Rogers, AR 
Cross Hollow DGC Share
Uploaded By: bjflash Hole #1 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 261ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Nice Short Course

1    8/7/2014   8/16/2014
Review By: dragonlord
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.6 Years
Pros: Excellent Signage
Great Baskets
Very beginner friendly
Lots of trees so has many lines to try
Benches
Shady pretty much all the time so heat isn't too bad
Cons: No restrooms or water availability
Very short holes.
lot of trees so has many lines to try
Other Thoughts: Lots of comments about the short tee pads but I am a beginner with a noodle arm and really needed no run up. Kids may have need to run up but there is plenty of length to accomodate that circumstance. Great course I will play again every time I am in the area!

 Solid Course; Family Friendly

5+    8/15/2013   8/16/2013
Review By: crashman2
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really fun, short course for everyone. Experienced players will have a good time navigating some of the trickier holes, and newcomers won't feel overwhelmed by them either. Navigation is relatively simple, though walking the course before playing would be encouraged in order to ensure you know where you're going. Upkeep is constant and the course is very clean. Virtually no opportunities to lose a disc.
Cons: Very flat course leads to many muddy spots for a few days after rain. Rubber tee pads are fairly short, but a long run is not necessary for a majority of the holes. Most shots require little imagination, but this is expected on such a short flat course.
Other Thoughts: I play this course more than any other. It's really great for working on the mechanical aspects of your game. The course does not cater to any one throwing style and may force you to change it up every once in a while.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Love this course

5+    6/21/2013   6/21/2013
Review By: Avehnor
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
Pros: Great wooded short course to practice threading discs through trees on some of the more trickier holes. Very family friendly - your kids won't wander too far away because you can see them from just about anywhere.
Cons: Short rubber t-pads. I understand this course was designed mostly for kids... but still! It throws me off when I try to drive and do an x-step.
Other Thoughts: Great course, overall. I'd highly recommend this!! Wish it was closer to us, though. We'd probably go there more often!

Fun to play in addition to Twin Creeks

5+    3/10/2013   5/8/2013
Review By: starjustin
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good use of smaller plot of land. Probably your best ace opportunity in the area. Pretty close to Twin Creeks. Can play several rounds in a couple hours or just one if you are short on time.
Cons: Not as polished as some of the courses I've been to but I love this course!
Other Thoughts: Play right after or before Twin Creeks.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Course!

5+    9/6/2012   12/29/2012
Review By: bball7273
Played: 57  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great monkey trap baskets
- Very nice and accurate tee signs
- Good use of all trees to make the course challenging to begginers.
- Nice benches on some of the holes
- Shaded so the course is still fun in the heat
- The grounds are always taken care of, since they are on school grounds.
- Nice course for begginer to advanced players wanting to improve any aspect of their game.
- Course is rarley busy so you can get out in 30 min. tops
Cons: - The tee pads were rubber and short which is not my favorite but there is room to run up on the tees if you need to.
- Would like if there was a restroom or water fountain near.
- Not a ton but there was a consideratable amount of trash on the course.
- No elevation. (not a big con but it would be nice to have a elevated basket or something.)
- Closed during school hours.
- There isnt really a parking lot, so you have to park on the grass
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a great course to play. I really enjoy it every time i come. I do wish the holes were a bit longer but it is a great place to bring someone who has never played before or if you want to try a new course. This course is really enjoyable.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, Quick Round

1    10/24/2011   10/25/2011
Review By: hooboy
Played: 49  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is well marked and is self contained on a city block of moderately wooded land. Brand new looking monkey catcher baskets. Need to turn the disc both ways here, with multiple lines on most holes. There are also some low canopy shots. Yes the course is short, but I've seen shorter. Distances go from 207 to 366 feet. Short walks between holes. Black painted spoke on baskets points to next tee. Enough length and trees that beginner / intermediate players will still be challenged. Well cleared out with no water, almost impossible to lose discs. Can play very quickly here if that is your goal. Benches and signs at every hole.
Cons: It's relatively short and only nine holes. Big arms will get bored here. Rubber tee pads are very short, but level so if you need a long run up, you can do it. One set of tees per hole. Perfectly flat, the trees are the challenge here. Not a lot of variety, save for the distances. No water or bathrooms, but its only 9 holes, and you are never far from your car.
Other Thoughts: Kudos to the school for putting the course in the ground. Good place to fling it around for some practice and/or to introduce new players to the sport. Easy to spot right off the road. You can see the entire course while you play it. You can play fast here, and won't lose any discs. If you want a much greater challenge, visit Twin Lakes only a few miles away. I played both in the same day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Best "School Course" Ever!

1    8/14/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is located right next to an elementary school in a fairly wooded "block" of land. Trees were used very well. They put a technical part to the course, but didn't make the holes ridiculous. Each hole had a different fairway shape to it, forcing you to use several different shots. The rubber tee pads had excellent grip, and were very flat. The tee signs were amazing! Probably the best I've ever seen. Monkey Trap baskets are always good. (Although they really seem to hate left side putts...) There is one "spoke" (I don't know what else to call it") of the basket that is painted black to show where the next tee is. Very helpful, and I think it is the best way to show the next tee. Benches located at every tee pad and bag holders on the tee signs are very nice.
Cons: Big drivers will not like the length of these holes. The longest hole is about 360 ft. There is no water or bathrooms. The best place to park is on the grass. If you take a long X-step, the tee pads will be way to short. The ground behind it is flat enough to run up onto them, but it would be nice to have about five more feet of rubber.
Other Thoughts: Out of every course on a school I've played, this has to be the best one. It's a great place to show a beginner how to play. Or if you are having a disc golf slump this is a real confidence booster (I shot six down!).

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great practice facility

1    8/5/2011   8/5/2011
Review By: DD-Smitty
Played: 95  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Signage! Both courses in Rogers have beautiful signs. The tee signs and course sign are as good as any I have ever seen. Job well done.

Baskets! Both courses have brand new monkey traps, they look great and catch even better.

Design! For the amount of space used the design is safe and fun to play.

The park was very well maintained. I plus when throwing multiple shots every hole.
Cons: The rubber tees are pretty short. Even as short as many of the holes are, I was forced to run up onto them.

This is kind of nit picky, but it is a con.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best practice facilities I have played on. This course is ideal for developing your game. There are trees everywhere and you don't have to play the designed holes. If you need a chance to throw big shots or rollers, there is a soccer field next to the course.

This course is missing some of the epic holes that the other course in town has. With that said, I actually had more fun playing here. If you are introducing the game to someone new or looking to work on your game this is the place for you.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Laissez les bon temps rouler!

1    6/29/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: bayouace
Played: 39  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 22.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun, fun, fun! Well-planned on a school property, so it is not super long. The course is well-kept, even in summertime. New benches everywhere, nice monkey-trap baskets, signage is great. The holes offer a test of accuracy, with enough trees to make you pay for a poor throw. The trees give you shade on every hole to stand in. There is a fair balance of left-right holes. It is a great course to take your wife or GF to play during vacation, which is what I did. We were in Eureka vacationing from SW Louisiana, and came down to Rogers to buy knives at A.G. Russell. I will certainly play this one again anytime I can. Sign poles have bag hooks, but spiders have claimed a few of them.
Cons: No water. No online course map. You have to figure out a couple of next tees, but that didn't take too long. Must park on the grass. No rest room, but it is a school so during the school year the students can go inside. Tee pads are short. Totally flat, except for some dirt piles.
Other Thoughts: This is just a well-designed, fun course. I would love to live near it. Kudos to the guys who put in in. First time on Monkey Traps, but I had no spit outs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wooded wanderland

1    3/12/2011   3/12/2011
Review By: skammah
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 24.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course if pretty well laid out. It is largely flat with no water to be seen. It is wooded, shaded, and short. This is a quick course to play (~30 - 45min). Playing in the middle of the day on a Saturday we only saw 2 other groups and didn't feel rushed. The signage that is there is very good, though it could use some to point to the next hole. There are some narrow channels to drive through on some holes and it would be nice to have a couple Mando's. There are bag hooks at every hole, though some are pretty beat up. The tee pads are in really good shape but a little short.
Cons: It would be nice to have a couple Mando's.
There are a couple places where finding the next tee box is difficult. Hole 8 is the most difficult to find. It would be nice if there were markers near the pin to point to the next hole, or include the direction to the next hole on the diagram at the tee box.
While not a ton, there was a considerable amount of trash around.
There is a commercial bakery across the street which had my stomach growling the whole time.
This is not a lunch time course as you cannot play during school hours. Be sure to read the rules on this site before heading over. It is a small area and some fairways play pretty close to each other. Keep an eye out for stray discs.
Short tee pads could cause a step off.
Some spots of heavy leaf litter buried a couple of my discs, make sure you know where yours land.
It may just be me having a bad day, but the Monkey trap baskets seemed to be spitting out some good putts.

No bathroom on site.
Other Thoughts: Park on the bus road.
Some of the holes are somewhat close to the road which can intimidate a new player into playing short.
This is a great course. It isn't the same challenge as Lake Bella Vista and there is no water to contend with. I will be playing this course again. It is a good, but challenging, course to bring a beginner.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.