Easton, PA 
Hackett Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #13 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 306ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Not very good

1    11/21/2013   12/23/2013
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 35  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 1 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2014
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - New hole 16 in the woods
Cons: - Even if the hole was 230 feet, it would say 230 yards on the tee sign
- Hole 4 has a warped basket
- The tee signs had no illustrations on the
- The layout was confusing
- Holes 15-17 were kind of confusing
- Horrible tee boxes
- Hole 4's tee box is on a path
- Many holes had sloped tee boxes
- Some holes are awfully close to parking lots
Other Thoughts: Not very good at all.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Course!

1    12/1/2013   12/9/2013
Review By: thecoasterman589
Played: 25  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *good change of elevation
*Mix of short and long holes
*After the ninth hole you are back at the parking lot so you can eat/drink before you play the back nine
*Some technical holes and some holes where you can let your disc fly
*Nice signage
*Mix of wooded and open holes
Cons: *Bad tee boxes
*Confusing hole layout
*Warped basket on hole 4


Other Thoughts: One of my all-time favorite courses.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

hackett park

1    4/7/2013   8/12/2012
Review By: cmjar
Played: 50  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/11/2013
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It's good for beginners because 14 holes are under 300. It's also good for people that live in Easton,pa or p,burg,and like in palmer. With a 20 mile radius it's an easy course to play.
Cons: 9 I'd like to see like 50 feet past 8 and then throw over by 1 because where it is right now you throw it to the right to much and go in the road. 15-17 has itchy grass and high,also tee signs 6 and 11 are incorrect.
Other Thoughts: concrete tees would be better because hole 10 has an upslope to it which I still get par on it all the time but it would nice to make that change

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Finally getting a makeover!

5+    4/7/2012   4/10/2012
Review By: Wilder
Played: 21  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2012
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Great location for people that live in Easton and surrounding townships.
-Holes 1-9 can be played in about 30 minutes for one person. To play all 18 holes, about an hour and a half. If you are looking for a quick round, come to Hackett Park.
-Holes 1-14 and 18 are maintained throughout the year.
-Some holes require thought and at times can be difficult but not impossible.
-Parking is no problem. There is a parking lot by holes 11 and 12, and a "dirt lot" by hole 1, which most people use.
-You never have any problems finding the holes. Hole 10 may be difficult for new comers to find, but most people park right near hole 10's tee.
-This is a great course for beginners and for people who want to improve their short game.
Cons: -The tee boxes are woodchips. At times they can be hazardous.
-Holes are similar in length and some holes require the same shots.
-Holes 1 and 7-13, run along a road.
-Sometimes picnics take place which makes the holes literally non-playable.
-Holes 15-17 are overgrown in the summer and are difficult to play.
-Hole 4's cage is dented and has duck tape on it, even though it does prevent the disc from falling through.


Other Thoughts: Hackett Park is a great disc golf course for all ages! Even though it may have its flaws, it still has its positives. It is convenient for people in Easton, and it is only a 2 minute drive off of Route 22.

As of March 2012, Hackett Park is finally becoming a challenging disc golf course! A select few people have started re-making Hackett park. They got permission from the local committees to touch up this course. Every hole is getting changed and will actually be maintained. The course now starts out with a 380 foot hole, with a 70 foot elevation drop. Instead of having 7 holes run along a road, there is now only 1 hole that does (this hole is going to be where hole 11 is now). The course is also getting new concrete tee pads. The projected date for being completely finished is anywhere from July 2012 to August 2012.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    12/4/2011   12/5/2011
Review By: FlexDiesel28
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I love this course for multiple reasons. It's near my home, its got a very nice figure 8 layout (easy to go hole to hole), the course has challenging hucks and more basic hucks. Although a shorter course in the Valley, Hackett has a good medium between long and shorter drives. This time of year is excellent to play because the back 9 is all dead.
Cons: Really need concrete tee pads. Someone could roll and ankle or knee. Also in the summer the back 9 is overgrown badly! Other then that, this course is terrific.
Other Thoughts: Recorded my second ACE on hole 5 at Hackett. I flicked a champion boss beautifully into the chains. I play for team AllSeasons disc golf.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice park

1    7/4/2011   7/31/2011
Review By: Jby1999
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Had a great time playing this course spread out well and uses the land well. Low traffic an easy to navigate.
Cons: Grass was high some low lying trees made some shots difficult. Fairways tight on wooded shots
Other Thoughts: Would play again but I played in 90 degree heat would recommend a cooler day as only a few holes were shaded

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Starter Course

5+    7/14/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: PKBrownE87
Played: 72  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open Field shots allow one to get accustomed to throwing discs without the worry of hitting obstacles. Great course to work on Mid-Range discs! Great use of elevation change and some baskets are very well placed. Front 9 play an amazing loop. Holes 15,16,&17 will test your accuracy in the wooded area. This course has many of the essential shots one should learn when just starting Disc Golf. Has a bathroom and picnicking area.
Cons: Need updated tee signs with hole number, par info, distance to pin, ext. Would like to see concrete tee pads as some of the pads are really worn to the point where one could roll an ankle. The walk between hole 9-10 is fairly rough as it brings you back up the hill towards the parking lot. In summer time holes 15-17 are heavily overgrown and it is extremely easy to loose a disc back there.
Other Thoughts: Great course for beginners, it's local to me and i play it when i am short on time. Excellent view of Easton,Pa from the top of the parking lot. Wouldn't recommend driving distance to come play this course but if you happen to have some free time and your in the area maybe stop and play a quick round.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hackett's Park

2-4    4/28/2010   5/8/2010
Review By: kanobum
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Shorter throws allows for our nephew to feel that he is actually throwing better. The first 9 are fairly close with the mid-range disc as your best option. The 10-18 are diverse enough and slightly longer, so this is more enjoyable. Nice and open throughout. Two beautiful hill throws allows you to air it out.
Cons: Course is designed with very hard angles blocking the path to the basket. I understand the logic and simply appreciate a course being available. Definitely not the worst, but due to what appears to be township placement limitations, the course could be opened up.
Other Thoughts: 1-9 are great for kids. 10-18 are more of what you would expect from a course. Again, very good ground clearance.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Poor Poor Hackett

1    3/12/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: Jajee
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Not really sure. I did get to see a bunch of deer.
Cons: Poorly laid out course. Tee boxes were chipped wood and mud. Couldn't find number 1 based on where I parked at the top. Holes 15-17 are going to be horrible in the summer when everything is green.
Other Thoughts: Would pass this up in a heartbeat.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fast. Weird.

1    3/10/2010   3/10/2010
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2010
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Convenient location. Right off US-22 and close to PA-33, it's pretty easy to get to Hackett Park. For the most part, the tee pads were easy enough to spot as there are signs to indicate their locations (but...see the cons...).

In the wide-open areas, it appears that the park is maintained fairly well. Elevation changes were also pretty frequent and helped to (try to) create some variety. Holes 15,16,17 were somewhat unique in their more wooded setting (but...see the cons...).

The course was a pretty fast play. Although I had never been to the park before I was able to play all 18 in under an hour (but...see the cons...).
Cons: As mentioned by just about every other credible reviewer, the design of this course is a head scratcher. Some baskets/fairways run along the edge of the neighbors' back yards. Some fairways/holes were too close to others. More importantly, the placement of certain holes by walking paths, the park road, a play ground, and the adjoining street (with heavy traffic) is straight up dangerous. I had one of my discs land in the road and I had to wait for 2-3 minutes before I could retrieve it (luckily it landed in the median). Given the size of the park, some thought could have been given to make a safer.

Due to its sizer, the course could be less monotonous by increasing the lenghth of several holes. Even though the course was a fast play, most holes were laid out for long approaches (not distance drives) and birdie putts with very few obstacles. For the most part, you could play the entire course with only a putter without too much inconvenience.

While I thought the wooded holes (15,16,17) were unique, they are totally overgrown. I was able to play in the early spring when the growth was at its smallest and didn't really have any problems, but from May-October, I'd steer clear of these holes.

Some of the baskets have started to take a beating. While most are still in pretty good condition, a few have been bent out of plumb/level and some of the basket assemblies were crushed.

The signs made me laugh. I like the fact that they're there so I know where I'm going, but the distance is marked in yards...even though the value shown is actually the distance in feet (e.g. 303 yards).

Lastly, there was trash all over the place. Empty bottles were blown around into the brush (especially in the woods) as was all other types of garbage. Not cool.
Other Thoughts: I would have said that this would be a great family course, but given the proximity of heavy traffic and other park users to the fairways and holes, it's just not safe enough for that title.

For folks that live in Easton, Palmer, Wilson, Nazareth, Bethlehem Township and the surrounding area, this is obviously the closest DG course, which makes it convenient for those residents. Despite all the cons, it's not all bad, but I don't think it's good enough to warrant a special trip to play when you have several other pro-caliber courses in the Lehigh Valley.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.