Canton, MI 
Freedom Park Share
Uploaded By: taboo8614 Hole #7 (Taken 8/2009)
4 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
french fries? NO, freedom fries!

1    11/5/2013   11/5/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.5 Years
Pros: Aesthetic-- plays through a small park in the suburbs. areas are NOT disc golf exclusive and there is a walking/biking/running path that intersects several times. be careful!

Teepads-- nice, concrete. was not expecting concrete at a 9 hole course but hey, it was a pleasant surprise!

Challenge/variety-- decent variety here. lefts and rights are nicely balanced with a couple straight shots. Narrow tight lanes abound here.
Cons: Routing and nav-- the maps provided on here are not good. very hard to follow them and the routing here is abysmal.

Signage-- the routing wouldn't be as awful if the signage was in place. I found 2 or 3 actual signs throughout the park... I hate when signs are missing and you're guessing where to throw.

Baskets-- remind me of cass benton. they are rough and spray painted... Much like the signage they are not taken care of by anyone.
Other Thoughts: decent park, reasonable course just not spectacular by any means.

Don't go out of your way

5+    5/7/2013   5/14/2013
Review By: leindecjoeld
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Cement Tee Pads
-Easy to follow layout
-Good use of small area
Cons: -Always busy
-Little variety
-Course floods in spring
-No real challenge to the course (all holes are less than 300 ft.)
-Holes throw close to walking paths/people will just walk through fairways.
Other Thoughts: If you live in the area this course can serve as a quick practice course. The course is short, and it plays very fast... provided there is not a line at the tees. I have been stuck waiting for 4-5 groups to play through at holes. Every time I have been here the course has been busy.

In the spring the course floods quite a bit. This flooding completely covers the tee pad for hole two, and in makes the wooded holes (5-9) muddy. This mud combined with the heavy foot traffic makes a mess of the fairways and walking paths.

This course is not all bad. I will use this course to work on my putting game. It is a nice change of pace to be able to play an entire course with a putter, and this course absolutely allows one to do this. If you have a little free time and you live in the area this course can give you a good warm up or some nice practice on your putting/ mid-range game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Swampy Neighborhood Course

2-4    8/1/2010   9/17/2010
Review By: Aceswild
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 23.2 Years
Pros: Some great ace opportunities exist in what will surely be a quick round for any and all who play this neighborhood course in Canton.
Cons: Nine holes just fly by as you run for your life from the Deet resistant bugs in this swampy course with way too many blind throws into what will surely be a patch of poison ivy or a pack of teenage vandals.
Other Thoughts: I've never played this course in the fall, but I would bet it would be at least a star better. Or you could just drive to the better nearby course at Lakeshore or Rolling Hills.

‘A’ for Effort… ‘C’ for Execution

5+    6/26/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 171  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/14/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pleasant setting in a quiet neighborhood park that's clean and well maintained.

Concrete pads with brass hole # imbedded in the tee pad (adds a nice touch) + tee signs w/distance and hole layout. Baskets in good condition.

Passable for beginners or a quick round if you're in the area. Short holes with little walking between them = quick rounds. Don't play here often, but I've never had to wait for a tee.

Fairly good shot variety for 9 holes - all look and feel different.
Cons: A couple of fairways seem tight for such brushy borders. Tight, often illogical fairways, with fairly thick brush mean lots of time spent looking for discs - more than I feel is acceptable for a short course like this.

Course can be very swampy messy, with lots of bugs.

Brush surprisingly thick in areas for this little neighborhood park - wouldn't be surprised if you lose (or find) a disc here.

Is there a course anywhere with intact tee signs?
Other Thoughts: Call me the "Bad Guy," but the bottom line is this course looks a lot better than it plays. Seems inviting and friendly, but playing here can be frustrating. I like the idea of bringing disc golf into the heart of this quiet community, but it simply wasn't executed well. Risk/reward ratio doesn't make sense here. I don't mind throwing annies , forehand, or touch shots, but the lines here don't seem very executable. Because of this, I can't consider this truly a good beginner course - I simply don't think this course helps you develop a good understanding of how discs behave or sharpen the skills you need for more challenging courses.

I return here every so often to see if my opinion will change - it hasn't. Kind of a shame, because if it were laid out differently, this course could have been a lot more fun to play.

Too many other good courses nearby that I can't recommend this to anyone who has to drive more than 10-15 min to get here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Slow and sloppy

2-4    5/29/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: nice use of the land this park has. it's just in a small little city park, but 9 holes fit in OK. not very crowded. a tight-knit course that provides a challenge on every hole. course can be played in a half-hour if you are by yourself.
Cons: most course signs have been ripped down; the concrete tees are marked with number though. quite sloppy off the fairways, as everyhthing is constantly under water. and hole #4: do you want me to play through the fairway, or can i just throw to the wide-open area to the right? I don't see any OB markers..
Other Thoughts: **update**
after playing this course through a few more times, i have to update to "passable". everything but the fairways are always under water, and the fairways are so tight there's very little reward for all that risk. 6 or 7 of the holes are anhyzers, which would be nice except there are only 9 holes total. not very nice to a RHBH. this course is bloody tough, and not worth the challenge. in my opinon, this should be a lazy-summer-day type of course in the local neighborhood. skip this course for any of the other numerous ones in the greater Detroit area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.