Chattanooga, TN 
Portland Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: JSurmann Hole #5 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 243ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
THE 9-Hole Chattanooga Course

1    7/12/2014   7/19/2014
Review By: WestGooch
Played: 16  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.4 Years
Pros:
- Easy course to find, just off Signal Mtn. Road, and equally simple to navigate throughout.
- Baskets and concrete tees in great condition.
- Excellent signage.
- Although it is a lot packed into a small area, one should not worry about a crowd. (I played on a Saturday around noon and there was only one other couple there.)
- Good challenge; beginner and intermediate players alike will have fun while seeking to break par.
- All holes are a par 3 which makes for easy score-keeping.
- Not much walking, playing alone one round can be completed in half an hour.
Cons:
- Grass in poor condition; seems to be rarely mowed. It is not dense enough to lose a disc, but certainly a small hassle.
- Portland Park also seems to be a sanctuary for June-bugs. Again, they aren't too great a bother, but often noticeable.
- Be weary of throws halfway through the round, as a disc with a bit too much power may find itself in the road.
Other Thoughts: Portland Park is a course I would recommend to players of all experience levels. All holes are moderately wooded creating a challenge throughout the entire course that all can enjoy. I was able to take my time and take practice shots with my partner without having to worry about getting in the way of others. If you live in the greater Chattanooga area, or just passing through, you MUST try this 9-hole course.

Portland Park DGC

1    8/20/2012   12/11/2012
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Portland Park DGC hosts a nice and compact nine hole course in a passive park at the base of Signal Mountain in Chattanooga. Besides the course, I saw no more than green space around the area so chances are that disc golf has the park to itself, except maybe an occasional picnicker, etc. You'll be greeted by a parking lot with moderate parking for the course's size, an information kiosk, and an easy walk to hole one. From there the navigation is pretty easy to follow on this strait forward yet thoughtful layout.

Although there's only nine holes, there's a fairly good mix of hole types. Besides no long bomber holes, you'll have most of the other things you'd hope to find on a course. A couple of tight wooded shots, up/down shots, and even a big dogleg are here with the overlying theme being moderately open peppered with mature trees. There's plenty of signage, concrete pads, and other nice amenities here too. The newer baskets are in great shape and catch well.
Cons: There's really nothing terribly bad at this course, remembering that it evidently wasn't intended to be a championship caliber course. My biggest complaint would have to be the main road. I'm always distracted by nearby roads with lots of traffic when playing. This course is no exception as you'll be facing it on several holes here. Secondly the park is small and as others have mentioned, it could get a little cramped if the course is full.
Other Thoughts: Keep in mind that this is not an overly difficult/challenging course. I would imagine given the design and location that it wasn't designed to be. I'm thinking this is a good course for newer players or convenient practice for the advanced players. As others mentioned, being close to the main road helps give disc golf a little free advertisement and hopefully promote growth in an already thriving disc golf community.

If you're visiting the area and you have time, try to head up the mountain and hit "9 on top DGC" too. It's an even shorter little nine holer but it's a nice drive up the mountain and you can run through it in a matter of minutes. For me it was worth the trip to play both courses to add a couple more to the "played list".

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good short course

1    6/30/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: .DLB.
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I would have to agree with the other reviews of this course, as it has all mostly been said already. However, my definite pro list would be:
•Very Clean nice looking park
•Excellent baskets and teepad length
•Nice signs at each tee
•Great for a quick round
•A mixed variety of shots can be used.
•Hole #8 - nice long sweeping downhill anhyzer shot that opens into the clear - cool hole.
Cons: •Kind of a cramped feel and layout, however it is layed out to maximize the amount of space there is.
•No holes to really let one rip on.
•Throwing directly at main road can be a bit unnerving.
Other Thoughts: In fairness, I can't say to many negative things about this course. Honestly though, it just isn't one of my favorites. The space is well utilized for what there is. It is also a great course for locals or those looking for a quick round. I don't see myself driving out of my way much to play here though. It was a fun course though, and definitely worth a try.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice short course

1    12/31/2011   12/31/2011
Review By: owtdoorguy
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great, rugged course to play quickly and without the need to overly technical abilities. You can play this course mostly, at least 5 holes, without concern even for trees. Very open layout.
Cons: Intimidating to throw next to busy road. Two tee boxes align parallel to roads.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 good putter course

2-4    4/28/2011   7/28/2011
Review By: chrishank
Played: 24  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to follow lay out of this course, but even with that there is an information board that gives the layout. Most holes are short, longest one is like 320, shortest being around 175. This course is great for beginers or people who just don't have the power for longer courses. Concrete teepads for all holes, just the right size. Even has an elevated teepad set up on railraod ties. 6 holes in the open, with trees blocking straight shots on most, and 3 in the woods. My favorite hole would be 8, in the woods to throw out of but basket is in the open. Great course.
Cons: The holes are close to each other and create some danger if the course is ever busy. No good holes to just let it rip on, except mab hole 9. The woods are a little tight so if you can't throw straight you will probably end up in the woods. One holes basket is about 30 feet from a busy road. You have to be careful or it will end up in the road.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is just as good as any other course around chattanoga. This one probably is the quickest to play so if your short on time this is perfect for you. I also heard when they first built this course that if it done good they would put 9 more holes in, adjacent from the current 9. If this happens it will be 2 18 holes in chattanoga and I bet this one will be busier, due to the other one being all woods.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short and sweet.

5+    5/23/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: ShopTom.com
Played: 26  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Busy street to attract attention to our game, level concrete tee pads just the right length, distance markers, garbage cans (use them!), information board, variety of shots required due to well placed trees, not many players to get in the way.
Cons: Tight confines might land your wayward shot three fairways over so be very carefull of other players on the course, next tee arrows pointing the wrong way after a course redesign need fixed.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy playing this course now that I have learned my way around. The wooded holes are getting worn in so it's easier to play without a spotter. The few trees in the open part of the course are in the way enough so that you have to decide if you are going around or the more narrow straight shot. I like that the holes are short with a max of about 300' and two tight tunnel shots under 200'. This course forces me to make shots and not just throw. I recommend you give it a try!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 fun and close to town

5+    5/12/2011   5/12/2011
Review By: JohnnyWang
Played: 43  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/10/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: short and fun..... nice baskets and well thought out
Cons: a little short, busy from time to time, gets muddy in places...a couple holes are redundant
Other Thoughts: has tee pads now! fun shots in the woods, very close to town a big plus

edit:has signs and hole 6 has now been opened up a bit...also I read on chatt flying disk forum that they are working on getting the land for a back nine! keep those fingers crossed and be nice to the local land owners

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 short on time..play 9

1    4/10/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 96  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: nice small park on your way up signal mountain. concrete pads and tee sings were good enough for what its worth. no real long holes but drivers were needed on a few holes. new chainstar baskets
Cons: a couple of the holes that go into the woods were very rough feeling... someone needs to knock down all the growth coming up from the tree stumps that were cut to make the fairways a little more accomidating. no trash cans
Other Thoughts: cool little course to play if you dont have alot of time. could probably play this course in 15 minutes if you were by yourself and no traffic

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Updated review- course improved!

2-4    4/12/2013   3/14/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Redesigned and improved! There is a good variety of hole style here- 6 of the holes are the city-park style with grassy fairways, isolated mature trees to avoid, and no rough; 3 holes play through a densely wooded area with narrow fairways having but cut and cleared through it. A little bit of elevation is utilized on several of the holes as well.

Baskets are in great shape. Course now has concrete tees and excellent tee signs. Navigation is pretty easy.

This course is excellent for beginners, families, and casual players, although more experienced players can still enjoy a quick, fun round here. It is a good representation of disc golf, and on most holes there is plenty of fairway making it easy to find your disc and still have a decent next shot.
Cons: The "park" is a small piece of land wedged between 3 roads and a water treatment facility. There is barely enough room here for 9 holes, although it is well-designed considering the limitations. The holes are close together, which can be confusing and also a hazard as it is easy to land a disc in another fairway. Two of the roads bordering the park have a small chance of coming into play.

It is a pretty simple course, that can soon be mastered, and as players become better they will want to take their games elsewhere.
Other Thoughts: The Chattanooga club is very active with all the courses in the area and constant improvements are likely.

The course is not all that interesting, as there are better choices for sure in Chattanooga (Shepherd and the Sinks and now Camp Jordan), so if you are traveling here and looking to play the best then skip this one. But it is great that this area has so many courses to accommodate players of all levels. (It was nice to see what appeared to be a mom and three 10-16 year-old girls playing disc golf proving that this course can be enjoyed by guys and girls, adults and kids alike!)

This course is very close to the "9 on Top" course- more of a wooded technical course, so pair it with this parks-style course and you get a nice set of 18 holes. These two are on the same road, one on top the mountain, the other at the bottom.

From my original review "I rated this course based on its current condition of how I played it. With the addition of signs, concrete tees, and some maturing, I might change it to a 2.0 if I were to come back and play it again." Well, I did come back, there were improvements, and I am upping my rating to a 2.0!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good short course

1    12/18/2010   12/22/2010
Review By: zensuit
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great place to play one or two disc. None of the shots are impossible or hard to figure out but there are a few challenging holes. Good holes that cut through the woods. If the wind is blowing this plays like a moderately difficult short course.
Cons: Won't challenge big arms and plays as a par 18 for advanced players. Needs much better signage.
Other Thoughts: I am recovering from major shoulder surgery and this is a great place to take a Buzzz and a putter and just throw easy. Take your kids here to introduce them to disc golf and they'll be hooked.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.