Bothell, WA 
Howling Coyote DGC Share
Uploaded By: Adrenalinedan Hole #8 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 214ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Birdies in the trees

1    9/21/2016   9/29/2016
Review By: longandwrong
Played: 44  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 6.7 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Reminded me of an 'executive' golf course, you know show up after work play 9 holes. Enjoyed my 2 times around the course. Loved the course challenges thru the trees and turns with 7 holes on the side of a hill. Every hole gave a person an opportunity to throw a 'bird'. Hole number 8 throwing from the woods across the lawn was a great ace challenge. But watch out, if you throw too hard the water on the down side of the hill is right there.
Cons: couple of holes directions from one basket to next pad were missing (followed the main trails and was able to move thru the course pretty good.) Hole #1 pad when you first show up seems backwards. Basket is back toward parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Didn't understand why there was a hole 10. I guess you can play it any way you want. I played 1-9 twice and then for funzies I played 10 both times for ace throws (didn't count it in my 18 hole score.)
When in the area I will play it again.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course

1    7/4/2016   7/4/2016
Review By: chonkyman
Played: 90  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Easy to navigate
- Quiet park with beautiful surroundings
- Fun holes and not too much vegetation to lose your discs
- Plenty of holes are birdiable
Cons: - Only 10 holes
Other Thoughts: Out of all the disc golf courses in the area, I think I enjoyed this one the most. Better than Mineral Springs or Terrace Creek. This one was much easier to navigate and had some character.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

home sweet home

5+    12/28/2015   3/13/2016
Review By: EverettSilvertips
Played: 65  Reviewed: 9
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: very techinical, wooded area, have up and downs throws, have few OBs to worry about, open area to throw, it is great 9 holes of balance.

new additonal basket, 10th basket, right after 9th hole, and it is an ace basket!

mostly have signs everywhere!

have trash cans, bathrooms, and water fountain.
Cons: vandalism need to be stopped! last time i visited there, the head of howling coyote statue was cut off. also in 2013, i had few friends played there, we was in wooded area, and some punk broke in 3 different cars, robbed few important things.

natural grounding.... the more we play the ground get muddy on wet days and getting more sinking in.

9 holes.... most of us prefer 18 holes.
Other Thoughts: fun and nice gateway from my home.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short technical shots

5+    6/8/2014   6/8/2014
Review By: Strongbow
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Some good technical shots
Cons: dirt tee pads
people always sitting in fairways
busy park on weekends, no parking
Other Thoughts: I rarely play here due to the normal park crowd sitting on fairways and if its a nice day the parking lot is full. There are a few decent holes with technical shots. I wouldn't recommend this course unless its close to your home and you want to play a quick round after work.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Little Course!

2-4    6/4/2014   6/8/2014
Review By: TheMinnesotan
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very clean! The layout makes great use of the space and creates opportunities for different shot types.

The course can be played very quickly. Great for a quick round, or can be played through multiple times with relative ease.

This course is also pretty forgiving. This would be a great spot to bring a new player. The chances of losing a disc are not too high, so bumming a buddy a disc for his first round isn't too much of a gamble on your part!
Cons: The course is short... If you are looking for a spot to "Grip and Rip" this course isn't it. Only two or three holes actually require a full powered driver.

It is only 9 holes. Maybe it's just me, but I like playing at least 18 different holes in a round. But, there just doesn't seem to be space for more.
Other Thoughts: I like this course. Its only 9 holes, but I played it through 4 times on my first visit. I see this course as a great spot to work on finesse and midrange shots. The people I met while playing this course were very friendly and courteous. I do wish there were a few more spots to stretch out my drivers, but in reality the mid-short game is more important (IMO). After just moving to the area, this has become my new "home course."

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice park just across the river from Bothell

5+    5/1/2014   5/10/2014
Review By: 53Clubs
Played: 23  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very good beginner course.
Great variation in terrain and shots - uphill, downhill, right turn, left turn, open field, woods, holes with lots of obstacles, holes with a few well placed obstacles.
Great parking and facilities.
Golf basically does a circle around the outside of a nice family park - bring the family and everyone will be happy and occupied.
Cons: A couple of holes cross 'park accessible areas' - if there are people there, skip the hole and move on - please don't make enemies for golfers. You'll run into this about 20% of the time on #4 and maybe 5% of the time on #8.
The park can get crowded and sometimes on #3, even in exactly the shot you were looking for, a 3 year old will get excited by the flying disc, and come and get it, and you can spend 10 minutes chasing the disc and the kid around the playground (and possibly looking like a pedophile in the process - until you finally retrieve the disc, then everything is understood).
Only 9 holes and no alternate tees (really no good place for them either).
Short - you're not going to air out any drives here.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for casually playing on a sunny day. I expect it could get wet and possibly slippery/sloppy on 2, 5, 6, and 9 if it is or has been rainy. Really not conducive to 'intense play' - though if its grey out, you can probably get in several rounds without running into many people other than just players.
The first tee sits next to a picnic table. The table serves as a great meeting place and resting place for players between rounds and you'll almost always find someone else there to play, but hanging out at the first tee before or between rounds.
*A note on hole 7 - its a long downhill then across a field to the basket. Fun from the tee - DON'T OVER SHOOT IT! Its easy to catch a great glide and have the disc just float on a cushion of air all the way across the field until you start yelling "Come Down!... Please Come Down!" - when it doesn't, you are not nearly as frustrated as you become once you get down to look for it and find that the drop off behind the basket goes downhill to the river... deep,... dark,... slow river... gross, muddy, duck sanctuary of a river - reach into the bag for another driver and wipe the tear from your eye,... that was the last time you'll throw that disc.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Park Course

5+    1/14/2014   1/17/2014
Review By: Phlick
Played: 67  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 34.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Lots of parking
* Running water bathrooms on site
* Well marked tees with yardage/flight paths
* Benches on most tees
* Good flow/easy navigation
* Good use of elevation/available space
* New baskets
Cons: * Only 9 holes, no alternate tees
* No practice basket(s)
* Dirt tees/Mats (get muddy/slippy)
* Short course, no need for the fast plastic.
* No alternate pin placements
* No trash cans on the course
Other Thoughts: Nice little park course, great for a quick after work or lunch time round, certainly not a destination course. Most of the holes play very short and are well guarded. Good course for beginners or to introduce new players to the sport, but still challenging enough for experienced players to have a good time.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best eastside course ... for what that's worth

5+    7/27/2013   8/2/2013
Review By: bizweasel
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * A nice semi technical course, with shortness offset by being narrow with a lot of thread the tree needle shots off the tee
* Good use of the available terrain and pretty good flow, good mix short and medium length shots.
* Hole #7 is an awesome downhill shot with this madrona tree sticking up like an evil pitchfork ... stick a good drive on this one, you'll remember it for months
* Interesting terrain around some of the baskets like slants to punish missed putts and make them roll away
* A good local course for us eastsiders
Cons: * 6 months of year, some holes can be muddy especially #2
* #1 is fairly boring, wish they'd redo it, it's also out of character with the other holes
* Harder to play on weekends because some fairways cross places where people think it's OK to have a picnic in the middle of your approach angle
* Some slightly fierce brush off the narrower fairways
Other Thoughts: This is a nice little course, The designer did well w what they had (w possible exception of the #1 hole). I really wish the eastside had an 18 hole layout but for now this is as good as we got, it's fun enough that you can play it twice to get your 18 in, I suppose. It's not usually too crowded .

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Fun Stomp Through the Woods

2-4    4/7/2013   4/8/2013
Review By: Udon
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent use of obstacles without being too difficult for new players.
- Clean, well kept park
- Variety of shots needed to par/birdie many holes.
- Park goers are mostly out of the way of the course and are rarely threatened by errant discs
- Locals are friendly

Cons: - Tee pads can be full of puddles after a rain making almost half of them unusable.
- Lots of mud around some baskets and throughout the park; definitely a good idea to wear boots.
- Blyth park has enough space to have been a 18 hole course. There isn't really much options for a safari back 9 either.
Other Thoughts: Blyth Park is built around a watershed of the surrounding rivers. Because of this, it is notoriously muddy until about June when most of it dries up. Despite how wet it can be, I love this park and the DGC that is a part of it. The holes are well spaced, and it is challenging without being frustrating. This is a great course for a beginner to learn how to drive due to good use of trees as obstacles and the open fields several holes open up to. This one is going on my favorites list and I will be returning for many rounds in the near future.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little 9 holer

5+    9/8/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: medikated
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -good variety of shots needed, clean park, never crowded
-course is easy to navigate and has a nice flow to it
-the use of the land so far is outstanding, very good design
Cons: -is very short, I can play all 9 in 30 minutes or less, doesn't mean that it's an easy course though, technical/tight lines provide the challenge.
-can get muddy, needs major erosion control in order to maintain course layout
Other Thoughts: -very fun course, really wish that secondary tee pads could be added on every hole to add distance/challenge
-The first tee can be tricky to find, if you walk behind the bathrooms you'll find it

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.