Bothell, WA 
Howling Coyote DGC Share
Uploaded By: sillybizz Hole #6 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 170ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Nice little 9 holer

5+    9/8/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: medikated
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -good variety of shots needed, clean park, never crowded
-course is easy to navigate and has a nice flow to it
-the use of the land so far is outstanding, very good design
Cons: -is very short, I can play all 9 in 30 minutes or less, doesn't mean that it's an easy course though, technical/tight lines provide the challenge.
-can get muddy, needs major erosion control in order to maintain course layout
Other Thoughts: -very fun course, really wish that secondary tee pads could be added on every hole to add distance/challenge
-The first tee can be tricky to find, if you walk behind the bathrooms you'll find it

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Little NW gem

2-4    2/3/2012   2/4/2012
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 194  Reviewed: 127  Exp: 24.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Though a small course, it's a perfect example of half NW terrain (large fir trees, and ferns on hilly terrain) and grassy fairways framed by trees. It is a great way to practice up on some technical shots, and like others have said - it's birdy runs for advanced, and a great learning game for beginners. Most of all, this is a really fun course with some interesting putting greens when you are in the woods.

The park was not crowded on a sunny weekday either!
Cons: Yes, mud was present, but the parks are doing their best to alleviate some spots (parks guy was laying pine needle trimmings on a muddy spot on hole #2 which has a spring coming up near the pin).

The tees are still gravel, but acceptable and fairly flat. Obviously, this would hopefully be the next improvement, other than more wood chips in the the muddy areas.

Very small nit pick - but the course does favor the RHBH more than RHFH shot.
Other Thoughts: They have 1 or 2 alternate tee pads that we spotted. If they could put them on every hole - it would be a huge asset (a.k.a - Northpark).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Green Green Green!

5+    8/14/2011   8/16/2011
Review By: puttputt
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is designed beautifully. The course surrounds a public play area, and has very few areas that require a wait for walkers/bikers etc. The course is a tight 9 hole course with great elevation changes. This course is a step above beginner due to the dog legs and required accuracy. There are several ace chances, but the holes are designed that they are earned aces, not just a straight shot. The facilities are great and the lay out is smooth. I brought a map the first time, but I did not need t after the first round. This course is lie a miniature version of the back nine at Terrace Creek.
Cons: There are a few blind shots into deep vegetation. The course is had a lot of dirt trails, making it very muddy in the rain. The course does not have any real distance drives, or approaches. The course is small but plays tough which may be a problem with first timers and beginners.
Other Thoughts: There is a very friendly rooster that has greeted us the past couple of times we have been there!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lovely Short 9

5+    6/28/2011   7/1/2011
Review By: IrishFolfer206
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is mainly a technical course. No holes over 300ft. There are a number of blind shots but with a little walking to the pin you can spot the basket. The course follows the perimeter of the park which is nice because then you don't have to worry about other people. The course is also short enough that going through it twice is not that strenuous. The trees and vegetation add to the difficulty which is nice. There are also a few open area shots, #7 and #8.
Cons: Lots of vegetation and mud if it has recently rained. If it is your first time to this course make sure to bring a towel because your discs will get muddy. Also on hole 7 it is rather easy to over shoot when throwing down the hill. There are a few trees to knock you disc down, but if luck isn't on your side it could easily sail into the slough.
Other Thoughts: Over all I love this course. It's the type of course that you can show up and get a quick round in or get some friends together and play it twice for a full round.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Howling good times

5+    5/4/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: ForestGnome
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging course.
Incredibly beautiful course.
Very clean.
Fairly navigable pathways.
I have never once had a bad time at this park, it is by far my favorite in the "seattle area"

Also worth noting, all the people who golf here are awesome, never once ran into anyone very rude.
Cons: Muddy, but at least it's not like, steal your shoe muddy.
Other Thoughts: You have to be able to laugh to play this course. Otherwise you'll get way to mad over all those perfect ace shots that at the last minute nick a branch and go flying off down the hill.

I really do like this course though, it's great for teaching my friends out to golf, and it's hardly ever busy.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/1/2011   4/3/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 668  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 17.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Howling Coyote (a.k.a. Blythe Park) is an awesome, superfun little nine hole installed just last year only a few miles northeast of Seattle. The course has the traditional Pacific Northwest feel and plays mostly on fern-covered hillsides and through mossy green trees. The best aspects of the course are in the huge variety of shots - you'll see plenty of little hyzers, slow-turnovers, reasonable uphill shots and a steep downhill tunnel shot, and a couple of holes that restrict ceiling forcing you to throw either higher or lower than you normally might.

Upkeep: The parks department can't keep the mud (from mudding?) but they are doing a great job of keeping the course look nice otherwise with improvements continually being made to teeing areas and some stairs where needed.

Fun-Factor: Every hole is well within range of birdie but on most, a nice shot is still needed. Its the kind of course where a player having a good day will eat it up and a player who is off won't get too many of the birdies. The fun of course is ragging on your birdie-less friend! There are plenty of pin positions which offer, fun and tricky little putts because of nearby trees and branches which I think only adds to the fun, quirky feel of the course.
Cons: MUD: I think the biggest drawback to the Howling Coyote course is that the mud is so...muddy during the winter (roughly November-April). This is about six months out of the year where the course is really difficult to play, even when you've had a stretch of sunny days, the teeing area and the hillside holes will likely be really mucky.

Challenge: Like many nine hole courses, this one is designed with a target audience of <925 or so. Beginners are going to have a fun time with learning how to throw with elevation and through reasonably tight corridors. While there is some possibility of losing discs with errant throws (especially hole 2), most of the holes are too short to run into real problems. While Howling Coyote is a great beginner/amateur course, it is just too straightforward to challenge those who have consistency in their basic shot-making. Hole nine is the only hole off-hand that should take practice to perfect, most other holes will have an obvious shot that any pro- or higher amateur-level player should feel comfortable with.
Other Thoughts: While the mud is likely here to stay, the Howling Coyote continues to improve both through the efforts of the parks department and just by players playing the course and starting to beat in the fairways a little bit. The course is exceptionally well designed for the newer player and amateurs who are still mastering basic shots and is worth a play for more experienced players because of the high fun-factor and variety of shots. On a side note, Blythe Park (a.k.a. Howling Coyote) is OPTIMAL for SuperClass play. All of the holes (except for the new hole nine) are reachable and birdable and you won't find any tweener SuperClass holes like you do on most traditional disc golf courses.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and quick 9 hole course

5+    10/18/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: b-mart
Played: 60  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/15/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brand new baskets. Wood bordered gravel tee pads. Not too crowded. Plays around the busy parts of the park rather than through it.
Cons: The gravel on the tee pads is already getting worn down and gouged. Some of the brush is still relatively thick (although it's getting trampled and cleared out with the exception of hole 9). Being a short, fast course, I find myself waiting on groups ahead of me when playing alone. This can be remedied by starting over or skipping hole 9 to play from 5 again.
Other Thoughts: Being a Bothell resident and a beginner (and being that I got my first ace on 6), I love this course. It's never too crowded (even when the park itself is packed), and most of the course is in the trees. I like technical courses way more than open ones (like Juel, which is a complete waste of acreage in my opinion), but I also prefer the trees because you can play in the rain without getting too wet or muddy. This is kind of like a beginner's version of Terrace, so it's a good warmup or lunch break course for any level of player. What's great about it is that it's still challenging to players who find this course a bit short, and a good place to improve your game. After playing here about 5 days a week, I find that other courses seem easier. Whoever designed this knew what they were doing. I usually bring brightly colored discs for holes 2, 5, 6, and 9. Although I have yet to lose a disc, I've found a few and have spent plenty of time searching for my favorite ones. The lines are tight back there in the woods, and if you go off a tree you might not be able to call this a "quick" course anymore. Or you could do what other reviewers have recommended, and bring a spotter. But be careful on 7. There are a lot of discs in the river, including one of mine.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great little course

1    10/16/2010   10/16/2010
Review By: Ghost in the Darknes
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of the space. Some variation. Some holes you can see from the tee, some you cannot. Great elevation chance as well, especially hole 7 (I think).
Cons: Some holes I would recommend a spotter (Not exactly a con, just an observation). A little hard to locate the park. It is a multi-use park, so there were a lot of people bbq-ing and the such. As has already been noted, some improvements such as signs and concrete pads would be nice, but those will come as this park advances.
Other Thoughts: I tried hard to think of some cons for this park and honestly couldn't come up with many. I love that this area got another park because the only other park by my house is Juel Park, and frankly, that park sucks. It was a well designed course that I enjoyed playing and will play again anytime I come back to the Woodinville/Bothell region.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Really enjoyable!

2-4    10/7/2010   10/7/2010
Review By: rybob42
Played: 41  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Well-designed. Given the size of the park and the small space to work in, I was pleasantly surprised and delighted by most the holes.
- Clean, new baskets, navigable (look for trail markers from most baskets) -- felt nice and cared-for.
- Varying elevation on most holes.
- Mostly technical, with hittable but challenging gaps and fairways.
- Nice park! Playground, picnic areas, restrooms with drinking fountains, river views.
Cons:
- Short! Only 9 holes and nothing over 250' or so. Most the holes are tight enough that you'll be glad you can use your mid or putter.
- Gravel teepads, but in good shape.
- No tee signs yet, but markers will point the way.
- A little bit of the rough stuff. Could lose a disc. Hole length is short enough to keep most in sight, though.
- Not a ton of variation in hole shape: most holes are straight or a little right-to-left. The current hole 9 is the only left-to-right.
Other Thoughts: I was surprised to find myself really, really enjoying Blyth Park. As JR Stengele said, there are plenty of holes to choose from as the "signature" hole - each new hole I encountered brought a new grin to my face. It's the best 9-holer I've played. I think with some improvements (signs, more navigation aids, teepads) this course has a high ceiling.

The elevation is particularly fun. It's not drastic on any hole, but there is enough to keep you on your toes. There's a fun downhill shot off the hill that you'll use your putter on but enjoy anyway.

I mentioned some lack of variation for hole shapes, but I wasn't too bothered by that. There are enough obstacles that'll knock you into the hinterlands to exercise your creativity. I found lots of opportunities for fun shots.

Some hints: the current map (as of 10/7) is wrong but pretty close. Hole 1 is toward the river, and hole 2 is now across the parking lot from hole 1 and into the trees. Look for a little marker going up the hill. Also, stay right on hole 9! Don't even look to the left- avert your eyes! I have some good scratches from the rough down the hill on the left, and being a hill, discs carry.

Finally, be a good citizen! I found some empty beer cans on 9 while on my disc-hunting safari. The course is so new and pretty that I found it particularly disturbing. I'm sure I"m preaching to the choir here...

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Blyth Park

2-4    9/6/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 206  Reviewed: 191  Exp: 16.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Blyth Park is the newest disc golf course in the state of Washington, located northeast of Seattle in the city of Bothell. This course is just minutes off of Highway 405, and easy to locate. Just make sure you print off directions. Blyth is a multi-use park, which incorporates walking trails, a small playground, restrooms, and picnic shelter. Also, there is ample parking considering the size of the park.

The design layout at Blyth was very well thought out, allowing for easy navigation and plenty of challenge. Elevation comes in to play on seven of the nine holes, with tight tree lined fairways, heavily guarded pin placements, and multiple approaches off the tees. Much of the time the tee, pin, or both are elevated, having players throw across fields, ravines, and over a lot of ground foliage. Most holes have clearly developed fairways, with the exception of holes #3 and #7, and even those are starting to clear out. Baskets are all new and in great shape, and each tee pad has a wooden frame which is flush with the ground with loose gravel on top for extra traction. As the Valkyrie Kid mentioned earlier, when finished with hole nine locals usually play back toward hole four as a "tenth" hole, as long as no one else is playing.

The "signature hole", or the hole that stood out to me the most was hole five. With an elevated tee pad, players throw through a tight window lined by trees, across a field, and back up a hill to a highly guarded pin about 250 feet. It is both challenging and aesthetically pleasing for all skill levels, and allows for multiple approaches. However, with the course being designed as well as it was, people could argue that there are a few "signature holes" including holes one and eight.
Cons:
Blyth Park seemed to have few improvements needed that I could think of considering its target audience, amateur players. I am sure that over time and after a few fund raisers, tee signs, arrows to next hole, and tee pads will be updated. Tape on the basket directing players to the next tee would help for the time being to help with navigation.

Slowly, benches are being installed, trails developed, and stairs over time will become more defined. Fairways will continue to clear naturally, and lines will continue to improve off the tee pads.For the time being, I can make do.

Water can come in to play if not careful as well, so make sure to not go long on holes one and eight or you will find yourself in the river. Although it would be difficult, a bad skip could result in a lost disc so just be aware!

Last, pedestrians on the first few holes could be an issue since the holes play over and around the hiking trails. Although you won't have to wait long, make sure you are aware and give them the right away so there aren't any injuries.
Other Thoughts:
I was very delighted to play this course as a lot of work went in to getting this nine hole layout in the ground. The design and overall fun factor were all taken in to account by the designer, and the fact that it can be challenging for most disc golfers is a major plus too! Although Blyth is a fairly small course with shots ranging anywhere from 150-250 feet long, every hole has its own personality and is a challenge unto its own. This is one of the better nine hole courses in the state, and a true pleasure to play!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.