Bothell, WA 
Howling Coyote DGC Share
Uploaded By: sillybizz Hole #6 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 170ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Howling good times

5+    5/4/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: ForestGnome
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging course.
Incredibly beautiful course.
Very clean.
Fairly navigable pathways.
I have never once had a bad time at this park, it is by far my favorite in the "seattle area"

Also worth noting, all the people who golf here are awesome, never once ran into anyone very rude.
Cons: Muddy, but at least it's not like, steal your shoe muddy.
Other Thoughts: You have to be able to laugh to play this course. Otherwise you'll get way to mad over all those perfect ace shots that at the last minute nick a branch and go flying off down the hill.

I really do like this course though, it's great for teaching my friends out to golf, and it's hardly ever busy.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/1/2011   4/3/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Howling Coyote (a.k.a. Blythe Park) is an awesome, superfun little nine hole installed just last year only a few miles northeast of Seattle. The course has the traditional Pacific Northwest feel and plays mostly on fern-covered hillsides and through mossy green trees. The best aspects of the course are in the huge variety of shots - you'll see plenty of little hyzers, slow-turnovers, reasonable uphill shots and a steep downhill tunnel shot, and a couple of holes that restrict ceiling forcing you to throw either higher or lower than you normally might.

Upkeep: The parks department can't keep the mud (from mudding?) but they are doing a great job of keeping the course look nice otherwise with improvements continually being made to teeing areas and some stairs where needed.

Fun-Factor: Every hole is well within range of birdie but on most, a nice shot is still needed. Its the kind of course where a player having a good day will eat it up and a player who is off won't get too many of the birdies. The fun of course is ragging on your birdie-less friend! There are plenty of pin positions which offer, fun and tricky little putts because of nearby trees and branches which I think only adds to the fun, quirky feel of the course.
Cons: MUD: I think the biggest drawback to the Howling Coyote course is that the mud is so...muddy during the winter (roughly November-April). This is about six months out of the year where the course is really difficult to play, even when you've had a stretch of sunny days, the teeing area and the hillside holes will likely be really mucky.

Challenge: Like many nine hole courses, this one is designed with a target audience of <925 or so. Beginners are going to have a fun time with learning how to throw with elevation and through reasonably tight corridors. While there is some possibility of losing discs with errant throws (especially hole 2), most of the holes are too short to run into real problems. While Howling Coyote is a great beginner/amateur course, it is just too straightforward to challenge those who have consistency in their basic shot-making. Hole nine is the only hole off-hand that should take practice to perfect, most other holes will have an obvious shot that any pro- or higher amateur-level player should feel comfortable with.
Other Thoughts: While the mud is likely here to stay, the Howling Coyote continues to improve both through the efforts of the parks department and just by players playing the course and starting to beat in the fairways a little bit. The course is exceptionally well designed for the newer player and amateurs who are still mastering basic shots and is worth a play for more experienced players because of the high fun-factor and variety of shots. On a side note, Blythe Park (a.k.a. Howling Coyote) is OPTIMAL for SuperClass play. All of the holes (except for the new hole nine) are reachable and birdable and you won't find any tweener SuperClass holes like you do on most traditional disc golf courses.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and quick 9 hole course

5+    10/18/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: b-mart
Played: 44  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 6/15/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brand new baskets. Wood bordered gravel tee pads. Not too crowded. Plays around the busy parts of the park rather than through it.
Cons: The gravel on the tee pads is already getting worn down and gouged. Some of the brush is still relatively thick (although it's getting trampled and cleared out with the exception of hole 9). Being a short, fast course, I find myself waiting on groups ahead of me when playing alone. This can be remedied by starting over or skipping hole 9 to play from 5 again.
Other Thoughts: Being a Bothell resident and a beginner (and being that I got my first ace on 6), I love this course. It's never too crowded (even when the park itself is packed), and most of the course is in the trees. I like technical courses way more than open ones (like Juel, which is a complete waste of acreage in my opinion), but I also prefer the trees because you can play in the rain without getting too wet or muddy. This is kind of like a beginner's version of Terrace, so it's a good warmup or lunch break course for any level of player. What's great about it is that it's still challenging to players who find this course a bit short, and a good place to improve your game. After playing here about 5 days a week, I find that other courses seem easier. Whoever designed this knew what they were doing. I usually bring brightly colored discs for holes 2, 5, 6, and 9. Although I have yet to lose a disc, I've found a few and have spent plenty of time searching for my favorite ones. The lines are tight back there in the woods, and if you go off a tree you might not be able to call this a "quick" course anymore. Or you could do what other reviewers have recommended, and bring a spotter. But be careful on 7. There are a lot of discs in the river, including one of mine.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great little course

1    10/16/2010   10/16/2010
Review By: Ghost in the Darknes
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of the space. Some variation. Some holes you can see from the tee, some you cannot. Great elevation chance as well, especially hole 7 (I think).
Cons: Some holes I would recommend a spotter (Not exactly a con, just an observation). A little hard to locate the park. It is a multi-use park, so there were a lot of people bbq-ing and the such. As has already been noted, some improvements such as signs and concrete pads would be nice, but those will come as this park advances.
Other Thoughts: I tried hard to think of some cons for this park and honestly couldn't come up with many. I love that this area got another park because the only other park by my house is Juel Park, and frankly, that park sucks. It was a well designed course that I enjoyed playing and will play again anytime I come back to the Woodinville/Bothell region.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Really enjoyable!

2-4    10/7/2010   10/7/2010
Review By: rybob42
Played: 31  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Well-designed. Given the size of the park and the small space to work in, I was pleasantly surprised and delighted by most the holes.
- Clean, new baskets, navigable (look for trail markers from most baskets) -- felt nice and cared-for.
- Varying elevation on most holes.
- Mostly technical, with hittable but challenging gaps and fairways.
- Nice park! Playground, picnic areas, restrooms with drinking fountains, river views.
Cons:
- Short! Only 9 holes and nothing over 250' or so. Most the holes are tight enough that you'll be glad you can use your mid or putter.
- Gravel teepads, but in good shape.
- No tee signs yet, but markers will point the way.
- A little bit of the rough stuff. Could lose a disc. Hole length is short enough to keep most in sight, though.
- Not a ton of variation in hole shape: most holes are straight or a little right-to-left. The current hole 9 is the only left-to-right.
Other Thoughts: I was surprised to find myself really, really enjoying Blyth Park. As JR Stengele said, there are plenty of holes to choose from as the "signature" hole - each new hole I encountered brought a new grin to my face. It's the best 9-holer I've played. I think with some improvements (signs, more navigation aids, teepads) this course has a high ceiling.

The elevation is particularly fun. It's not drastic on any hole, but there is enough to keep you on your toes. There's a fun downhill shot off the hill that you'll use your putter on but enjoy anyway.

I mentioned some lack of variation for hole shapes, but I wasn't too bothered by that. There are enough obstacles that'll knock you into the hinterlands to exercise your creativity. I found lots of opportunities for fun shots.

Some hints: the current map (as of 10/7) is wrong but pretty close. Hole 1 is toward the river, and hole 2 is now across the parking lot from hole 1 and into the trees. Look for a little marker going up the hill. Also, stay right on hole 9! Don't even look to the left- avert your eyes! I have some good scratches from the rough down the hill on the left, and being a hill, discs carry.

Finally, be a good citizen! I found some empty beer cans on 9 while on my disc-hunting safari. The course is so new and pretty that I found it particularly disturbing. I'm sure I"m preaching to the choir here...

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Blyth Park

2-4    9/6/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 181  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 14.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Blyth Park is the newest disc golf course in the state of Washington, located northeast of Seattle in the city of Bothell. This course is just minutes off of Highway 405, and easy to locate. Just make sure you print off directions. Blyth is a multi-use park, which incorporates walking trails, a small playground, restrooms, and picnic shelter. Also, there is ample parking considering the size of the park.

The design layout at Blyth was very well thought out, allowing for easy navigation and plenty of challenge. Elevation comes in to play on seven of the nine holes, with tight tree lined fairways, heavily guarded pin placements, and multiple approaches off the tees. Much of the time the tee, pin, or both are elevated, having players throw across fields, ravines, and over a lot of ground foliage. Most holes have clearly developed fairways, with the exception of holes #3 and #7, and even those are starting to clear out. Baskets are all new and in great shape, and each tee pad has a wooden frame which is flush with the ground with loose gravel on top for extra traction. As the Valkyrie Kid mentioned earlier, when finished with hole nine locals usually play back toward hole four as a "tenth" hole, as long as no one else is playing.

The "signature hole", or the hole that stood out to me the most was hole five. With an elevated tee pad, players throw through a tight window lined by trees, across a field, and back up a hill to a highly guarded pin about 250 feet. It is both challenging and aesthetically pleasing for all skill levels, and allows for multiple approaches. However, with the course being designed as well as it was, people could argue that there are a few "signature holes" including holes one and eight.
Cons:
Blyth Park seemed to have few improvements needed that I could think of considering its target audience, amateur players. I am sure that over time and after a few fund raisers, tee signs, arrows to next hole, and tee pads will be updated. Tape on the basket directing players to the next tee would help for the time being to help with navigation.

Slowly, benches are being installed, trails developed, and stairs over time will become more defined. Fairways will continue to clear naturally, and lines will continue to improve off the tee pads.For the time being, I can make do.

Water can come in to play if not careful as well, so make sure to not go long on holes one and eight or you will find yourself in the river. Although it would be difficult, a bad skip could result in a lost disc so just be aware!

Last, pedestrians on the first few holes could be an issue since the holes play over and around the hiking trails. Although you won't have to wait long, make sure you are aware and give them the right away so there aren't any injuries.
Other Thoughts:
I was very delighted to play this course as a lot of work went in to getting this nine hole layout in the ground. The design and overall fun factor were all taken in to account by the designer, and the fact that it can be challenging for most disc golfers is a major plus too! Although Blyth is a fairly small course with shots ranging anywhere from 150-250 feet long, every hole has its own personality and is a challenge unto its own. This is one of the better nine hole courses in the state, and a true pleasure to play!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Washington's Newest Course!

1    8/29/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 657  Reviewed: 606  Exp: 36.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Blyth Park in Bothel is so new that the brush hasn't even had a chance to be tramped down. They're off to a great start here. The park appears to to get a lot of community use with a playground, jogging trail next to the river, picnic shelters, etc. Disc golfers will have to co-exist with other park patrons. It looks as though only # 1 and #2 will really play through the crowded, more public area of the park. #3 through #9 seem to play through the wooded, less used area. A nice amount of engineering has already been done. Bark has been hauled in showing the way between holes, some steps have been built as well as tee pads filled with gravel. There are a couple of blind holes where a spotter is recommended but the basket is visible from most. I'm torn between # 6 and # 8 as the signature hole. Actually, I lean towards # 6. It's just a simple little 200 ft. downhill throw to a basket which sits about 10 ft. behind two large fir trees. But there is room between the firs to squeeze through making this a sweet little ACE run. Very pretty hole.
Cons: Right now there are still lots of prickly, stinging little bushes standing. As the course gets more use, these will get beat down opening things up some. This is never going to be a tournament course but it it's going to be a fun little Rec course. A nice addition to Washington's stable of courses. I navigated the course just fine but never did find the # 1 pad. That could be added to the web site.
Other Thoughts: The Eastside area is lacking for courses. This is a nice little fit and will draw lots of players. I'm sure signs will be coming. If not concrete pads, I would at least like to see the building blocks put down here. They work very well. If I lived close, I'm sure I would always play a # 10 hole, playing somewhere from around the # 9 basket back to the # 3 open basket on my way back to the car. Just makes sense to me.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Blyth Park

1    8/28/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Blyth Park is the newest Disc Golf Course on the east side, located in Bothell and just on the other side of the river touching property with the Wayne Golf Course. The park itself is at the end of a dead end and out of the way of the rest of the city and somewhat hard to find for first timers. There are running bathrooms, a large play area, a nearby lake, walking trails, and picnic benches. Apparently this property is used frequently by L.A.R.P. (Live Action Role Play) these are the people you see in a large field dressed up like the middle ages and swinging plastic swords and shields. The course also gets heavy use from children using the swings and play area but the course is away from all of that with most of the course being in the wooded, hilly section of the park.

The baskets are brand new which is because this course is brand new as well, they are I believe Lightning baskets but not completely sure. All of the tee pads have a wooden boxed lining with lots and lots of gravel in them, we'll have to see how this holds up over time but my guess is we are going to need to refill them over and over as with any other gravel tee box set up. The course starts on a paved walking surface that leads from the parking lot to the kids play area and is identified by green spray paint that says hole number one. Most of the baskets are viewable from the tee pad for easier navigation and the few spots where you have to walk to the next hole are no brainer trails so it's almost fool proof as far as navigation.

The holes on this course range anywhere from 150 to 250 feet and range from a little technical to ALOT of technical. There are only a couple of holes that are completely flat and these are low ceiling holes where you need to keep the disc very low, play the skip or throw a backhand or forearm roller.

The city has been working hard on the course putting in new benches near the tee pads. There is also signage in the forum of little wooden posts with yellow paint directing you where the next tee pad is.
Cons: The biggest con right now is that the course is new and there hasn't been enough people in these places to beat down the brush. I think now that the disc golfers will be playing here frequently it won't take long to make the trails more walkable. Since it's so brushy right not it makes finding discs a little on the tougher side so even 200 foot holes require spotters on. The low ceiling shots are fun but still need to be trimmed slightly, just a couple of branches would do the trick to make hitting the lines more about hitting the lines and less about praying.

*****UPDATE*****

This is no longer an issue. The course has been trimmed either by the parks people or by discs, not sure but the lines have opened up a bit but are still challenging. The new hole 9 is pretty awesome though I'm still sad to see old hole one go.
Other Thoughts: Here is a hole by hole summary:

Hole 1: This is a tricky little shot. There are trees guarding much of open air and it creates two holes, one to the left which is larger and easier to hit but has a tree farther past the hole that might knock your disc down or you could take the path to the right which is smaller but once you get through you are putting for a birdie.

Hole 2: This is a blind basket location down a little ravine with a right to left throw and is perfect for anyone throwing RHBH shots with a putter or midrange with some mild overstability to it and there is only one tree blocking your birdie attempt at the end of the hole.

Hole 3: This is another low ceiling shot and tree blocked flight that actually has two major holes for you to hit but this time the left side is more open but it's a left to right shot and the right side is blocked more but if hit is an easy birdie. I recommend a RHFH shot through the left hole with something stable.

Hole 4: This is another tree blocked fairway with dual holes to shoot through. If you can hit the left side with a low enough shot and have the disc go left to right and skip at the end up the small hill near the tree blocking the pin this is your best chance for birdie. The right side is much easier to hit but I can't imagine too many birdies here unless you get lucky somehow.

Hole 5: This is an open fairway shot maybe 200 feet with the basket tucked behind and in between two large trees, watch out for stinging nettles to the right on this hole.

Hole 6: This is a blind basket location and what looks like a giant jungle of trees but if you throw your disc slightly higher than you think you will be rewarded on this right to left putter hole.

Hole 7: This would be considered the signature hole of this course and my personal favorite to play. It is a cool downhill throw from inside the trees to the open field and a large tree where the branches split and looks like a wish bone blocking your downhill tee shot. A slow disc like a putter is recommended and if you throw around the wish bone tree you will have a longer putt but won't run the chance of having your disc ricochet off into the bushes somewhere.

Hole 8: This is another low ceiling shot where the basket is put on top of a hill going back into the bushes somewhat. If you can throw low enough to hit the hill than you can use just about any disc you want as you don't have to worry about going long when the side of the hill will catch your disc and stop it. Another candidate for a roller or sidearm.

Hole 9: This is the new hole since they took out the original hole one. This is a low ceiling left to right shot with many trees guarding the path, a good candidate for a RHFH.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.