Easton, PA 
Hackett Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #1 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 249ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Approach



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
hackett park

1    4/7/2013   8/12/2012
Review By: cmjar
Played: 50  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/13/2014
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: good course near 22. considering Phillipsburg and town around it don't have any courses. there is A new basket on hole 10. also there is a map on A tree near hole 1.
Cons: now the disappointing part of the course.there are 2new baskets but I'll get to them in a second. After hole two if you go up the hill you will find tee sign sixteen which to save the confusion is two A. Then walk out like your going to three but instead of turning into the field turn right and follow the path near 2B. Play it then walk past the tee again and you will see hole eights basket. From what I heard city of east on was complaining that cars were getting hit. So now when you are finished with those there will be a path that has a log so follow the path and you will end up near three.
Other Thoughts: Move 8 near7 and put 7 basket near the woodline and seven tee also by the woodline and make current 7 (8).

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hackett's Park

2-4    4/28/2010   5/8/2010
Review By: kanobum
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Shorter throws allows for our nephew to feel that he is actually throwing better. The first 9 are fairly close with the mid-range disc as your best option. The 10-18 are diverse enough and slightly longer, so this is more enjoyable. Nice and open throughout. Two beautiful hill throws allows you to air it out.
Cons: Course is designed with very hard angles blocking the path to the basket. I understand the logic and simply appreciate a course being available. Definitely not the worst, but due to what appears to be township placement limitations, the course could be opened up.
Other Thoughts: 1-9 are great for kids. 10-18 are more of what you would expect from a course. Again, very good ground clearance.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Watch out for the street

1    3/25/2009   3/27/2009
Review By: DWill
Played: 232  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: In a very well manicured park, with some nice elevation changes, wooded and open holes. Very nice and informative tee signs, which made looking for the next hole, that much easier. The signs gave distances, pin locations and next tee location. Tee boxes were framed by wood posts, with the front of the box painted yellow, to make it easier to see from a distance, especially nice, if your eye sight is like mine. This creates an easy flow and navigation of the course.

There is a bathroom and playground area conveniently located by the course.
Cons: The first tee is a rather long walk from the parking lot at top of the hill. I played #11 first, so I wouldn't have to walk down the hill twice. Some of the holes, as previously mention, border streets, with a great potential of landing in the street or even hitting a car. What's most dangerous is you could have a good shot that hits a tree and ricochets into the street.

Hole 10 is a blind shot, which is a little too close to a play area for my comfort. A few holes share a ball golf driving range, which you would need a hard hat to avoid injury.
Other Thoughts: I played this course in early spring when the vegetation is not in bloom, so I didn't have any problems with losing discs on holes 15, 16 and 17, but I could see the potential there. Most of my local courses that I play in the summer have a good probability of losing a disc due to the thick vegetation, so this isn't a big deal to me.

I liked the idea of the ball golf driving range. Even though it's measured off in yards, and is slightly uphill, it would be a great place to do some driving field practice and get accurate measurements.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Rainy Friday

1    8/29/2008   9/5/2008
Review By: five2loves42
Played: 90  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.8 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice variety, good workout with the hills
Cons: From the additional info - Holes 15-17 overgrown vegetation, unplayable w/o spotters. Wish I had read this BEFORE I went out. NO WAY to find a disc without spotters and shady at best with them. Waist high weeds with a foot wid trail through them.
Other Thoughts: Mowing 15-17 would really make this course!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Different

5+    11/29/2007   5/29/2007
Review By: adlacro
Played: 69  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/27/2009
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: An 18 hole course in the Easton/Wilson area of the Lehigh Valley. Many of the holes are short, technical drives through trees. When playable, 15-17 are the three best holes on the course. A few holes have large blue logs to signify a longer, alternate tee (these are unmarked and not measured). The best hole, without question, is 17. It's the only pro par 4 on the course, and it's over 400 feet. The tee is on top of a small hill, and requires a slight right turn, then a quick left. Afterwards it's straight through. Certainly not an overpowering course with some elevation sprinkled in. The island hole of 12 is nice, especially if you play road OB.
Cons: The driving range on the course nearby has me worried during the warm season. Errant golf balls will strike innocent disc golfers. I question hole 9 as being too close to a popular road. Walk between 9 and 10 is uphill and kind of lengthy. Sadly, the tees have started to deteriorate with lots of divots.
Other Thoughts: A few pin locations have been slightly moved. 11's pin has been shortened by about 25 feet and 6 was moved from near the driving range to just in front of the path about 50 feet to your left. This shakes it up a bit. In an area of the L.V. that doesn't have a course within about 20 minutes (or more if 22 is backed up), it's worth a play if you live around here. Not far from the shopping areas on 248, as well as aforementioned Rt. 22.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.