Overland Park, KS 
Blue Valley of Kansas Share
Uploaded By: jbradley266 Hole #18 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
OK Course

1    2/18/2017   2/18/2017
Review By: SirDreward
Played: 35  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 7.6 Years
Pros: - Well kept baskets
- Rocks at the "tee pads" to sit stuff our yourself on
- Some baskets have trash cans
- Fairly easily to navigate
- In an overall nice area
- Fairly hard to lose a disc
Cons: - Signage on the course not all that helpful
- Tee pads consist of washed out dirt
Other Thoughts: A good course for beginners. An OK course that could be a good course with a little polish.

Needs TLC

5+    7/1/2016   7/2/2016
Review By: Noven
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short, quick course. Mix of open holes and trees.
Cons: This course needs some serious care. All of the signs are either broken or pulled out of the ground laying down. There are no markers for some tees and the mulch tees are horrible. Some are just little rivets in the ground that aren't safe. It's quite obvious no one has maintained this course in years.
Other Thoughts: A shame no one has touched this course in years. Could be a nice little course with proper maintenance.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun simple course

1    6/18/2015   6/20/2015
Review By: luchalibrarian
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to follow course layout.
Short and good for beginners or those wanting quick play.
Nice location outside of town, quiet and relaxing.
Mowed fairways and quite clean.
Cons: Wide open areas had no shade.
Some holes are very close to the road, if you're not paying attention to traffic you could hit a car or get a disc run over, especially those of us who are novice players.
While the fairways were mowed, there was a lot of rough, and I saw no reason it should not have been mowed (though it could have been due to recent rains, as a few areas were "swampy"). I lost two discs and had to cut my run short. One completely disappeared and another I could see but not get to. If mowing had been complete this wouldn't have been a problem.
Other Thoughts: If I make it back to the Kansas City area I definitely want to play this course again!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good for practice

5+    10/3/2014   10/3/2014
Review By: akray21
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.8 Years
Pros: - This is a great course when you have a spare 45 minutes to play.
- Great course to practice short mid rage/ approach shots.
- There are some real technical shots on some holes that help you build your game.
- Very little time looking for discs.
Cons: - No real tee pads. They tried to put in mulch tee pads, but they are always worn out and almost unplayable. I usually just throw next to, or behind the actual tee box.
- No opportunity to pull out a driver (or even a fairway).
Other Thoughts: - I love playing this course when I only have about an hour to play, or when I want to practice shorter shots.

 Fun and easy

1    7/9/2014   7/9/2014
Review By: hnosaj
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix/variety. Hard to loose a disc. Rough was recently cut down.
Cons: A lot of trash today. Tee boxes like everyone else mentioned.
Other Thoughts: Wife loves it and I love tossing midrange discs all over the place. We'll likely be playing this one a lot.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good for a quick round!

1    7/1/2014   7/1/2014
Review By: chaddyboy_2000
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great beginner course as everyone says. It's also still fun for intermediate players, as the course offers a decent mix of open shots, tunnel shots, and shots that require hyzer/anhyzer. So, for a short course with no alternate pins, it actually plays with a decent variety.

Navigating this course is also super easy, as the distance from each pin to the next tee is really short and obvious in almost all cases. The signage is also half way decent, although getting a bit worn and faded.
Cons: No real bomb shots for those that just want to let it rip. It would have been nice to have a couple longer holes, as it's fairly easy to overshoot everything as an intermediate player.

The tee boxes are super vague, just an area of mulch/dirt that is rather large, and likely continually growing as people wear out the area. If you're not taking things seriously, it doesn't matter at all, but I guess I could see it bothering some people.
Other Thoughts: I live within 10 minutes of the course, and it's fun enough to play where I'll be adding it to my course rotation. However, I likely wouldn't go out of my way to play it if it wasn't right here.

Overall, just a decent, quick round of disc golf.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course But un-mowed

5+    5/22/2014   5/23/2014
Review By: raiders24182
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Hole in one opportunity on every hole.
Great Beginner course but offers enough of a challenge to bring experienced players back
Cons: Hasnt been mowed recently.
TICKS GALORE
Other Thoughts: I HATE TICKS.
PLEASE MOW THE COURSE 1 time a week.

I called blue valley district school and found out that the grass is scheduled to be mowed on 5/24 in the morning.

Here is the phone number any time someone has a problem with the grass. 913-239-4121

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Blue Valley of Kansas

2-4    5/17/2014   5/18/2014
Review By: Jayhawker10
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3 Years
Pros: Being a newer member of the sport, I can honestly say that this is a good course for novices. The course plays more on the shorter side which allows players to more easily play, especially for those who can't throw the typcial "bombs".

- Quick course to play and can be played in under an hour if you are by yourself.
- Easy to navigate and holes are very close to each other.
-Good mix of open holes as well as wooded or holes with obstacles.
- As stated, great course for novices.
- Hard to lose discs on this course.
- Well maintained with the exception of some of the tee boxes.
Cons: - Tee boxes made of mulch so they are starting to erode.
- In the woods, there is an old barb wire fence. Watch out.
Other Thoughts: Many people on this website are not huge fans of this course but being that I am between of a novice to intermediate skill level and still learning my form, it is a great place for me to visit. Will be bringing my buddies here and will be back again in the near future.

 Fairly Fun Par 3 Course

1    3/23/2014   3/23/2014
Review By: Sl33pwalkn187
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: All tee pads and baskets are labeled. Every basket is par 3 and under 300 feet. Really great for beginners and a bit challenging for the intermediate players who can throw the long disc.
Cons: Though the baskets and pads may be labeled, there are no maps for the course as I was informed by this website. It is literally next to a school and though it says no alcoholic beverages (obviously people drink) there are 0 trash cans and the course is littered with bottles and cans.
Other Thoughts: Honestly not a bad course. 1st time playing wasn't too bad. there was trash everywhere and with practice basket not labeled was difficult to locate first tee pad but quickly was able to pick up on the flow of the course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Will be going back!

1    11/30/2013   11/30/2013
Review By: finchd4
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of technical shots needed for this course. I went just under par, but should really be getting a birdie every hole. The difference from a deuce and par here is most definitely how you make your first shot count. Short enough for beginners to gain confidence and a great range of shots.
Cons: There are no holes over 300'. Not that I am partial to it, but ever now and then a grip it and rip it is nice. Other than that, nothing is wrong with the course. Although holes are short, and no really hidden baskets, the tee signs are there, but lacking in detail of the layout.
Other Thoughts: Only has wood chip tee pads, but this works as I don't need to run up to throw it to the basket. All but two holes I tee'd with my PIG and never used anything over the range of a buzz/drone. Wooded enough to teach control of shots, but not to easily lose your disc. No other hazards other than potential OB in a road. GREAT learner and technical skills course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.