Disc Golf Store
Sedalia, MO 
Clover Dell Park Share
Uploaded By: asjzn6 Hole #14
3 / 268ft.   3 / 268ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee: 265' across the pond



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

1    5/28/2014   5/28/2014
Review By: ustenido
Played: 27  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.6 Years
Pros: Nice tee pads on front 9, and signs. Beautiful park
Cons: Nightmare navigation. The cedars on tje front 9 make itnimpossible to find your disc. I felt restricted to playing with mid ranges because I couldnt see any landing zones. Back 9 had better ideas that are not maintained whatsoever. And they only mow about 20' wide fairways so watch out for ticks and snakes.
Other Thoughts: I wouldnt play it again

 Two Sides to Clover Dell

2-4    10/6/2012   10/12/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 115  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a cours in a small town in Missouri. The front nine has decent teepads and teesigns. Dual teepads on 1,2,4. The entire course has nice baskets with a flag on top. I like flags on top for wind help. The course in a high use park (dog park, rc track, youth soccer fields, fishing pond, cross country track) this helps expose the sport to others. Restrooms on site. Nice pavilion near hole 1. On the front 9 there a couple of good golf holes. Hole 1 from the long teepad creates a good hole. Hole 8 is a nice long straight shot. The back 9 is where the action is. Hole 10 is a 720ft par 4. In the wet season this hole is amazing. Hole 11 short but a very slippery green. Hole 12 plays along the fishing lake and beautiful scenery with a framed green by water and ob sidewalk. 13 runs parallel to shore line with a mogul green that long drives reach the second ob pond. 14 COOL 260 across the lake. 16 is a nice long par 3 that requires smart shot selection. Hole 18 is a 650ft par that forces a drive to turn away from ob road that runs length of hole. The slightly uphill approach plays tough if you dont account for it.
Cons: Holes 2-7 lots of cedars cater to an overhand game even those who dont have that will resort to it. I dont mind having a hole like this but when a string of holes like this drop course rating. Also, the greens on the front 9 are cedar packed so a greenside putt could be a leaning nightmare.
Other Thoughts: I like this course, I have heard that another nine will go in to match the back 9 for a championship 18 and practice 9. If and when they do lots of potential for this plot of land. I know they cant but the peninsula on the lake would create a sweet hole of any length.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Clover dell

2-4    10/6/2012   10/7/2012
Review By: birdman101
Played: 53  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/8/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in the works from what I understand, so expect improvements and changes to be made.

To start 18 holes are in, and the first 9 have concrete tee pads that are ample big enough for the length of the holes.

On holes 1,2, and 4 there are 2 tee pads both concrete. and most of the other holes on the front 9 have a second pin placement.

Tee signs are in place and updated on all 18 holes thanks to the bluebird championship being held out there.

Front 9 and back 9 are almost 2 completely different courses. The front 9 plays through a field full of cedars (almost too many of them, but I was told they plan to remove some in the future once they grow a little more.)
The back 9 plays near over and around the several small lakes which adds a challenge, and a fear factor for some to the course.
Cons: The front 9 seem to be the same shot over and over again. I threw a thumber on at least half of the holes. The distances on the tee signs seemed off to me and several others agreed.

The cedars make it hard to tell where your throwing to, and where the next tee is at, so you may have to do some walking to figure stuff out.

The back 9 currently just has wood chips for tees, and they are rough. (plan is to put in concrete pads in the near future)
Other Thoughts: Hole 10 seems out of place on this course its 700+ feet, and you have to throw over a lake (dried up right now). Most of the other holes are under 400 with the exception of 18 which is a wide open 635' or so, 16 which plays fairly open with the basket tucked into the tree line on the right, and hole 9 which is just over 400 and is open with some cedar trees to make your approach interesting

There is talk of adding 9 more holes in the woods on the other side of the lake.

There were a few benches around, but no trashcans.

this course may not be worth a trip to now, but in the future it may be

There is a dog park that comes into play on hole 1

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Needs polishing

1    9/22/2012   9/22/2012
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clover Dell is a large multi-use park with the usual ball fields and such plus stuff like walking trails, an archery range, a radio control car race track and a dog park. Clean, well maintained throughout - a place for the whole fam dambly.

The course itself is a work in progress. All 18 pins are in (DGAs with large numbered flags on top), signs and teepads are in on the front 9 and marked on the back. Benches evrey now & then, bag hooks ditto, but I didn't notice any trash cans. As this course develops and gets more popular, they'll be needed fer sher.

The signs also have numbers on the back, so no matter which way you approach - and sometimes you have to hunt - you know when you've got the right tee.

Edit: Oh yeah, there's also a practice basket with a putting circle made up of bricks, each one tagged with the distance to the pin. Starts with 5 feet (!) and goes out to 50 in 5-foot increments. Since this practice basket has plenty of room in all directions, it's also great for practicing putting in the breeze, which can kick up a bit.
Cons: The front nine plays in a maze of ten-foot-high pine trees. Most pins cannot be seen from the tee despite short hole lengths. Signage, while pretty, does not always show the correct tee-to-pin distance nor the correct layout of the hole. Maybe the signs were made and then the course redesigned?

The back nine circles the lake and is way more interesting even though it's yet to be finished. Lots of shot variety using landforms, water and vegetation to provide a good variety of play.

Hole #10, though, doesn't seem to fit with the character of the rest of the course. You play nine holes in the pines, none longer than 310 feet, and then explode into what must be a 750-foot expedition that skirts the lake, crosses a line of barrier trees, and then forces you to avoid a small pond (muddy with the drought, but probably a real disc-eater in normal weather) and then shoot to a pin on a ridge. See below for more comments on this hole.
Other Thoughts: All in all I could tell that this course has a lot of potential. The front nine needs some rethinking, imo. The holes seem repetitive and don't present anything new, one to the next, that you haven't seen before. Don't know how feasible this would be but it would be nice to just do away with three or four of these, open up some lanes to give the rest some character, and then take #10 and split it into two or three holes to make up eighteen again.

Edit: Since I'm gonna be a local here how, I'll be playing this course regularly and will update my review as progress is made.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Small town honey hole

1    8/25/2012   8/25/2012
Review By: KCDISCDOG
Played: 43  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very fun technical course front 9.... let'm rip on the back 9.. I could very easily give this course a 4 when its finished. The back 9 has no t-pads yet.. It has nice benches to sit if you feel like viewing the beautiful mid Missouri prarie landscape or take a rest. Yes the cedars can be hard to navigate, but can also be used to your favor.. you don't have to try to bomb it to every pin for a duece stay out of trouble, take the easy route for a 3 and beat the course. Hole 9 was about 400 ft you had to think smart and stay left and the easy putt for a 3 .. Hole 10 things opened up with a 700ft long sweeping right fairway then over a pond to the pin very fun..14 was maybe 300 ft right to the pin over a huge mossy pond I could have played safe to the right down the dam to a tight hole, but manned up and ripped one right at the pin cleared the water and right of the pin missed the duece on a tough putt from behind a tree I was happy with that.. 17 was prolly 250 the basket is sitting in a mound with a back drop, front blocked by cedars, I planted in the mound for a nice 2 :)... Overall a good course..... yeah the front is full of trees that block the basket and view of your disc but they are still planning and letting things grow before they clear out trees that maybe should have been left alone..
Cons: front 9 hard to navigate... only the first time like many places you play the first time..only hard to find your disc hidden in cedars if you throw a bad shot.. back 9 had mulch for pads it was easy to slip, I threw to the side and liked that better..
Other Thoughts: what a great course for a small town, a real honey hole.. great brand new Mach 3 baskets.... was playing with guy that helped on the back 9 and he said they have enough baskets to have 21 holes in the future then a full 18 in the back..... wow that will be fun... still a work in progress. you could see recently cleared brush. brush hogged next to some fairs ways... great work in progress... no heavy traffic to wait and play.... bike paths right next to the Katy trail.... fishing.. and dog park to boot... yeah I will play this course more..

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Needs some work

1    7/6/2012   7/15/2012
Review By: Disc_Legend
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Signs, tees and baskets are in good shape
Cons: You don't even know where the baskets are on the front nine and the back is even worse!

Discs are lost easily so be careful.

You throw blind almost every shot and the course is hard to navigate.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Two thumbs up for Sedalia Park and Recreation!

5+    2/21/2012   2/26/2012
Review By: Archie
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course to practice approach shots. It's a great beginners course which is exactly what Sedalia needs. Signage is good with great tee pads. Baskets are awesome!
Cons: Too many trees. Its a new and growing course and have been told trees have been, and more will be removed as the trees grow more.
Other Thoughts: It is awesome that Sedalia has stepped it up and spent the money to put this great sport in their park system. New baskets have been bought to put in 9 new holes around Clover Dell Lake. This course is really going to step it up with the addition of the new holes. I can't wait to volunteer to help make this happen.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Clover Dell

1    7/13/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: DiscGolfer947
Played: 34  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2011
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1) well maintained
2) nice tee pads and signs
3) easy to navigate
Cons: 1) no real place to open up and rip one
2) trees just get annoying and dont really act as obsticals since they are so short and small
3) very short
Other Thoughts: overall its an okay course. just one of the courses i played on my trip to MO to see family.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Extremely short, but scratches the itch.

1    4/17/2011   5/9/2011
Review By: kcmike
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First, thanks to the Sedalia Parks and Rec for putting up a disc golf course. It's a forward-thinking move in a town with a history of doing otherwise at times. In a town with people who are largely unaware of the sport, this little 9-hole course is a great way to introduce people to the game and develop skills. Clover Dell has the best signage I've seen, (I play mostly in Kansas City). I love the way each sign points you to the next hole from the previous basket. Nice concrete tees.
Cons: Course is extremely short. You can reach most tees with your mid-range discs. Pine trees are so tightly packed that on some holes it is hard to find a line to throw.
Other Thoughts: I would consider myself a beginning-to-intermediate player and easily shot par, something I rarely do. This can be a good thing for beginners, or potentially boring for advanced players.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Cute Little Course

1    12/26/2010   12/26/2010
Review By: kcnickster
Played: 56  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete Tees, good signage, easy to navigate, several good ace runs. Trees are well spaced and make a good practice course for weaving your disc though the trees to up the challenge. No need to bring a lot of disc I played with my ROC.
Cons: A little short and while the trees are plentiful none are very tall so you could easily cheat and throw over them, and make most approaches pretty simple.
Other Thoughts: I played on a very cold morning (21 degrees) in December and found the couse easy enough to play with my gloves on. When I hit the back holes the horses and donkeys came up to the fence and were looking at me like I was crazy. I'm looking forward to playing in better weather and seemed like a nice park and appeared to have plenty of room for a 2nd course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.