Overland Park, KS 
Blue Valley of Kansas Share
Uploaded By: jbradley266 Hole #14 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 150ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun and easy

1    7/9/2014   7/9/2014
Review By: hnosaj
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix/variety. Hard to loose a disc. Rough was recently cut down.
Cons: A lot of trash today. Tee boxes like everyone else mentioned.
Other Thoughts: Wife loves it and I love tossing midrange discs all over the place. We'll likely be playing this one a lot.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good for a quick round!

1    7/1/2014   7/1/2014
Review By: chaddyboy_2000
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great beginner course as everyone says. It's also still fun for intermediate players, as the course offers a decent mix of open shots, tunnel shots, and shots that require hyzer/anhyzer. So, for a short course with no alternate pins, it actually plays with a decent variety.

Navigating this course is also super easy, as the distance from each pin to the next tee is really short and obvious in almost all cases. The signage is also half way decent, although getting a bit worn and faded.
Cons: No real bomb shots for those that just want to let it rip. It would have been nice to have a couple longer holes, as it's fairly easy to overshoot everything as an intermediate player.

The tee boxes are super vague, just an area of mulch/dirt that is rather large, and likely continually growing as people wear out the area. If you're not taking things seriously, it doesn't matter at all, but I guess I could see it bothering some people.
Other Thoughts: I live within 10 minutes of the course, and it's fun enough to play where I'll be adding it to my course rotation. However, I likely wouldn't go out of my way to play it if it wasn't right here.

Overall, just a decent, quick round of disc golf.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fairly Fun Par 3 Course

1    3/23/2014   3/23/2014
Review By: Sl33pwalkn187
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: All tee pads and baskets are labeled. Every basket is par 3 and under 300 feet. Really great for beginners and a bit challenging for the intermediate players who can throw the long disc.
Cons: Though the baskets and pads may be labeled, there are no maps for the course as I was informed by this website. It is literally next to a school and though it says no alcoholic beverages (obviously people drink) there are 0 trash cans and the course is littered with bottles and cans.
Other Thoughts: Honestly not a bad course. 1st time playing wasn't too bad. there was trash everywhere and with practice basket not labeled was difficult to locate first tee pad but quickly was able to pick up on the flow of the course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Relax and unwind in South OP!

1    9/1/2013   9/18/2013
Review By: jjw4ucm
Played: 23  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 1.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/16/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of fun! A great chance to practice putting or introduce newbies to the game, along with a few technical challenges that keep the course from getting boring.

Navigation is super easy for the most part. The course seems to follow a natural progression first with some very open, clear shots, then into a few elevation changes, into the woods, and then out again.

Baskets are in good condition; while there are no benches, there are rocks at most of the holes where you can take a load off for a bit.

Again, in a very safe neighborhood so you won't have to worry there. I'd stroll through here at 2AM on a Saturday and not worry once for my safety.

Generally, this course isn't overly crowded, although it seems the word is getting out a bit.

Course is always maintained and mowed very well. There are multiple trash cans around for all your rubbish needs.

The course is very easy to get to, and plays fairly fast. A great place to squeeze in a quick round if you're running short on time.

While I realize the designer didn't have a ton to work with, they really used it well, incorporating the various woods, hills, and general lay of the land into a very contiguous course layout that just makes sense in general and is a blast to play, in my opinion.
Cons: As of November, the mulch tees are definitely eroding and need to be re-done.

No benches or bag hangers; signs just give you the number of the hole, without an idea of the layout or where the next hole is. This isn't a huge issue since navigation is so easy, however.

Some of the holes can get a bit repetitive, especially from 15-18. There's different obstacles in there, but it feels like the same basic throw over and over again. 4 basically has zero obstacles and is just a straight shot at the basket.

Some of the shots (1, 16-18) play very close to either Antioch Road or 164th Street. Not a big deal, but I think it breaks up the ambiance of the game.

Be careful of the barbed wire fence near 13-14! Since this used to be farmland I'm sure that's been there for decades. I guess they just decided not to tear it out when they built it.

This is a really fun little course in great shape, but after playing some of the other courses in the area, I just can't in good conscience rate it as highly as our other courses. That doesn't mean I don't like it! Just that I think there's better, but this is still a worthwhile play if you're in the area.
Other Thoughts: If you're visiting KC, like Legacy Park over in Lee's Summit, this one is way out in the suburbs, on the far south edge of the metro. I love the course, but I don't know that I'd make a special trip all the way out here with so many other options in town.

Initially, I rated this course a 4; after playing several more courses, I've revised it to a 3. I still have a soft spot for this course and absolutely love playing it! It's still a great place to introduce someone to the game and a lot of fun. However, if you're looking for a truly excellent course on the Kansas side, I would probably recommend Lakeside Hills in Olathe, or even Wyandotte County Park in Bonner Springs. Both are significantly tougher (and Lakeside is still a bit rough around the edges), but they have the scenery, diversity, and layout to impress in my opinion. Still definitely a good course and a lot of fun for a beginner course.

The course isn't overly well marked; when you pass Blue Valley West High, it's the next right, towards the middle school and near the track. There's a large parking lot there for your parking pleasure.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Beginner Course

1    6/8/2013   6/9/2013
Review By: coopera
Played: 72  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for putter practice or for taking beginners or children to play. There are a lot of open shots that are friendly and also some more 'technical' holes to challenge.

Tall grass is interesting and could be fun for experience players to play as OB.
Cons: Tall grass could be frustrating for newer players who will find it more frequently. It is also a home for ticks, which are prevalent.
Other Thoughts: This is a solid 'short' or 'beginner' course. Don't expect to go out and see the best course in the world but there are many courses which are 'harder' that are no where near as well thought out or designed.

This could also be fun to play some safari on as the main section of the course has 5 or 6 baskets visible and others that aren't too far away.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Definately a beginner course.

5+    8/2/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: austinpetz
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 44.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short Holes (perfect for mid range practice)

Plenty of elevation change from tee to basket.

About 9 shots into or through the woods.

Holes are close together.

Practice Basket near the parking lot.

Great beginner course.
Cons: First tee is a bit far from the parking lot.

No long distances.

Mowed down.
Other Thoughts: This course used to be great. Each hole had tall grass (3 ft high) surrounding the fairway. It made it look like an actual course. However, now they've mowed all the tall grass down, and all the out-of-the-woods holes are just open.

However, because of this, this course has become an excellent beginner course. Newbies should have a much easier time finding their discs when they throw them far right or left.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ideal Beginner Course

5+    8/4/2012   8/5/2012
Review By: bigreddog
Played: 55  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of openness on holes. First few and last few (minus 18) are pretty open while there are a moderate amount of obstacles on several holes, and a few that are pretty heavily wooded. 10/10

There isn't very much elevation present, but what there is is used well. 6/10

Wooded on some holes, but not much chance to actually lose a disc except maybe hole 5 and 8. 9/10

It's short, which may be a con for some, but it's great for beginners or to practice midrange shots for more advanced players. I've been playing about six months and I just used it to practice with a new midrange. This makes it pretty good at having something for all skill levels 6/10

Holes require many different shots (some right to left, some left to right, some low etc.) 10/10

Regularly mowed. Most holes (the non-wooded ones) do have a fairway that is shorter than rough and signs on every hole giving distance. 8/10 overall on course maintenance due to issues described in cons.

The mowing pattern makes navigation between holes a breeze because all you have to do is follow the shorter grass. After hole 7 is the only tricky spot I remember, just walk back toward the tee and go right once you're out of the woods the basket is in. 9/10

Because the holes are pretty short it's easy to tell where they go. The only minor problem is that baskets 2 and 17's baskets are close together, but it's still easy to tell since once you get to 17 you've already played 2. 10/10

Benches on most holes and quite a bit of shade. Even though there's no running water (unless you can go in the school) it's still a pretty comfortable round. 7/10.

Tees are mulch and several of them have eroded a little but some are still in good condition. 4/10
Baskets are fine 8/10
Cons: Some of the trees seem to have grown larger and more restricting than originally intended (holes 11 and 13) but it's not too bad. Be careful with thorns if you do throw it in the trees.

No alternate baskets makes it get repetitive to play multiple times. 0/10

Most holes are about the same length. 2/10

Most holes are pretty straightforward, there are only a few with multiple ways to play them successfully (9, 10, 13, and 18 come to mind as exceptions). 3/10

I've only played it during the summer, but during the school year there might be PE classes in the way or something
Other Thoughts: No alternate hole positions makes the course get a little boring after playing it a few times, but since it's only really meant to be a practice course or a course to learn the game it's okay.

If you live anywhere within 20 minutes and are looking for a good course to bring a friend the first time, look no further. The first few holes are the easiest stretch and help the player ease into the round, which is great if they've never played or are still figuring it out. Hole 11 is definitely the hardest hole on the course. Hole 7 is my favorite hole (even though hole 4 was my first and only ace). with two archways, one just in front of the tee, and the other just before the hole. By far the best course I've ever played at a school (out of 3).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Mid- Putter course

1    6/24/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: Shimmie
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was well maintain, Good baskets and had tee signs. Good mixture of wide open to very wooded holes. Good changes and use of elevation. I really liked the challenges on several of the holes as it really required some precision to avoid a bogey.
Cons: Very short, especially many of the wide open holes where the only obstacle was elevation so the lack of distance made it too simple. Tee pads are worn so they are not even, but that is not as important since the course is short.
Other Thoughts: I will defintely take friends that are just starting or group of Jr's. Also a great course if you are looking to work on driving your putter and up shots.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Small fun course

2-4    5/23/2012   5/23/2012
Review By: prhodes
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate, at first looking at a map I was worried it might be a little difficult, but when I arrived at the course I realized that there was tall grass all around, and the holes were all cut down to normal size. This also made the course look really nice and neat.
Good mix of holes, there was a good mix of more open holes, and short technical holes throuh the woods.
well kept, I'm assuming the school grounds crew are the people responsible for this, and they do a good job. There was someone mowing this morning.
Cons: Mulch tee pads, seems like they are starting to erode, leaving a few uneven surfaces.
Throughout the woods thorns can be found, be careful of this when going to retrieve a disc.
Other Thoughts: Most of the holes on this course are fairly short, which can be a pro and a con. Overall a great beginner course, my personal favorite.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not like the "other" Blue Valley

1    11/6/2011   11/7/2011
Review By: cydisc
Played: 170  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 18.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - New equipment
- Stone benches
- Some decent shots
Cons: - Lots of similar distance holes
- A lot of the course is pretty wide open
- Uneven teeing surface
Other Thoughts: It's 18 holes on a large middle school campus. Nothing is over 250 feet, so it's nothing like the other Blue Valley course on the east side of KC. Signs are DGA-style metal signs with minimal information. Tees are a mulch material that erodes quickly with use. The first 3-4 holes are essentially the same distance and fairly wide open, but obstacles are gradually introduced as you make your way around the course.

Probably designed for the novice middle school player, so it suits its purpose in that way. First few holes are wide open and around 200' long. You're not required to actually shape a shot until mid-way through the front 9. Approximately half the course features trees to throw around, over or through, but the most prevalent shot is wide open and 200' to 230'. Experienced players will probably tire of it, except as practice for upshots and wind putting.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.