't busy, I guess it isn't a problem.

Other Thoughts: I stopped by tonight on my way to Kent State, having played it once before. I enjoyed it very much after a rough week at work. This is a good recreational course and would be fun for new players. For advanced players, assume every hole is a par three, relax on the open holes and do your stuff on the harder/riskier holes. Yes, some of the holes are too short but could easily be lengthened/improved, if the park is taking suggestions. I'm not as long a thrower as some, so it felt good to reach the baskets off the elevated tees on #5 and #14.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 They have the potential

1    9/20/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: SmoothSailor
Played: 58  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: All holes are clearly marked with signs for where to go next. Combination of water hazards, wooded area and open field holes.
Cons: No trash cans at tee pads. No Benches at tee pads. q
Other Thoughts: If the course gets some trash cans and benches, they'll be all set to go. It wasn't too much of a technical course, or one that I would call difficult. I eagled most of the holes and I'm not all that great of a player, so that's saying something.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course Though It Lacks Challenge

5+    8/26/2010   8/27/2010
Review By: Mike C
Played: 45  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/1/2011
12 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -There's a decent amount of variety in the shot selection. Some shorter drives and some medium length drives, left and right turning holes, open and fairly wooded. I'd say my favorites were 10 and 16.

-Well marked overall. There is a full course map on the scorecards and at the practice basket. The pins are individually numbered, as are the teesigns. The baskets feature hanging signs with arrows directing you to the next hole, which makes navigation through the course a breeze.

-Glow round friendly. The fairways don't have much underbrush to lose a disc in so glow rounds work well. The park is open until 11pm and no one seems to mind if you stay later.

-Good flow overall except for some minor backtracking on 6 and a short walk from 1 to 2. Also little intersecting fairway traffic, but keep an eye out like walking from 3 to 4 as you're on the edge of 9's fairway. The course is quick to play, being possible to complete in an hour going solo at a moderate pace.

-Baskets are quite nice, and there is a practice basket surrounded by trees that gives you some obstacles to practice putting around.

-Concession stand next to hole 7's basket sells discs (They had mostly DX Rocs and fairway drivers, plus some Birdies last time I browsed) and refreshments, and handles boat rentals.
Cons: -No holes over 375' nor any particularly challenging holes. One or two 450-500' holes would of been a nice addition. Pretty much every hole here I can deuce with just putters. Of the holes that are wooded and not wide open, none of them are difficult to 3, even if you mess up your drive.

-The teepads are mulch and the teesigns are placed fairly close to the teepads. The teesigns mark the distance and hole # but are placed a bit too close to the teepads and also don't show the hole layout (Though the scorecards provided do show the hole layout to a degree). The teesigns aren't close enough to present a danger as other reviewers have stated, but their positioning isn't the best. My issue with the teepads is a lot of them are uneven or not level. In particular I found 9's to be dangerously bad, and the downhill, slick teepad on 14 makes me throw to the side of it.

-The course overall is too easy, and the listed par is a joke. Wide open holes well under 400' are listed as par 4's, and the water holes are par 4's too when they're easy deuces. The overall experience seems geared towards newer players and rec players. It's not a bad course because of this, it's just not the challenge Arboretum longs, Deis Hill whites or Oak Ledges are and for me if a course doesn't challenge me I'm not likely to make many return trips.
Other Thoughts: As long as you aren't an advanced player coming here expecting a challenge I would expect you to enjoy this course. It's not one of the best overall course designs I've played, but there are some fun drives to be had and the whole area is pretty nice. If you're newer to the game I think you'd enjoy this more than if you're an advanced player.

Though the current course layout doesn't seem like it would permit pro tees, if they added longs for all 18 holes I would rate this another notch higher. It has shot variety, pretty scenery and some fun holes, it's just too easy and the holes are all short. Adding a set of long tees would be great for players who want a better challenge. I'll probably end up designing my own.

This is a great course to bring the girlfriend to, friends newer to the game, family etc. If you're a serious golfer looking for a course that will really test your skills, this is not it. It's still a fun course and it offers a few holes that could be easy to mess up. It's also glow round friendly.

You could easily make a day of visiting this park considering all the other amenities offered. I know there is a boat launching ramp, basketball court, cornhole play area, tennis court, horse shoe targets, putt putt golf course, pro shop selling discs and refreshments and a long walking path that goes throughout the park. The staff were all friendly.

If you're a skateboarder Akron Skatepark is just down the road and is one of NE Ohio's best Skateparks. I highly recommend it. Also, Portage Lakes is a straight shot West on 619 then south on 93, easy to hit them both up in a single trip.

12 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center