Disc Golf Store
Overland Park, KS 
Blue Valley of Kansas Share
Uploaded By: jbradley266 Hole #18 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Good, Short course

5+    3/15/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: DGCakes
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good for beginners
Lots of Birdie opportunities
Hard to lose discs
Quick round
Cons: On a HS campus, avoiding students a lot
Too short
Small hole variations
Quick round
Other Thoughts: If you want to learn the basics and get better at them then this is a good course at which to do this. If you're anything above a beginner, this won't be too great a course to play. But you can play 18 holes twice in about 2 hours

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mid- Putter course

1    6/24/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: Shimmie
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was well maintain, Good baskets and had tee signs. Good mixture of wide open to very wooded holes. Good changes and use of elevation. I really liked the challenges on several of the holes as it really required some precision to avoid a bogey.
Cons: Very short, especially many of the wide open holes where the only obstacle was elevation so the lack of distance made it too simple. Tee pads are worn so they are not even, but that is not as important since the course is short.
Other Thoughts: I will defintely take friends that are just starting or group of Jr's. Also a great course if you are looking to work on driving your putter and up shots.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Small fun course

2-4    5/23/2012   5/23/2012
Review By: prhodes
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate, at first looking at a map I was worried it might be a little difficult, but when I arrived at the course I realized that there was tall grass all around, and the holes were all cut down to normal size. This also made the course look really nice and neat.
Good mix of holes, there was a good mix of more open holes, and short technical holes throuh the woods.
well kept, I'm assuming the school grounds crew are the people responsible for this, and they do a good job. There was someone mowing this morning.
Cons: Mulch tee pads, seems like they are starting to erode, leaving a few uneven surfaces.
Throughout the woods thorns can be found, be careful of this when going to retrieve a disc.
Other Thoughts: Most of the holes on this course are fairly short, which can be a pro and a con. Overall a great beginner course, my personal favorite.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not like the "other" Blue Valley

1    11/6/2011   11/7/2011
Review By: cydisc
Played: 170  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 18.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - New equipment
- Stone benches
- Some decent shots
Cons: - Lots of similar distance holes
- A lot of the course is pretty wide open
- Uneven teeing surface
Other Thoughts: It's 18 holes on a large middle school campus. Nothing is over 250 feet, so it's nothing like the other Blue Valley course on the east side of KC. Signs are DGA-style metal signs with minimal information. Tees are a mulch material that erodes quickly with use. The first 3-4 holes are essentially the same distance and fairly wide open, but obstacles are gradually introduced as you make your way around the course.

Probably designed for the novice middle school player, so it suits its purpose in that way. First few holes are wide open and around 200' long. You're not required to actually shape a shot until mid-way through the front 9. Approximately half the course features trees to throw around, over or through, but the most prevalent shot is wide open and 200' to 230'. Experienced players will probably tire of it, except as practice for upshots and wind putting.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Beginner Course

1    7/17/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: jace
Played: 42  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very well laid out short course with lots of ace runs! There is a good variety of shots, but keep in mind it's a short course and does not favor big arm players.

Very well cared for - assuming by the school maintenance staff. Rock benches and trash cans scattered throughout - made for an immaculately clean round of DG - I hope it stays this way!

Good signage - easy to navigate!
Cons: It's a short course for experienced players! My suggestion is to leave your drivers at home and play it as a technical approach course if you are used to 300' + holes. there is no need for a driver on this course!

Mulch tee pads appear to get washed out a bit. this course would benefit from small concrete tee pads - we're not preserving a wilderness with this course.....might as well make it maintenance free as possible for long term use.

Other Thoughts: This is definately a quick play course with opportunity to hit multiple dueces...ace runs for you really experienced cats!

Worth the drive for a 1 hour play if you are in the area and short on time. It's definately the best course I have played that is on school property.

No restrooms

Parking is directly adjacent to tee box #1

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not good, not bad...

1    5/1/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: kguyty
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is great for beginners. I have only been playing for 8/9 months, and this course was very friendly with regard to that. Lots of short holes, not many technical shots are required. You can play this course very quickly. Very ace-able/birdie-able holes. I had three birdies and made par on the rest. Holes 7 and 13 are okay. Tees and baskets are in very good shape.
Cons: Very, very short holes. The longest hole is 270(ish) feet. Like all the courses in KC, I am happy to have this course. Intermediate and Pros would not enjoy this course as it is very short and wide open (for the most part). It is also very far south (and I drove from Olathe).
Other Thoughts: Really, a decent course for beginners. There are not very many interesting holes. I do not think I will venture that far south to play it again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/6/2011   1/10/2011
Review By: Timmylom
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/12/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very cleanly and concisely marked. Course is short but challenging enough for newer players. Every tee is marked with distance and every basket is marked with hole number.
Cons: Its short for bigger drive players. Tee boxes are wood chips and are starting to get unevenly filled creating potential tripping hazards.
Other Thoughts: This is a Great course for newer players. They use the land brilliantly with plenty of elevation change. Very clean course. Alot of fun

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Middle School Course

5+    11/24/2010   11/25/2010
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 47  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Incredibly well kept course.
Easy to follow.
Good tee signs with hole number and distance.
Good for work on short game.
Baskets are in excellent shape.
Good mix of wide open and narrow holes.
Cons: A bit of a drive for most of the residents of Kansas City. It is out near 167th and Antioch.
Not a good course to bring long range discs, as a fairway driver is the absolute most you would need.

Other Thoughts: Even though it is a drive, it is worth it. Go there with a group of friends of any skill level and you will enjoy it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great for the drive of good

2-4    10/15/2010   10/17/2010
Review By: kcplease
Played: 99  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/4/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Short, every hole wazs within range of a mid or putter
-well wooded, uses the land brilliantly
-extremely well groomed
-newish baskets
Cons: -on a school...
-too short for bigger arms
Other Thoughts: I had a considerable drive to this course and it was great. I really recomment going, and trying twice in one day to lower scores and ace.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent starter course

2-4    9/23/2010   10/5/2010
Review By: Magnatizer
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 25.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes, very easy to navigate. Clean and well kept. Very easy for my 4 year old to tag along and play. Getting him very interested in the game. Would make an excellent ace race course.
Cons: mulch tee pads, some serious thorns at the edge of the woods
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses I've seen for showing kids the game. My 4 year old is a tough sell on anything that takes longer than 15 minutes or doesn't involve his bike. With this course he can see the entire hole and the next tee. He knows there's another hole coming and it really helps keep him engaged.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.