Chattanooga, TN 
Portland Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: bjreagh Hole #2 (Taken 2/2011)
3 / 234ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Portland Park DGC

1    8/20/2012   12/11/2012
Review By: craigd
Played: 95  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Portland Park DGC hosts a nice and compact nine hole course in a passive park at the base of Signal Mountain in Chattanooga. Besides the course, I saw no more than green space around the area so chances are that disc golf has the park to itself, except maybe an occasional picnicker, etc. You'll be greeted by a parking lot with moderate parking for the course's size, an information kiosk, and an easy walk to hole one. From there the navigation is pretty easy to follow on this strait forward yet thoughtful layout.

Although there's only nine holes, there's a fairly good mix of hole types. Besides no long bomber holes, you'll have most of the other things you'd hope to find on a course. A couple of tight wooded shots, up/down shots, and even a big dogleg are here with the overlying theme being moderately open peppered with mature trees. There's plenty of signage, concrete pads, and other nice amenities here too. The newer baskets are in great shape and catch well.
Cons: There's really nothing terribly bad at this course, remembering that it evidently wasn't intended to be a championship caliber course. My biggest complaint would have to be the main road. I'm always distracted by nearby roads with lots of traffic when playing. This course is no exception as you'll be facing it on several holes here. Secondly the park is small and as others have mentioned, it could get a little cramped if the course is full.
Other Thoughts: Keep in mind that this is not an overly difficult/challenging course. I would imagine given the design and location that it wasn't designed to be. I'm thinking this is a good course for newer players or convenient practice for the advanced players. As others mentioned, being close to the main road helps give disc golf a little free advertisement and hopefully promote growth in an already thriving disc golf community.

If you're visiting the area and you have time, try to head up the mountain and hit "9 on top DGC" too. It's an even shorter little nine holer but it's a nice drive up the mountain and you can run through it in a matter of minutes. For me it was worth the trip to play both courses to add a couple more to the "played list".

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good short course

1    6/30/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: .DLB.
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I would have to agree with the other reviews of this course, as it has all mostly been said already. However, my definite pro list would be:
•Very Clean nice looking park
•Excellent baskets and teepad length
•Nice signs at each tee
•Great for a quick round
•A mixed variety of shots can be used.
•Hole #8 - nice long sweeping downhill anhyzer shot that opens into the clear - cool hole.
Cons: •Kind of a cramped feel and layout, however it is layed out to maximize the amount of space there is.
•No holes to really let one rip on.
•Throwing directly at main road can be a bit unnerving.
Other Thoughts: In fairness, I can't say to many negative things about this course. Honestly though, it just isn't one of my favorites. The space is well utilized for what there is. It is also a great course for locals or those looking for a quick round. I don't see myself driving out of my way much to play here though. It was a fun course though, and definitely worth a try.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short and sweet.

5+    5/23/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: ShopTom.com
Played: 26  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Busy street to attract attention to our game, level concrete tee pads just the right length, distance markers, garbage cans (use them!), information board, variety of shots required due to well placed trees, not many players to get in the way.
Cons: Tight confines might land your wayward shot three fairways over so be very carefull of other players on the course, next tee arrows pointing the wrong way after a course redesign need fixed.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy playing this course now that I have learned my way around. The wooded holes are getting worn in so it's easier to play without a spotter. The few trees in the open part of the course are in the way enough so that you have to decide if you are going around or the more narrow straight shot. I like that the holes are short with a max of about 300' and two tight tunnel shots under 200'. This course forces me to make shots and not just throw. I recommend you give it a try!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 short on time..play 9

1    4/10/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 96  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: nice small park on your way up signal mountain. concrete pads and tee sings were good enough for what its worth. no real long holes but drivers were needed on a few holes. new chainstar baskets
Cons: a couple of the holes that go into the woods were very rough feeling... someone needs to knock down all the growth coming up from the tree stumps that were cut to make the fairways a little more accomidating. no trash cans
Other Thoughts: cool little course to play if you dont have alot of time. could probably play this course in 15 minutes if you were by yourself and no traffic

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good free 9-holer!

1    9/27/2010   9/27/2010
Review By: JSurmann
Played: 40  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Location, Location, Location. It's right by the main road going up Signal Mountain and has a great view of the mountain.

The course is brand new so the pins are as well. They are all discatcher and are in pristine condition. Each tee is now concrete and are of generous size. PVC pipes in the ground mark the distance to the pin. Arrow on the baskets point you in the general direction of the next tee.

Even though the holes are a bit short on this course, trees come into play on most holes. Accuracy is key to playing well here, not big arms.

Most of the shots are straight but a few require an anhyzer or rhfh throw to get close to the basket. Signature hole would be hole 4. Downhill ~300' that forces you through an 8' opening between two huge trees.

A few holes have a mando so it adds a small degree of difficulty to the course. However, since there are no signs, just a few small yellow flags, they are hard to spot the first time through.

Wooded holes are being cleared out and the brush is getting smaller which is great for those errant throws.

Easy access to local highways.

Hiking trails nearby.
Cons: Holes tend to go back and forth and its pretty easy to shoot into another fairway.

Small parking lot. 10 cars max.
Other Thoughts: Overall great exposure to the sport.

Since I work about 5 miles down the road, I'm here 3-4 times a week for my lunch break.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.