Ashland, NE 
Eugene T. Mahoney State Park Share
Uploaded By: freelunch Hole #1 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 214ft.   3 / 248ft.   3 / 266ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Clean, variety

2-4    8/12/2014   8/25/2014
Review By: cactusglide
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.6 Years
Pros: -Variation in holes
-Forces you to plan out your shots.
-Well kept
-Clean, no trash.
Cons: -If your shot goes off the fairway, be prepared to search in chest-high grass and weeds for it.
-There is a walking path through the first 11 holes, be careful of pedestrians

Worth the 5 bucks

5+    5/5/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: ZMesenbrink
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.6 Years
Pros: Pro course with all amenities: pads, baskets, signs, and restaurant. Great for a Sunday morning breakfast and round of disc golf. Fun elevation challenges, designed well with throwing in mind. The first 9 you could just about do from a wheelchair, so you could take Granny out with you. Open fields add a bit of wind challenge along with the elevation. I will keep playing this course. Some water hazards as well. You might need to bring your retriever.
Cons: If you are after the challenge of your life, like I said the first 9 could be done from a wheelchair. People frequent the park for other purposes than Disc golf so sometimes it's a waiting game for passers by.
Other Thoughts: Fun course, just don't forget to bring 5 dollars cash for entrance into the park.
There is also a water park and campground, so it would really be a fun way to spend the weekend with the family while still getting that golf fix.

Hole Changes in Progress

5+    5/3/2014   5/4/2014
Review By: scvanm
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 6/21/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging and very interesting. The course is well maintained and is not usually very busy. Some great views of the area are available on the back nine. We love this course. It is my second favorite in the Omaha area behind Hummell Park.
Cons: It is easy to loose discs in the summer months due to the tall grass rough.
Other Thoughts: They are changing some holes around right now (4/4/14) They are turning holes 4 and 5 into one long hole. They are then adding a hole after hole 11 (head north to the corner of the tennis courts to find the new tee box). These changes are really nice. They will lengthen the course quite a bit but if you haven't played the course before it could be confusing since the signs are not corrected yet.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Independence Day

1    7/4/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 87  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is beautiful. Well mown fairways make good targets. Tee pads are nice concrete. Course maps they have at the main office are nice.Surprisingly challenging course. It has some nice spots.
Cons: People can get a little too close for comfort. As we were leaving we saw a couple sitting on a rock by a basket that we had thrown to earlier. It was the 4th, so much more traffic, but still, this is a park with non-disc golfers. You also get really close to the pool. The biggest downside is the tall grass, which I complain about at most parks, but it unavoidable. Just be prepared.
Other Thoughts: The park costs $5 a day or $25 for an annual. Disc golf is not on major road signs. Stop in at main office for directions if need be. Not to hard to find. I wish all Nebraska parks had a DGC.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Worth the drive from Lincoln

1    3/30/2013   4/4/2013
Review By: bluedvl228
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Even though we played in March when nothing is growing it is still quite beautiful. There are plenty of trails to take advantage of.

The course was designed with intelligence in pin locations. There are also multiple pin locations (I think 2-3 per hole). Would love to go out again to see them in alternate locations.

Good variety of holes - the front 9 is shorter but requires drive technique for 2nd shot placements. Back 9 mixes in longer shots and slightly more wooded. Holes 17 and 18 require very precise shots.
Cons: Paying to play is a bit of a downside but even for a day pass it is definitely worth it to take advantage of everything Mahoney has to offer.

The drive from Lincoln is certainly not budget friendly for fuel but for a course to mix in every now and then it is still worth it.
Other Thoughts: Definitely a course to mix in every once in a while if you live in Lincoln or Omaha. 18 holes is definitely worth the drive and paying the daily fee. Great scenery!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

1    7/8/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: GentleHenry
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -This course makes good use of the land provided and is well maintained. The 18 basket course covers about 5000 ft (give or take for the wayward toss) and crosses in and out of a park with picnic benches and a small pond. Although the course is relatively flat, constructed in a saddle, there are a few holes (12-15) that curve around the lone hill and make use of the existing landscape.

-All the tees are cement and do a good job of pointing you in the right direction of the next basket.
Cons: -The park's Aquatic center is right next to the course, and on hot, crowded days people park on the fairway. My fellow frolfers and I had to play around about three dozen cars on the ninth and 10th holes. When we reported this to the main lodge they told us that, unfortunately, water-park-goers take precedence over frisbee-golfers and that's the only parking available.

-Most of the tall grass in the course is deceivingly marsh, not actually grass, so if you wander off the fairway, be prepared to get wet.

-At the time I played this course, there was no 9th tee we could find, even though the map showed otherwise. The map was actually not very helpful; the buildings were not drawn to scale and the course was poorly marked. The maps do, however, have a scorecard on the opposite side, which was nice.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Fun family outing!

2-4    3/18/2012   3/19/2012
Review By: huskerbob
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 6/15/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Attractive & well-manicured.
-Close-by modern restrooms & drinking fountain.
-Very convenient paved parking.
Cons: -Short course. The play was over way too fast.
-The tall grass prairie, when green & growing, might eat the discs of younger players on some holes. Older ones too.
-The course map doesn't accurately locate Hole #1. Hole # 1 is located just south of the greenhouse.
Other Thoughts: The course is located next to the James Family Conservatory building (greenhouse) across the street from the horse riding stable. The paved parking lot adjacent to the course is one of the least used lots in the park. In fact, I think the area the course is in is one of the least used areas of the entire park, even though it's been made very attractive over the years with walking paths, bridges and plantings.

Owen Marina (on the other side of the park) rents discs if the only reason you're not playing is that you've forgotten your own. For $3 I don't know what you get as far as discs other than rely on what a female park employee told us, "We'd rather you brought your own because ours aren't very good." lol

The greenhouse next to the course has indoor modern restrooms, as well as a drinking fountain, and is not a horrible walk from anywhere on the course if nature calls while playing. The greenhouse is open year round, unlike some other activities and attractions in the park.

Peter Kewitt Lodge (the largest building in the park) has a course map with scorecard. They didn't have any out with the other park literature when I was there, but happily printed one off for me. You don't really need a course map as the 9 holes play in a pretty logical order and the next tee pad is easy to find, but it's kind of fun to have as a memento of the day.

The entrance fee for the park is now $5 a vehicle for a day pass, or $26 for an annual Nebraska State Park Pass, and $13.50 for a duplicate annual pass. There is no additional charge to play the course if you've brought your own discs.

This is a very well manicured, small, attractive 9-hole course and would be suitable for players of all ages. I think Nebraska Game and Parks has nailed it with this course since this entire park is all about enjoying a family outing together.

6-15-2012 UPDATE: At least another 9 holes have been added to this course as of this date. The fairways are recently mowed but I don't have a course map to share of the recent addition.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very well manicured

2-4    10/15/2011   10/15/2011
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 120  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This might be the most manicured course I have ever played. The front 9 winds around shallow man-made ponds, waterfalls, wood bridges, walking paths, a variety of trimmed trees, and sweeping areas of wild grass. It's pretty scenic.

The back 9 (added in the spring of 2012) is longer - between 275 and 400 feet on most holes - and plays through fairways mowed out of wild grass. A few of the holes are wide open, but most have some trees to force different lines.

There are three configurations to the course: red, blue, and green. From what I could tell, none of the configurations was all easy or hard positions, which I like. The bases of the baskets are colored accordingly.

The tee signs are okay, listing the distances to the various positions, although there is no indication of where the basket is (this was only an issue on #1). Every hole has a pretty good concrete tee pad. They aren't terribly long, but you won't need a full run-up on these holes.

I love that water is brought into play on multiple holes on the front 9, but you could wade in and get your disk if you had a bad throw (it's no more than 1-2 feet deep).

Navigation is pretty simple after you get past the first hole, and you won't need a map. Just know that the tee pad for 9 starts near the parking lot.

There is some elevation. Most of the holes play flat or slightly downhill, but #9 is all uphill.
Cons: From the first tee pad I could not see the hole and had to walk around the greenhouse to see where I was throwing. The first hole required a long turnover shot for RHBH players (that's a good thing), but it was a blind throw that could be unsafe if there are people on the other side of the greenhouse.

The front 9 is very friendly to children and rec players, and most of the holes aren't too technical, so advanced players may be a little underwhelmed. But none of the holes is wide open, either. The back 9 will offer more of the challenge advanced players are used to.

There is some risk of lost discs on a couple of the holes on the back 9 due to the high grass off the fairways, so spot well.
There is a $5 park entrance fee. You can see how the money goes into the course, though.
Other Thoughts: Mahoney is a state park that gets visitors coming for a very wide range of activities. I saw a family playing disc golf while I played, and it appeared they had never played before. This is a good thing. Get people who are at the park for other reasons to try out something new, and maybe they get into it and start looking for courses in their hometown. The course is clearly aimed at recreational players, but it is not a cakewalk by any means. I did have several bogeys. I also aced #2 on a thumber that somehow stuck in the chains!

I hope this course succeeds, because this park has a TON of land that could make for some a whole disc golf complex. And it exemplifies the kind of Nebraska beauty that most people are unaware of: rolling hills with a variety of wildgrass, any tree you can think of, and creeks and rivers carving out new valleys. It makes for some nice disc golf.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  The state finally comes through!

5+    10/2/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: Rusty Scheckleford
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the first course in the game and parks system. The course is very well maintained! I spoke with a park worker who informed me that the state is planning to put in AT LEAST another 9 holes. The next 9 holes will compliment the front 9, which are noticeably short but very fun, by being considerably longer. This is by far the nicest and most cared for disc golf course in the local area. (Seymour Smith included) It is an excellent place to take your family and avoid some of the crowd and atmosphere that clouds some of the other courses. The park also boasts a full menu of activities. What other frisbee course has fishing, camping, horse rides, ice skating, pool/waterslides/wavepool, tremendous indoor play feature for children, plays, trails and sledding. You can't beat it...Even for the price of admission. 4/day or 20/year
Cons: The only con i have for this park is that it is only 9 holes. But if the state keeps their word, that is only temporary.
Other Thoughts: I was told this course is not actually officially open yet. I believe they are trying to waiting for all 18 holes to officially open it. I look forward to an exciting 2011 disc golf season. Mahoney state park has made a tremendous move into the frisbee golf arena. I am more than willing to pay the gate price for everything they offer. You won't be dissappointed. I wish them success and hopes this leads to other courses in local parks. hint hint

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Nice course in a wonderful setting

2-4    9/25/2010   9/28/2010
Review By: ProDiscUSAMngr
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2012
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: The course continues to improve and update. It is now 18 holes. The course is in the interior of the park, it has restroom facilities 365 days a year. The baskets are rotated frequently.
Other Thoughts: I would definitley recommend this to any age level or playing level. Disc Golf Rental is available at the Kiewit Lodge 24/7 365 days a year.

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center