Overland Park, KS 
Blue Valley of Kansas Share
Uploaded By: jbradley266 Hole #14 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 150ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun and easy

1    7/9/2014   7/9/2014
Review By: hnosaj
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix/variety. Hard to loose a disc. Rough was recently cut down.
Cons: A lot of trash today. Tee boxes like everyone else mentioned.
Other Thoughts: Wife loves it and I love tossing midrange discs all over the place. We'll likely be playing this one a lot.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good for a quick round!

1    7/1/2014   7/1/2014
Review By: chaddyboy_2000
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great beginner course as everyone says. It's also still fun for intermediate players, as the course offers a decent mix of open shots, tunnel shots, and shots that require hyzer/anhyzer. So, for a short course with no alternate pins, it actually plays with a decent variety.

Navigating this course is also super easy, as the distance from each pin to the next tee is really short and obvious in almost all cases. The signage is also half way decent, although getting a bit worn and faded.
Cons: No real bomb shots for those that just want to let it rip. It would have been nice to have a couple longer holes, as it's fairly easy to overshoot everything as an intermediate player.

The tee boxes are super vague, just an area of mulch/dirt that is rather large, and likely continually growing as people wear out the area. If you're not taking things seriously, it doesn't matter at all, but I guess I could see it bothering some people.
Other Thoughts: I live within 10 minutes of the course, and it's fun enough to play where I'll be adding it to my course rotation. However, I likely wouldn't go out of my way to play it if it wasn't right here.

Overall, just a decent, quick round of disc golf.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course But un-mowed

5+    5/22/2014   5/23/2014
Review By: raiders24182
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Hole in one opportunity on every hole.
Great Beginner course but offers enough of a challenge to bring experienced players back
Cons: Hasnt been mowed recently.
TICKS GALORE
Other Thoughts: I HATE TICKS.
PLEASE MOW THE COURSE 1 time a week.

I called blue valley district school and found out that the grass is scheduled to be mowed on 5/24 in the morning.

Here is the phone number any time someone has a problem with the grass. 913-239-4121

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Blue Valley of Kansas

2-4    5/17/2014   5/18/2014
Review By: Jayhawker10
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.6 Years
Pros: Being a newer member of the sport, I can honestly say that this is a good course for novices. The course plays more on the shorter side which allows players to more easily play, especially for those who can't throw the typcial "bombs".

- Quick course to play and can be played in under an hour if you are by yourself.
- Easy to navigate and holes are very close to each other.
-Good mix of open holes as well as wooded or holes with obstacles.
- As stated, great course for novices.
- Hard to lose discs on this course.
- Well maintained with the exception of some of the tee boxes.
Cons: - Tee boxes made of mulch so they are starting to erode.
- In the woods, there is an old barb wire fence. Watch out.
Other Thoughts: Many people on this website are not huge fans of this course but being that I am between of a novice to intermediate skill level and still learning my form, it is a great place for me to visit. Will be bringing my buddies here and will be back again in the near future.

Fairly Fun Par 3 Course

1    3/23/2014   3/23/2014
Review By: Sl33pwalkn187
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: All tee pads and baskets are labeled. Every basket is par 3 and under 300 feet. Really great for beginners and a bit challenging for the intermediate players who can throw the long disc.
Cons: Though the baskets and pads may be labeled, there are no maps for the course as I was informed by this website. It is literally next to a school and though it says no alcoholic beverages (obviously people drink) there are 0 trash cans and the course is littered with bottles and cans.
Other Thoughts: Honestly not a bad course. 1st time playing wasn't too bad. there was trash everywhere and with practice basket not labeled was difficult to locate first tee pad but quickly was able to pick up on the flow of the course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Will be going back!

1    11/30/2013   11/30/2013
Review By: finchd4
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of technical shots needed for this course. I went just under par, but should really be getting a birdie every hole. The difference from a deuce and par here is most definitely how you make your first shot count. Short enough for beginners to gain confidence and a great range of shots.
Cons: There are no holes over 300'. Not that I am partial to it, but ever now and then a grip it and rip it is nice. Other than that, nothing is wrong with the course. Although holes are short, and no really hidden baskets, the tee signs are there, but lacking in detail of the layout.
Other Thoughts: Only has wood chip tee pads, but this works as I don't need to run up to throw it to the basket. All but two holes I tee'd with my PIG and never used anything over the range of a buzz/drone. Wooded enough to teach control of shots, but not to easily lose your disc. No other hazards other than potential OB in a road. GREAT learner and technical skills course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Relax and unwind in South OP!

1    9/1/2013   9/18/2013
Review By: jjw4ucm
Played: 23  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 1.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/16/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of fun! A great chance to practice putting or introduce newbies to the game, along with a few technical challenges that keep the course from getting boring.

Navigation is super easy for the most part. The course seems to follow a natural progression first with some very open, clear shots, then into a few elevation changes, into the woods, and then out again.

Baskets are in good condition; while there are no benches, there are rocks at most of the holes where you can take a load off for a bit.

Again, in a very safe neighborhood so you won't have to worry there. I'd stroll through here at 2AM on a Saturday and not worry once for my safety.

Generally, this course isn't overly crowded, although it seems the word is getting out a bit.

Course is always maintained and mowed very well. There are multiple trash cans around for all your rubbish needs.

The course is very easy to get to, and plays fairly fast. A great place to squeeze in a quick round if you're running short on time.

While I realize the designer didn't have a ton to work with, they really used it well, incorporating the various woods, hills, and general lay of the land into a very contiguous course layout that just makes sense in general and is a blast to play, in my opinion.
Cons: As of November, the mulch tees are definitely eroding and need to be re-done.

No benches or bag hangers; signs just give you the number of the hole, without an idea of the layout or where the next hole is. This isn't a huge issue since navigation is so easy, however.

Some of the holes can get a bit repetitive, especially from 15-18. There's different obstacles in there, but it feels like the same basic throw over and over again. 4 basically has zero obstacles and is just a straight shot at the basket.

Some of the shots (1, 16-18) play very close to either Antioch Road or 164th Street. Not a big deal, but I think it breaks up the ambiance of the game.

Be careful of the barbed wire fence near 13-14! Since this used to be farmland I'm sure that's been there for decades. I guess they just decided not to tear it out when they built it.

This is a really fun little course in great shape, but after playing some of the other courses in the area, I just can't in good conscience rate it as highly as our other courses. That doesn't mean I don't like it! Just that I think there's better, but this is still a worthwhile play if you're in the area.
Other Thoughts: If you're visiting KC, like Legacy Park over in Lee's Summit, this one is way out in the suburbs, on the far south edge of the metro. I love the course, but I don't know that I'd make a special trip all the way out here with so many other options in town.

Initially, I rated this course a 4; after playing several more courses, I've revised it to a 3. I still have a soft spot for this course and absolutely love playing it! It's still a great place to introduce someone to the game and a lot of fun. However, if you're looking for a truly excellent course on the Kansas side, I would probably recommend Lakeside Hills in Olathe, or even Wyandotte County Park in Bonner Springs. Both are significantly tougher (and Lakeside is still a bit rough around the edges), but they have the scenery, diversity, and layout to impress in my opinion. Still definitely a good course and a lot of fun for a beginner course.

The course isn't overly well marked; when you pass Blue Valley West High, it's the next right, towards the middle school and near the track. There's a large parking lot there for your parking pleasure.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Beginner Course

1    6/8/2013   6/9/2013
Review By: coopera
Played: 72  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for putter practice or for taking beginners or children to play. There are a lot of open shots that are friendly and also some more 'technical' holes to challenge.

Tall grass is interesting and could be fun for experience players to play as OB.
Cons: Tall grass could be frustrating for newer players who will find it more frequently. It is also a home for ticks, which are prevalent.
Other Thoughts: This is a solid 'short' or 'beginner' course. Don't expect to go out and see the best course in the world but there are many courses which are 'harder' that are no where near as well thought out or designed.

This could also be fun to play some safari on as the main section of the course has 5 or 6 baskets visible and others that aren't too far away.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Definately a beginner course.

5+    8/2/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: austinpetz
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 44.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short Holes (perfect for mid range practice)

Plenty of elevation change from tee to basket.

About 9 shots into or through the woods.

Holes are close together.

Practice Basket near the parking lot.

Great beginner course.
Cons: First tee is a bit far from the parking lot.

No long distances.

Mowed down.
Other Thoughts: This course used to be great. Each hole had tall grass (3 ft high) surrounding the fairway. It made it look like an actual course. However, now they've mowed all the tall grass down, and all the out-of-the-woods holes are just open.

However, because of this, this course has become an excellent beginner course. Newbies should have a much easier time finding their discs when they throw them far right or left.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ideal Beginner Course

5+    8/4/2012   8/5/2012
Review By: bigreddog
Played: 57  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of openness on holes. First few and last few (minus 18) are pretty open while there are a moderate amount of obstacles on several holes, and a few that are pretty heavily wooded. 10/10

There isn't very much elevation present, but what there is is used well. 6/10

Wooded on some holes, but not much chance to actually lose a disc except maybe hole 5 and 8. 9/10

It's short, which may be a con for some, but it's great for beginners or to practice midrange shots for more advanced players. I've been playing about six months and I just used it to practice with a new midrange. This makes it pretty good at having something for all skill levels 6/10

Holes require many different shots (some right to left, some left to right, some low etc.) 10/10

Regularly mowed. Most holes (the non-wooded ones) do have a fairway that is shorter than rough and signs on every hole giving distance. 8/10 overall on course maintenance due to issues described in cons.

The mowing pattern makes navigation between holes a breeze because all you have to do is follow the shorter grass. After hole 7 is the only tricky spot I remember, just walk back toward the tee and go right once you're out of the woods the basket is in. 9/10

Because the holes are pretty short it's easy to tell where they go. The only minor problem is that baskets 2 and 17's baskets are close together, but it's still easy to tell since once you get to 17 you've already played 2. 10/10

Benches on most holes and quite a bit of shade. Even though there's no running water (unless you can go in the school) it's still a pretty comfortable round. 7/10.

Tees are mulch and several of them have eroded a little but some are still in good condition. 4/10
Baskets are fine 8/10
Cons: Some of the trees seem to have grown larger and more restricting than originally intended (holes 11 and 13) but it's not too bad. Be careful with thorns if you do throw it in the trees.

No alternate baskets makes it get repetitive to play multiple times. 0/10

Most holes are about the same length. 2/10

Most holes are pretty straightforward, there are only a few with multiple ways to play them successfully (9, 10, 13, and 18 come to mind as exceptions). 3/10

I've only played it during the summer, but during the school year there might be PE classes in the way or something
Other Thoughts: No alternate hole positions makes the course get a little boring after playing it a few times, but since it's only really meant to be a practice course or a course to learn the game it's okay.

If you live anywhere within 20 minutes and are looking for a good course to bring a friend the first time, look no further. The first few holes are the easiest stretch and help the player ease into the round, which is great if they've never played or are still figuring it out. Hole 11 is definitely the hardest hole on the course. Hole 7 is my favorite hole (even though hole 4 was my first and only ace). with two archways, one just in front of the tee, and the other just before the hole. By far the best course I've ever played at a school (out of 3).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.