Grand Rapids, MI 
Cornerstone University Share
Uploaded By: Star Destraayer Hole #15
3 / 245ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    8/17/2013   10/14/2013
Review By: ACE Ventura
Played: 62  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.5 Years
Pros: This is a nice, extremely beginner friendly course. Since it is on a college campus, it is very well maintained but very flat. The designer(s) did seem to include as much foliage as possible to add some variety into the course.

The overall course layout is okay, but the walk from hole #4 to #5 is annoying, especially the first time, and with the current construction, you can only really play 12 continuous holes before you have to make a long trek back to the parking lot. However, Hole #18 finishes close to the lot so I'd figure the reintroduction of the missing holes may put some sense back into it.

The holes tend to be short (<300') and wide open. They are all straight shots except for a couple where the trees are used and those are all RHBH friendly. The baskets are in good shape and cement tee pads are nice, although oddly short.

The signage is very nice and provides most the information you could want to know for the hole! The only other signs they could use would be to point to the next tee (I'm looking at you hole 4 -> 5)

Practice basket next to the parking lot is a nice little bonus!
Cons: Super short teepads are pretty bothersome but at least the fact that they are cement helps for getting a good footing for your release.

Also the walk from hole #4 to hole #5 is a bit ridiculous, especially to not have a sign pointing the way. You need to walk across the big parking lot next to hole 4... look for the teesign in the next patch of mowed grass you eventually come to.
Other Thoughts: The college is still in the process of building a new baseball stadium so holes 13-17 are gone, hopefully soon to be replaced. Most people think #18 is missing too but if you look around, you'll find it to the SW of the parking lot, running alongside one of the buildings.

Please be highly aware of people at all times considering this is a college campus and a lot of people use the paths around the course!

I'm not affiliated with the school in any way but I've never had an issue with security or anything, just abide by typical rules and be a good sport and you won't have problems.

I give this course a 2.5 rating because it's currently missing holes, lacks variety and some signage and is very beginner friendly. However I'd say if you haven't played it or are looking for a quick round, give it a go!

Missing Baskets But Still Fun

2-4    7/7/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: xrockfistx
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.6 Years
Pros: -Easy to find
-Super clean and very quite
-Not crowded
-The holes are pretty short but, they are still fun to do. They're are some hazards such as the pond and trees.
-Easy to navigate
-Even includes a mando post on hole 9
-Easy to push a stroller
Cons: Really short tee pads. We stepped to the side or walked from farther back.

If you absolutely hate short holes then don't play. I think the longest hole is just shy of 300'. The shortest is a 177'. Most are between 200' and 250'.

It is still currently missing baskets (holes 13-18) due to them building a new baseball diamond and new dorms in the area. There was no sign or posting saying as to when that would be done.
Other Thoughts: I still had fun there. Bring bug spray though! There is a marsh area and a pond so I can get pretty buggy. I really liked it and will be returning.

BTW, there is campus security. The sign says that you are supposed to be faculty, student, or a Cornerstone guest to use the course. We are neither of those things and it seems to be as long as you follow the rules (Be respectful, No smoking, No Weapons, No Drugs, No Alcohol...in other words, don't be a jerk) campus security will leave you alone.

 Cornerstone

1    6/20/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: Jbot49506
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The holes are all pretty close and fairly easy to find. Its a nice quiet 18 with good disc catchers.
Cons: Tee pads are short, there are a few places where you have cars near by in parking lots if your a beginner and throw the occasional wild shot. Finding hole 5 took a couple of minutes, you just need to walk across the parking lot towards Leonard street and you will find the tee.
Other Thoughts: If you are not smoking, drinking, or swearing and just playing by yourself or with one other person I do not suspect campus security will bother you all that much. I just got done playing at 8pm on a weekday and I saw 2 other people the whole time playing disc. Not bad!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 a really good time..

1    8/5/2011   8/5/2011
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/1/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Aesthetic-Beautiful course on a beautiful campus. Compared to Calvin, this is the ritz. Course plays around campus marshlands and a large(r) lake. Does not play tremendously close to buildings, but is very close or over paths.

Teepads-Concrete, but about 3 feet too short... This is a pretty short course with most holes in the 200-300' range, but there are a few longer holes >350 that could use a longer run up for the pad..

Baskets-brand new Innova Discatchers, nice condition, and very grippy.

Variety-for a relatively open course the use of natural obstacles and water is fantastic. 11 of 18 holes make use of water or marshland for OB. some of the others use atheltic fields or trees. nice variety here.

Navigation/signage. nice signage, gives a lot of "suggested" flight paths and distances in addition to straight line distances. the walk from 4 to 5 is a whole lot of long and confusing. One sign is needed here.

Practice Basket- this adds a full disc for me. It's a simple gesture that says "we care about our players."
Cons: distance- too short, but for a campus course, it's not a huge con. the longer holes are placed well and the space available is well used.

tee pads-too short and uneven in places. Not broken, just slanted left or rightish...

the one Mando--Wonky. a five foot pole marks the one and only mando on the course. I have no idea how this would work.
Other Thoughts: I played this couse at around noon on a friday and never ran into campus security. Plenty of other campus workers were out and about but I never once saw (or at least was approached by) campus security. then again, I'm a pretty quiet player. I met a nice couple between 4 and 5 and played 5-18 with them and had a wonderful time. This is a step-up from old farm to be sure (cleaner anyway). I will be back to this one. :)

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/15/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: trpegr
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *** BE PREPARED TO BE KICKED OFF THE COURSE BY CAMPUS SECURITY ***

Decent use of the space and a variety of holes.
Cons: Private course on a conservative Christian college campus. I could see foot traffic being a problem during the busy school year. Again, be prepared to be asked to leave.
Other Thoughts: Even if this wasn't a private course it wouldn't be in the top tier of Grand Rapids area courses because of buildings and walking paths coming into play so often. Don't be tempted by the forbidden fruit.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Smallest Tee Pads Ever

1    5/30/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Signs, they were pretty good minus a few that

-Nice verity from a few bombers, water holes, short ones, mandos.

-Nice new baskets!

-Clean this place is super clean.

-Patrice Basket(although it's location seems to be fairly odd, under a group of trees so only like 10 ft putts from the back side)
Cons: -Short tee pads which makes it hard as you will have to start a run up from behind

-Was really slushy through out when I played, a few holes had really bad tire marks(from lawn mowers) in the fair ways.

-Some walking trails, and students will sometime walk through the fairways and dilly dally around.
Other Thoughts: This is a Private Course, that being said It doesn't seem like it would be to hard to walk on. I would say that it being on Cornerstone, don't drink, and don't smoke as I am pretty sure they are a non-smoking campus.

To make it play a little harder you can make all Path's O.B.

There is a mando on hole 9(I think) that in the sign it looks like it could be a street light but there is a pole with a sign that says it's the mando. Kind of hard to make out.

This is a quick little course and has about everything you need. Looks nice when going around campus, and unless you want 450+ bombs or a lot of longer holes, this covers pretty much everything. Its a neat little course although the ending can seem like a lot of short holes all placed in.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Decent

1    11/1/2010   11/1/2010
Review By: ovar
Played: 73  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First off I am not a Cornerstone student and I had no issue playing the course.

Nice baskets, decent mix of shot types.
Cons: Becomes repetitive with many holes between 150'-250' to accommodate cramming 18 holes into the area they did . The course winds through the Cornerstone campus and if busy could be a real hazard. Mostly open so the course visually gets boring.
Other Thoughts: Nice to have another course in GR but this one falls short of being part of my consistently played destinations. They should have put in a great 9 rather than a mediocre 18.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Disc For Life

1    8/26/2010   8/26/2010
Review By: Disc for Life
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has it all for the beginner, Love the design of all the holes with the limited space that was provided. Any Disc Golfer would love this course just to get a good round in that gives you a challenge. I personally love the landscape of where it was placed.
Cons: Didn't really have anything negative other then I can see where safety was a concern but the designers used their space well.
Other Thoughts: The University should allow tournaments and casual play to bring others in.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 decent with a good location

1    8/21/2010   8/21/2010
Review By: Star Destraayer
Played: 87  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very clean, with sparse trees and mowed, rolling terrain. Very nice baskets (Discatchers) with decent signs. Good beginner course or putt and approach play. A few long holes and plenty of O.B.'s add for difficulty. Very good location, minutes from downtown.
Cons: Short cement tee's, but only a problem on the fee long signature holes (4,7,10). Slightly difficult to navigate(5 is a long walk across parking lot from 4). Too close to paths and other facilities. Not sure where to park to avoid towing.
Other Thoughts: It's not open to the public, so you most be a student or be accompanied by a student to play (if you keep to yourself and be respectful of the property this rule doesn't typically apply.) A good putt and approach course. Buzzz or Roc heaven. Use the walk paths as O.B.'s to add difficulty. Surprising amount of water/swamp hazards. Ideal for a quick round (about 1-1.5 hours). It's location is what makes it a 3 out of 5.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.