Peabody, KS
Peabody City Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #8 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 309ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice Course

1    8/31/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: A_nonomys
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
Pros: Course is in a small town and has very little traffic. The grass is usually kept at a reasonable height and Tee areas are clearly marked. It is a very nice park and is well maintained by the local players. There are a couple challenging holes due to trees but overall very enjoyable for both beginners and regulars.
Cons: Course is very short and does not have any holes that are extremely long or challenging. If you are a beginner then this is probably up your alley, otherwise course play will be jus a "walk in the park", but at least it is a nice park.
Other Thoughts: If you happen to be in the area, I would recommend stopping in and throwing a round. Park can be on the way from Wichita to Emporia, so would be an awesome warm up if you are headed either direction.

Designed the course and finally played it.

1    8/6/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: DD-Smitty
Played: 95  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great baskets and lots of trees! Shade will be plenty on a hot summer day.
Cons: To many left holes! Holes 2, 4, 6, 7 all favor the lefty. With that said 1, 3, 8 all favor a right. So maybe it is about right.

The tees are dirt and some of the teeing area are cramped by the trees.
Other Thoughts: If I could go back in a tweak a few things I would vary the length a little more.

Hole 1 is a great starting hole.
I would like to turn hole 2 into a 2 shot hole. Moving the basket longer and to the left.
Wouldn't change 3.
Hole 4 I would move the basket farther right and closer to the creek.
Hole 5 needs to be longer.
Hole 6 is fine.
Hole 7 much longer! The green and fairway are great. Problem is that people can't reach it. So they drive a lay-up. Taking the challenge of the green out of the equation.
Hole 8 and 9 are both fine.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    12/16/2010   12/16/2010
Review By: frisbee finn
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I like this spot cause its 6 blocks from my house. Many angles to play a hole. Good beginners course
Cons: No maps or distance on the holes
Other Thoughts: This course is a good quick course to play with an option of playing a back 9. Come play I will meet u down there.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course

1    11/7/2010   11/7/2010
Review By: breaking the chains
Played: 230  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located in a nice, quiet park and is great for beginning to intermediate players. The layout is good and fairly easy to follow, allowing for quick play. Unlike many small town parks, the holes are not on top of each other. There is a good mixture of short and long holes, with trees being a factor on virtually every hole. Some holes were tunnel shots, while others seemed to favor left handed throwers. In any case, these challenges added to the fun factor of the course.
Cons: Tee boxes would be a nice addition to the course, as would signs indicating the distance for each hole. On a few holes, the tee marker (a pole in the ground) was very close to a tree. This didn't allow for much room so be careful you don't hit your hand on the pole with your follow through. If the park were busy, watching out for pedestrians would be a concern. In fact, there are some park benches directly in the flight path on some holes. Outside of one hole that has a slight incline, there was very little change in elevation.
Other Thoughts: If you were in the area and had time to play a quick round, I would definitely recommend this course. It is a good course to work on some technical shots and could be great for some safari golf. In addition, the locals I encountered in the park were very friendly and inquisitive about the sport. I will definitely play this course again the next time I go through Peabody.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.