Disc Golf Store
Bothell, WA
Howling Coyote DGC Share
Uploaded By: Freddy Hole #8 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 214ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee: Basket is to the right of the large tree that splits into a "Y" shape.



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice Park Course

5+    1/14/2014   1/17/2014
Review By: Phlick
Played: 41  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 32.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Lots of parking
* Running water bathrooms on site
* Well marked tees with yardage/flight paths
* Benches on most tees
* Good flow/easy navigation
* Good use of elevation/available space
* New baskets
Cons: * Only 9 holes, no alternate tees
* No practice basket(s)
* Dirt tees/Mats (get muddy/slippy)
* Short course, no need for the fast plastic.
* No alternate pin placements
* No trash cans on the course
Other Thoughts: Nice little park course, great for a quick after work or lunch time round, certainly not a destination course. Most of the holes play very short and are well guarded. Good course for beginners or to introduce new players to the sport, but still challenging enough for experienced players to have a good time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best eastside course ... for what that's worth

5+    7/27/2013   8/2/2013
Review By: bizweasel
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * A nice semi technical course, with shortness offset by being narrow with a lot of thread the tree needle shots off the tee
* Good use of the available terrain and pretty good flow, good mix short and medium length shots.
* Hole #7 is an awesome downhill shot with this madrona tree sticking up like an evil pitchfork ... stick a good drive on this one, you'll remember it for months
* Interesting terrain around some of the baskets like slants to punish missed putts and make them roll away
* A good local course for us eastsiders
Cons: * 6 months of year, some holes can be muddy especially #2
* #1 is fairly boring, wish they'd redo it, it's also out of character with the other holes
* Harder to play on weekends because some fairways cross places where people think it's OK to have a picnic in the middle of your approach angle
* Some slightly fierce brush off the narrower fairways
Other Thoughts: This is a nice little course, The designer did well w what they had (w possible exception of the #1 hole). I really wish the eastside had an 18 hole layout but for now this is as good as we got, it's fun enough that you can play it twice to get your 18 in, I suppose. It's not usually too crowded .

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice little 9 holer

5+    9/8/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: medikated
Played: 21  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -good variety of shots needed, clean park, never crowded
-course is easy to navigate and has a nice flow to it
-the use of the land so far is outstanding, very good design
Cons: -is very short, I can play all 9 in 30 minutes or less, doesn't mean that it's an easy course though, technical/tight lines provide the challenge.
-can get muddy, needs major erosion control in order to maintain course layout
Other Thoughts: -very fun course, really wish that secondary tee pads could be added on every hole to add distance/challenge
-The first tee can be tricky to find, if you walk behind the bathrooms you'll find it

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lovely Short 9

5+    6/28/2011   7/1/2011
Review By: IrishFolfer206
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is mainly a technical course. No holes over 300ft. There are a number of blind shots but with a little walking to the pin you can spot the basket. The course follows the perimeter of the park which is nice because then you don't have to worry about other people. The course is also short enough that going through it twice is not that strenuous. The trees and vegetation add to the difficulty which is nice. There are also a few open area shots, #7 and #8.
Cons: Lots of vegetation and mud if it has recently rained. If it is your first time to this course make sure to bring a towel because your discs will get muddy. Also on hole 7 it is rather easy to over shoot when throwing down the hill. There are a few trees to knock you disc down, but if luck isn't on your side it could easily sail into the slough.
Other Thoughts: Over all I love this course. It's the type of course that you can show up and get a quick round in or get some friends together and play it twice for a full round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Really enjoyable!

2-4    10/7/2010   10/7/2010
Review By: rybob42
Played: 31  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Well-designed. Given the size of the park and the small space to work in, I was pleasantly surprised and delighted by most the holes.
- Clean, new baskets, navigable (look for trail markers from most baskets) -- felt nice and cared-for.
- Varying elevation on most holes.
- Mostly technical, with hittable but challenging gaps and fairways.
- Nice park! Playground, picnic areas, restrooms with drinking fountains, river views.
Cons:
- Short! Only 9 holes and nothing over 250' or so. Most the holes are tight enough that you'll be glad you can use your mid or putter.
- Gravel teepads, but in good shape.
- No tee signs yet, but markers will point the way.
- A little bit of the rough stuff. Could lose a disc. Hole length is short enough to keep most in sight, though.
- Not a ton of variation in hole shape: most holes are straight or a little right-to-left. The current hole 9 is the only left-to-right.
Other Thoughts: I was surprised to find myself really, really enjoying Blyth Park. As JR Stengele said, there are plenty of holes to choose from as the "signature" hole - each new hole I encountered brought a new grin to my face. It's the best 9-holer I've played. I think with some improvements (signs, more navigation aids, teepads) this course has a high ceiling.

The elevation is particularly fun. It's not drastic on any hole, but there is enough to keep you on your toes. There's a fun downhill shot off the hill that you'll use your putter on but enjoy anyway.

I mentioned some lack of variation for hole shapes, but I wasn't too bothered by that. There are enough obstacles that'll knock you into the hinterlands to exercise your creativity. I found lots of opportunities for fun shots.

Some hints: the current map (as of 10/7) is wrong but pretty close. Hole 1 is toward the river, and hole 2 is now across the parking lot from hole 1 and into the trees. Look for a little marker going up the hill. Also, stay right on hole 9! Don't even look to the left- avert your eyes! I have some good scratches from the rough down the hill on the left, and being a hill, discs carry.

Finally, be a good citizen! I found some empty beer cans on 9 while on my disc-hunting safari. The course is so new and pretty that I found it particularly disturbing. I'm sure I"m preaching to the choir here...

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.