Suffield, OH 
The Hangar Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #6 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 195ft.   3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket: Goodyear blimp hanger across the lake



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Ok, my turn.

2-4    10/7/2010   10/8/2010
Review By: TommyGun'n
Played: 54  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -brand new chainstar baskets with hole numbers and directional arrows on them
-signs telling you distance and hole number
-solid mix of lefty and righty shots
-very sceneic with water holes and gently rolling hills
-lots of "roller" potential
-ace runs and birdie op's
-park closes at 11 so glow golf here is great
-practice basket
-FREE
Cons: -signs are in horrible spots, be careful not to bang ur arm or hand
-tee-pads are natural - sometimes muddy which makes them slick
-no pro tees (this is sad b/c many holes could have pro tees, increasing the difficulty for more advanced players)
-hole 6 has a traffic flow issue, which has u walking back up the fairway to the next tee
-very busy park
-nothing over 400 ft, and no extremely tight short shots - basically all average distances and average amounts of trees
Other Thoughts: -this course makes you use a lot of shots, thumbers, rollers, sidearm, backhand...
-not a lot of elevation changes but enough to keep it interesting.
-great course for beginners

It's not like anyone PAID TO PLAY here, so what's with all the negativity in these reviews?

This is NOT a destination course by any means. But it is def a change of pace for the area. Again to play the course is FREE, and they also sell discs at the park making it possible for many "first timers".

Seems some people reviewing this course contradict themselves by saying "its too easy!" and then complaining about the difficulty of the pin positions, or low branches.

All and all, i have fun when i play here but it's not one of my favorites.


6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 They have the potential

1    9/20/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: SmoothSailor
Played: 58  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: All holes are clearly marked with signs for where to go next. Combination of water hazards, wooded area and open field holes.
Cons: No trash cans at tee pads. No Benches at tee pads. q
Other Thoughts: If the course gets some trash cans and benches, they'll be all set to go. It wasn't too much of a technical course, or one that I would call difficult. I eagled most of the holes and I'm not all that great of a player, so that's saying something.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Aimed at Beginners and Recreational Players

1    9/19/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: rtiedemann6
Played: 49  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/6/2011
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent facilities and brand new baskets accentuate Ohio's newest state park. Holes are laid out simply with most being fairly open to aid beginners. The course was built to attract families and recreational players and is serving its purpose. The ODNR does an excellent job of maintenance and is committed to building a first class course.
Cons: Holes are short and better players will not find too much of a challenge. Right now, only 1 pin location, but this is slated to change soon.
Other Thoughts: It is definitely made for beginners. Those who score well at Arboretum or Massillon need not venture here. It's good to see disc golf in Summit County grow, but for this course to be a good one for all skill levels, some of the pins need to moved to make it more challenging to include players of all skill levels. I'm not very good, but had an easy round at this place. There are plans in the works to put the pins in sleeves, and thus, be able to be more challenging.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Sorry, but who thinks crap is good

2-4    9/6/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: DanDavis23118
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 21.2 Years
3 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: Very scenic park, great piece of land, and good baskets, thats about it. There were a few holes that I actually liked, but for the most part pitch and put is not fun. I did like a few holes, very challenging but tolerable shots. but it is designed very poorly, you dont put baskets so close to the thickest pines possible and have absolutely no chance of making your putt if you are in those pines, almost half of the holes are too close to the wood line, you should never have a 10 foot putt where you cant even see the basket, I had to thow 30 feet backwards to hit the fairway on a 10 foot putt
Cons: Well first if your going to have a disc golf course, don't put it where all of the other park goers plan to sit or fish or walk around, 2nd it is a great place for a course, but if I wanted to play putt putt I would,
Other Thoughts: wow im tired of bad courses, im sorry but since brewster, bottler, malvern, minerva, lousiville, portage lakes , and wingfoot, thats 90 good baskets wasted on really bad courses, multiply that times the 350 per basket and thats almost 32 thousand dollas, wasted on really bad courses, sorry if this offends anybody, but if your a good golfer its really not that fun, I didn't play it well because I was let down,by what I saw, great course for intermediates

3 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/26/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: thadon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/7/2011
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful park and Scenery
Map and score cards located at the start .
Nice baskets.
Short but challenging holes
Cons: Mulch Tees .
Tees don't describe the holes
a few holes play to close to one another.
Some really easy holes
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 ...Not so exciting, Walking path goes right thru the fair way.

Hole 2 Very easy, Short and to the right....I can see alot of Aces here.

Hole 3 plays up hill and to the right, with lingering branches making it tough to get an easy par. Again really short.

Hole 4 ..The shortest i've seen on any 18 hole. 150 ft down hill and slightly left . with tree branches about chest level, Leaving a small window to drive thru...but yet again Ace-able

Hole 5 across an open Feild, tee is at the edge of parking lot.

Hole 6 is sure to claim a lot of discs with a Straight 20ft wide fairway , Lake on the right , woods on the left . Little room for error on this hole!! Back track the fairway to get to hole 7 :(

Hole 7 offers a dogleg right to left to get the hole, or you go for all the marbles and shoot across the water, Not difficult , but will make you think.

As for the rest , they are pretty basic 8,9 work there way back to the start. 10 plays down a narrow path of trees. Things start to open up a bit 11 plays up a steep hill to the right. 14 is probably the only chance you'll get to really rip into a drive.

You will find that a majority of the holes play to the right. Not gonna be able to bomb a whole alot of drives here. You will find challenges in the Major elevation changes and short technical shots.

Me personally, i don't think this is a bad course at all. This park was built years ago on the idea of family ,friends,and fun . This Course fits right in with this park. Alot of the Elite DGer's are probably not gonna care to much for this course based on its difficulty and layout..(As we are already seeing) This course is more for the recreational player , as well as the Beginners.

I think some extra Tee locations would spice it up a little, but not im not complaining.

As far the tee signs are concerned, i only recall 3 or 4 of them being taller than 3ft. So unless your a midget with no common sense, you shouldn't have to worry about hurting yourself.

Furthermore this park is excellent day spot for the family . Hiking, Boating fishing, and if disc golf isn't going your way, try your medal at miniature golf. They even Cornhole setups!! What park does that. Beautiful park, friendly staff, Awesome environment...Take the kids.

****Update***Yeah , i missed the playground its pretty cool


8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Disappointed and unimpressed with

1    8/26/2010   8/27/2010
Review By: discgolfer10205
Played: 30  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 20.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2010
7 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Nice brand new chainstar baskets.
Beautiful scenery.
Variation of shots used.
Tee signs that mark distance and hole number.
Nice Board with scorecards and pencils right there at the parking lot, so very easy to see and find.
Cons: I don't know the confines that were given when laying out the course, but I was kind of disappointed with the course. Was really excited with what I had heard about it, and just too many baskets right next to trees and shrubs that will punish a good to great shot.

Alot of the tee signs are WAY TOO CLOSE to the tee and at the wrong end of the tee pad. YOU SHOULD NEVER HAVE TEE SIGNS AT THE FRONT OF THE TEE PAD WHERE YOU CAN INJURE YOUR HAND WHEN YOU THROW !!!!!!!!!!!

Alot of the holes you have to figure out where you are throwing to, cause the tee signs only tell you what hole number and the distance, nothing to tell you where the pin is.

Alot of very low hanging limbs and branches that need trimmed in order to be somewhat fair with the hole.

In time, I think some of the holes are going to have to be either moved, or part of the course redesigned as alot of the pines grow on holes 3 and 4 , and by the basket on hole 15.

Hole 6 you have to walk back from the basket towards the tee, in order to get to hole 7, I can see this as a major back up point during a tournament, or even just casual play.

The course is pretty short overall, and on the few that were of some kind of length pretty easy for most experienced players.

For families just looking to play, I would recommend the front 9, the back 9 aren't family friendly and would possibly find it discouraging.

None of the holes really tested my skills much, maybe 16 because of the low limbs that cut off just about any air shot, but i parked it with a roller. Didn't take a single bogey on the course playing it blind, so definitely not very difficult.

PAR 62 ????? I don't think so, i would say par 52 is more like it.
Other Thoughts: Overall the park is beautiful and will be a very busy spot.

I just thought the course could have been layed out so much better even with portion of land given. I don't know what the restrictions were, but the biggest thing I would recommend is trim the limbs to where they are atleast 6 to 7 feet off the ground for fairness and also safety.

Found it to be very disappointing compared to how FABULOUS it was made out to be.

Also, beware of people fishing on hole 6, there were so many people fishing the other day that we just skipped the hole, not worth hitting someone. Should make NO FISHING signs and put them along the lake shore for that area, atleast up to about 40 feet past the basket.

Also beware of vehicles parked by tennis courts on hole 1, makes it really fun to throw at peoples cars 50 feet from the basket there.

7 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Squandered potential

1    8/26/2010   8/27/2010
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 50  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 14.3 Years
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: • As of the writing of this review, the entire course is brand new
• "next tee" indicators on baskets
• Clean, beautiful park
• Scorecards with map at main kiosk
Cons: • Mulch tees
• Tees signs have no maps
• Most holes are difficult to see from the tee
• Bulk of the course hovers near either the parking lots or other use areas of the park
• Hole-to-basket is often confusing or requires backtracking
• Holes are either very difficult or very boring
Other Thoughts: Wingfoot Lake State Park is a beautiful park, and an ideal setting for a disc golf course. Unfortunately the one installed does not take advantage of what the land has to offer.

Your disappointment will begin with Hole 1. Not only are you barely out of the parking lot, but the tee is confusing as the most obvious basket is actually for Hole 11. When you finally discover that you have to throw down along a main paved path, as well as throw towards and to the right of a tennis court area, your spirits start to sink.

Follow this up with a few decent technical holes, only to be lead back to paved areas, streets and walkways once again. After not much of anything challenging, there will be an extremely tight water hazard throw for hole #6, which also requires you you backtrack toward the hole #6 tee to reach tee #7. Sigh.

Thinking you'll be heading deeper into the park, you instead are directed back towards the parking lots you finally got away from. On a positive note, hole 9 basket is right next to both the hole 1 and hole 10 tees.

Your spirits raise slightly as you can see glimpses of wide open rolling hills and some wooded area once again. Yet you are forced to hug either the more public areas of these sections, or in the case of the wide open areas you are marginalized towards the trees bordering the field. Frustrating.

Finally you get a great throw with hole 14, which is actually a pretty cool hole to throw: down the rolling hills,and a nice wide open shot. The only bad thing about that hole is that is frustrates you with the potential the rest of this course had that wasn't taken advantage of.

The remainder of the course is a mixed bag, and some of these last holes may be better than I experienced them but my overall disappointment with the course up to this point probably affected my objectivity.

Hole #18 finishes it off with a blind throw towards the main parking lot. It just seems to sum up a course that was not well-thought out.

Overall I was very disappointed as I was looking forward to another course in the area that was close, but I doubt I'll ever head back for another round. I went with two other casual disc golfer friends of mine and none of us enjoyed the course at all.

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course Though It Lacks Challenge

5+    8/26/2010   8/27/2010
Review By: Mike C
Played: 46  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/1/2011
12 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -There's a decent amount of variety in the shot selection. Some shorter drives and some medium length drives, left and right turning holes, open and fairly wooded. I'd say my favorites were 10 and 16.

-Well marked overall. There is a full course map on the scorecards and at the practice basket. The pins are individually numbered, as are the teesigns. The baskets feature hanging signs with arrows directing you to the next hole, which makes navigation through the course a breeze.

-Glow round friendly. The fairways don't have much underbrush to lose a disc in so glow rounds work well. The park is open until 11pm and no one seems to mind if you stay later.

-Good flow overall except for some minor backtracking on 6 and a short walk from 1 to 2. Also little intersecting fairway traffic, but keep an eye out like walking from 3 to 4 as you're on the edge of 9's fairway. The course is quick to play, being possible to complete in an hour going solo at a moderate pace.

-Baskets are quite nice, and there is a practice basket surrounded by trees that gives you some obstacles to practice putting around.

-Concession stand next to hole 7's basket sells discs (They had mostly DX Rocs and fairway drivers, plus some Birdies last time I browsed) and refreshments, and handles boat rentals.
Cons: -No holes over 375' nor any particularly challenging holes. One or two 450-500' holes would of been a nice addition. Pretty much every hole here I can deuce with just putters. Of the holes that are wooded and not wide open, none of them are difficult to 3, even if you mess up your drive.

-The teepads are mulch and the teesigns are placed fairly close to the teepads. The teesigns mark the distance and hole # but are placed a bit too close to the teepads and also don't show the hole layout (Though the scorecards provided do show the hole layout to a degree). The teesigns aren't close enough to present a danger as other reviewers have stated, but their positioning isn't the best. My issue with the teepads is a lot of them are uneven or not level. In particular I found 9's to be dangerously bad, and the downhill, slick teepad on 14 makes me throw to the side of it.

-The course overall is too easy, and the listed par is a joke. Wide open holes well under 400' are listed as par 4's, and the water holes are par 4's too when they're easy deuces. The overall experience seems geared towards newer players and rec players. It's not a bad course because of this, it's just not the challenge Arboretum longs, Deis Hill whites or Oak Ledges are and for me if a course doesn't challenge me I'm not likely to make many return trips.
Other Thoughts: As long as you aren't an advanced player coming here expecting a challenge I would expect you to enjoy this course. It's not one of the best overall course designs I've played, but there are some fun drives to be had and the whole area is pretty nice. If you're newer to the game I think you'd enjoy this more than if you're an advanced player.

Though the current course layout doesn't seem like it would permit pro tees, if they added longs for all 18 holes I would rate this another notch higher. It has shot variety, pretty scenery and some fun holes, it's just too easy and the holes are all short. Adding a set of long tees would be great for players who want a better challenge. I'll probably end up designing my own.

This is a great course to bring the girlfriend to, friends newer to the game, family etc. If you're a serious golfer looking for a course that will really test your skills, this is not it. It's still a fun course and it offers a few holes that could be easy to mess up. It's also glow round friendly.

You could easily make a day of visiting this park considering all the other amenities offered. I know there is a boat launching ramp, basketball court, cornhole play area, tennis court, horse shoe targets, putt putt golf course, pro shop selling discs and refreshments and a long walking path that goes throughout the park. The staff were all friendly.

If you're a skateboarder Akron Skatepark is just down the road and is one of NE Ohio's best Skateparks. I highly recommend it. Also, Portage Lakes is a straight shot West on 619 then south on 93, easy to hit them both up in a single trip.

12 of 15 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.