Copperhill, TN 
Whitewater Express Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #7 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 311ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Course & Lots of Fun

1    3/1/2013   3/4/2013
Review By: ambroze
Played: 129  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice flow to the course and I believe it's well designed. Not very much walking between holes. There are a lot of different shots from some 350+ to some very short technical (holes 4 and 14). My favorite hole was #9 which is a 242 ft shot that's tucked away to the left and makes you hit a perfect high hyzer shot to drop it right in there. 13-18 should be called birdie alley since they are all pretty easy shots except for #15 which is easy to reach but beware of the downhill slope where the basket is located and there's a creek right behind it.
Cons: Natural tee pads are hard to throw off. The only area I found difficult to navigate was between 13 and 14 - tip - after #13 keep right around the loop and then head left into the woods near the cabin to the left.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is a fun course to play, it's no championship caliber course but if it's fun disc golf you are looking for with an absolute beautiful scenery this is a great place to play.

Be ready to cross over a small water bridge in your vehicle so I suggest to bring your truck or SUV instead of a car cause the roads are a bit rough. They have free WiFi at the Outpost where you begin at hole #1. If you want a nice picture with the mountains in the background do so on basket #18 over by the Outpost. I spoke with a guy that worked there and he said that they were looking at re-designing a few holes because some of the shots are too close to some cabins and roads.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 good course

1    5/26/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: chrishank
Played: 24  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open course with a few wooded shots. The course plays around a large retreat so there is also other stuff to do there. The first hole is near the last hole so not alot of backtracking invovled. Course hole length varies from as short as 200 to close to 400, some easy and some are herder because of location of pin. But that adds to the challenge. Also the course is fairly flat so not a lot of elevation change.
Cons: Natural teepads, which in the setting of woods actually isn't much of a con. 2 holes are hard to find, but you do get a map so not impossible to find. Alot of other people out doing other things can make you take some off your shot czusing it to be in 4 shots instead of 3. And a few holes are way to short in my opinion. Also a few pins are located to close to cabins for my comfort.
Other Thoughts: Over all this a nice course. It is private but open to public. Me and my family chose to make a day of it up there in case we drove up there and they say we couldn't play. But they didn't. They were very nice employees who seemed to make you as welcome as the ones who pay to stay. We had so much fun up there that we are planning a vacation there soon so we can play more and also enjoy some of the other stuff like rock climbing, canooing, horseback riding, sking, swimming, camping, and much more.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Setting for DG and more

1    2/21/2011   2/23/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set in a beautiful flat valley surrounded by picturesque views of evergreen forests with the Appalachian Mtns. as a backdrop in the distance. The buildings and cabins here are very nice and the workers here were extremely courteous and helpful. Disc golf is just one of the activities offered here (along with whitewater rafting, camping, cabins, etc.). You can pickup scorecards with color maps in the main building, where they also sell a few discs (mainly custom stamped putters.) Navigation was pretty easy most of the time, but I recommend getting a map because there are a few spots with a little bit of a walk and the next tee is hidden (5 and 14 especially).

The course has 18 holes. The baskets are new yellow Discatchers, with easy to see numbers on the rim. The signs are simple, but well-crafted wooded posts with hole # and distance. (They fit in with the style of the rest of the complex.) The holes are mostly open and flatish, but there are a couple of wooded holes, and a couple with decent elevation. The difficulty and set-up is designed nicely for the type of person that will be playing here most often (people who are here to camp and raft first, and then maybe try out some disc golf.) It is not insanely hard so it won't frustrate and discourage, but it is NOT just some baskets in a wide open field with all holes under 200' either.

This is a private course, and I was fully expecting to have to pay, but we didn't have to. I don't know if this is the norm during the busy summer season. We played in February and had the course (and complex) to ourselves! Our main contact was thrilled that we came to play and was obviously very proud of the course.
Cons: The tees are natural (though not as offensive in a natural setting like this.) There really aren't even tees, you just pick a spot near the sign.

For more advanced players the course will not be very difficult- lots of birdies and pars should come easy. The course essentially plays around the edge of a couple of open fields, close to trees, but with little impact on your shots. It definitely favors RHBH as your play clockwise around the field and the woods are almost always on your left. Many of the holes are pretty wide open, and it can start to get repetitive, but I realize that the area is used for many other things other than disc golf so I understand why it is designed like it is.

This course is a long, long ways away to the middle of nowhere from just about everything!
Other Thoughts: Whitewater Express is geared towards youth groups (scouts, church retreats, etc.), but it is open to anybody. There are lots of things to do here and in the surrounding areas like rafting and ziplining. If you come in the summer, I do highly recommend some whitewater rafting on the Ocoee River (site of the 1996 Olympics!).

This is a tough course to rate- the course itself is fun, but really just average, however the setting makes for a very peaceful, relaxing, and enjoyable round. My rating is just for the course itself, a 2.5+, but if you factor in the setting and the other things to do here, I wouldn't fault others for rating it higher.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 disc golf and rafting!

5+    10/17/2010   10/17/2010
Review By: elreyfowler
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 11/15/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of shots: anhyzer, hyzer, downhill, blind shots, uphill, open, and wooded. Nice signage and a nice scorecard you can pick up in the main outpost.
Cons: Tee pads are natural, which some people don't like. In the middle of the summer there can be a lot of campers passing through the course on the way to activities.
Other Thoughts: Whitewater Express has camping and cabin rentals on site. Great place to spend the weekend playing disc golf in the mountains. You can also whitewater raft on the Ocoee River, ride horses, climb the ropes course, play paintball, or mountain bike as well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Good Recreation

1    7/31/2010   8/21/2010
Review By: benjiiiiii
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New, sturdy baskets. Variety of open and tight shots. Good signage for each hole.
Cons: No teepads, you're on the grass, my friend. There's a few holes where you're maneuvering around common gathering areas for campers.
Other Thoughts: Private course. Added within the last few years to the Whitewater Express Campground. They did have some CFR discs for sale at their camp shop.

All in all, this is a nice recreation addition to a wonderful private campground. If you're headed for a stay at Whitewater Express then be sure to bring your plastic!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.