Suffield, OH 
The Hangar Share
Uploaded By: thadon Hole #2
3 / 187ft.   3 / 288ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Blimpie's Best

2-4    5/24/2014   5/25/2014
Review By: Derek B
Played: 98  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 12.3 Years
Pros: 1) Concrete pads
2) 2 sets of tees
3) Scenic views
4) Well manicured
5) Elevation changes
6) Highlight holes: 6, 7, 8, 14, 16, 18
Cons: 1) Some holes too close to each other
2) Crowded with park users
3) Course navigation issues
4) Lack of tee signs on longs
5) 4 holes closed for entire summer on weekends
Other Thoughts: The course is somewhat of a figure 8. Holes 9 and 18 lead you back to the parking lot. The course has many rolling hills and is mostly open, but with enough with mature trees around to make it interesting.

On the front 9, holes 6 and 7 have water in play and there are beautiful views of the Goodyear blimp hangar from these holes. Hole 8 is a super cool hole from the longs as you shoot from high up on a hill and have to shoot under some branches and between some trees to get to a huge football field type field down below. The basket sits on the edge of a culvert that was OB in the tourney I played there.

On the back 9, you start off with a very tightly wooded fairway on 10, which is both odd and cool considering this feature goes against the openness of the course. ( BTW, Holes 1 and 10 share the same tee.) By the time you get to hole 14, you are rewarded with a gorgeous top of the world shot from the short tee. IMO, they should get rid of the long tee on 14 as it's not nearly as cool. Hole 16 is a cool thread the needle type shot where you have to get by a half dozen tree guards or so to get to a raised clearing where the basket awaits. Hole 18 is awesome from the longs as it is well guarded, but a well placed shot will leave you with a birdie op.

My biggest two complaints are the closeness of some of the holes and navigation. Re: closeness: for example, a few holes have the next tee right next to the former hole's basket and some fairways seem to be so close that they are shared by two holes. Navigation can be a bit tricky if you don't have a map so make sure you get one before playing it the first time.

One last thing....and this is why I didn't give the course higher than a 3...4 holes are closed every weekend for the entire summer. I'm assuming this is because of the heavy use of the park by non disc golfers. So basically, at the time of the week and the time of the year which is prime time for disc golf, this is a 14 hole course. Maybe they could fix this problem by adding 4 holes in an area that wouldn't be affected by park goers?

All in all, this course is a fun intermediate level course. With all of the other quality courses in the Akron/Canton area, I don't know that I'll be back anytime soon, but I would recommend that you try it at least once to get it under your belt.

Wing and a Prayer

2-4    7/8/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Located within a very nice and diverse park.

New alternate tee locations add length and change shape of shots.
Cons:
Most every teepad is natural, and ~1/3rd of them have tree-root issues.

Hissing geese! Seemed they wanted to sun themselves on the banks of the water, where tee-6 just happens to be located, and weren't overly thrilled at the idea of temporarily sharing the space with me. :-)
Other Thoughts:
Course is set in the bits of space between roadways, parking lots, and playing areas, and along the edges of rolling open spaces defined by mid-sized trees. Since the course was not part of the original park design, the flow can be a bit choppy (map is an essential for a first/infrequent visitor), and some holes play near non disc golf areas (tennis courts, walkways, volleyball, etc.). Most tee locations have teeposts, but the actual signs haven't been installed yet. Duct tape on basket rim will generally point you in the direction of the next tee location.

A couple holes are open in their entirety, a couple tight in their entirety, but most are mixed, with a few trees to miss early or late. Swinging wide to the open left to avoid the wooded treeline along the right is a common theme. Some type of elevation change is present on most every hole, with some early drops or rises. From the short tees, there aren't too many holes >300' nor too tight, allowing for many birdy opportunities for the Int/Adv player, while the longer tees also tighten the windows and increase the obstacles, making an Int/Adv player work for most every par.

This is a solid course. While it lacks "Wow" factor, it provides a decent sampling of challenges, without any extremes.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Gorgeous park!

1    11/20/2011   11/20/2011
Review By: plattertoss88
Played: 64  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/12/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in Wingfoot Lake State Park. 18 holes with brand new chain-star baskets. Very nice practice basket right by parking lot. As of 9-10-13 the Zeppelins club has poured long and short tee pads!! Course has also got a revamp on holes 5 through 8 as well. Front 9 is gonna be a little shorter and with slight elevation with 2 water holes. The back will be a bit longer and have some pretty fun elevation changes. #4 is a great little ace run playing down hill with a very low ceiling. #10 is an awesome downhill longer low ceiling tunnel shot with a basket sitting right in front of a row if thick pines, making an good up shot go bad quick. #14 is another awesome open downhill shot playing over 350. Course definitely offers a bit of everything with some amazing scenery.
Cons: Only trash cans in park are the red dumpsters by the practice basket and by #17's tee. Lake is suppose-ably contaminated with blue algae. They have done recent tests on the lake and they found the levels are low but still possibly harmful. #5 and #9 play parallel to a low traffic road. #1 plays pretty close to tennis court.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy coming to Wingfoot and showing a new player the sport. Its a great place to grab a bunch of birdies and a huge confidence boost. Park obviously offers a lake, open to boating and fishing. As well as some soccer fields and a very nice pavilion with a huge BBQ pit and well maintained restrooms. Lots of parking available.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 THE HANGAR IN SUFFIELD

5+    7/1/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: innovajohnny5
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice variety of distance holes and challenging tees in the woods. IT'S NEW! OPENED IN MID 2010 and it still has that new park smell. VERY ENJOYABLE COURSE. It's local for me so I play 6 times a year here.
Cons: There are no multiple tees. Other courses have the black (Advanced Tees) and Yellow (Intermediate Tees). Or Red/White/Blue Tees. A little thought would have to be put into making multiples but it can be done. There is enough space to do it. The tees are dirt or mulch instead of concrete. Makes it difficult when wet. The lake inlet loves to eat discs - - LOST 3 DISCS.
Other Thoughts: Hole #1/#12 watch out for tennis players and spectators. The high school tennis team practices and plays competitions there. Holes #2 thru #4 are skill holes: use the tomahawks, thumbers, and grenades. #5 is 366ft so let it rip. LOOK OUT! Hole #5 throw towards the trees or your disc is gone - ker plunk. Also #6 looks like a RHFH to get over the Lakes Inlet but if the wind grabs it, it's ker plunk. @#14/#17 - Practice your backhand long distance throws. #15 is a straight shot with a 5' drop to the basket at the end. #11/#16 is a RH hard sidearm throw uphill. I can't make it 2 so Good Luck Out There!!!! I woul d recommend this course for Beginner to Intermediate. The Advanced players may find it too easy.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Underrated and fun for all skill levels

1    5/7/2011   5/7/2011
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 138  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seems like it would be fun course to play for any and all skill levels

I've never said this about a course before, but I think the land they used was not good land for a disc golf course but they somehow squeezed every last bit of good they could from it and made an excellent course. Excellent job of turd polishing!

A shot for everyone here, up hill, down hill, tight, open, left, right, short, long, water hazards, elevation changes, and one top of world bomber hole (14 if I remember right) that I absolutely loved!

Park is clean, trash free, well maintained, and it just looks pretty.

Cons: Crowded, not the course itself but it's located in a park that has many other activities on site. Look out for non-disc golfers before you throw.

Other Thoughts: What a nice little course that offers something for everyone. It's located in a park and when you first pull up you think all the holes are gonna be crammed together but you soon learn how wrong you were. It was surprisingly big. Your never very far from the parking lot you started in but it feels like you travel a long distance.

The most impressive thing about this course was the variety of shots. They really did a great job with the available terrain. After the first four holes you think it's gonna be a really short beginner course but once again you are quickly proven wrong. It starts out, short and hilly but then it moves out into some longer shots, then some water hazard shots and the eventually opens up into some big open field shots some of which sport some excellent changes in elevation. The course never goes into the woods but many of the holes are wooded.

I'm nearing the end of my quest to play every 18 hole course in Ohio and lately I've been hitting up the North Eastern side of the state and so far have been impressed. Very underrated up there and I still have yet to hit up Euclid and Ashtabula. But I would definitely recommend this place for anyone who lives anywhere near this one. If your looking for a road trip, then combine this one with Roscoe Ewing. Great Job guys


11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Family Park

5+    2/5/2011   4/6/2011
Review By: Brall
Played: 41  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 4/15/2011
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - New park. Plenty of parking and grade A facilities. The winter event there was housed in a closed pavilion that had two large fireplaces!
- Amenities! Playground, putt-putt, basketball, volleyball, picnic tables!
- Billboard at hole #1 has a map posted along with course information
- The map is accurate and very helpful your first trip!
- Practice basket
- Wood chip tees with wooden kickboards are in good condition
- Next tee signs are helpful
- Baskets are in excellent condition and well marked with bright orange stickers
- There are poles clearly marking each tee
- This course requires a variety of shots but does favor the right turning thrower. After a few trips here I have had to use every throw in my arsenal.
- The scenery and landscape are beautiful with rolling hills
- There are only a few walking paths on a few holes so the traffic is mainly just other disc golfers
- Bathrooms are located at the pavilion
- There are trashcans and the course is very clean
- There is no vandalism
- Excellent upkeep and maintenance
- The water hazard on #6 & #7 really adds to the courses difficulty. For #6 all you do is throw (RHBH) out just over the edge of the water and then fade back toward the basket. The shot seems simple enough but I've seen A LOT of discs in the water!
Cons: - Most of the poles by the tees are in Horrible placement. You could easily slam your hand into them (RHBH).
- Could use a few more benches
Other Thoughts: - Fun family park
- The distance is a little short overall but the elevation changes and wooded holes are wonderful. No holes reach 400' but there are 4 holes over 350'.
- The overall flow is a little awkward and it can be a little difficult your first time out. The land available really was used to it's potential though. Kudos to the developers!
- Watch out for kids sledding on hole #11 in the winter. Get's very busy there. And just walking up this hill is difficult in the ice. I had a miss put slide 80' down the hill!
- Semi challenging course overall
- The most challenging hole is #10. Downhill on a small path with trees on either side make this a very technical hole.
- My favorite hole is #5. It's simple, but the tee is elevated higher which makes this 366' hole a possible ace if you can do a slight anhyzer shot.
- This course is worth planning a trip here but I would not label this a destination course. I would consider this course beginner friend even with the dangerous hole #6.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting mix

1    3/5/2011   3/7/2011
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.2 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wingfoot is a nice 18 hole course located in a State Park with good facilities available. There is ample parking, bathrooms, and playgrounds located very close to the course. The park and the course are very well kept and free of debris.

The course designer did alot with the land available. There is a nice variety of holes, right turning, left turning, tunnel shots, wide open bombers, up hill, down hill and over water.

Most of the holes are in the 250' to 310' range but there are a few that play around 375 that give you a chance to air it out a little. Also there are a few shorter downhill ace runs.

The course has very nice new chainstar baskets and tee signs (see cons) on every hole.

There were a couple of nice/tough pin positions on the edge of slopes (1, 11, 12), close to water (5 and 7) and creatively guarded by trees (10, 15 and 18).

Navigation is pretty easy with all of the next tee arrows under the basket.

For me there were a couple of holes that stood out from the rest. The first was #6 which is 300 feet straight out with the lake on the right and thick woods on the left. The fairway is about 35' wide the whole way and you are generally throwing into a headwind. #15 is a very open drive up hill to a pin that is guarded by trees and is a slight gulley. Easy to get a 2 or 4 on. #16 and 18 are both slightly up hill and moderately wooded. There are multiple lines available on each hole but you need to hit your gaps.
Cons: The course just is not that hard. Other than the two water holes I would say this would be a good course for Novice through Advanced.

The tee signs, while helpful are placed at the front of the tee and are a real danger to smack you hand off of. They could easily be moved a couple of feet away and out of danger.

The tees themselves are natural and in most cases this translates into mud if it has been raining recently. They were mostly level though so on dry days they should not post much of a problem.

Hole #6 although a cool hole requires you to backtrack the length of the fairway to get to 7's tee.

Other Thoughts: Wingfoot is a fun course but certainly not one to travel out of your way for. It has some interesting holes and some decent pin positions.

The course itself feels like maybe construction/design might have been rushed and not a whole lot of thought put towards future development. There is not alot of options for putting in a second set of tees and on a few holes even a second pin position would be difficult due to proximity of the other holes.

I appreciate the work that went into this course and I am always happy to have another 18 hole course within two hours of where I live.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Good little course

1    12/29/2010   12/31/2010
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.7 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
New Chainstar baskets with nice orange stickers on the poles make it easy to spot the baskets from a distance. Nice tee signs on wooden posts make spotting the next tee location easy. Though the navigation can be tricky in places the "next tee" arrows that hang from the bottom of the baskets are excellent to pointing you in the right direction for the next hole; follow the arrows and you'll have no trouble. The course makes excellent use of the elevation at the park and there's a great mix of lefty vs. righty holes in play. Hole #14 from the top of the hill lets you chuck a disc an easy 375' and lets even weenie arms feel good about reaching a far off basket. There's a course info board with maps/scorecards as well as a practice basket right next to the parking lot. The course starts and ends at the parking lot for minimal walking and the first nine holes also loop back to the parking lot allowing you to restock if necessary or start on the back nine if you desire. There appears to be a nice mix of open holes vs. wooded ones, but that's somewhat tough to judge in the Winter. I still want to play this course in the Summer.

The course is at a great family friendly facility. There are basketball courts, playground equipment, volleyball courts, picnic lodges, tennis courts, even an 18-hole putt-putt miniature golf course. The parking is abundant and right next to the first tee. The other reviews mention a disc sale shop, but it was understandably closed in the Winter.
Cons:
Hole #6 is tailor made to eat discs: 300+' down a narrow (~30') wide fairway with water the entire length of the right side and behind the basket as well; the left side is a wooded border with an OB fence just beyond. Not a beginner hole at all. Luckily for the two people I played with the lake was frozen or at least three discs would have been goners. Hole #7 is also over the water (left side) and even tougher for RHBH throwers because of the natural fade, but it's shorter in distance and allows a safer lay-up around the outside route. These aren't necessarily significant CONs for the course as they're good holes depending on what level of player you are. Hole #11 is one of the best holes on the course, but is unplayable in the Winter if there are any people sledding down the sled hill. Hole #6 does have a flow issue requiring players to backtrack down the fairway after completing the hole.

Unlike some of the other reviews I didn't think the tennis courts came into play unless you had a really horrible shot.
Other Thoughts:
I played this course in the Winter and the tee boxes were covered in snow so I didn't get a good feel for what the pads play like under normal conditions. It's a beautiful park and a family could easily spend most of a day here. The DG course is a pretty good REC/INT level course, but ADV and up players will probably get bored after a few rounds. If you don't like the posted par on the tee signs, just ignore it and play however you want it's really not a CON or a big deal. Probably not a destination course, but consider it one to hit if you're in the area. I played with family when I was there, including a newbie and we all had a good time.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Blimpin' aint Easy

1    10/22/2010   10/25/2010
Review By: kinger
Played: 36  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 4.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~Well maintained course
~Good signage, easy to navigate
~New baskets with arrows directing you to the next tee
~Beginner friendly, yet still maintains a good technical aspect
~Nice mix of holes from wooded, to water, to wide open
~State Park offers plenty of activities for a full day of enjoyment
Cons:
~Course may be too easy for more experienced players
~Natural tees, although the footing was good
~All holes seemed to be straight shots, would like to see some dog legs mixed in
Other Thoughts: Placed in a newly opened state park, the course is in great shape and is marked with plenty of information, maps and scorecards to allow the 1st time visitor to play through easily. Great setting in a well maintained park situated by a lake and blimp hanger. The front 9 play through a fairly tight wooded course that is short and technical. The back 9 opens up considerably more with longer holes that are mixed with wide open spaces and lightly wooded areas. It makes good use of the land and flows nicely. Not too challenging, but ideal for the casual visitor.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Recreational Fun

5+    10/8/2010   10/8/2010
Review By: cwpete
Played: 27  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 11/21/2011
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Relaxing change of pace from the accuracy required at Massillon and Portage Lakes.
Tees are not concrete (yet?), allowing for potential to change placement in the future.
Fifteen minutes from Kent State.
Grass is mowed so there is little rough outside of the woods and pine trees.

Cons: Hard to see the location of a few baskets (#1, #18) the first time through. Better signs would have helped. Love the water on #6 and #7, but the flow is awkward. I don't have a better idea on how to improve the flow without a floating bridge or removing one of the holes. As long as it isn't busy, I guess it isn't a problem.

Other Thoughts: I stopped by tonight on my way to Kent State, having played it once before. I enjoyed it very much after a rough week at work. This is a good recreational course and would be fun for new players. For advanced players, assume every hole is a par three, relax on the open holes and do your stuff on the harder/riskier holes. Yes, some of the holes are too short but could easily be lengthened/improved, if the park is taking suggestions. I'm not as long a thrower as some, so it felt good to reach the baskets off the elevated tees on #5 and #14.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.