Bothell, WA
Howling Coyote DGC Share
Uploaded By: sillybizz Hole #1 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 258ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Nice Park Course

5+    1/14/2014   1/17/2014
Review By: Phlick
Played: 41  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 32.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Lots of parking
* Running water bathrooms on site
* Well marked tees with yardage/flight paths
* Benches on most tees
* Good flow/easy navigation
* Good use of elevation/available space
* New baskets
Cons: * Only 9 holes, no alternate tees
* No practice basket(s)
* Dirt tees/Mats (get muddy/slippy)
* Short course, no need for the fast plastic.
* No alternate pin placements
* No trash cans on the course
Other Thoughts: Nice little park course, great for a quick after work or lunch time round, certainly not a destination course. Most of the holes play very short and are well guarded. Good course for beginners or to introduce new players to the sport, but still challenging enough for experienced players to have a good time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best eastside course ... for what that's worth

5+    7/27/2013   8/2/2013
Review By: bizweasel
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * A nice semi technical course, with shortness offset by being narrow with a lot of thread the tree needle shots off the tee
* Good use of the available terrain and pretty good flow, good mix short and medium length shots.
* Hole #7 is an awesome downhill shot with this madrona tree sticking up like an evil pitchfork ... stick a good drive on this one, you'll remember it for months
* Interesting terrain around some of the baskets like slants to punish missed putts and make them roll away
* A good local course for us eastsiders
Cons: * 6 months of year, some holes can be muddy especially #2
* #1 is fairly boring, wish they'd redo it, it's also out of character with the other holes
* Harder to play on weekends because some fairways cross places where people think it's OK to have a picnic in the middle of your approach angle
* Some slightly fierce brush off the narrower fairways
Other Thoughts: This is a nice little course, The designer did well w what they had (w possible exception of the #1 hole). I really wish the eastside had an 18 hole layout but for now this is as good as we got, it's fun enough that you can play it twice to get your 18 in, I suppose. It's not usually too crowded .

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Fun Stomp Through the Woods

2-4    4/7/2013   4/8/2013
Review By: Udon
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent use of obstacles without being too difficult for new players.
- Clean, well kept park
- Variety of shots needed to par/birdie many holes.
- Park goers are mostly out of the way of the course and are rarely threatened by errant discs
- Locals are friendly

Cons: - Tee pads can be full of puddles after a rain making almost half of them unusable.
- Lots of mud around some baskets and throughout the park; definitely a good idea to wear boots.
- Blyth park has enough space to have been a 18 hole course. There isn't really much options for a safari back 9 either.
Other Thoughts: Blyth Park is built around a watershed of the surrounding rivers. Because of this, it is notoriously muddy until about June when most of it dries up. Despite how wet it can be, I love this park and the DGC that is a part of it. The holes are well spaced, and it is challenging without being frustrating. This is a great course for a beginner to learn how to drive due to good use of trees as obstacles and the open fields several holes open up to. This one is going on my favorites list and I will be returning for many rounds in the near future.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice little 9 holer

5+    9/8/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: medikated
Played: 21  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -good variety of shots needed, clean park, never crowded
-course is easy to navigate and has a nice flow to it
-the use of the land so far is outstanding, very good design
Cons: -is very short, I can play all 9 in 30 minutes or less, doesn't mean that it's an easy course though, technical/tight lines provide the challenge.
-can get muddy, needs major erosion control in order to maintain course layout
Other Thoughts: -very fun course, really wish that secondary tee pads could be added on every hole to add distance/challenge
-The first tee can be tricky to find, if you walk behind the bathrooms you'll find it

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Little NW gem

2-4    2/3/2012   2/4/2012
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 174  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 21.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Though a small course, it's a perfect example of half NW terrain (large fir trees, and ferns on hilly terrain) and grassy fairways framed by trees. It is a great way to practice up on some technical shots, and like others have said - it's birdy runs for advanced, and a great learning game for beginners. Most of all, this is a really fun course with some interesting putting greens when you are in the woods.

The park was not crowded on a sunny weekday either!
Cons: Yes, mud was present, but the parks are doing their best to alleviate some spots (parks guy was laying pine needle trimmings on a muddy spot on hole #2 which has a spring coming up near the pin).

The tees are still gravel, but acceptable and fairly flat. Obviously, this would hopefully be the next improvement, other than more wood chips in the the muddy areas.

Very small nit pick - but the course does favor the RHBH more than RHFH shot.
Other Thoughts: They have 1 or 2 alternate tee pads that we spotted. If they could put them on every hole - it would be a huge asset (a.k.a - Northpark).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Green Green Green!

5+    8/14/2011   8/16/2011
Review By: puttputt
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is designed beautifully. The course surrounds a public play area, and has very few areas that require a wait for walkers/bikers etc. The course is a tight 9 hole course with great elevation changes. This course is a step above beginner due to the dog legs and required accuracy. There are several ace chances, but the holes are designed that they are earned aces, not just a straight shot. The facilities are great and the lay out is smooth. I brought a map the first time, but I did not need t after the first round. This course is lie a miniature version of the back nine at Terrace Creek.
Cons: There are a few blind shots into deep vegetation. The course is had a lot of dirt trails, making it very muddy in the rain. The course does not have any real distance drives, or approaches. The course is small but plays tough which may be a problem with first timers and beginners.
Other Thoughts: There is a very friendly rooster that has greeted us the past couple of times we have been there!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lovely Short 9

5+    6/28/2011   7/1/2011
Review By: IrishFolfer206
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is mainly a technical course. No holes over 300ft. There are a number of blind shots but with a little walking to the pin you can spot the basket. The course follows the perimeter of the park which is nice because then you don't have to worry about other people. The course is also short enough that going through it twice is not that strenuous. The trees and vegetation add to the difficulty which is nice. There are also a few open area shots, #7 and #8.
Cons: Lots of vegetation and mud if it has recently rained. If it is your first time to this course make sure to bring a towel because your discs will get muddy. Also on hole 7 it is rather easy to over shoot when throwing down the hill. There are a few trees to knock you disc down, but if luck isn't on your side it could easily sail into the slough.
Other Thoughts: Over all I love this course. It's the type of course that you can show up and get a quick round in or get some friends together and play it twice for a full round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Howling good times

5+    5/4/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: ForestGnome
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging course.
Incredibly beautiful course.
Very clean.
Fairly navigable pathways.
I have never once had a bad time at this park, it is by far my favorite in the "seattle area"

Also worth noting, all the people who golf here are awesome, never once ran into anyone very rude.
Cons: Muddy, but at least it's not like, steal your shoe muddy.
Other Thoughts: You have to be able to laugh to play this course. Otherwise you'll get way to mad over all those perfect ace shots that at the last minute nick a branch and go flying off down the hill.

I really do like this course though, it's great for teaching my friends out to golf, and it's hardly ever busy.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/1/2011   4/3/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 624  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 14.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Howling Coyote (a.k.a. Blythe Park) is an awesome, superfun little nine hole installed just last year only a few miles northeast of Seattle. The course has the traditional Pacific Northwest feel and plays mostly on fern-covered hillsides and through mossy green trees. The best aspects of the course are in the huge variety of shots - you'll see plenty of little hyzers, slow-turnovers, reasonable uphill shots and a steep downhill tunnel shot, and a couple of holes that restrict ceiling forcing you to throw either higher or lower than you normally might.

Upkeep: The parks department can't keep the mud (from mudding?) but they are doing a great job of keeping the course look nice otherwise with improvements continually being made to teeing areas and some stairs where needed.

Fun-Factor: Every hole is well within range of birdie but on most, a nice shot is still needed. Its the kind of course where a player having a good day will eat it up and a player who is off won't get too many of the birdies. The fun of course is ragging on your birdie-less friend! There are plenty of pin positions which offer, fun and tricky little putts because of nearby trees and branches which I think only adds to the fun, quirky feel of the course.
Cons: MUD: I think the biggest drawback to the Howling Coyote course is that the mud is so...muddy during the winter (roughly November-April). This is about six months out of the year where the course is really difficult to play, even when you've had a stretch of sunny days, the teeing area and the hillside holes will likely be really mucky.

Challenge: Like many nine hole courses, this one is designed with a target audience of <925 or so. Beginners are going to have a fun time with learning how to throw with elevation and through reasonably tight corridors. While there is some possibility of losing discs with errant throws (especially hole 2), most of the holes are too short to run into real problems. While Howling Coyote is a great beginner/amateur course, it is just too straightforward to challenge those who have consistency in their basic shot-making. Hole nine is the only hole off-hand that should take practice to perfect, most other holes will have an obvious shot that any pro- or higher amateur-level player should feel comfortable with.
Other Thoughts: While the mud is likely here to stay, the Howling Coyote continues to improve both through the efforts of the parks department and just by players playing the course and starting to beat in the fairways a little bit. The course is exceptionally well designed for the newer player and amateurs who are still mastering basic shots and is worth a play for more experienced players because of the high fun-factor and variety of shots. On a side note, Blythe Park (a.k.a. Howling Coyote) is OPTIMAL for SuperClass play. All of the holes (except for the new hole nine) are reachable and birdable and you won't find any tweener SuperClass holes like you do on most traditional disc golf courses.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and quick 9 hole course

5+    10/18/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: b-mart
Played: 42  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/15/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brand new baskets. Wood bordered gravel tee pads. Not too crowded. Plays around the busy parts of the park rather than through it.
Cons: The gravel on the tee pads is already getting worn down and gouged. Some of the brush is still relatively thick (although it's getting trampled and cleared out with the exception of hole 9). Being a short, fast course, I find myself waiting on groups ahead of me when playing alone. This can be remedied by starting over or skipping hole 9 to play from 5 again.
Other Thoughts: Being a Bothell resident and a beginner (and being that I got my first ace on 6), I love this course. It's never too crowded (even when the park itself is packed), and most of the course is in the trees. I like technical courses way more than open ones (like Juel, which is a complete waste of acreage in my opinion), but I also prefer the trees because you can play in the rain without getting too wet or muddy. This is kind of like a beginner's version of Terrace, so it's a good warmup or lunch break course for any level of player. What's great about it is that it's still challenging to players who find this course a bit short, and a good place to improve your game. After playing here about 5 days a week, I find that other courses seem easier. Whoever designed this knew what they were doing. I usually bring brightly colored discs for holes 2, 5, 6, and 9. Although I have yet to lose a disc, I've found a few and have spent plenty of time searching for my favorite ones. The lines are tight back there in the woods, and if you go off a tree you might not be able to call this a "quick" course anymore. Or you could do what other reviewers have recommended, and bring a spotter. But be careful on 7. There are a lot of discs in the river, including one of mine.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.