Canton, MI 
Freedom Park Share
Uploaded By: Dave Hole #1
3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
french fries? NO, freedom fries!

1    11/5/2013   11/5/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.2 Years
Pros: Aesthetic-- plays through a small park in the suburbs. areas are NOT disc golf exclusive and there is a walking/biking/running path that intersects several times. be careful!

Teepads-- nice, concrete. was not expecting concrete at a 9 hole course but hey, it was a pleasant surprise!

Challenge/variety-- decent variety here. lefts and rights are nicely balanced with a couple straight shots. Narrow tight lanes abound here.
Cons: Routing and nav-- the maps provided on here are not good. very hard to follow them and the routing here is abysmal.

Signage-- the routing wouldn't be as awful if the signage was in place. I found 2 or 3 actual signs throughout the park... I hate when signs are missing and you're guessing where to throw.

Baskets-- remind me of cass benton. they are rough and spray painted... Much like the signage they are not taken care of by anyone.
Other Thoughts: decent park, reasonable course just not spectacular by any means.

My first disc golf course.

2-4    8/5/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: Trizzor
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easily accessible, very quickly played.
Great for beginners, short holes
Very little bugs or mud the few times I've been
Cons: Extremely busy
Cramped; A volleyball court, playground, tennis courts all within feet of a couple holes.
Lots of trash and broken glass around the tees.
Two cracked cement tees of nine.
Other Thoughts: This was my first course ever, it made me realize that disc golf is more than just throwing a frisbee. This course got me hooked on the game, and I've been loving every minute since.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent for where it is at

5+    8/7/2013   8/8/2013
Review By: The Yodeler
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Quiet neighborhood
-Well maintained fairways
-Numbered tee pads
-Very little to no waiting time
Cons: -A little overgrown on a couple holes, kind of easy to lose a disc or two
-Floods really bad, hence pretty muddy
-Mosquitos are very very bad
-Very short distance holes
Other Thoughts: A decent little course if you're looking for a practice round or two. Also good if your strapped for time. I personally go here to practice putting. It does a good job utilizing what little space it has.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

2-4    8/6/2013   8/7/2013
Review By: moods5588
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/25/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - It's a very easy course to find your way through
- fairways are taken care of pretty well
- good for a quick 9 holes
- short holes so it's a great beginner course
Cons: - wooded areas offer a lot of places to lose a disc
- a lot of the signs have been beaten up pretty bad
- could use some trash cans throughout course to help with amount of trash throughout course
Other Thoughts: mosquitoes are pretty bad right now so I would definitely bring some bug spray. I haven't run into a huge amount of people playing the course. The few I have seen have been very courteous and friendly. Lets keep the game clean guys. Take out what you bring in.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Easy lunch break

5+    7/2/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: rdblake01
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Close to work for me. It is very short, with a few shots that wind thru trees. You do have to be accurate on a few holes in the trees. I can play 18 and be back to work in less than an hour.
Cons: It is short. I play with a midrange and putter, and I am a short thrower. Mosquitos are BAD this time of year. Mainly due to the low areas around the course.
Other Thoughts: It gets very wet in the spring. This is a good course for beginners or if you work in the area. I would not make a special trip to play here unless you can't throw over 200 feet.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Don't go out of your way

5+    5/7/2013   5/14/2013
Review By: leindecjoeld
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Cement Tee Pads
-Easy to follow layout
-Good use of small area
Cons: -Always busy
-Little variety
-Course floods in spring
-No real challenge to the course (all holes are less than 300 ft.)
-Holes throw close to walking paths/people will just walk through fairways.
Other Thoughts: If you live in the area this course can serve as a quick practice course. The course is short, and it plays very fast... provided there is not a line at the tees. I have been stuck waiting for 4-5 groups to play through at holes. Every time I have been here the course has been busy.

In the spring the course floods quite a bit. This flooding completely covers the tee pad for hole two, and in makes the wooded holes (5-9) muddy. This mud combined with the heavy foot traffic makes a mess of the fairways and walking paths.

This course is not all bad. I will use this course to work on my putting game. It is a nice change of pace to be able to play an entire course with a putter, and this course absolutely allows one to do this. If you have a little free time and you live in the area this course can give you a good warm up or some nice practice on your putting/ mid-range game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Freedom "IS" Free

1    9/3/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: Cantolope
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
Pros: Clean, nine hole layout combines several ample drive opportunities through fields and several nice approach shots through tree hallways. Light Underbrush makes it easy to find discs. Light or no wait times.
Cons: Limited obstacles. Poison Ivy everywhere if you throw an errant shot. 1st tee can be difficult to find. (Its behind the playground, south/south-east of the parking lot)
Other Thoughts: I don't know what all the complaints about joggers are about. None of the holes played directly onto or over any jogging path. At two or three points the jogging path is used to travel between baskets but this proved no problem. I didn't find the local youth to be troublesome at all, in fact they're quite helpful if you need help locating a tee (especially the 1st)

 good for beginners

5+    5/13/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: otherguy14
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: good for beginners
decent course design
holes are not to far but not to close from tee
concrete tee pads
that are numbered
most of the signs are still there
good fairways
Cons: in a park with lil kids
lots of people
not alot of wooded area
not alot of obsicles
when it floods IT FLOODS
only 9 holes
hole 9 is missing and it dosent seem like the city is gonna relpace it anytime soon
can be played in half an hour
dont really wana play it more than once
Other Thoughts: for a small course its pritty cool, like i said though definaty for beginners.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Solid local 9, short but scenic.

5+    12/5/2010   12/5/2010
Review By: AKormendi
Played: 65  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 15.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice tee pads. Smooth grippy concrete.
-Well maintained clean fairways.
-Variety in shots, a few open, a few with some serious trees to bend around.
-Scenic in a suburban park sort of way.
Cons: -Hole 5 appears to have had most of the obstacle trees of the right side of the fairway trimmed down. What appears on the map to be a fierce dogleg has an easy route straight to the basket over some low brush.
-No big distance.
-Navigation can be a little confusing with the missing signs. Not too bad, though.
Other Thoughts: This course is nothing special but it has enough of everything to make it an enjoyable round. It's conveniently located near freeways and the outstanding Cass-Benton course. Quick enough and short enough to be played multiple times in a single visit, and enough variety in play to keep your interest.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Hmm...

2-4    9/28/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: Viper124
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice and clean
- A good challenge for a short 9-hole
- Quick to play
Cons: - All shots less than 300 ft.
- Local youth
- Oblivious dog walkers/joggers/etc.
- Thick plant life in some areas
Other Thoughts: So this course is a nice place to go when you want to get a quick round in. It's smack dab in the middle of a nice quiet neighborhood and the park itself seems to be quite active.

Most, if not all, teepads have a number embedded into them.

This isn't quite the beginner course. I consider this more of a course to go to work on different shots. You will definitely have to dig into your bag of tricks (four is perfect for working on your helix shot).

The plant life has become pretty thick on some holes. My friend lost a disc as it came down into one of these thick areas, but that's just the nature of things. Fall will deal with that.

Like I stated in my cons, there's nothing beyond 300 ft, but I have seen people shooting from the parking lot at different baskets (in my opinion, it's not the smartest or safest idea with how busy the park can get).

Disc golfers aren't the only people on the course. I have seen joggers, walkers, and dog walkers come through.

Shooting on three is ridiculous. On more than one occasion, I have had to wait for hordes of teenagers who were walking through the fairway on three. Apparently there's a picnic table in the middle of the course that the local youth like to go to to engage in certain smoking activities.

All in all, it's a decent place to play. Just go before school lets out. It's pretty empty then.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.