Disc Golf Store
Sedalia, MO 
Clover Dell Park Share
Uploaded By: Nivek9 Hole #8 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 306ft.   3 / 306ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Clover dell

2-4    10/6/2012   10/7/2012
Review By: birdman101
Played: 52  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/8/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in the works from what I understand, so expect improvements and changes to be made.

To start 18 holes are in, and the first 9 have concrete tee pads that are ample big enough for the length of the holes.

On holes 1,2, and 4 there are 2 tee pads both concrete. and most of the other holes on the front 9 have a second pin placement.

Tee signs are in place and updated on all 18 holes thanks to the bluebird championship being held out there.

Front 9 and back 9 are almost 2 completely different courses. The front 9 plays through a field full of cedars (almost too many of them, but I was told they plan to remove some in the future once they grow a little more.)
The back 9 plays near over and around the several small lakes which adds a challenge, and a fear factor for some to the course.
Cons: The front 9 seem to be the same shot over and over again. I threw a thumber on at least half of the holes. The distances on the tee signs seemed off to me and several others agreed.

The cedars make it hard to tell where your throwing to, and where the next tee is at, so you may have to do some walking to figure stuff out.

The back 9 currently just has wood chips for tees, and they are rough. (plan is to put in concrete pads in the near future)
Other Thoughts: Hole 10 seems out of place on this course its 700+ feet, and you have to throw over a lake (dried up right now). Most of the other holes are under 400 with the exception of 18 which is a wide open 635' or so, 16 which plays fairly open with the basket tucked into the tree line on the right, and hole 9 which is just over 400 and is open with some cedar trees to make your approach interesting

There is talk of adding 9 more holes in the woods on the other side of the lake.

There were a few benches around, but no trashcans.

this course may not be worth a trip to now, but in the future it may be

There is a dog park that comes into play on hole 1

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Cute Little Course

1    12/26/2010   12/26/2010
Review By: kcnickster
Played: 55  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete Tees, good signage, easy to navigate, several good ace runs. Trees are well spaced and make a good practice course for weaving your disc though the trees to up the challenge. No need to bring a lot of disc I played with my ROC.
Cons: A little short and while the trees are plentiful none are very tall so you could easily cheat and throw over them, and make most approaches pretty simple.
Other Thoughts: I played on a very cold morning (21 degrees) in December and found the couse easy enough to play with my gloves on. When I hit the back holes the horses and donkeys came up to the fence and were looking at me like I was crazy. I'm looking forward to playing in better weather and seemed like a nice park and appeared to have plenty of room for a 2nd course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Eighteen holes and counting

5+    5/6/2012   9/30/2010
Review By: Nivek9
Played: 117  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 26.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2012
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tee pads on the front, Mach III baskets, nice signage and benches. The front nin was designed as an easy course designed for beginners and practice but some holes have been stretched out with alternate pins and three long pads on #1, #2, #4. Signage makes it easy for a first timer to navigate the course. Signage needs to be updated for the new pins. Five of the nine holes have longer alternates.
Cons: The eastern red cedars are bad to get a disc in. They make good obstacles but are unpleasant if you come into contact with them too much.The back nine needs tee boxes and better signage not to mention better mowing and ivy eradication. All of this will come in time.
Other Thoughts: Our goal of getting a beginner course in then expanding to an 18 hole course around the lake for more experienced players has come to pass. More holes are planned for the woods at the back of the course as well.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Take the Kids

2-4    5/6/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: MOchains
Played: 74  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2012
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is much improved from the original layout which hosted a short nine holes which in part make up the front half of the course. This has been changed significantly with new pin placements and alternate pads. The couse has two very distinct styles and feels, and therefore could almost be considered two seperate nine hole courses. 

The front nine is a mix of left and rights of varying length. The evergreens serve as bunkers which trap discs and play visually with depth perception.  Hole one brings the dog park into play and is my personal favorite of the front. 

The back nine are an almost totally different course. Hole 10 is a crusher which plays around or across a large lake. 11-13 play along the lake shore as well as next to walking path which serves as OB. 14 plays across the water and is just a beautiful hole. 15-16 are crusher holes with guarded greens. 17 is a small tunnel which plays to an almost open field with the basket sitting on the side of a steep hill. The tunnel and the elevation change makes his hole interesting. The finishing hole is a long hole which brings the road into play as OB and plays slightly up hill. 
Cons: I know I marked it as a PRO for this course, however the evergreens on the front half of this course make it very difficult to locate discs especially when the disc is inside these trees. This is because all the trees look exactly the same. I know this cannot trully be considered a CON because a designer must work with the canvas given. Keep a good eye on your disc or play with multiple people. The trees give the feeling of deja vu. Not necessarily in regards to shots but in as in "I thought It was next to that tree which just so happens to look like that tree."

The back 9 is still rough and does not yet have concrete pads. Many of the holes on this side are thick with poison ivy and undergrowth. This is simply a matter of time.
Other Thoughts:  Overall I believe this is a much improved course from the original.  The front half of the course does not have any major visual threats from the tee (i.e. OB) however the evergreens can serve difficult to navigate on approach shots. Once these evergreens grow up, thining these out will help with confusion and instead give the course a more "tunneled feel." The back half of this course is the most interesting. With time and some hard work these holes will be much cleaner.  Overall this course has a ton of potential.  It's great to see more and more disc golf courses.  In truth the reviews you read of this course are from an exstict course which no longer exists except as remnants within the current course. Thanks Kevin for all your effort and time.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.